Boat Excursion Capri Island: Small Group from Amalfi

Amalfi, Italy

From $184.27

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 10 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


The best way to experience Capri is by sea, but private day cruises can be costly. This small-group tour is a more affordable option but, with just 12 passengers, you’ll still enjoy personal attention. Hop on a minibus from Amalfi to Sorrento and set sail for Capri. Cruise around the island, stopping to swim and snap photos. Spend a few hours of free time on land before returning to Sorrento.
  • Save money with a small-group shared boat tour of Capri
  • Stress-free minivan transfer from Amalfi to the port in Sorrento
  • Cruise around Capri to take in the Faraglioni and other sights
  • Stops to swim and dock on the island for free time to shop and dine

What's Included

  • Snacks
  • Bottled water
  • Sbarco a Capri e tempo libero (4ore)
  • Wi-Fi a bordo
  • Sosta Bagno
  • Stop & entrance tickets to the Blue Grotto
  • 5,00 € a persona da pagare in loco (tariffa attracco,servizi ormeggio,tariffa sbarco)
  • Pick up from the facility not included - just from our meeting point

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Piazza Flavio Gioia
    Piazza Flavio Gioia, 84011 Amalfi SA, Italy

    Flavio Gioia Square in Amalfi - at the bus stop to Ravello/Scala There will be our driver that will wait for you and will bring you by our departure port after about 1,30h of driving time each way.

Start time

07:30 AM

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Amalfi (Pass By)

Natural Arch

5 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

I Faraglioni

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Marina Piccola

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Punta Carena Lighthouse

5 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Marina Grande Beach

4 hours Admission Ticket Included

White Grotta

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Si consiglia di portare con sé un asciugamano e un abbigliamento adeguato (pantaloncini, costume da bagno, ecc.)
  • Per il periodo invernale: si applicano numeri minimi. Vi è la possibilità di cancellazione dopo la conferma se non ci sono abbastanza passeggeri per soddisfare i requisiti. Nel caso in cui ciò si verificasse, ti verrà offerto un rimborso alternativo o completo
  • This tour does not include the stop to the Blue Grotto, due to the long waiting time. All the guests interested can visit the Blue Grotto by themselves during the free time on the island.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 12 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more
Featured review
We booked this because it said Amalfi to Capri and it was perfect! The staff was AMAZING. We had Mary and Johnny and they were so knowledge and so so so friendly. They definitely made the experience. You spend 2 hours in Capri and 2 hours in Annacapri and it’s the perfect amount of time. You get bused around the island and then taxied back to your town once you arrive to the port. It was the most perfect day and our favorite day spent in Italy. If you’re looking for a tour/having free time to explore look no further and book HERE!!


