Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"

Day Trip To Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch from Cancun

Tulum, Mexico

From USD 69.90

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 11 hours (approx.)
  • Hotel pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Discover the essence of the ancient Maya civilization on this full-day excursion to Coba and the Tulum ruins. This Cancun Super Saver takes you to explore Tulum's ruins with an expert guide, then jump into a rejuvenating underground cenote. Tour Coba, a once-thriving Maya village deep in the rain forest. Enjoy Yucatanean specialties at a buffet lunch and round-trip transportation from your Cancun hotel. Mayan pyramid Nohoch Mul is still visited. But Travelers will not be able to climb it due to the pandemic restrictions.  
  • Full-day Cancun Super Saver combining tours of the Tulum and Coba ruins at a discounted price
  • Gain insight into the ancient Maya civilization as you explore two incredible archaeological sites
  • Savor a buffet lunch of Yucatán Peninsula fare
  • Includes round-trip transport from your Cancun or Playa del Carmen hotel

What's Included

  • Professional guide
  • Buffet lunch
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off (if option selected)
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Gratuities
  • Optional activities
  • federal tax in Coba of $ 06.00 USD

Meeting And Pickup

You can head directly to your preferred meeting point, or request pickup.

Meeting points

Select a meeting point
Type to search

Pickup points

Select a pickup point
Type to search

Start time

07:30 am

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

Pickup details

You can contact us to know what time the pick up will be in the lobby of your hotel or where you can meet us. Meeting Point  at Main  Entrance  Grocery Store SUPER AKI on  Avenue  Cobá Carretera Federal Tulum Ruinas s/n, by  Carretera Federal y Av. Tulum Oriente, 77780 Tulum, Q.R. For Tulum Hotel Zone and Tulum Downtown . Hotel Pick up service only from Akumal area up to Dreams Tulum.

What To Expect

After morning pickup at your Playa del Carmen or Cancun hotel, ride in a comfortable, climate-controlled minivan to Tulum. 

Perched high on a cliff, this ancient city overlooking the Caribbean Sea is one of the best-preserved Maya sites. Learn about the Maya society that thrived there in the 13th-15th centuries during a guided tour. Explore the site at your leisure before departing for your next stop. 

Before heading on to Coba, stop at a cenote, an underground sinkhole created by limestone erosion and filled with pristine water. After a refreshing dip, travel to a local restaurant for lunch. Enjoy Yucatanean specialties, including quesadillas and salad. Sip water, soda or beer with your meal. After lunch, depart Tulum for Coba.

Travel to Coba, deep in the rain forest amongst lush vegetation and serene lagoons. Once a Maya trade center, Coba now boasts many significant ruins.

Cancun

Hotel Pick up and ride to Tulum . Expect to be picked up at your hotel main lobby or check point in Cancun to start the ride up rod 307

1 hour 30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Tulum Archaeological Site

Order in the itinerary can change First stop is Tulum, where a professional guide will surprise you with interesting facts on a 45 min tour, this pyramids are located on tall cliffs along the coast of the Yucatan Peninsula with a great view of the Caribbean Sea.

45 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Important Notice: Very seldom the Coba site could close the day of the tour by the local authorities due to Covid 19 regulations. When this happens we will visit the Muyil Archaeological Site instead.
  • This activity is only carried out for passengers staying at hotels in Cancun and Puerto Morelos
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • The duration of transfers are approximate; the exact duration will depend on the time of day and traffic conditions
  • Fees for the use of smartphones, cameras and video camaras will be charge.
  • It is recommended that you bring a swimsuit, towel, sunscreen and sunglasses
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travellers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Frequently Asked Questions

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.

Q:What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Day Trip To Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch from Cancun?

A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:
  • Face masks required for travellers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travellers upon arrival

Q:What is the policy on sanitisation during Day Trip To Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch from Cancun?

A:The policies on sanitisation are:
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised

Q:What is the social distancing policy during Day Trip To Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch from Cancun?

A:The policy on social distancing is:
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience

Q:What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Day Trip To Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch from Cancun?

A:The policies on staff health & safety are:
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms

Traveller Photos

See more

Traveller Tips


Bring some cash, you’ll need it and they deserve their gratuities, they work hard for it!
Tour guide provide bottled water few times during the day - very helpful during the hot weather.
However, it is a LONG day, so I do not recommend this for small children.
Reviews
4.0
484 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travellers.
Showing 1-10 of 484 reviews
Great guide, good comprehensive trip, disorganized pickup
David_H, Oct 2022
This tour is a long, full day that lasts until 8pm or so. We had an excellent guide in Raimundo, who clearly loves what he does. Tulum was impressive; Coba a bit smaller but evidently a more important site; and our final stop was a fairly new Maya village experience complete with shaman blessing you, and cenote to swim in. Finally, we arrived at Playa del Carmen, the main resort town on the Riviera Maya, and had an hour to wander around. My only complaint was the pickup, not done by the tour company itself. They said they'd pick me up at 7, and they did (so I missed the included breakfast at my hotel since it started at 7), we drove around for an hour, stopping for 10-15 minutes at a time by the side of the road, and finally, at 8, WE WERE BACK ACROSS THE STREET FROM MY HOTEL. With better information, I could have had my breakfast and not wasted an hour on the bus going in a circle.
Amazing!
Evelyn_C, Oct 2022
It was an amazing trip!! I absolutely loved the whole experience. Our tour guide Celeste was extraordinary!
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Thank you very much for your preference, and we appreciate and are very happy that you had a dream experience. We sincerely hope that everything has been wonderful and that you can share this experience with your friends and family, and we hope that you can recommend them to us for your next vacation.
Great day trip!
Maishan_J, Sept 2022
Great tour guides!! Tulum is beautiful, great views. Coba had lots of shade and Miguel was great! The Cenote swim was amazing and refreshing after a day in the sun!
Response from Host, Sept 2022
Dear Customer, Thank you for sharing your tour experience, this is very helpful for us, and we agreed Miguel rocks and the entire tour is amazing! We hope to see you soon. Kind regards
Could be a great tour but a tale of many buses.
Mark_P, Aug 2022
Where to start with this trip. Firstly we told to be outside at 7.20am for collection. We were still waiting 30 minutes later. No problem though as I messaged and was told they were on their way. Collection was made and we thought we were on our way. How wrong we were. We were driven into Playa Del Carmen and dropped outside a shop and told to go inside and collect our wristband. A little confused we did this and was then told to go stand outside and wait to be collected for our tour. There were loads of people milling around in different coloured wrist bands looking confused. Eventually someone told us that a gentleman in an official shirt was our guide and that our transport was only five minutes away. 30 minutes later the gentleman reappeared and put us on another small bus and told us it was taking us on our tour. He then left and we were on a bus, just us and no tour guide. He went round the block and parked up outside the shop again before setting off. So after an hour and half we were underway on our second bus in the direction of Tulum but with no tour guide. A little confused and in the heavy morning traffic the bus pulled over to the side of the road and a random guy got in the bus and told us his name was George and that he was our tour guide for today. In fairness to George he was a personable guy and had plenty of knowledge about the tour. We stopped again at another hotel where we waited for others for the tour but we were told they were a no show when they had clearly just given up waiting. We were now finally on our way to Tulum 2 hours after collection. At Tulum we met several other tours again with different bands on and split into English and Spanish speaking. No problem and we walked down to Tulum and were given a tour and a talk by George about the history of the place. Once done he said we had an hour and to meet him at the start point when we had done. This was a nice amount of time to have and we made our way back to the meeting point for the next leg of our tour. Once we got to the meeting point George met us to tell us he was leaving but we were now heading of with another group with another set of guides. These were already our fourth set of the day. We were told to wait again and we would be on a big coach this time so we sat and waited for more people from other tours to arrive and by now it was 12.30pm so we thought the next stop must have been lunch. Once we were getting on the bus we were told that lunch would be after Coba and off the bus went to. Coba was great and well worth a visit. We were taken to the ruins by our guides who constantly made hints about tips every time you spoke to them. The visit to Coba was a bit of a flying visit before getting back on the bus to be taken to a Mayan village for lunch and a Cenote swim. Lunch was nice if very late in the day at 3.30pm especially as we had young children and had been collected at 7.20am and the Cenote swim was great and needed. Once done we headed back to the bus ready to be taken back to the hotel. Coba is inland so after an hour or so travelling our names were called again and we were told we had to get off the bus to get on yet another transport to be taken to our hotel. We were then dumped at an underpass to be met by another minibus and told this would take us back. To add insult to injury, we handed our guide a tip as we got off the bus but he gave us it back and told us it wasn't worth it as it wasn't enough. It was a token from us as after all the messing about we didn't think any tip was worth it. We were eventually taken back to our hotel and dropped off exhausted and not sure how we actually managed to get to all the places. We will say we got to see everything we wanted to and the lunch and the Cenote were great but the organisation was appalling. I would say this could be a great trip but I would suggest you avoid it.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Thank you very much for the time you expend to write this complete review. We regret to know that we have not fulfilled your expectations during your Tour. Please be certain that we take your feedback seriously and will use this opportunity work on these areas in order to deliver better service to our guests.
Avoid crowds, pay a little more and book a different tour company
Gerardo_T, Aug 2022
