Stay Hungry Stay Bologna

Badge of ExcellenceBologna, Italy
Stay Hungry Stay Bologna
Likely to Sell Out

From $91.40

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 3 hours
  • Mobile ticket


Italy is synonymous with pasta, and no city is more famous for this classic dish than Bologna. Connect with a home cook to learn the secrets to turning out fresh pasta like tortelloni and tagliatelle just like a true Italian “nonna” with this private cooking class. After preparing three types of pasta and tiramisù for dessert together, relax over lunch featuring the recipes you’ve created plus a variety of Italian wines.
  • Discover the secrets to preparing pasta in Bologna, Italy’s “pasta capital”
  • The informal atmosphere and personal attention of a home cooking class
  • A welcome snack of warm pizza plus a guided wine tasting over lunch
  • Make three pastas with sauces plus tiramisù from a family recipe

Sample Menu


Homemade Pizza...selection of mortadella and some daily recipes


tortelloni burro e salvia or with fresh tomato sauce, tagliatelle al ragu


tiramisu', homemade muffins

What's Included

  • Lunch

    Meeting And Pickup

    Meeting point

    • Via Oreste Vancini, 4
      Via Oreste Vancini, 4, 40134 Bologna BO, Italy

      ringbell Minelli, 4th floor, elevator available

    Start time

    10:30 AM

    End point

    This activity ends back at the meeting point.

    What To Expect

    Additional Info

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Stroller accessible
    • Near public transportation
    • Infants must sit on laps
    • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
    Operated by Stay Hungry Stay Bologna

    Cancellation Policy

    You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

    Traveler Photos

    See more
    Featured review
    Great experience loved it all … was hands on Experience and we enjoyed a beautiful lunch afterwards. Frederico gave us many hints and tips along the way. Fun way to learn about traditional food for the region of Bologna !


