Big Island of Hawaii

Kona Shore Excursion: Hawaiian Sea Turtles , Historic Kona & Coffee

Kailua-Kona, United States
Kona Shore Excursion Hawaiian Sea Turtles Historic Kona and Coffee

From $139.00

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 5 to 6 hours
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Spend a full day exploring Kona. See green sea turtles, learn how Kona coffee is made, and visit archeological sites. Make the most of your time with a varied tour encapsulating Hawaii’s history, natural beauty, wildlife and culinary culture. Stop at white sand beaches, sample locally crafted world-famous coffee and then choose from a variety activities depending your tastes. You have the choice to snorkel, go souvenir shopping, or relax at the local brewery before returning the port.
  • Visit Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park with both white sand beaches and dramatic black lava landscapes
  • See Hawaiian archaeology, ancient fishponds, and Hawaiian reconstructed huts
  • See Hawaiian green sea turtles
  • Learn how Kona coffee is grown, harvested and packaged

What's Included

  • Port pickup and drop-off
  • Bottled water
  • Professional guide
  • Lunch (stop is made to purchase at local vendor)
  • Alcoholic Drinks ( Can be purchased at Kona Brewery)
  • Optional:snorkel Gear is available for rent at Kona Boys
  • Gratuities

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Kailua Pier
    Kaahumanu Pl, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740, USA

    When you get off the tender please proceed to the green-shaded tent located on the Kailua-Kona Pier for check-in. Your guide will be holding a sign that says " C Big Island Tours"

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Kailua Pier

15 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Honokohau Marina & Small Boat Harbor

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Kaaloa's Super J's

45 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

The Painted Church

15 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Greenwell Farms

1 hour Admission Ticket Free

Ali'i Drive

1 minuteAdmission Ticket Free

Kamakahonu Beach

1 minuteAdmission Ticket Free

Kona Brewing Company

1 minuteAdmission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Dress comfortable - It is usually hot and sunny
  • If your ship does not arrive due to weather- You will be fully refunded
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 24 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more


