Colonial Williamsburg Self-Guided Audio Walking Tour

Williamsburg, United States
Special Offer

From USD 7.20

USD 8.00 Save USD 0.80

Select Date and Travellers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 1 to 2 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


    What's Included

    • App on your phone: A link to download the Tour Guide App by Action and Password for your tours.
    • Flexible schedule: Use any day, any time. Travel over multiple days or on next trip. Never expires.
    • Easy to use: Stories play automatically by GPS. Hands-free. Get HELP all day: Call, Chat, or Email.
    • Offline use: No cell signal or wifi required. Offline GPS Map & route. Stop-to-stop direction.
    • Don’t miss a thing: Full itinerary, travel tips, professionally narrated, videos, text, hidden gems.
    • Transportation, parking fee, food/drinks
    • National Park/attraction Passes, entry tickets, or reservation

    Meeting And Pickup

    Meeting point

    • Colonial Williamsburg Visitor Center
      101 Visitor Center Dr, Williamsburg, VA 23185, USA

      After booking the tour, please make sure that you have downloaded the app and the tour in advance. For the best experience, we advise doing this while you have a strong internet connection. ***Note: This 2.5-mile-long tour covers the essentials of Colonial Williamsburg in 1-2 hrs.***

    Start time

    Confirm time with the local provider in advance of your experience.

    Opening hours

    • 7/28/2020 - 4/15/2024

      Monday - Sunday : 06:00 am - 11:30 pm

    End point

    • The Wren Building
      Wren Bldg, 111 Jamestown Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185, USA

    What To Expect

    Additional Info

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Near public transportation
    • How it works: Once you book a tour, you’ll get a text/email with instructions. Download the app (while in good wifi/signal) and use your unique password to access your tours. To begin touring, go to the Starting Point and launch the app. The audio starts automatically. Stick to the tour route & speed limit for the best experience. Please note that no one will meet you at the starting point.
    • Good value: Purchase one tour per person. If you are a couple and prefer to share, purchase one tour and remember to bring headphones you can split.
    • Flexible Schedule: Once the app/tour is on your phone, you can use it any day and at any time. You can use it over multiple days. And, also use it on your next trip here. This tour never expires.
    • Preview the tour: You can use it before the trip at home (highly recommended), use it during the trip, and use it after you come back.
    • Don't miss a thing: You will get everything with the app - a complete itinerary, travel tips, professionally narrated audio stories, story script, images, videos, deep dives, hidden gems, exciting locations, recommendations for hikes, adventure, activities, treks, and stop-by-stop direction.
    • Private tour: You can use it in your car or rental car. No worries about groups or crowds. Start the tour app on your phone. And it will direct you step by step. You can stop for as many breaks as you like. Take a break for Instagram photos, and take a break for lunch/snacks. Go on a hike. The tour will wait for you and start when you start again. You can even do the tour over multiple days. Go at your own pace.
    • Easy to use: The stories play themselves as soon as the GPS is activated. It requires no use of your hands at all. You can get HELP by calling, chatting, or emailing any time of the day.
    • Offline: There is no need for a cell signal or Wi-Fi while touring. App’s GPS map works offline.
    • Expiration/go again: The tour will last for the rest of your life on your phone. It is available for use on any day of your next trip.
    • Use pictures for a photo book: Create a photo book using clean (no crowd) app images of each spot to make a memorable trip. All the significant photos and the correct sequence is ready in the app for you to use.
    • Social media: Share clean (no crowd) images with friends/family.
    • Devices supported include iPhones with iOS 13 & above, Android phones with version 9 & above and all cellular-enabled tablets & iPads.
    • Most travellers can participate
    • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate

    Cancellation Policy

    You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

    Traveller Photos

    See more
    16 reviews
    Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
    Reviews by Viator travellers.
    Showing 1-4 of 16 reviews
    Don't recommend
    Olga_C, Nov 2022
    My location wasn't show on the map of this application. It was the plan of historic area , didn't connect with my location. Bad experience
    Response from Host, Dec 2022
    I'm sorry for the inconvenience you had, Olga! It seems like you didn't turn on your GPS access to the app to sync your location with the map. Also, to remind you, the tour you bought is yours for a lifetime. So, you can listen to it at home or on your next visit.
    The stories were good but...
    Jeanne_C, Sept 2022
    The stories were good but brief and the offline version never worked and when the Internet was bad, it was like having nothing at all. Ibalso accidentally bought too many. Only one is needed for a group.
    Response from Host, Sept 2022
    Thank you for your thoughts, Jeanne! I'm delighted you enjoyed the stories. I'm so sorry about your experience. The tour is designed in such a way that no internet connection is required to complete it once downloaded. Given that the vast majority of our customers had a positive experience with us, I'm curious if this is an issue on your end. And, because this is a walking tour, we recommend purchasing it per person unless you have a speaker in a group. In addition, I have 100 other self-guided tours for other historic sites, scenic drives, cities, and parks in the United States — hopefully, you'll get a chance to try them the next time you visit! Also, just a reminder that the tour you purchased is valid for a lifetime. As a result, you can listen to it at home or during your next visit.
    Awesome, personal on your own
    Ralph_P, May 2022
    We love Viator! We used the walking app in Colonial Williamsburg. Great experience. We used this company last year as we toured Gettysburg and other places. Wherever we we will check Viator!
    Response from Host, May 2022
    Wonderful!! I'm so glad you had a good time in Colonial Williamsburg, Gettysburg, and so many other places with my self-guided tours! You can also reach me at Action Tour Guide to see new and upcoming tours — something to check before your next trip!
    Good content with a few technical glitches.
    Jag_G, Dec 2021
    Good content about history of area and requires no input to start info at each stop since app monitors your progress through route. Can always repeat or pause or go to desired stop manually. Not easy to follow directions at beginning of tour from Visitors Center to Colonial Williamsburg because app doesn’t guide you to pedestrian walkway. Free shuttle driver stopped and told us how to get to Village. Along the way app and our path sync after awhile. Tour directions are also confusing around Lafayette St which is a busy road outside of Village with no sidewalks. Probably not safe with little children. If you wish to enter any of the sites purchase tickets to do so at Visitor Center before starting. Other than the two technical issues, we felt the audio walking tour was worth the money and we enjoyed ourselves.
    Response from Host, Dec 2021
    Thanks for the great feedback! We’ve already been informed on the issues at the beginning (those updates will be live by tonight) and will work on clarifying the path around Layfayette (there’s a safe route but it could be more clear on the map). I’m so glad you enjoyed the tour outside of these points! We’re also adding more content over time to make the tour even more worthwhile! I hope you get the chance to try our other self-guided audio tours at ActionTourGuide.com.