    125 reviews
    Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
    Reviews by Viator travelers.
    Showing 1-10 of 125 reviews
    Lovely time of learning, meeting new people and enjoying culture.
    Lisa_C, Sep 2023
    Wonderful experience! Great host! Would definitely do this again in the future. The food was excellent and the encouraged connection with others there was fantastic! Made new friends and learned to cook!
    Response from Host, Sep 2023
    thanks a lot it was nice to host you
    Great experience
    Paul_M, Sep 2023
    Great experience loved it all … was hands on Experience and we enjoyed a beautiful lunch afterwards. Frederico gave us many hints and tips along the way. Fun way to learn about traditional food for the region of Bologna !
    Response from Host, Sep 2023
    thanks a lot my friend! my pleasure to host nice people!
    I’m inspired to make pasta but wasn’t overwhelmed with this class!!!
    Dianne_R, Sep 2023
    The description offered welcoming warm pizza which we didn’t get. It also said making 3 pastas and we did 2. The ad does say 3 Fred so you should check your advert before criticising people in such a harsh way. The class went fast because you pushed it that way to suit you. When reading your other reviews I should have taken more notice of the negative ones and went with that. You’re out to make a lot of money in as little time possible with least amount of effort, and you need to not touch your hair when “teaching” hygiene…. We were only 5 and how 8 people would have a hands on experience would be a joke!!!! Yes and you were probably expecting my review also.
    Response from Host, Sep 2023
    FIRST I THINK YOU DID NOT LEARN HOW TO READ WHEN IN SCHOOL....IF YOU READ MY DESCRIPTION SAYS WE MAKE 2 KINDS OF PASTA, TORTELLONI AND TAGLIATELLE...WHERE THE HELL I SAY 3????? im sorry you are right about pizza it was my fault and I did apologized in person to class at beginning bc I just got back from holiday the morning after 1 month and did not received the supplies in time to make pizza Moreover, you were 5 worked super fast since some of you did pasta had finished class at 1pm instead 1.30...what can I do about?? I did not push you to eat fast or kicked you out of house... I have 8 people everyday and obv with bigger class we make MORE pasta so all have lots of hands on! it's all in proposions My class is around 3hours, that is max time for's NOT a rule... I knew you were a pain in the A## since you entered the house!
    Enjoyable class but less than advertised.
    Janice_D, Sep 2023
    While we enjoyed the cooking class, it was not exactly as advertised. The class was only 2 hours long. There wasn’t a welcome snack of pizza and only 2 pastas were prepared rather than 3. Perhaps the class description should be adjusted accordingly.
    Response from Host, Sep 2023
    first of all your classes lasted 2.5 hours, you finished at 1 pm class was just with 5 people yesterday so obv was a bit faster bc as I told you, you were working more and made pasta faster.. I didnt kick you out the house... YES YOU DID 2 KINDS OF PASTA AS IT IS DESCRIBED IN DESCRIPTION...I VE NOT CLUE WHERE YOU READ 3.. check again before complaining...
    Bad communication
    Paul_G, Aug 2023
    Bad experience, operator changed my time slot to evening. NO notification from Viator. Unable to get any support. I was sent 2 addresses to go to. Not in a good part of the city either and felt unsafe
    Response from Host, Aug 2023
    I guess you might be drunk or something...first i'm in holiday so there is no class that you could book second in case you get a message with a different time (that can happen when is overbooked class..since it's top experience in town) it means you got informed last but not least I live in city cant be a safe area LOL i've not clue where you went to..
    Cooking class
    William_W, Jul 2023
    Chef was great, good instruction and humor. We all had a great time and enjoyed meeting others from Germany and Australia. Highly recommend.
    Response from Host, Jul 2023
    thanks guys!! such a pleasure to host nice people!
    The best evening! Can't recommend enough!
    Amy_S, Jul 2023
    Absolutely fantastic! This was the highlight of my trip to Bologna. My Mum and I did the class with a lovely group of people and chef Fred was great. Funny, welcoming and an excellent chef. Was great fun making pasta and learning about the recipes. He even sent us the recipes after the course to try at home! 10/10 recommend this course to anyone. Thank you Fred, it was a pleasure.
    Response from Host, Jul 2023
    it was mine :)))
    Very fun evening!
    Joanne_R, May 2023
    Our host involved everyone in the cooking experience and the end result was delicious. We also met fun people from three different countries.
    Response from Host, May 2023
    thanks guys! it was a fun night together!
    So much fun
    Mara_A, May 2023
    We all participated and there was a lot of laughter and fun. The chef had a great sense of humor and it was very interactive.
    Response from Host, May 2023
    thanks mate :)
    Not very happy with the experience
    Carolina_P, May 2023
    Low quality of ingredients, very basic and poor technique in pasta making, very small time with hands on for the limited physical space. Flavour of end preparations very poor and lack of taste. On top of this very low hygienic method. I have done other experience similar to this one in other parts of Italy that I would like to come back..this is not the occasion and I wouldn't recommend to a friend. I'm a disappointed customer.
    Response from Host, May 2023
    oh yeah! I was waiting for your review...I know people well! YOU SPENT CLASS TO TAKE SELFIES AND JUST TAKE PICS OF didnt do any didnt want to get your hands dirty and were worried for nails.... what can I reply more?! Hygienic is super high at my fact after you finished working in kitcken you saw the cleaning lady arriving that cleans everyday before and after class... asked me chili pepper to put on ragu'----this shows the quality of your taste lol! i think you should stick with libanese food...
    Great experience and amazing food!
    Brandon_C, Apr 2023
    Chef Fred was great. Very knowledgeable, great teacher, and made the overall learning experience fun. Not to mention, the food was excellent!
    Response from Host, Apr 2023
    thanks for the kind review :))
    Great time and fantastic learning
    JoseIgnacio_P, Apr 2023
    Great master class to learn to prepare the classic Bologna tortelloni and tiramisu dishes. Great time for me and my family too! Thank you Mr. Minelli.
    Response from Host, Apr 2023
    thanks to you guys! it's a pleasure to host nice people like you!
    Excellent experience
    Chris_C, Apr 2023
    It was a great experience to have as part of our stay in Bologna. Making pasta and tiramisu 😀 while having a couple glasses of wine! Host was great and gave us the recipes and further places to explore for food in Bologna and our next destination Florence!
    Response from Host, Apr 2023
    thanks nice was to meet you guys
    Fun, lighthearted, learned lots
    PheyShen_L, Apr 2023
    This was a fantastic experience. Federico communicated well with us about the cooking class and accommodated us when the class we initially booked on was full. The class itself was fun, lighthearted but we also learned quite a few things about making fresh pasta (tortelloni and tagliatelle), ragu and tiramisu. Federico was a great host, teacher and had a good sense of humour. The ragu was one of the best we have ever had. We are considering buying a pasta machine to make our own too!
    Response from Host, Apr 2023
    fantastic nice to hear this!!!
    Would not choose it again
    Nadja_B, Apr 2023
    Description did not match to the experience: just made 2 types of pasta and the tiramisu …after 2h we were done…too expensive for that
    Response from Host, Apr 2023
    thanks for this exactly got what you paid for. first you arrived to my house 20 min late of start of class.. you didn t want to do anything beside taking selfies and posting pics on social and also complaining of how much costed class and how much money I was making that I though was very unpropriate bc first my class has a right price compared to market and moreover nobody forced to buy it! when I asked you to dip a ladyfinger in coffee (not a really hard task) you told me you were too stressed what can I do ? just a laugh!
    Making pasta on Bologna
    Ana_J, Mar 2023
    Very cozy. The chef was very friendly and organized. It was a very fun a deliscious experience. O went with my family and we all enjoyed it very much.
    Response from Host, Mar 2023
    thanks for the kind words and i'm glad you had a wonderful experience :)
    Dylan_G, Jan 2023
    It was great learning how to cook the pasta. It was surprisingly easy to do, and with the recipes we might start doing it at home now.
    Response from Host, Jan 2023
    ncie to hear you liked your day! enjoy pasta at home!
    Pasta MasterClass
    Declan_M, Jan 2023
    We had a great morning, Brillant host and teacher . Very inclusive and you get to eat the food and have a glass of wine afterwards.
    Response from Host, Jan 2023
    thanks for the visit!
    Pasta making in a homely environment
    Jane_N, Jan 2023
    Great experience in a warm and friendly home! Frederico is the perfect pasta tutor, bringing to life his experiences but making sure you get your hands dirty!!! The pasta was delightful and we can’t wait to get home to put into practice!! One of our favourite experiences in beautiful Bologna!! A definite recommend
    Response from Host, Jan 2023
    Thanks a lot!! it's nice to hear you had a lovely time!
    A wonderful experience....
    Louise_T, Dec 2022
    A wonderful experience. Fred, and Ragu, were genuinely friendly and welcoming. Fully recommended to all.
    Response from Host, Dec 2022
    thanks guys :) it was a nice xmas night!

    Compare Similar Experiences

    1 / 3
    Likely to Sell Out
    No Photo
    Stay Hungry Stay Bologna


    3 hours
    Free Cancellation
    No Photo
    Lezione Privata con Chef di Cucina Tradizionale Bolognese


    5 hours
    Free Cancellation
    No Photo
    Handmade Pasta making Class with Chef Antonio


    3 hours
    Free Cancellation
    No Photo
    Cesarine: Dining & Cooking Demo at Local's Home in Bologna


    2 hours 30 minutes
    Free Cancellation

    Explore Similar Things to Do