Surfers Paradise

Evening Rainforest & Glow Worm Experience - Small Group Tour

Surfers Paradise, Australia
Likely to Sell Out

From USD 72.38

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 3 days in advance.
  • 3 hours 30 minutes (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Experience the nighttime enchantment of Mt Tamborine National Park on this unique 4WD rain forest walk and glowworm tour. At the mountain summit, stop for a light supper of cakes and hot chocolate, and soak up views of the twinkling Gold Coast from a lookout. Then, observe nocturnal wildlife by torchlight with a guided bushwalk through the rain forest, where you’ll come across an ethereal waterfall illuminated by glowworms.
  • Glow-worm tour through Mt Tamborine National Park by 4WD
  • Take a guided rainforest walk to a waterfall lit by glow worms
  • See nocturnal wildlife in their natural habitat
  • Enjoy supper of cakes and a hot drink
  • Local guide and live commentary
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off

What's Included

  • Hotel pickup and drop off from selected hotels. Contact us directly to arrange hotel pick up.
  • Local guide
  • Live commentary
  • Dessert at mountain restaurant (cake with tea/coffee/hot chocolate)
  • Guided rainforest walk
  • Umbrellas
  • Insect repellant
  • Torch / Flashlight
  • Gratuities

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Aquaduck Gold Coast
    Circle On Cavill Shopping Centre, Shop 34 Cavill Ave, Surfers Paradise QLD 4217, Australia

    Tour begins from Aquaduck office at start time. Please arrive 10mins prior to check in. Pick ups from selected hotels available. Please contact us directly at least 24hrs prior to your tour to arrange hotel pick up. Phone +61 7 5655 0716

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Escape the crowds of the Gold Coast and journey inland on this serene evening adventure. After pickup at your Gold Coast hotel in a luxury 4WD vehicle, wind your way up to the summit of Mt Tamborine. Along the way, stop at a lookout for spectacular views of the coastline and ocean awash in the colors of sunset.

Get a taste of Mt Tamborine’s summit scene with a light supper at a local café. Snack on homemade cakes and biscuits served with your choice of tea, cappuccino or steaming hot chocolate.

As light fades from the sky, follow your guide on a nighttime bushwalk through the surrounding subtropical rain forest. Equipped with a low-wattage torch, experience the magic as nocturnal creatures emerge from the darkened forest. Your guide will lead the way with a high-powered LED torch for a better view of native flora and fauna. Veer off a secret path that leads to an enchanting waterfall illuminated by the light of a glowworm colony. Enjoy the silence and serenity of the forest as you admire this natural phenomenon.

After walking back to the 4WD vehicle, relax on the return ride to the Gold Coast, where your tour concludes in the late evening.

Mount Tamborine

1 hour Admission Ticket Free

Tamborine Mountain

1 hour Admission Ticket Included

Curtis Falls

15 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Tamborine National Park

45 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Gallery Walk

20 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • Please wear comfortable walking shoes and a jacket for cooler evenings
  • Due to the nature of the tour weather conditions may change itinerary and wildlife spotting
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Infants 0-1 years can join the tour at 50% of the child fare (subject to availability) . Infants must be pre booked by phoning the operator directly on +61 7 56550716.
  • Tour begins from Aquaduck office at start time. Please arrive 10mins prior to check in. Pick ups from selected hotels available. Please contact us directly at least 24hrs prior to your tour to arrange hotel pick up. Phone +61 7 5655 0716
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travellers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 3 days in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 3 full days before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 2 full days before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 2 full days before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveller Photos

See more
Featured review
Lesley_C
The glow worms and waterfall are well worth seeing and the guides were fun and super knowledgeable. Highly recommend this tour.

