Tamarindo Stand Up Paddleboarding with Snorkeling at Captain Island

Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Likely to Sell Out

From USD 56.42

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 2 hours 30 minutes (approx.)
  • Hotel pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Skip the boat tours and make your own way to a Tamarindo snorkeling spot on this guided stand-up paddleboard tour on Tamarindo Bay. No experience is necessary to enjoy this trip—all instruction and equipment is included to ensure success. Once you reach Captain Island, slip on your snorkel gear and enjoy free time looking for wildlife like fish, stingrays, and octopi before paddling back to Tamarindo.
  • Tamarindo stand-up paddleboard and snorkeling tour
  • Paddle out to Captain Island in Tamarindo Bay—no experience necessary
  • Great chance to enjoy the beach and see Tamarindo wildlife
  • All paddleboard and snorkeling equipment included

What's Included

  • Local taxes
  • Bottled water
  • Pick up and drop off in Tamarindo/Langosta area
  • Gratuities

Meeting And Pickup

You can head directly to the meeting point, or request pickup

Meeting point

  • Tamarindo
    Guanacaste Province, Tamarindo, Costa Rica

    We pick up from all Tamarindo/Langosta area houses, condos, and hotels. If you do not need transportation, then please meet us at the Tamarindo Estuary at the agreed upon time (tour time depends on low tide) If you need transportation from outsideTamarindo, we can arrange that for you.

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

Pickup details

The time of this tour depends on low tide and your pick up time will be sent to you after booking.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Please let us know where in Tamarindo/Langosta you would like to be picked up.
  • Tour time depends on the tides and will be sent you upon booking
  • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travellers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Traveller Photos

10 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travellers.
Showing 1-7 of 10 reviews
Weird service attitude
tassy_c, Mar 2023
Bad vibe. The staff is two-sided. He would treat us friendly, but turned around and talked s**t abt us in front of other clients. Don’t really get why.
Great snorkeling spot, bad rental company
Andrew_C, Feb 2023
Would have been a great snorkeling experience, but we were given a sinking kayak on a day with rough winds/waves. After flipping several times (we are experienced kayakers), the guide was nice enough to take over my kayak and try to get him and my girlfriend back. They sank/flipped about half way, and I was told to get help from a nearby anchored boat (presumably in place for emergencies) but nobody was onboard. He and my girlfriend had to be rescued by a nearby boat not affiliated with the company. Asked about a refund, and got a “did you get to snorkel, did you get back?”. We paid for the equipment rentals, not to snorkel and be rescued by strangers. After arguing for a bit decided to let it go. I would recommend a better company in the area - plenty to choose from.
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Hola Andrew! We are sorry you didn't enjoy your kayaking experience. However, none of our staff here at Native's Way seems to know anything about your situation. Please contact us so we can locate your booking, investigate what happened and get you a refund/make this right for you. The operators on the beach do not have any direct control over your payment and should have sent your request to our reservations staff to be reviewed. Gracias!
Fun and more of a $45 value
Michelle_L, Mar 2022
Renaldo "Christian" was very sweet. Pretty chill guy. Found some starfish for us to hold while snorkeling. He was encouraging with the paddleboarding. Fun day! would recommend bringing shoes for the walk on the island and wearing a shirt for snorkeling (you will get sunburnt). 4 stars as I believe it is more like a $45 value not $65. Thank you.
Never again
Virginia_L, Jan 2022
The winds and the current and the waves were way too much to go out paddle boarding. We finally got out to the island and couldn't get back. Even the guide was not able to move with the conditions. We had to be rescued by a boat. We are in very good shape and this was extremely difficult. The snorkeling was terrible because there was no visibility. we are exhausted and sunburned. I feel like the tour operators should know the weather and currents and tide and should not have taken us out.
Response from Host, Jan 2022
Hola Virginia, we are so sorry! The snorkel conditions and winds can be very unpredictable and the Kayak Club guides do their best to make the right decision. Please contact us for a full refund and we will provide any free tour that you like. Deepest apologies from the Native's Way team.
2021 Captain Island Snorkeling
Michael_Z, Jan 2021
Trip was awesome start to finish- The winds challenged us considerably, but Reinaldo and several friendly local guys on boat came to help my family have fun/safely. Captain island was awesome, with abundant wildlife everywhere! Reinaldo again went above and beyond to make sure we understood what each and every critter was.
SUP and Snorkel
Charles_B, Jan 2020
Snorkeling was a blast! I felt like I was swimming around inside a salt water fish tank. Ronaldo, our guide, seemed genuinely excited to be showing us around the island. He’s a very friendly guy with high energy and positive demeanor. His English vocabulary is still growing but he’s easy to understand and his enthusiasm more than makes up for it. I had never snorkeled before and he was attentive to make sure I learned and had a good time (finding/pointing out unique fish, lobsters, starfish, etc.). My girlfriend and I walked away with smiles and good vibes. Paddle boarding was tough because of high winds but we knew what we were getting ourselves into.
Cristhy_C, Jan 2021
Poder ver las especies marinas al hacer snorkel y conocer la historia de la isla. El guía fue muy amable y simpático