Blue Dolphin Sailing Adventure

Badge of ExcellenceTamarindo, Costa Rica

From USD 85.00

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 5 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Part of what makes Costa Rica the world's premier destination for ecotourism is its extensive coastlines. Explore the waters off Guanacaste aboard the Blue Dolphin, a 40-foot catamaran that slices through the surf and offers a fully stocked bar, paddle boards and kayaks for your enjoyment. Breathe in the salt spray and keep a lookout for dolphins, turtles, whales, and spectacular coastal views.

    What's Included

    • Light meal:chicken fajitas, black beans, salad, fruit platter, vegetable tray, homemade banana bread
    • Drinks: variety of sodas, juices, beer, white wine, Cacique, vodka, rum, tequila, and water
    • Swimming
    • Snorkeling
    • Stand up paddle board
    • Kayaks
    • Pool Noodles
    • Restroom
    • Sunscreen
    • Towel
    • Gratuities (15% -20% recommended)
    • Transportation (can be arranged for an additional charge)

    Meeting And Pickup

    Meeting point

    • El Chiringuito
      75X4+4M9, Guanacaste Province, Tamarindo, Costa Rica

      Boarding area on the beach in front of El Chiringuito Restaurant

    End point

    This activity ends back at the meeting point.

    What To Expect

    Additional Info

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Stroller accessible
    • Near public transportation
    • Most travellers can participate
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 36 travellers
    Operated by Blue Dolphin Sailing

