Bologna Food & Wine tour with a local Chef

Bologna, Italy

From $64.86

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 1 hour 30 minutes (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Bologna è così famosa per la sua ricca cucina da essere conosciuta come 'la Grassa'. Goditi il miglior cibo e vino locale con questo tour a piedi gastronomico guidato da uno chef. Sosta presso i principali mercati, le rosticcerie e i panifici; assaggia il miglior gelato della città; visita la più antica 'osteria' d'Italia mentre scopri la cultura e la cucina della città.
  • Scopri lo storico contesto gastronomico di Bologna con uno chef locale
  • Assaggia la mortadella, il parmigiano e il pecorino, il gelato e molto altro ancora
  • Ascolta i consigli sui piatti principali di Bologna e i posti migliori dove provarli
  • Un tour privato per un'esperienza più intima e un ritmo flessibile

What's Included

  • Guida
  • Lunch
  • Alcoholic Beverages

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Piazza Maggiore
    Piazza Maggiore, Bologna BO, Italy

    in front of neptune fountain , where the statue is

Start time

01:30 PM

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
24 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-4 of 24 reviews
Disappointed in Bologna
Pamela_L, Sep 2022
in a city with such wonderful food this was a fast food tour with no food/drink included. A waste of time.
Response from Host, Sep 2022
It was dissapointing to have 2 clients like you!!! very rude people!! first you arrived 27 minutes late to tour...and I was kind enough to wait for you because as policy after 15 min i could have call it over, also bc there was also another very nice couple attending tour! Moreover if you read the description of the tour before buy the product is written in CAPITALIZE LETTERS that food and drink are NOT included!!! if you are ignorant and u cant read at age 65+ is not my problem!!
Arrogant Imposter
kent, Apr 2022
We were hustled. We paid 80 bucks to be seated at a restaurant with other guests for undercooked, poorly sauced “Bolognese” which was nothing more than macaroni, watery sauce and a little meat. When I asked him how he can tell pasta was “al dente” he could not answer. Our tour guide had no more “chef” training than any of us at the table. And, he admitted as much. When confronting him about no tour he replied, “It’s in the fine print”. Tours by Locals never treated us this way. To add insult to injury, we paid 27 Euros per person for our meal. No tour, no expertise, $150 for a crappy meal… “hustled”is putting it nicely. I want my money back.
Response from Host, Apr 2022
this review makes me LOL!!!! first as IT IS MENTIONED IN DESCRIPTION OF MY TOUR IF YOU CAN READ PROPERLY (!?) is clearly written : any food taste is a your own expense...I think should be pretty clear if you pay 39 euro for a can I pay also your food? I probably go bankrupt ...but sometimes people dont read and after complain...not my problem! MOREOVER it s also written...when there is a 6+ people group food tour (for logistic reasons) becomes a food tasting in a local osteria... and yesterday it was also public holiday!! I ve created a group chat on wazzup days before where I mentioned were in chat you agreed to after you complain?! you pair 27 had: selection of cheese selection of cured meat crostini pasta al ragu 4 bottles of wine (4!!!!!) shot of limoncello you complain about spending 27 euro?! LOL Im a private chef..and I explained how we call pasta al not difficult LOL.. usual tour last 1.5h....I took me 3h to do my work yesterday so I think i was nice to accomade you not arrogant.. glad 98% of my customers love my tour and tasting!
Federico was very...
John_B, Mar 2022
Federico was very informative. We had an amazing meal and really enjoyed ourselves. The Ragu was something special… going to have to change up my cooking when I get back home.
Response from Host, Mar 2022
thanks my friend!! it was a pleasure to have u guys!
A nice walk on back streets around Piazza Maggiore
Robert_B, Nov 2021
Visiting the oldest wine bar (1400s) and oldest Gellateria (1888) in Bologna was fascinating. Nothing special about the pizza we tasted; does not compare with many others we had in Italy.
Response from Host, Nov 2021
First you guys arrived 15 minutes late and I could not provide my usual tour, after you did not want to eat in any other shop...we skipped two stops becuase you were full of food.. moreover you told me you loved the pizza...but is ok a judment is subjective