San Jose

Monteverde Cloud Forest and Hanging Bridges in Selvatura Tour from San Jose

San Jose, Costa Rica

From USD 155.00

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 12 hours (approx.)
  • Hotel pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Visit the Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve, a 26,000-acre (10,500 hectare) oasis of virgin cloud forest. Visited by roughly 70,000 people a year, the reserve is home to about four percent of the world’s animal species. Walk across suspended bridges and hike among native flora and fauna. You can also pay extra to zipline through the canopy. Lunch and a guide are included.
  • Day trip to Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve
  • Local guide
  • Lunch, water, and snacks included
  • Hotel/port pickup and drop-off included

What's Included

  • Hotel/port pickup and drop-off
  • Local guide
  • Bottled water
  • Breakfast
  • Lunch
  • Landing and facility fees
  • Food and drinks, unless specified
  • Alcoholic drinks (available to purchase)

Meeting And Pickup

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

Start time

Confirm time with the local provider in advance of your experience.

Opening hours

  • 11/15/2018 - 2/1/2026

    Monday - Sunday : 05:30 am - 06:30 am

Pickup details

We offer pickup in all Hotels

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Infant seats available
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 12 travellers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Traveller Photos

See more
44 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travellers.
Showing 1-10 of 44 reviews
Don't book with AYE tours
Kent_S, Mar 2023
After two days of getting up at 4am we still were not able to take the tour. On our scheduled day the tour was canceled do to a vehicle issue. When asked if it would be acceptable to reschedule for the following day I immediately said yes and asked for confirmation that the tour would infact proceed the following day. I recieved no confirmation after four attempts to contact AYE tours but decided to go to the pickup location just incase because we were really looking forward to this tour. After waiting for an hour without any contact from AYE tours we finally called it. Do yourself a huge favor and go to AYE tours and read the reviews. Save time,money and frustrations by booking with another company. I would have given AYE tours a zero star rating but this was not an option.
Memorable Experience but long journey
GlenW, Mar 2023
Cloud forest hanging bridges was a memorable experience. Guide was nice but didn't seem as knowledgeable and interactive as others guides we overheard. Also, this is a very long trip from San Jose and that should be considered when selecting this tour.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Hello. We appreciate your comment, obviously each guide is different and offers their knowledge according to the place that is visited. Indeed, not only are the transfer distances to the main tourist places outside of San Jose, you can avoid going to and from San Jose if you take one of our multiple tours on viator or tripadvisor.
Long day but worth it
gttxyz4g6w, Feb 2023
We were the only people on our trip so it was a bonus . Johan was brilliant , he had so much knowledge about the plants and animals in the jungle and beyond . It’s a really long drive there and back for just over two hours in the jungle but Johan suggested other things we could do on the way back to make up the time , he was great and the trip was great .
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Hello, Thanks for your comments, Pura Vida
Connect with Nature!!
Tevita_S, Mar 2022
Thank you Yancy for providing us with excellent service on this tour! We were very fortunate to be the only on this tour for the day.
Response from Host, Mar 2022
Hello Tevita, Thanks for your commnents. Pura Vida
Not impressed with the communication
katyhy_f, July 2021
Customer care could use some work,one day in a foreign country and my tour canceled last minute,now it's 5 am and we are struggling to find another excursion with little time and a language barrier,another trip offering and someone from the company going out if their way to communicate would sure of made our experience less if a hassle...
Response from Host, July 2021
We regret that due to weather conditions we have not been able to make your tour. We send your confirmation 24 hours in advance, however, your external confirmation did not arrive. Thanks for your comments. Pura Vida.
Great experience
Marie, Mar 2021