56 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 56 reviews
Best Capri day Ever!!!!!!
Lauren_B, May 2023
We booked this because it said Amalfi to Capri and it was perfect! The staff was AMAZING. We had Mary and Johnny and they were so knowledge and so so so friendly. They definitely made the experience. You spend 2 hours in Capri and 2 hours in Annacapri and it’s the perfect amount of time. You get bused around the island and then taxied back to your town once you arrive to the port. It was the most perfect day and our favorite day spent in Italy. If you’re looking for a tour/having free time to explore look no further and book HERE!!
Response from Host, May 2023
Hi Lauren, thank you so much for your five star review about the Boat Excursion Capri Island: Small Group from Amalfi. We are flattered you said it was the most perfect day and your favorite one spent in Italy. Thank you for your compliments about Mary and Johnny, we will pass to them, they will be very happy. Thank you also for your recommendation about this Tour. It is important to us. We look forward to seeing you soon. Kind regards, Amelia
It was okay
Daniela_A, Mar 2023
When we arrived to capri we were told to pay an extra €25 per person for the shuttle to take you to both parts of the island and back to the port. Taking taxi is more expensive and they said buses are unreliable. We paid almost 400$ for this for 2 people, they could have included the shuttle. When we were paying the shuttle my husband gave him a 50 and he gave us 10 back… a couple minutes passed and the tour guide speaks to him in Italian and then asks for the 10€ back. A bit sketchy. Also, the tour says it includes lunch (sandwich) which we did not receive.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Ciao Daniela, we have received your refund's request about the not having given you the sandwich but we strongly believe that you have confused us with another operator since WE do not supply the sandwich but only snacks as is clearly written in the tour description. Asking even a 50% refund for the tour seems too much to us considering that a Caprese sandwich costs a maximum of €5! Regarding the review, we don't understand the reason for it considering that the bus on the island is not sold by us, it is not present in our description, there is no mention nor an imposition on anyone's purchase! It would have been smarter to ask us for an explanation before accusing us of selling services that are neither included nor described in our tour. Regards Marina
Great day trip
Lindsey_H, Oct 2022
Great ride out to the beautiful highlights of Capri/Anacapri. Guide and captain were great. Fun afternoon! Just the right amount of time cruising and exploring the island.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Hi Lindsey, thank you so much for your amazing feedback. When our customers are happy this means we are doing a good job. We are pleased to know you considered this Boat Excursion to Capri Island: Small Group from Amalfi a great day trip. We look forward to seeing you soon in our area. All the best, Amelia
Definitely recommend!
Valeria_C, Sep 2022
Our captain and the skipper were so great!! Guito and Mario! There were 6 other couples on the boat with us. Guito was so great and knowledgeable. Told us what to see in Capri and Anacapri. They took us for a swim in the water. Guito also made sure to take pictures of each couple going under the arch of love. We got some delicious tomato, mozzarella, and basil sandwiches once we got to Capri. They had such a good attitude and played good music. Would definitely recommend. 4 hours on the island of Capri was the perfect amount
Absolutely amazing...
Gabrielle_T, Aug 2022
Absolutely amazing experience! The staff was so professional and timely, and we couldn’t have asked for a better way to explore Capri! Do not hesitate to book this trip!
Average trip
Beth_T, Aug 2022
The crew members on the boat were very hospitable and the boat ride was smooth and we saw beautiful sights. Towards the end of the trip, we got to take a quick swim in the Mediterranean. Silvio, our captain was entertaining and told us about sights along the way. This was the best part of the trip. I was a bit disappointed with the part when we got to Capri. Once in Capri, we were given to option to take a 20 min mini bus ride to Anacapri. We opted to do that as to split up our time between Capri and Anacapri. We were told there were excursions and beautiful sights. Once we arrived to Anacapri, however; the bus driver told we only had approximately 50 min to explore and had to be back on the mini bus which would head back to Capri. The lines for the excursions were over 40 min long. So, it was hard to do anything in the 50 minutes. I don’t recommend spending the extra $15 euro per person to go to Anacapri. Once we got back to Capri via the minibus, we had a few hours to explore Capri. It was beautiful, but I found it to be very expensive and commercial. I also assumed we would have a tour around Capri, however; we were left on our own to explore for a few hours. When we departed Capri via the boat, we passed by the blue and white grottos, however; we didn’t get to go inside, which was disappointing. In all, the trip was Ok, I wouldn’t say it’s a must.
Poor experience from Amalfi
mitchelhulst, Aug 2022
