San Jose

Half-Day San Jose Evening Bus Tour with Dinner and Pickup

San Jose, Costa Rica
New Evening City Tour

From USD 72.00

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 5 hours
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Experience the sights, sounds, and flavors of San Jose on an evening bus tour. Starting from your hotel, a comfortable double-decker bus with onboard WiFi serves as your transportation for the evening. See over 25 of the city’s landmarks and stop for a bilingual guided tour at key locations, including the Pre-Columbian Gold Museum. Enjoy an included dinner of local cuisine, before drop-off at your hotel.
  • Enjoy stress-free hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Have a full dinner with an alcoholic drink
  • Take a guided walking tour of downtown
  • Get free admission to all attractions

What's Included

  • All taxes, fees and handling charges
  • Dinner
  • Round trip Transportation to your hotel
  • Local guide
  • Live commentary on board
  • Professional art historian guide
  • DVD (available to purchase)
  • beers

Meeting And Pickup

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

Start time

03:00 pm

Pickup details

Every Hotels around San José Costa Rica

What To Expect

Teatro Nacional Costa Rica

20 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Museo de Arte Costarricense

25 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Central Market (Mercado Central)

25 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Plaza de la Libertad Electoral

20 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

VIP City Bus

4 hours Admission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Most travellers can participate
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Vegetarian option is available, please advise at time of booking if required
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 25 travellers
Operated by Vip City Bus (City tour)