Tour was as expected in that we went to the indicated, but pick time and location changed the night before. We changed buses 6 times (6 different buses) bus changes always happened at some shop full of tourist merchandise. We ran late all day(dropped off at 8pm), and the “buffet lunch” was 2 meats and rice with fruit as dessert. Very poor.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Thank you for the time you use to write the review, we are really ashamed for not fulfilling your expectations on this experience we are now working to improve the detailed points on this review to avoid issues for future customers.
Ask for Raymundo!
Robert_Z, Aug 2022
Great tour from beginning to end with beautiful historical sites to explore, a small and intimate cenote experience. Our guide was amazing. The entire group laughed all day and learned a lot.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Thank you for sharing your tour experience, this is very helpful for us and for our potential customers, and we agreed Raymundo is one of the best, and Tulum & Coba is a must!
Great to see Tulum and...
Scott_S, July 2022
Great to see Tulum and coba and see the strip of player carmen staying in cancun I wouldn’t of know it was there without going on this trip
Response from Host, July 2022
Thank you for sharing, thats is the good about going on a tour you get to know new places that can surprised you for sure.
Our trip was awesome! ...
Mark_O, July 2022
Our trip was awesome! Raymond is fun, knowledgable, and very respectful. Prepare yourself for a full day of new experiences. Pura vida!
Response from Host, July 2022
Dear Mr. Mark, Thank you for sharing your amazing experience, your satisfaction is the most important for us. We are agreed, this tour is full of adventure and mayan culture. !! For sure we hope to see you soon! Kind regards
Think twice before booking.
Nirali_P, July 2022
I would not recommend this tour to anyone. Lunch is served at 3:00 PM, which was not feasible for the elderly in our group. At Coba ruins you have to bike up the path, which again is not made clear in the description. Also you only get 1 hour and 20 mins total at Coba. Additionally, we changed 5 vehicles throughout the entirety of the trip. The first meet up spot is through a very rundown area with very uneven pavement. Be weary of booking this excursion.
Response from Host, July 2022
Thank you very much for your feedback, we will verify and take action on the logistics and we are reviewing the itinerary as well we are really shaming that the experience was not what you expect.
Good day, lovely tour guide!
Rebecca_B, July 2022
Great day to fit in 2 Archeological sites. Great lunch and atmosphere at the cenote!30 minutes extra at coba would have been better to enjoy the site was a bit rushed but still enjoyed.
Response from Host, July 2022
Thank you very much for sharing your experience, we are glad to see that you enjoy the trip, we will be monitoring the time in order to avoid rush on the sites.
More than we thought
Maria_J, June 2022
This trip was amazing. Very private. Had a cenote to ourselves. Coba wasn't crowded. Got to be welcomed by a shaman. Super awesome!
Response from Host, July 2022
So glad you had a good experience, thank your for sharing
Our tour guide was...
Dolly_G, June 2022
Our tour guide was fantastic. The day staryes early and ended late (from Cancun), so be prepared for an all day adventure.
Response from Host, June 2022
Thank you for sharing your experience it will be a long day, but it is worth it, both histoarcheological sides history are amazing.
Highly recommend this tour!
KeithJones_K, June 2022
Raymond was wonderful! He was friendly, funny, helpful, and very knowledgeable! Because he was patient with all our questions we learned a lot about each site. Highly recommend. Side note: Coba was closed indefinitely (due to lack of successful negotiations with the Mayan people, apparently), which we were disappointed about as we wanted to climb one of the temples. But Raymond Moore than made up for it! Everyone loves Raymond!
Response from Host, June 2022
We cannot thank you enough for your kind words about our trip to Tulum and Coba. Your review means a lot to us and makes us see that we are on the right track! Definately will let Raymong Know everyone loves him
Disappointing tour
Mario_T, May 2022
The tour description is inaccurate. There was a hike/very long walk in 96-degree heat not disclosed! Lunch at 4 pm is not lunch. Van air conditioning was not working properly. Tour was too long for the activity and didn’t even include Coba. Overall very disappointing. The tour company need to change the format of this tour.
Great tour, guide should not be comedien
Stephen_V, May 2022
Excellent tour, sites and food. Tour guide tried a little too hard to be funny which got old quick, but they took good care of us!
Response from Host, May 2022
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, really appreciate it.
Day trip to Tulum etc…
Marie_A, May 2022
They didn’t do Coba… Raymond our tour guide was very friendly and attentive…. Enjoyed the day and the swim in Cenote….
Response from Host, May 2022
Hello Marie, thank you !! So glad you enjoy the experience and had a good day
Amazing experience
Patrick_H, May 2022
Ramon was absolutely amazing! Gave an amazing tour! Was able to see a lot, didn’t get to see the Cobá ruins, but got to go see playa del Carmen! Overall it was well worth it.
Response from Host, May 2022
Dear Patrick, thank your for taking the time to review our Tulum and Coba adventure, really appreciate it
No Coba
Jolanta_F, Apr 2022
Unfortunately no Coba ruins , why ? we didn't understand . The rest was very good , be ready for long and hot trip . We enjoyed .
Good trip but Coba Ruins no longer an option
MiguelSteffan_M, Apr 2022
The trip went well. Enough time to explore the ruins of Tulum and the off-the-beaten path ruins of Muyil. However the trip originally stated we would be going to Coba but changed on the day, as they were no longer allowing people to climb the pyramid there. We also traveled really far to a cenote, that was nice, but could have easily been replaced by another closer to Tulum. So the downside was most of the day was spent traveling vs. actually enjoying the sights.
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Thanks for your review. We would love to hear more about your experience, Please reach out to amin@cancunvacationexperts.com with any further comments or suggestions you wish to share.
Hot historical adventure
Amy_V, Apr 2022
Tulum was good-Loved the cenote swim (Raymond & crew worked very hard to do this) It is a long, hot day - food decent , 2nd ruin site - too tiring! But made many international friends !
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Hello Amy: We are so grateful for your kind words. Thanks for sharing your review with us and the community. our staff will definitely be happy to read what you wrote.
...