First issue: The tour is sold on viatour as a 10 hour experience. The reality of this is 3 hours is spent on a bus and 6 hours on the tour (from 10/10:30 until 4/4:30) depending on departure time. Of the 6 hour tour 4 is spent on cari island (until 2/2:30) and just 2 hours on the boat when they drive you for a brief swim (30 mins total) around the island and back home. We were home and off the boat by 4pm. (We were told we must be back by 4pm - and later learned that was because the boat was needed to bring back other tours) More than half of the 12 guests on the boat raised their concerns with the operator, who sent us to the agent, who sent us to Viator. No one wanted to hear about it. After half an hour arguing six of us (including two central Italians who where equally furious (referring to the tour as scammers) gave up and left. While the location is lovely, this experience is significantly!!! shorter then advertised as the boats race back and collect other tourists. We spent the best part of the afternoon on a mini bus back to the hotel 4:30 until 6pm. Very disappointing. Second issue: I selected a hotel pick up which was about 100 meters from the hotel via Viator. I was then contacted by the tour company and informed the pick up was the bus stop in Amalfi and then told I had to travel to the town square at my personal cost of €50 euros for an early morning taxi plus arrange my own transportation back to hotel after the tour. Third issue: The lunch was very limited and consisted of a vegetarian sandwich and 1/2 glass of Prosecco. The bare minimum. The tour operator opened the bottle of Prosecco and a we The final straw was when the transfer driver kicked us out of the minivan about 10 mins before Amalfi and told us to walk. Apparently he didn’t want to drive into town because it was two busy. I would not recommend this tour. Will be seeking refund as it’s deceptive and misleading.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
You....again.... The tour is well explained online and everything was done as described. 1. the tour lasts a total of 10 hours and we are not required to explain the logistical and organizational part of it having, as mentioned before, carried out everything according to plan. 2. return transfer by shuttle: when you booked, did you check where your hotel was, on the map, in relation to our departure port? It is about 1.5 hours each way so about 3 hours, see "Sorrento area" in the description of the port of departure. 3. on July 31st we sent you meeting point and pick-up time, you knew from the 1st moment where and at what time we would pick you up, so I don't understand this further complaint expressed only after taking part in the tour. Nobody promised you a hotel pick up .... 4. As for the lunch, I refer you to point 2, when you booked it was written that the lunch consisted of sandwiches and drinks and not a 4-course lunch at the restaurant. We have not misleading anyone, you must be aware of what you are buying without blaming anyone but only yourself for not having read correctly what you are about to buy that is basically the tour that is well described online and that you have done with us, nothing more, nothing less. Best Regards Marina
Wonderful Tour
Olga_L, Jul 2022
We had a great time and worth every penny. Captain Antonino and his mate Hugo were very attentive and patient with our group. They gave us a thorough explanation of all the sites we saw. Fantastic experience!
This was actually my...
Timothy_A, Jun 2022
This was actually my second time doing this trip. The first time was much more enjoyable. This time we only saw one of the grottos. The first time we saw 2 or 3. The group was young and ready to party but the boat crew played music for maybe a total of 10 minutes max. They did give us a long time on the island (about 5.5 hours) however I would’ve liked to use more of that time on the water seeing the grottos and swimming personally. It was a beautiful day weather wise up until the last hour on the island. Started to rain. It was raining and choppy on our way back. You can’t control the weather obviously but they were not eauppped with enough towels. The whole group were in bathing suits and t shirts but soaking wet and freezing on our trip back to sorrento port. I’d imagine they had to know there was a slight chance of rain and should have been more prepared. Disappointed with this trip. It was an expensive excursion that to me wasn’t worth it.
Jessica_V, Jun 2022
Our trip with Marie and Johnny was very enjoyable! Wish the boat tour part was longer (only around 2 hours and then on capri for 4 hours). Loved being on the boat.
Andrea_S, Aug 2021
Honestly the tour was only for two hours, the first part they were simply a taxi service from hotel to harbor and then a water taxi from harbor to Capri island they simply dropped you off for 4 hours and when you came back at 3pm you had 1.5 hours of an actual tour and swimming. The guide was super nice and captain was great not very good English but overall great. I just don’t feel that it was worth the value I paid.
Response from Host, Aug 2021
Ciao Andrea and thanks for your comment! The Capri Boat Tour from Amalfi last 9 hours in total of which about 3 hours in total of ride from Amalfi to our departure port ( clearly written in our description) than other 6 hours includes the free time of 4 hours on the island and 2 hours about between swim break and lap of the Island..... maybe you were on a different boat comoany and not with us because the times you mentioned aren't ours ..... Hope to have you on board again Best Regards Marina

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
Boat Excursion Capri Island: Small Group from Amalfi


10 hours
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Full Day Island Tour in Capri and Anacapri from Amalfi


9 hours
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Small-Group Sailing Tour in Amalfi Coast with Aperitif


15 minutes
Free Cancellation