Reviews

4.5
158 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travellers.
Showing 1-10 of 158 reviews
It was a lovely evening...
Christine_K, May 2023
It was a lovely evening the guide very nice showed us many things in the rainforest saw some glow worms not loads .Coffee and cake at hotel very nice.A very pleasurable evening
Response from Host, May 2023
Thank you for the wonderful review! We're so glad you enjoyed the experience :)
While the guide was OK...
Harini_S, Apr 2023
While the guide was OK (but couldnt share much insights), the travel time was more than the trip itself. Stopover for snacks was good.
Response from Host, May 2023
Dear Harani_S, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the cakes at the Manor. However, we're sorry to hear that you did not find the guide's commentary satisfactory and that the travel time was long. From Surfers Paradise, it takes about 1hr to get to the hinterland attractions and we have a strict time to exit the rainforest. We built this tour based on the time it gets dark in the rainforest to view the glow worm and the strict exit time per our rainforest licence. At this stage, unfortunately, we are unable to spend extra time in the rainforest. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with a more enjoyable experience in the future. Yours sincerely, VP - Reservation
Great tour, great guide.
andrewwaren, Mar 2023
Amber is a very knowledgeable guide who is enthusiastic about her subject. The glow worms are a fantastic sight. Amber was very knowledgeable about both the glow worms and the rain forest showing us all the flora, fluna and wildlife of the rainforest. The cake and coffee before we started was a nice touch. There are 110 ? steps down and back up!!! We would have recommended the trip to a friend but although his mobility is reasonable he can't cope with steps.
Our tour guid was lovely...
Holly_H, Feb 2023
Our tour guid was lovely and really made our little girl feel included as she was the only child on this trip. We got picked up from the front of our accommodation which made this trip so much better as we are from NSW so sturuggle finding our way around. We all loved seeing all of the different wildlife and being able to take our time and have a look around as we were walking on the track. The information that our guide told us throughout the trip was great.
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Thank you for your lovely review! We are so glad you and your family enjoyed the tour and will pass your kind words on to the team :)
An unexpected Gem of a tour.
Lynda_R, Nov 2022
It was a fascinating, informative and very enjoyable small group tour. Just the right size. Steve, our guide was very entertaining and knowledgeable about the rainforest and the flora and fauna we encountered along the way. I now know to keep away from the gympie-gympie tree. The length of the walk was just right. The glow worms were a magical experience in such a beautiful spot. Such a shame we couldn't capture them in our photos. We loved stopping along the way at the Manor for our dessert, which was delicious. The rainforest was cooler than expected but luckily we did bring warm clothes. It was great to have the acknowledgement of the traditional owners of the land too. I would really recommend this tour. Our 11 year old daughter enjoyed it as much as we did.
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Thank you Lynda for your review. Glad you all enjoyed the tour.
Join the tour!
Audrey_Y, Aug 2022
Our guide did a fantastic job. He shared and explained the flora diversity. He is also respectful to the nature and very accommodating to the tour group. Our group consist of kids and he did a great job in entertaining them. The cake on Manor was fantastic!
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Thanks so much Audrey! We are so pleased you enjoyed your tour with us :)
Our tour guide Steve was...
Stacey_P, Aug 2022
Our tour guide Steve was very informative and had great banter with us. I learnt a lot whilst also having a laugh in the middle of the pitch black rainforest. Lots of things to see and hear and the glow worms are a real highlight.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Thanks so much for the great review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your tour! :)
Glow worms were amazing....
lisa, Aug 2022
Glow worms were amazing. The forest work walk at night gives you whole new appreciation for the forest. Steve out tour guide was very informative and answered all our questions. Steve was a a fabulous tour guide and would recommend this tour and Steve as a guide.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Thank you so much Lisa! We are so pleased you enjoyed your tour with Steve!
Dress appropriately
Arun, July 2022
Had a great time with Marc. Very knowledgeable and eco friendly guide and encouraged. The ride was a little rough. Don't wear shorts, it gets cold there so dress appropriately for warmth (ar least in July).
Response from Host, July 2022
Thank you Arun for your review and feedback! Definitely good advice to dress warm! :)
Very good tour
Amanda_F, July 2022
Lovely friendly tour guide, Steve. Amazing rainforest experience with the glow worms & waterfall being better than expected. Just disappointed that they couldn’t pick us up from our hotel, which was actually on the pickup route and not out of the way. Not a hard thing to do & would make it a more professional service.
Response from Host, July 2022
Thanks for the review and feedback Amanda :)
Great evening fun
lovewombats, July 2022
Really great way to spend an evening. Marc was very knowledgeable and highlighting what is happening to Australian flora and fauna.
Response from Host, July 2022
Thank you so so much! :)