    Cancellation Policy

    You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

    Traveller Photos

    See more
    661 reviews
    Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
    Reviews by Viator travellers.
    Showing 1-10 of 661 reviews
    Beautiful trip
    Edward_L, Mar 2023
    The employees took excellent care of us!! Food was great ( costa rican), loved the open bar! We were lucky and had wonderfully warm water for snorkeling and a stunning sunset. The staff kept the boat bathroom impecable..
    Everything was good, nice...
    Rich_D, Mar 2023
    Everything was good, nice slow cruise, good food, free drinks, and nice sunset. The staff was great and very accommodating.
    Great staff, decent food.
    Brenda_H, Feb 2023
    The winds prohibited us from the activities. But safety is important. Staff was great. Easy, but very aware of doing their jobs. We had 28 ppl, much more would be too much in my opinion. Food was above average and drinks were good and a good amount. I’d try again. Maybe another tour operator just to compare.
    Florentina_G, Feb 2023
    Wonderful day, Dario, Chute, Pablo and the other person(sorry do not remember the name) but they were all sooo nice, very attentive to the guest. The staff was very friendly, one of them even dance with my sister.
    Response from Host, Feb 2023
    Glad you had a great day with us! Our handsome crew are also pretty good dancers. Come see us again!
    Awesome Time
    Lesley_H, Feb 2023
    Excellent adventure . The Crew was great .would highly recommend .Great views swimming and sunset. Excellent way to spend the afternoon at a great price
    Response from Host, Feb 2023
    Thank you for joining us! Glad you enjoyed our amazing crew. I agree, best thing to do in Tamarindo!
    good experience
    Eduardo_A, Jan 2023
    Great time, crew were really friendly and constantly made sure we had food or drinks. Beautiful boat too
    Response from Host, Jan 2023
    Thank you for spending the day with us and I am so happy to hear that you had a great day!! Hopefully you can come see us again one day!
    The food was great, the...
    Cline_B, Dec 2022
    The food was great, the people were great, had a fun time and the sunset was amazing. Would recommend it!
    Afternoon of fun and sun with attentive service
    Elisabeth_P, Dec 2022
    As you can read from all those reviews, the service is impeccable on that both. The staff is very attentive and makes sure everybody has a drink and is taken care of. They are very amiable and friendly. They also do their best to make the experience memorable: we saw some whales and they chased them during sunset time for us to watch and take picture. It was a great end of the trip. My favourite part was the hour we spent in the cove. It is a beautiful and quiet spot, and you can just relax on the beach or float in the warm water. While you have to take a little boat to get to the catamaran, it is less than 2-3 minutes and it is easy and a quiet ride. I was one of the last to board the boat and didn’t have the best spot for relaxing under the sun (the nets at the front), which were occupied by other groups the whole time. The food was not memorable, but it was fresh, abundant and everybody had their fill.
    Party boat; great sunset!
    Kristin_A, Dec 2022
    Had a great time on our sunset sail excursion. It was easy to find the meeting spot on the beach. When we checked in, we were concerned since there was a large group joining that day for a 21st birthday. Randy from Blue Dolphin said he’d be happy to shift us to the next day’s cruise if we were concerned it would be too rowdy. We decided to leave our booking as is and I am glad we did! After they check you in on shore, they escort you to the catamaran on a little dingy. Luckily we were on the first trip to the catamaran and were able to claim a prime spot on the netted open portion of the boat. The boat is definitely dated and has wear & tear. This is not a luxury excursion by any means – more of a casual booze cruise. I must say that the staff did a great job making sure we had plenty of liquor in us. After a 90 minute cruise, we anchored and you were able to jump off the boat and go swimming. They had noodles which were perfect for floating in the water. After about 45 minutes, they brought us back on the boat, served a light lunch and then we sailed back capturing a perfect sunset. Loud music was going, people were boozed and partying, salsa dancing. Not sure if all of the cruises are usually this lively – I think it just depends on the groups they have booked that day. We had fun!
    Wonderful time & always...
    Janet_S, Dec 2022
    Wonderful time & always nice to be on the water. They kept the drinks flowing. We had swim time & a good lunch. Ended with a beautiful sunset!
    Great time!
    Stephanie_I, Dec 2022
    Great crew, great experience, great day!!! We will be back with more groups! We look forward to it again!
    Second rate experience.
    Steven_S, Nov 2022
    Old boat, toilet didn’t work. Boat very tired. Had to wait in the shuttle boat in the dark while crew cleaned boat. Crew more interested in dividing tips instead of getting us back to the beach.
    josiah_m, Nov 2022
    Wonderful trip, the sights were beautiful, saw wildlife, and the staff always were quick with drinks
    Response from Host, Nov 2022
    So glad you enjoyed your day with us! We hope you can join us again one day!
    This was a fun excursion...
    Seleena_R, Oct 2022
    This was a fun excursion however the cruise ship doesn’t come all the way to the water you have to ride a small boat with a lot people and no life jacket then the process to get on it’s just unsafe the staff on the boat was extremely friendly and fun though
    Response from Host, Oct 2022
    Thank you for joining us for a day at sea. Like most towns in Costa Rica Tamarindo does not have a marina and this can make boarding all the boats a little more challenging, never the less glad you had a good day with us!
    Honest review
    Naomi_S, Oct 2022
    The tour was nice ! The view was really beautiful for the nature and the sunset ! Ouaw ! We are on october and maube it was why we didnt see any fish with the snorkeling :( nobody told us . The bar is supposes to be an open bar but its not. They don’t want you to take more than 2 shots. I mean we are a small group, more than 25 years old , no showing signs of drunk behaviour but just wanted to have a good time. It was a turn off. Dont expect to have a little feeling on the boat. Even after eating and swimming they didnt want us to drink more. It was controled, they treat you like children. It showed that it was the end of the season because there were no smile and enjoyment when they were talking to us. Just one on the crew who was showing interest.
    Response from Host, Oct 2022
    Hi. Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed your afternoon with us. Our tour focus is to provide an enjoyable and safe day at sea for all; this may entail the limit of alcohol for some if necessary. Usually people really enjoy our crew, I will speak to the them about being more personable. Thanks again for joining us.
    Memorable Fun!
    Lailah_E, Aug 2022
    One of the most memorable experiences of my life! The crew was attentive, fun, engaging, and helpful. Absolutely loved it!
    Response from Host, Sept 2022
    Lailah, So happy to hear that you REALLY enjoyed your day, thank you for choosing us for your afternoon at sea!
    Breathtaking views!
    Judy_S, Aug 2022
    The crew was so nice and the food was delicious! We got to see a few turtles and we even saw a whale. The views were breathtaking!!
    Response from Host, Sept 2022
    Judy, So glad you spend the afternoon with us. I agree with you, Tamarindo is so much prettier from the sea. So exciting that you were able to see the sea life.
    Awesome excursion!
    Malina_G, July 2022
    Our family of 8 (6 adults and children ages 7 and 9) had an absolutely awesome time on our cruise! Juan, Diego, and Alvaro were great hosts, and we all enjoyed the cruising, water activities, delicious food & drink, music, and the beautiful sunset!
    Response from Host, Sept 2022
    Great to hear your family enjoyed spending the day with the Blue Dolphin family. As you found out we have the best crew in town! Thanks for choosing us.
    Great experience
    Jennifer_C, July 2022
    Thank you for a wonderful day on the water! The service was outstanding, the boat was very comfortable, the music was enjoyable and the food was delicious. Couldn't have asked for more.
    Response from Host, Sept 2022
    Thank you for the great feedback. So happy you chose to sail with us!
    Mario_M, July 2022
    It was good……. Can not control red tide, weather. But very cordial and accomodating. Clean and safe.
    Response from Host, Sept 2022
    Thanks for spending your afternoon with us. Yeah, red tide comes through every so often. We try to find another location but sometimes we cannot find a clear spot. Glad you enjoyed your day!