We had a great time visiting the cloud forest! We weren’t able to see much wild life but that’s understandable since they are deeper in the jungle a lot of the times due to the influx of tourists roaming through. We saw a bird & heard monkeys. Yojhan and Juan Jose were both a great guide/ driver and knowledge and friendly. The food was amazing. Some of my favorite food we’ve had in CR. Highly recommend doing the zip line tour.
Response from Host, Mar 2021
Thanks for your comments, We hope you enjoy your stay in Costa Rica and enjoy our tours. Pura vida!
Ziplining was amazing
Lalaine_L, Mar 2020
Thumbs up to Albano and Arturo. They’re not just my tour guides but they also were my photographer. It was a great jungle experience.
Response from Host, Mar 2020
Thanks for your comments, We hope you enjoy your stay in Costa Rica and enjoy our tours. Pura vida!
Peaks and valleys of experiences
Stephen_H, Mar 2020
It should be noted that this tour is primarily a transportation tour with a little bit added in. It should also be understood that from San Jose to Monte Verde is about a 3 hour jaunt. With that said and understood the tour had pluses and minus which is why I am applying a 3 star rating. I had booked three other tours while we were in Costa Rica and the other three were extremely prompt in responding to me that they had received the booking and what my pick up time was going to be. I had to reach out and confirm my pick up time with this company. During my stay, the company did reach out with a change of pick up time which was appreciated. When they arrived, they were actually 10 minutes past their stated time, but really a non issue; just offering for reference of expectations. Once on board, we were presented a bottle of water and explained that we had some more passengers to pick up. The drive was long, but went well...we had a short stop to stretch our legs and admire some howler monkeys. A pleasant surprise and we enjoyed the chance to observe them. There were option tours that were offered including the hanging bridges, but they were not through the company (hence more of a transport tour). We were told in advance of these tours and informed in pretty good detail about them, their costs and how things would have to go in order to take them. We arrived at the rain forest and got to observe tons of hummingbirds. The park stated that they had over 15 different varieties and we saw too many to count. After that, we went on the trek through the rain forest and the hanging bridges. This part of the tour was a little chaotic, but managing 16 people can be challenging. Since there were 3 guides on this tour, it would have made more sense to have one at the front, the rear and the middle to help keep the group organized and on point. My wife and I selected the coffee, sugar cane and chocolate tour. We stopped at a small building just before the Don Juan Plantation and made our purchase while the guide paid for our food. The food was really good at the location, and service was ok. Most of the staff at the Don Juan Plantation on point, except for one gentlemen who kept forgetting about us.....After lunch, the tour guides seemed rather checked out. We received no explanation of how the tour was going to be, where we needed to go and at what time. When we asked them, they gave us a general timeline and went on the bus and left. Fortunately it wasn't hard as we had received colored stickers and walking around we found the tour white board and it was colored coded so we knew what time and location from there. This tour was fantastic and if you have any interest in any of the three I would totally recommend taking the tour as it was well done, set up and our guide was rather humorous with perfect English. The bus came back shortly after our tour and then we went to another location to wait for the rest of the guests from their tours. Because it was international woman's day; the tour guide presented all the women on the bus with a small gift. It was a nice touch and a great gesture. On the way back, the bus took an unknown stop to see the sunset. Then we took the long road back listening to sketchy radio crackling on the way to the hotel. I would recommend to the company to be a little better on the communications, for example, if you know you are going to make a stop; notify the bus about 10 minutes prior. This will allow them to wake up or at least know a stop is coming and get ready to get off the bus. Please provide a little more information about the tours. The upfront was great, but after you get to the sites, at least point the people in the right direction to gather whatever info they may need. Lastly, I would offer a little better background noise/music for the passengers. When we got on the bus, the men were broadcasting a futbol game across the radio, clear; clean and crisp. I would have been appreciated if that quality of sound was provided with the music. The crackling radio was very annoying for such a long drive home. I would recommend this tour, as long as you have read the review and the insight provided fits in your comfort zone.
Response from Host, Mar 2020
Thanks for your comments, We hope you enjoy your stay in Costa Rica and enjoy our tours. Pura vida!
Hiking in the cloud forest
Ryan_W, Feb 2020
We very much enjoyed hiking in the forest. The hanging bridges were awesome and the experience of the hike was unlike anything we have done before. The guide was a very nice man, but his English was very basic. It was only by luck that we ended up being the only two people in his group as the others had a local guide meet them for their language. We feel had there been a larger group we would not have had near as much fun. We had to ask the guide lots of questions and pull information from him, he was not volunteering a lot unfortunately.
Response from Host, Feb 2020
Thanks for your comments, We hope you enjoy your stay in Costa Rica and enjoy our tours. We make changes to provide a good service Pura vida!
Not recommended
jingg1971, Feb 2020
I don’t recommend this tour. We’ve done 4 tours in Costa Rica and the other 3 were wonderful. The problem with this tour is that the park is very far, we left at 5:30 am and reached at 10:30 am, we walked around for an hour and half, left at 12:30 and got back at 6pm. The park is like other parks, beautiful with 8 bridges but not worth the travel time. The guide was unenthusiastic. He pointed out some trees. We saw 1 squirrel and no other animals or birds. They took us to restaurant for breakfast and lunch, both were good food. Costa Rican food is good in general. I don’t think the tour is over priced because it was a lot of driving, but the tour description should clearly list that only 2 hours out of the 12 hour is in the park. 10 hours will be on the road.
Response from Host, Feb 2020
A comment similar to those who pay to make those who do not work well .... If you visited other parks, you could understand everything is far from San José, you walk in the forest and the animals do not have a fixed station .... it's nature ... maybe it wasn't the tour, it was your bad attitude. Thanks for "visit" Costa Rica.
Late start but still great day
rizasitton, Feb 2020
There was some confusion on pick up time but it all worked out. Our driver, Arturo, was skilled and very safe. The guide, Eddie, spoke English well enough for us to understand though we already knew some Spanish ourselves. They made us feel safe throughout the trip which, for mom & daughter traveling alone, was very important. It was a long drive but the destination was worth it!
Response from Host, Feb 2020
Thanks for your comments, We hope you enjoy your stay in Costa Rica and enjoy our tours. Pura vida!
Amazing cloud and rainforrest with good walks
Mette_M, May 2019
Biodiversity. The views from the mountains and viewpoints are amazing. The clouds come Rolling in over the forrest and mountains. The Canopy walk is good. The rainforrest is interesting. The pathways are good for hiking and walking trips. There are enough to adapt the Tour to the age and interest of the participants
Response from Host, July 2019
Thank you so much for you comments!!!
Angelica_L, Jan 2020
Espectacular!! Empenzando con los guias que hicieron nuestra visita placentera. Monteverde es un lugar innolvodable. Todos nos hicieron sentir bienvenidos y muy seguros. Comida ok.
Response from Host, Jan 2020
Thanks for your comments, We hope you enjoy your stay in Costa Rica and enjoy our tours. Pura vida!
angluev1017, Jan 2020
Comenzando por los guias y transportacion todo fue espectacular. El parque esta hermoso lo recomienso, fue una experience maravillosa.
Response from Host, Jan 2020
Thanks for your comments, We hope you enjoy your stay in Costa Rica and enjoy our tours. Pura vida!
tour a Monteverde
Vacation43968514466, Oct 2019
Fue un tour excelente! Fui a Costa Rica por trabajo y tenía poco tiempo para viajar, pero gracias a los fantasticos guías tuve oportunidad de conocer uno de los pareques naturales más impresionates del país. El paisaje fue espectacular y los guías siempre con la mejor disposición y actitud. La comida también fue muy biuena y el transporte y el recorrido fluyó sin ningúnc ontratiempo. La explicaciones del lugar, la compañia y la experiencia no pudo ser mejor.
Response from Host, Oct 2019
Hola, muchas gracias por su comentario,agradecemos mucho haya disfrutado del viaje y seleccionado nuestro tour, gracias por visitar Costa Rica.PURA VIDA🇨🇷