Marc our guide was very...
Terry_S, July 2022
Marc our guide was very knowledgeable and good fun. International tourists would find it a great short tour. From Melbourne we were astonished at the different wildlife
Response from Host, July 2022
Thank you Terry , We are pleased you enjoyed your trip with us and had such a great experience :)
Great tour!
Jan, June 2022
Eddie did a terrific job informing us of the plants, trees, and animals of that rainforest. Cake at the Manor House was amazing!
Response from Host, June 2022
Thanks so much for the 5 stars Jan! Sounds like you had a fab night out :)
Super fun with Kids !
Vikram_R, June 2022
Great experience! These guys know their stuff and are so passionate about what they do . Loved every moment of this spectacular trip. Thanks team !
Response from Host, June 2022
Thank you so much Vikram! We are so pleased you enjoyed your tour :)
Special:)
Amber_A, June 2022
Nice desserts along the way, first experience seeing glow worms, special :). Not sure where else in the world can we see glow worms?!
Response from Host, June 2022
Thanks Amber! Very happy to hear this
Not The Best Experience
Elizabeth_K, June 2022
We were very dissatisfied with our experience. The tour guide not only ran more than 15 minutes late without communication, he then rushed everyone through cake/coffee. While the tour boasts a different view of the Gold Coast at night from atop Tamborine Mountain, there was no such stop. Instead, the tour guide pointed it hot very quickly on the drive and stated, “That’s it!” Not only this, but the tour advertises 12 people maximum on this “small group tour”, but there were 15 people on our tour, without any prior communication, which crammed us into a van. If we were told it would be 12 people maximum when we booked, we should have been told it would be 15 people after we had already booked and paid. The tour itself was not as intimate because of the size of the group, and the tour guide only spoke to the first few people behind him. We missed quite a bit of the commentary because of this. At the end, the tour guide did not speak with anyone on the van except the person in the passenger seat. Furthermore, the tour guide was sick and continued to cough the entire ride and did not wear a mask. Because of this experience, I would recommend other tours if you’d like to see the glow worms.
Response from Host, June 2022
Hi Elizabeth_K, Thank you for taking the time to write to us about your experience on our tour. The guide at times can run late due to other passengers not being on time for their pickups and traffic within the city, but apologies that this was not relayed to you on the night. We have a permit to take 15 passengers on our Glow Worm Tour and have to disagree that an extra 3 people would have spoilt the tour for you, as you were travelling in a 16 seater bus which can take 16 passengers comfortably. The guide has been reminded about wearing a mask when has a cough for everyones safety. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to management to see how we can implement your suggestions to make our tours the best they can be. Thanks again.
Tour was okay
Jonathan_P, June 2022
The good: Marc (our guide) is very passionate and informative and the tour did show us glow worms The bad: - Basic information (tailored towards kids) - Lack of wildlife - Not worth the price Final thoughts: - The tour was basic and lasted about 1 hour if it weren’t for the transportation or the tea and cake. The hike to the glow worms was easy (except they should double check the flash lights for battery life before hand). Based on my assessment, I would not recommend this tour to adults for the asking price. Our tour guide, Marc, was excellent and shared a lot of his research and did the best he could. The content was just not enough.
Response from Host, June 2022
Hi Jonathan, Thanks for your review and the feedback you have provided.
Great tour, even in the rain!
Lesley_C, May 2022
The glow worms and waterfall are well worth seeing and the guides were fun and super knowledgeable. Highly recommend this tour.
Response from Host, May 2022
Thanks a bunch Lesley :)
Do it
Katie_E, May 2022
Duff was a great guide spotting all shots of wildlife for us to see - spiders, lizards, crayfish etc. The walk was nice and easy for all ages and the cafe stop was a nice idea too
Response from Host, May 2022
Thanks Katie, great to hear you had a fantastic time :)
Nice experience, poor guide
Claire_R, May 2022
The tour guide/driver was very disorganised. We drove in circles around Surfers Paradise for 30mins without explanation. When we finally got on the way, the guide made so many wrong turns - seemed like he had no real idea where we were going. When we got to the glow worms, he didn't have much knowledge about the surrounding area or the flora and fauna. The stop at the Manor was lovely, and the glow worms themselves were good to see, but the guide really let the experience down.
Response from Host, May 2022
Hi Claire, Thank you for your feedback and review. So glad to hear you enjoyed the dessert at The Manor and also seeing the glow worms! Thanks for bringing this to our attention, the staff member in question had just finished his training, but we will revisit his hotel training again to ensure this doesn't happen. Kind Regards, SCT
...

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
Current
Likely to Sell Out
No Photo
Evening Rainforest & Glow Worm Experience - Small Group Tour

158

3 hours 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
From
USD 72.38
No Photo
Natural Bridge Glow Worm Night Tour from Gold Coast

34

3 hours
Free Cancellation
From
USD 86.33
Likely to Sell Out
No Photo
Natural Bridge & Springbrook Waterfalls Tour

143

5 hours
Free Cancellation
From
USD 72.38