San Jose

Visit toTortuga Island with Lunch from San José

San José, Costa Rica

From USD 105.00

Price varies by group size

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 12 to 15 hours (approx.)
  • Hotel pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


    What's Included

    • Lunch
    • Air-conditioned vehicle
    • All Fees and Taxes
    • Snorkel at the beach
    • Fresh Fruits
    • Coffee and snack
    • Dolphin watching (If conditions allow)
    • Gratuity / tips

    Meeting And Pickup

    You can head directly to your preferred meeting point, or request pickup.

    Meeting points

    Select a meeting point
    Type to search

    Pickup points

    Select a pickup point

    Start time

    Confirm time with the local provider in advance of your experience.

    Opening hours

    Select your preferred tour option to see hours.
    View tour option

    End point

    This activity ends back at the meeting point.

    Pickup details

    Even if your hotel is listed, please confirm your departure point. There are hotels that we cannot pick up due to distance, so you must arrive at the closest point by assigning. Please confirm your departure time one day before the tour. If you select your hotel as a pick-up point, you must accept the assigned pick-up time and it is non-negotiable. Hours range between 4:00 am to 5:00 am

    What To Expect

    Additional Info

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Stroller accessible
    • Infants must sit on laps
    • Most travellers can participate
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 24 travellers
    Operated by Inside Tours Costa Rica

    Cancellation Policy

    You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

    Traveller Photos

    See more
    19 reviews
    Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
    Reviews by Viator travellers.
    Showing 1-8 of 19 reviews
    In Love with Tortuga Island
    Alan_B, Feb 2023
    Our tour guide Gaia was phenomenal, and very knowledgeable. She was a pure delight and really cared for each of us . I lost my phone somewhere on the beach and she was able to locate it !!!!!!!
    Great Tour Operator ! Small Island - Many People !
    Susanne_B, Feb 2023
    Wonderful tour Guide and Chauffeur - Great Team ! All very well Organized and very Kind vibe! The Island is very Touristic (Many ! People) but if you ok with that this is a Great day tour! Snorkeling was amazing! Only wished the trip to the Island was by catamarán (with more time and less soeed) and Not by Motor Board. Maybe you could offer this versión (as Alternative). Keep on the Great work and wonderful Spirit!
    David_D, Feb 2023
    The most memorable leaving me in a hotel and not picking me up, waited from 5:00 AM to 6:30 AM. The most unorganized company I have ever dealt with. Then had to come back stop the charge to the credit card, so I wouldn't get ripped off. I negotiated to take another tour with the operator and Chargeback would not respond to the credit card card company, I negotiated in good faith. Trying to release the credit card company. Good luck getting paid, I will fight.
    Response from Host, Feb 2023
    Don David, as we have clarified many times, we are the operator (Inside Tours) We are the ones who have offered you the opportunity not to lose your tour and your money and we gave you the option to reschedule your tour despite not getting to the point departure indicated when you book. You always received the service and as we saw you were satisfied, I'm sorry you had a fight with your bank but it's not with us.
    Great time, lots of...
    Jennifer_K, Jan 2023
    Great time, lots of activities available for cheap at the island and lots of affordable drinks available for purchase
    Response from Host, Jan 2023
    Hello dear customer! Thank you for booking your tour with us and taking the time to leave us a review is very important to us.
    Great for Beach-Loving Families!
    Jasmine_A, July 2022
    I recommend this excursion for families with children who love the beach. No other day trip will allow you so much beach time! Our day began with a pickup time around 5am. My daughter (5) and I were greeted by our guide April, who, in addition to being incredibly beautiful proved to be very kind and caring and informative. The bus we rode in was super comfortable and it took about 2 hours to get to the dock. We stopped halfway at a restauant for breakfast (not included, but it was only $9 for my daughter and I) and to change into our swimsuits. When we arrived at the dock, our boat Emergente arrived and we were taken to the island. The ride was about 30 minutes and very beautiful! On the way we saw dolphins and turtles! We arrived at the island at about 8:30 am and immediately went snorkeling which lasted about 40 minutes. I will say that while we enjoyed the snorkeling, the water was way too dark to see anything. All we saw was water.... The crew on the ship were very friendly and courteous too. After snorkeling we enjoyed the beach for several hours! There were places to purchase a pina colada in a pineapple or a coconut drink in a coconut, there was a shaved ice stand, and a bar. The servers actually came out into the water to hand-deliver drinks, collect empty drinks, and take orders! For those interested you could also rent kayaks or ride a banana boat. Lunch was served at 12:30; there was an option of grilled fish or chicken with rice and sauteed vegetables. There were only 3 things I didn't like about the beach: 1) They charged $1 per person to use the restroom. We were there for 7 hours so we had to go twice and it cost us $4. 2) There were a ton of rocks everywhere! When playing in the water I hit my foot on several large rocks, and also the sand itself was super rocky and rough. 3) The water was sooooo smelly! I had to wash my swimsuit twice to get the fishy smell out. We got back on our boat and left the island at 3:30pm and once back at the dock we were able to shower and change before getting back on the bus. We arrived back at our hotel around 7pm.
    Full Day Isla Tortuga
    Kitty_L, July 2022
    April was so kind and sweet. She explained everything very well. The driver was awesome as well. I believe his name was JR. I really enjoyed the trip!
    Todo muy bonito, la guía...
    Jacob_D, Feb 2023
    Todo muy bonito, la guía Diana super amable y atenta lo mismo con el chófer del autobús y los chicos de la lancha, en general todo muy bien.
    Nieves_S, Feb 2023
    La verdad que la isla es preciosa, la experiencia en snorkel estuvo fenomenal. Pero está demasiado masificado, yo creo que deberían limitar el acceso, las playas no están muy cuidadas, llenas de palos, ramas, etc. tanto dentro como fuera del agua y nadie limpiando. La comida buena pero muy escasa. Por otro lado he de decir que me atacaron unas avispas negras gigantes, sufrí 5 picotazos, gracias a Dios no soy alérgica ya que no disponían de absolutamente nada, ni un triste botiquín. Abril la guía dijo que iría a por hielo y tuvo que ir mi pareja ya que ella ni se movió, dijo que preguntaría llegando a puerto, todavía estoy esperando. Solo al llegar al hotel fue cuando me preguntó si aún me dolia. Si llego a ser alérgica no habría llegado viva a puerto, así que espero que consideren llevar antihistamínicos al menos sabiendo que hay una colmena en la zona donde están los turistas o que lo adviertan y los alérgicos vayan equipados.
    Response from Host, Feb 2023
    Hola, las playas de Costa Rica son públicas, no se puede limitar el acceso a esta playa y nosotros tampoco podemos hacerlo, cualquiera que disponga de una embarcación puede llegar a disfrutar de la playa. Con respecto al botiquín, no podemos brindarle medicación, como antihistamínicos, que son prescritas por un médico. Solo cuenta con lo básico en caso de una herida. Lamento su mala experiencia.