Recent Searches
Clear

Half-Day Whale Watching and Canal Cruise from Surfers Paradise

star-4.559 reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Half-Day Whale Watching and Canal Cruise from Surfers Paradise
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travellers

Number of travellers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon3 hours 30 minutes  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Go in search of humpback whales on a whale-watching cruise off the shores of the Gold Coast. Onboard a custom-built boat with three viewing decks, enjoy uninterrupted views of the Pacific and listen to commentary about the whales and their ocean environment from a marine naturalist guide. Plus, float along the Spit to admire waterside homes. Small group sizes, guaranteeing rail side position. Select a departure time when booking.
  • Watch humpback whales at play on a whale-watching cruise from the Gold Coast
  • Listen to interesting commentary from a marine naturalist
  • Enjoy tea, coffee, and biscuits on board
  • Glide past luxurious homes along the Gold Coast canals
  • Small group sizes, guaranteed rail side position
  • 100% guarantee of whale sightings, or receive a free return cruise
Saved to wishlist!
Commentary by a marine naturalist
Coffee and biscuits
River Cruise between the Spit and Surfers Paradise
Hotel pickup and drop-off
58 Cavill Ave , 58 Cavill Ave, Surfers Paradise QLD 4217, Australia

Check-in time: 30 min prior to the departure times. Cruises depart from the river end of Cavill Avenue, Surfers Paradise, only a short walk from every major Surfers Paradise hotel and the Cavill Avenue Light Rail Station Best parking is at the Bruce Bishop Car Park or the Circle on Cavill.

This activity will end right where it started.
Your cruise starts as you board your purpose-built whale-watching boat in Surfers Paradise and take off along the canals of the Nerang River. Listen to a quick safety briefing from crewmembers, who point out some of the most luxurious homes along the scenic waterway.

Cruise along the Spit and into the Australian Whale Sanctuary, a protected piece of the ocean surrounding Australia that’s part of the annual migration of humpback whales, who come to these subtropical waters from May to October to give birth. Keep your eyes peeled for whales, who may show off with jumps and splashes, as well as other marine life such as orcas, loggerhead turtles, dolphins, and seabirds.

Learn about the wildlife and their marine environment from your onboard naturalist guide. Your cruise ends with return to the departure point.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • 100% guarantee of whale sightings or receive a free return cruise
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 60 travellers
  • OPERATED BY Whales In Paradise
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitisation during Half-Day Whale Watching and Canal Cruise from Surfers Paradise?
A:The policies on sanitisation are:

  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
See all safety measures taken by Half-Day Whale Watching and Canal Cruise from Surfers Paradise.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Half-Day Whale Watching and Canal Cruise from Surfers Paradise?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Half-Day Whale Watching and Canal Cruise from Surfers Paradise.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Half-Day Whale Watching and Canal Cruise from Surfers Paradise?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Half-Day Whale Watching and Canal Cruise from Surfers Paradise.