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveller Photos

See more


59 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travellers.
Showing 1-10 of 59 reviews
Four Hours I Can’t Get Back
Felicia_G, Aug 2023
I attempted to buy a single ticket through Viator however I was unable and forced to buy two tickets. I would suggest to buy any single ticket item through another source. We toured the market and the food was pointed out to the group, not tasted. We stopped at one sovereign shop and allowed to shop there. We were not allowed anytime to shop in the market; we had to stay with the group. Then the meal, it was cafe food. I expected an authentic meal. Whenever I visit cities, I take this type of tour; this one was not satisfactory.
Fun Trip with Big Bus
Kazuyo_H, July 2023
I was a bit surprised that the big bus came to our hotel. I was a bit worried at first, but it was a fun trip.
Great experience
Robert_J, June 2023
Meeting and talking with other participants. Seeing the hustle and bustle on the VERY narrow streets of downtown San Jose.
Great time
Vincent_B, May 2023
Had a great afternoon hearing about Costa Rican history and visiting different landmarks around the city. The guide was knowledgeable and interesting to listen to. Would recommend taking the tour.
Traveling with grandson...
Melodie_P, Mar 2023
Traveling with grandson and wanted to experience some of San Jose’s city life. This tour was perfect, The Central Market was quite interesting and not crowded as we were there in early evening. The restaurant we ate at was as very local feeling and food was delicious. Our tours guide excellent and explained everything both in English and Spanish. Picked up on time. And best of all there were only four of us on the bus. Highly recommend..
16 year old approved
theresa_d, Mar 2023
This was so fun! I am so glad we decided to do it. We saw some cool things in the city and had a good dinner too. Taking this tour was much easier than trying to drive myself to all these places. I highly recommend to make things easier. My 16 year old loved this so much.
Best way to see San Jose
Larry_J, Feb 2023
Great tour, the guide was was very knowledgeable and the driver took extra care to make sure we were dropped off safe at our hotel. They picked us up and dropped us off at our hotel, so we do not have to drive anywhere to catch a tour.
Hard to understand guide....
David_R, Jan 2023
Hard to understand guide. We had to really listen. Driver is very skilled. Lunch was good. Skip the market
Don't go!
Cynthia_M, Jan 2023
Total waste of time and money. We travel the world extensively, and this was the worst tour, and the worst tour guide, we have ever experienced. Jordan never introduced himself until we asked for his name. He rushed through most of the tour, and did not seem to care much about the process. He advised our group at the end that it was his third tour of the excuse!
Lively San José
Martha_L, Nov 2022
Loved being able to walk around the city like a local yet with a coach to get us around between sites. Dinner was tasty and our guide a knowledgeable person.
Evening Tour
carlos, May 2022
Nice Experience and the Sympathy of our tour guide Jordan make the Evening Tour more comfortable after the rainy weather. Thank You Jordan
Communication was a challenge
Susan_C, Feb 2022
To start, I am english speaking only. The tour was supposed to pick us up at the hotel, but we were not told we would be contacted by phone to confirm. I had texted the tour operator directly upon booking, but phone number i was given did not work for me. I got an email saying they would cancel my reservation 15 minutes ago. I managed to get ahold of them, and they said they couldn't come to our hotel. They would send an uber and communicate via whatsapp. I don't have that but my companion did. He left his phone for 4-5 minutes and they cancelled to tour AGAIN because he was non responsive. We had to take an Uber on our own dime to a meetup spot. The guide spoke english so quickly and switched back and forth into spanish so quickly I caught 50% of what he was saying. Which wasn't so bad because he was explaining at a grade 4 level including hand gestures. Destination sites were cool and gave a flavour of the region. The included food was decent, though nothing special. Overall the organization of the trip was stressful, and i had trouble with hearing the guide.
Music and History
Samuel_S, Aug 2021
The tour of downtown San José was enhanced with local music by a charming gentleman named Sergio. I thoroughly enjoyed the tour and learned a lot about San José and Costa Rican history. I highly recommend this tour.
Response from Host, Aug 2021
Thank you so much!
Didn’t show up!
Asta_K, Aug 2021
Don’t book with them! The company called 9:30 pm the night before the tour and offered 10 am tour instead of 2:30 pm. Since we had another tour already scheduled in the morning, I said we couldn’t make it and he said he will pick us up at 3 pm. We showed up at the hotel lobby at 3 pm and learned that the driver allegedly showed up at 2:45 and tried to call our room and left. The hotel staff said they didn’t see them show up and no one called our room. They gave a refund; however, since it was last minute cancellation, we couldn’t book another tour and left the city the next day; therefore, we didn’t get to explore San Jose with a tour. I think we were the only ones on that tour that day and they didn’t want to drive out for us on a busy Friday night, so they pretended they came and didn’t. Very disappointing, will never book with them again.
Response from Host, Aug 2021
In Costa Rica on Fridays the traffic is horrible, we were trying contact you from 2:00 pm to inform you that we were going to pick you up 15 minutes before, we never got a response and there were other clients waiting for us, and for logistic, we can’t wait any longer. We really sorry. You got your full refund.
Mala experiencia
oscarog95, Sept 2022
Este tour debería llamarse “tour del mercado central”, pasaran ahí el 50% del tiempo. No se visitan lugares importantes como el museo nacional de Costa Rica o el museo del jade. En la cena “incluida” nos quisieron dar agua del grifo y nos toco comprar una botella aparte. No pierdan su dinero, es mejor visitar por su cuenta los lugares emblemáticos de san jose, todos estan relativamente cerca.
nelly_m, Sept 2021
llegaron tarde por nosotras. No nos llevaron a todos los museos porque la guía dijo que era tarde. Todo fue a la carrera. El conductor maravilloso y amable. La guía un poco déspota. Al llegar al hotel no habían pasado ni 3 horas y media.

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
Half-Day San Jose Evening Bus Tour with Dinner and Pickup


5 hours
Free Cancellation
USD 72.00
No Photo
San Jose Walking and Bus City Tour


5 hours
Free Cancellation
USD 72.00
No Photo
Arenal Volcano Full-Day Combo Tour with Lunch and Dinner


14 hours
Free Cancellation
USD 169.00
No Photo
VIP City Bus From San José


5 hours
Free Cancellation
USD 74.00

Explore Similar Things to Do