71 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 71 reviews
Missed Tour Because Viator Gave Us False Info
Brittany_H, Sep 2023
We did not get to take the tour and were told we wouldn’t be refunded for the cost of the trip. We were emailed with instructions to park in a parking lot that turned out to be private. When we parked there, a man came outside to tell us that it was a private lot and if we parked there, we would be towed. We tried to find alternative parking but by then it was too late. We missed our tour. This is Viator’s fault for telling us to park in a private lot and now we aren’t getting our money back. We are out $278. I will never recommend Viator to anyone.
Response from Host, Sep 2023
Aloha Brittany, you were already late for check-in and the guide waited till 5min after. I then gave you the option to meet us at the first stop and the guide would bring you back to your vehicle. In which you didn't respond. We give you 3 parking options and last one is paid parking but is guaranteed. The other 4 hotel guests made It no problem.
Fun Informative tour
Randy_R, Sep 2023
Cousin Edmund was fun and informative. I know a lot more about Kona coffee and why it is special. No pressure to purchase anything! And we did see Turtles. Great lunch at local Fish & Chips spot.
Response from Host, Sep 2023
We will definitely let Edmond know, thank you for the review.🙂Have a wonderful day☀️
Worst excursion ever
Daniel_S, Sep 2023
Nothing it was awful. Driver was very disconnected with passengers. Only spent a few minutes at attractions but we spent over an hour at his favorite restaurant. We were not offered any water and then he expected a tip.
Response from Host, Sep 2023
Thank you Daniel for your review. I see others from the same day were unhappy as well. Management has had a meeting about this and are working to have it corrected.
Kona coffee but no sea turtles.
Barry_K, Aug 2023
Learning how coffee is processed at Greenwell farms. Also enjoyed the ono at Keiki’s. No turtles to see in the water and forget about the beach after a 10 minute walk down a very uneven path but the guide warned us.
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Aloha Barry, glad you enjoyed seeing the process of the Kona coffee. So sorry there wasn't any turtles, that is really uncommon, however, they are wild
Poor Excursion
Demy_B, Aug 2023
Spend too much time at the coffee farm. Never saw Captain Cook. I feel it was over charge of a tour.
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Aloha, glad you all were able to meet up with the tour group. After missing the departure. Yes, you went through the town of Captain Cook to get to the painted church. You may be mistaken by the captain cook monument which you can only get to by water. Thank you for joining us
Fun and Informative
Bob_Z, Jul 2023
Edmund is an excellent tour guide with a world of local knowledge and a warm and engaging personality. He a great "cousin" to have on island
Response from Host, Jul 2023
Mahalo Bob for the wonderful review😊 Edmond really does make everyone feel like family
Matthew_C, Jun 2023
The website shows 9 stops- we did 4. The place our guide took us for lunch was tiny and could not handle a group our size. We were there almost 1.5 hours for mediocre food. That wasted a significant amount of our time. Very disappointed
Response from Host, Jun 2023
Aloha thank you for your feedback. We will continue to look for alternate lunch stop that opened after covid. Also, I think you are confusing the optional ending stops with all those stops being in the tour somehow.
Buyers Beware
Michele_F, Jun 2023
The advertisement for this excursion was misleading, nowhere on the advertisement, it even indicates “snorkel gear is not available” and failed to inform it was a BUS TOUR. We had three small children that would not last hours on a bus, even brought our own snorkel gear due to the advertisement. Our driver was very kind and easy to work with, when we realized it was strictly a bus tour in the first 3 min. he helped accommodate a safe drop off location. When I asked to be refunded drone the company I was denied! Buyer beware!!
Response from Host, Jun 2023
Aloha Michele, no this tour is not misleading. Under Tour modes it says Minivan, Minibus. Nowhere does it say boat snorkel boat. I don't know how you would walk through a Kona Coffee farm while on a boat. 🤨 Leaving a 1 star for your mistake of booking a tour you accidentally thought was something else really hurts smaller companies.
Had a great experience on...
Anne_B, Jun 2023
Had a great experience on our excursion in Kona. Was very interesting to hear about the coffee farm and to see the green turtles in its environment. The guide (forgot his name!) met us at the port in an airconditioned bus along with other cruise passengers. A great day for us.
Response from Host, Jun 2023
Aloha Anne, you were most likely with Hannable or Edmond. So glad you enjoyed beautiful Kailua Kona with us!❤
Coffee plantation tour...
Richard_B, May 2023
Coffee plantation tour was very interesting, as well as the lava flow field at the state park. Lunch stop was crowded and slow due to a couple of tour buses being there at once. The food was good however.
Response from Host, May 2023
Happy to hear the food was good Richard, haha cant help when everyone shows up at once, thank you for coming with us. 🐠
Turtles sightings are best at high tide!
Terry_H, May 2023
The sea turtles and Kona coffee plantation visit were the highlights of this tour. It’s best to visit during high tide because that’s when the turtles come in to feed.
Response from Host, May 2023
Glad you enjoyed the sea turtles and Kona Coffee!
Excellent tour!
Deborah_F, May 2023
Donna was an excellent tour guide! She made it fun and informative. She even circled back around at the end of the tour so that we could see the black sand beach that was closed earlier in our tour. Excellent tour! Thank you, Donna!
Response from Host, May 2023
Happy to hear, the black sand beach is GORGEOUS.🌸
Awesome Tour and Tour Guide!
Michelle_E, May 2023
Edmond was absolutely awesome!! So knowledgeable about everything we did and saw and super funny! We loved everything we did on this tour including the super yummy mom and pop shop we had lunch at! We highly recommend this tour and company!!
Response from Host, May 2023
Awesome! will for sure let Edmond know thanks.🌺
The Way to Go BIG!
DarrylR_B, May 2023
From start to finish a professional driving and friendly experience. Just the right amount of guide comments during the ride. C Big Tours is GREAT!
Response from Host, May 2023
WOW! thanks so much 😍 please come again soon.🐠
Abadoned at Church.
Ted_Z, Apr 2023
In the middle of the tour, the bus left without us. The driver returned in about an hour. He apologized.
Response from Host, Apr 2023
Aloha Ted, yes this was a huge mistake. thank you for calling the office immediately so we could remedy the problem. Once again apologies
Lukewarm. Bad guide.
Cheryl_W, Apr 2023
The guide/driver was terrible. Instead of stating when to be back on the van, he said "20 minutes" but didn't specify the time. This lead to stops being cut short (by our watches), or some too long (the lunch stop). He even left an older couple behind so we spent an extra 40 minutes returning to the previous stop (the painted church) to retrieve them! The sea turtles (2, but really 1) were underwhelming since we're used to swimming with them. The church was especially underwhelming. We enjoyed the coffee farm tour the best of all, although the coffee was extremely high priced. We missed going through old Kona town (Alii Drive) due to the doubling back described above, so missed out on shopping in Kona town.
Response from Host, Apr 2023
Aloha Cheryl apologies for this and appreciate you sharing your experience. ❤
Great trip
beckieparish, Mar 2023
Wonderful guide. Saw sea turtles and toured coffee farm and tasted the coffee. We tasted the Kona coffee. Lunch stop was delicious.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Glad you enjoyed the beautiful highlights of things to see in Kailua Koan 😎
Excellent guide, enjoyed lunch and itinerary.
Janice_T, Feb 2023
Rick was an excellent guide, we went to Kona coffee farm and enjoyed seeing the turtles. Had excellent lunch.
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Aloha Janice, I think you were with either Edmond or Kelvin. Thank you for the review😊
Thank you for helping us ‘shell-ebrate’ our adventure!
Richard_M, Feb 2023
We loved it all. The painted church was absolutely stunning and was worth the trip on its own. Lunch was absolutely delicious. We also enjoyed the National Historical Park and the history. The turtles did not disappoint.
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Thank you Richard for taking the time to leave a review! So glad you enjoyed all of our awesome sights in Kona 😊
Great Hawaiian Nature, Sea life and Historical Tour
Karen_L, Jan 2023
Experience the history of Kona and the Big Island from Sea Shore to Coffee Plantation. Kelvin brought the Hawaiian spirital and cultural history to life with his experiential stories. Mix in the sea turtles and the Kona Coffee Plantation, a local fish lunch followed by the Painted church and Captain Cook history and it’s a full tour.
Response from Host, Jan 2023
Thank you Karen for the wonderful review and so glad yo hear you enjoyed Kelvin :)

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
Kona Shore Excursion: Hawaiian Sea Turtles , Historic Kona & Coffee


6 hours
Free Cancellation
Likely to Sell Out
No Photo
Big Island Active Volcanoes, Waterfalls & Coffee


10 to 12 hours
Free Cancellation

Explore Similar Things to Do