Northern Lights 4x4 Jeep Tour from Akureyri

Akureyri, Iceland

From $190.81

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 2 to 3 hours (approx.)
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Go in search of the Northern Lights on a nighttime tour from Akureyri. Travel by 4x4 Jeep outside of town to escape any light pollution, and watch the dark sky for one of Mother Nature’s most spectacular shows. This area of northern Iceland is one of the best places to see the lights, also known as Aurora Borealis, so don’t miss the chance while you’re here. Hot chocolate and an Icelandic doughnut will keep you warm and awake while you wait for the lights to appear.
  • Northern Lights tour from Akureyri
  • Take a 4x4 Jeep ride outside the city to wait for the lights to appear
  • Hot cocoa and a twisted doughnut included
  • Small-group tour limited to eight people provides a more personalized experience

What's Included

  • Driver/guide
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Hot cocoa drink
  • twisted doughnut (Icelandic "Kleina"
  • Food and drinks, unless specified

Meeting And Pickup

You can head directly to the meeting point, or request pickup

Meeting point

  • Hótel Kea by Keahotels
    Hafnarstræti 89, 600 Akureyri, Iceland

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

Start time

09:30 PM

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Star Travel (Pass By)

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Child rate applies only when sharing with 2 paying adults
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • The Northern Lights are a natural phenomenon. Sightings cannot be guaranteed even if the tour is operated
  • The Northern Lights 4×4 JEEP tour is dependent on the weather and sky conditions and we reserve the right to cancel at any time. If the evening tour goes ahead and the Northern Lights are not seen, we will offer the trip again for free next time we have a booking.
  • If you book a northern lights bus tour but conditions do not allow us to run the tour during your stay. You will receive a full refund.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 6 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more
Featured review
Such a great experience! Thor was a great guide and we felt so lucky to get to see some awesome, dancing lights. Thank you, Thor, for driving up and down the road to ensure we found the right spot!


25 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-7 of 25 reviews
A good chance to see the lights that did not work out, because of the guide from my point of view.
Mikel_P, Apr 2022
We did not see any Northern lights and in the very last minute our tour was changed for a lower price onem without been offered any compensation. The funny thing is that we eventually saw few lights from our Hotel balcony, once the tour was finished, so I guess that the spots the guide have choosen were not the best ones. What a shame !3 hours in the bus where the heater was not working properly.
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Dear traveler, we we are sorry that you didn't enjoy the Northern lights tour. We refunded you the price difference of the two different tours. The northern lights are a natural phenomenon and unpredictable. Our guides have many years of experience operating tours and we do our best to find the best locations to see the lights every night. We have a very high success rate but of course it happens sometimes that we don't see the lights. The fact that you saw the lights later that night does not mean that our guide didn´t do his job, it just means that the lights were visible after the tour ended. Hope you enjoyed your time in Iceland and we are glad that you saw the lights, even if it was just from your hotel balcony.
Awesome Experiences!
Ashley_G, Mar 2022
Such a great experience! Thor was a great guide and we felt so lucky to get to see some awesome, dancing lights. Thank you, Thor, for driving up and down the road to ensure we found the right spot!
Response from Host, Mar 2022
Thank you for your time to write a review. Thor is amazing guide and we are very lucky to have him at Star Travel.
Amazing Aurora
Emilio_S, Feb 2020
The experience was amazing. Reynir picked us up at the hotel and drove us outside the town to escape light pollution. Though the sky was mostly clouded, he found a couple of cloudless spots. Shortly after parking, the aurora showed up and were able to see it for about half hour, until the clouds covered them. All this while having hot chocolate and Icelandic doughnuts.
Response from Host, Jun 2020
Thank you for a wonderful night and a great review
Great Northern Lights Experience
ear718, Feb 2020
Thank you so very much for a wonderful experience! Reynir is a very seasoned guide who generously shared his knowledge and expertise, right alongside his friendliness and warmth. His experience with the Northern lights was the reason we were able to see the lights at the right time and in the right location. We cannot wait to relive our memories by seeing his beautiful photographs. One thing to keep in mind is that vehicles such as the one we rode in, while perfect for the weather, the back row is challenging to enter/exit for those with mobility limitations. Otherwise, very comfortable and roadworthy.
Response from Host, Feb 2020
Thank you for a wonderful night and a great review
Northern Lights 4x4 Jeep Tour from Akureyri (max 6 in jeep)
Charis_L, Oct 2019
It was a disappointment when we're pickup by a normal van instead of the booked 4x4 Jeep which we were very much looking forward to. The driver guide wasn't sociable and we were brought to his 'perfect spot' which was before a tunnel, and blocked by a hill/mountain. It was a very low possibility to catch aurora on 1 Oct, but i guess my birthday charm worked the magic and were so surprised when aurora suddenly appeared before us. This tour would have been perfect if we knew in advance we're not getting the jeep. A nice gesture will be to offer another night to view the lights or be compensated in refund would have been much appreciated.
Response from Host, Oct 2019
Dear Charis Lye Our 6 person jeep broke down before the tour and we had to take you in a mini-bus that night, but it was still maximum 6 person for the tour so you had a lot of space for you, sorry for that you did not have the jeep. Something like this can happen and It was good that you saw the Northern lights, we always offer another tour for free if we don´t catch the lights. The guide told me that you saw the Northern lights that evening, thank you for your time for the review. You are welcome to contact me if you have any question at reynir@startravel.is All the best Reynir
Amazing experience!
Sandy_O, Sep 2019
Reynir was a great guide! He took us out where there were no other spectators and it was like having a private show! He took photos on his camera, capturing some amazing views and emailed them to us the next day. The hot chocolate and doughnut was a nice touch on a cold evening. Highly recommend!
Response from Host, Oct 2019
Thank you for taking a time to give us review, it was a great night with you. All the best Reynir
Northern Lights
Nomad26321690191, Mar 2019
Unfortunately bad weather arrived and our only chance slowly gave way to no possibility. Disappointed. Feel they should give you a voucher to redo. Jeep driver was awesome and showed us Godafoss which made the ride much better.
Response from Host, Jun 2019
Thank you so much for taking your time to write us a review and for choosing Star Travel. We always offer a second chance if the Northern Lights do not show up. If you come to Iceland again please contact me and we find another day. Email: reynir@startravel.is All the best Reynir

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
Northern Lights 4x4 Jeep Tour from Akureyri


3 hours
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Northern Lights 4x4 Tour from Akureyri


2 hours 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Northern Lights Classic Tour from Akureyri



Free Cancellation
No Photo
Kerlingarfjöll Highlands Day Tour in a 4X4 from Akureyri


12 hours
Free Cancellation