Traveller Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
59 reviews

Reviews by Viator travellers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 59 reviews
star-4
Having a trouble but a wonderful experience
Maki_O
, Jul. 2022
I don’t know who’s fault it was, but my booking wasn't recognized by the organizer. When we went to the departure point in Surfers Paradise, no one was there. The lady at the ticket booth (handling all the cruises) kindly phoned to the organizer (at Sea World), who arranged an Uber for us to get to another departure point at Sea World. They also arranged an Uber to go back to Surfers Paradise. We didn’t have a Canal cruise but had a wonderful experience. We spotted more than 10 whales.
icon Response from Host , Jul. 2022
Hi Maki, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience with Whales In Paradise. We apologise for any miscommunication in regards to the booking, but happy to hear it was all sorted and you had a great time on the Humpback Highway!
star-5
Amazing experience
HJ_090
, Oct. 2019
The whale watching is my best experience for Gold coast trip. I will act again if I visit Gold coast.
icon Response from Host , Oct. 2020
We're happy you had a fantastic time onboard. Thanks for your trust and we're thankful for amazing customers like you. Stop by anytime!
star-2
Whales
frankrossen7
, Aug. 2019
Boat cruise was alright saw only one whale disappointed went whale watching in redcliffe saw. 18 whales
icon Response from Host , Aug. 2019
Hi Franko, We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback. It's disappointing to hear that it did not match your expectations on this occasion. As you can see from the Daily Sightings* on our website, the whales provide fantastic encounters on most days. However, they are wild animals, and therefore, every tour is different. A level of unpredictability exists with all destinations, but we're lucky that the Gold Coast is one of the most reliable options available. We hope to see you back on the water for a more memorable tour. www.seaworldcruises.com.au/sea-world-whale-watching
star-5
Best trip ever
Stephen_D
, Jul. 2019
Staff were amazing, captain was funny and informative, saw plent of whales although they didn’t breach it was still exciting
icon Response from Host , Aug. 2019
Thank you for the great review. The whales are now migrating back south and most of the time have their newborn calves with them. Therefore are less likely to breach, but muggings appear more often. We're glad you had a fantastic tour with us and are looking forward to seeing you on board again soon.
star-5
We were lucky to have good weather for...
lossy7777
, Sep. 2018
We were lucky to have good weather for this cruise, and saw quite a lot of whales. They seemed to be showing off near the boat.
star-3
it was not value to money at all to...
nplamhuong
, Dec. 2017
it was not value to money at all to spend 100 USD for an unlucky trip rarely to see clearly the Whale
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-4
A wonderfully organised trip. The...
Rudrapriya R
, Jul. 2017
A wonderfully organised trip. The crew made all efforts to track the ever elusive humpback whales. We had a fair share of viewing. At. the end returned quite satisfied. Posting a couple of photos
star-4
Luckily, I can see 8-10 whales...
Eddy
, Jul. 2017
Luckily, I can see 8-10 whales swimming across the sea. Though, it is far away from the whales, but it is considerate !
star-5
This tour was well organised and...
Peter D
, Jul. 2017
This tour was well organised and very professional. Weather was kind to us and we were able to come across a number of whales. They were not very active bit it was great to be up close and in their environment. Wayne and his team did all to find the whales and spent extra time seeking out different ones to get the opportunity for some action. All was great and then on the way home the most amazing event took place when wayne came across a new born calf thrashing around trying to breath and start to swim. Just fantastic to watch mum come to the rescue time and again to get her calf working and surviving. Over a period all stabilised and they went off as mum and calf. Fantastic.
star-1
Disappointed. No jumps. No...
Shirin B
, Jun. 2017
Disappointed. No jumps. No splashes. No tails. Though seeing a few whales but none showing its tail way down to the water. Half of the people in the lower deck having naps during the trip. May be it is too early for whale watching. P.s- We neither see any dolphins nor turtles. P.s.- biscuits in the boat are tasty. Should try some
star-4
It was awesome!! The crew are very...
KATHARINE K
, Jun. 2017
It was awesome!! The crew are very experienced and informative. I had seen around at least 10 humpback whales that day!!
star-5
dizzy sea but good experience cos we...
Yukixue K
, Apr. 2017
dizzy sea but good experience cos we saw a dancing whale infront of us
star-5
Fantastic. Saw a whale and her...
Jo P
, Nov. 2016
Fantastic. Saw a whale and her calf immediately and stayed with them for the duration of the trip. The driver was excellent- really informative. Top tip: sit on the top deck on the right- best views and least choppy feels.
star-4
We enjoyed this adventure very much...
Geof W
, Oct. 2016
We enjoyed this adventure very much spotting whales within minutes of setting out of the heads. We encountered significant sightings with very good views of the city from off shore. We only had about mid 30 on our tour with boat able to carry around 60. Just a word of warning regarding parking to allow enough time to find a carpark at one of the many off street carparks. We thought we had plenty of time but became confused in traffic due to the school holidays. There is no parking on site and the sight is upon you very quickly even with navigation aids. the view of the river and points of interest pointed out were quite interesting as well.
star-5
It was a rainy day, however, I saw...
Sabyasachi D
, Oct. 2016
It was a rainy day, however, I saw several whales and dolphins. Its amazing.
star-4
We only saw one whale however it was...
Michelle H
, Sep. 2016
We only saw one whale however it was a fabulous way to spend a couple of hours. The vessel was very comfortable, everything ran like clockwork. Would highly recommend.
star-4
Good tour. Well informed young...
Seema B
, Jul. 2016
Good tour. Well informed young people. Don't mind doing it again.
star-5
The cruise was wonderful! The guides...
MeiLing_K
, Jul. 2016
The cruise was wonderful! The guides were experienced in looking for the whales. We had a wonderful and enjoyable trip! Highly recommend and must see!
star-5
My first whale watching, is awesome...
karyn_lau
, Nov. 2015
My first whale watching, is awesome, we get to see a mother and calf, Hammerhead shark and dolphins...highly recommend!
star-3
the trip arrangement was good but...
roshada i
, Sep. 2014
the trip arrangement was good but not full fill our objective of seeing the whale. None of our group member would be able to see the whale. .

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Half-Day Whale Watching and Canal Cruise from Surfers Paradise
Likely to Sell Out
Half-Day Whale Watching and Canal Cruise from Surfers Paradise

star-4.559

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
USD78.73

star-514

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
USD31.78

star-5122

1 hour 45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
USD64.29

star-4.528

1 hour 5 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
USD32.50

star-51

5 hours 20 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
USD570.63

star-5502

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
USD25.28
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations