San Luca Experience Tour skip the line and Food Tasting

Bologna, Italy

From $31.04

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 3 hours 30 minutes (approx.)
  • Offered in: English


    Sample Menu


    Typical products tasting

    What's Included

    • Gratuities

    Meeting And Pickup

    Meeting point

    • Neptune square
      Piazza del Nettuno, Bologna BO, Italy

      Near the fountain of Neptune. It is requested to arrive 10 min before the scheduled meeting point time

    End point

    This activity ends back at the meeting point.

    Ticket redemption point

    Neptune square, Piazza del Nettuno, Bologna BO, Italy

    What To Expect

    Additional Info

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Wheelchair accessible
    • Stroller accessible
    • Near public transportation
    • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
    • Most travelers can participate
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers

    Cancellation Policy

    You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

    Traveler Photos

    See more
    21 reviews
    Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
    Reviews by Viator travelers.
    Showing 1-7 of 21 reviews
    Extremely disappointing experience
    Ninon_M, Dec 2022
    Train and your company contact were late ( more than 30 minutes). Due to bad weather the tour should have been canceled and refunded. Fog was so intense that we couldn’t see San Luca or surroundings. Restaurant was close. Church even closed the observation deck. We had to wait 2 hours for the train to come back and pick us up. Used Viator multiple time and were always very satisfied. Company should have canceled as the weather was really bad and completely useless to take us on a tour with main attraction is a view of Bologna.
    Response from Host, Dec 2022
    Hello, you have left a negative review in the wrong place. Bad weather does not depend on us. No one could stop her from changing the day or asking for a refund but this review is false and defamatory. I ask her to take it off. Good day
    Fun way to visit San Luca
    Osmel_M, Aug 2022
    Flexible way to visit San Luca. The ride is fun, kids enjoyed it, and you can go at your own pace in the Sanctuary.
    Response from Host, Aug 2022
    Thank you
    A self-guided outing with a little bit of food and drink
    KitDaniel_S, Jul 2022
    With the pic-nic option you only meet the hosts at the start where you get a little box with a little bit of food (not much) and a beer; from there you go with the train/express up to San Luca along with other people (the train/express can be booked separately). You do not have a personal guide with you during the trip or at the basilica. They do add a small gift with the food box, but would have preferred a more personalised tour.
    Response from Host, Jul 2022
    Thank you But nowhere is it written that there had to be a guide. Check your reservation
    Theresa_T, May 2022
    Ride to church actually costs E12 with return ,very fair. Tour with Food tasting paid E30 , definitely not worth it, would definitely not recommend.
    Response from Host, May 2022
    What you say is false and incorrect
    Not worth the money what so ever
    Michael_S, Apr 2022
    The train trip to San Lucas was good, interesting information during the tripp. Though the food tasting was not worth the money. The tripp including "food taste" was EUR 60 for two, for just a ticket with the train the cost was EUR 23 for two. One tiny bread with mortadella and a small icecream for EUR 37 was shocking. On top of that one had to navigate to one place to get the mortatella and then another 10 minutes walk to the icecream. It felt like beeing scammed paying EUR 60 for something you could get for EUR 23. The extremely expenisve, so called "food tasting", made the impression of the trip a real disaster. I just remember it as "usuary"
    Response from Host, Apr 2022
    This report is false and deceptive. The gentleman simply did not want to do the tastings because he wanted to go home and showed up in the square in a rude way, throwing the vouchers on the ground and demanding that we give him back in cash, I repeat the tasting money in cash, giving wrong reviews Attitude to the limit of the complaint. One must be ashamed to turn to a girl like that. learn education!
    Trip to San Luca, Bologna
    sue_o, Mar 2022
    The train ride up the mountain was interesting with a good commentary in our chosen language. The palisade up the mountain is the longest in the world at about 5km. The timetable of trips was adequate. The icon of the Madonna was interesting and there were some good views over the local countryside and the city. There was nothing else up there except one restaurant. The cost of the trip via Viatour was expensive, although it does include some tasting experiences in the city. It is cheaper to pay on the day in the square.
    Response from Host, Mar 2022
    Thank you
    So Great!!
    Alexa_L, Mar 2022
    The food vouchers were AMAZING and it forced you to walk around the city, which was nice. And the train was lovely!
    Response from Host, Mar 2022
    Thank you