1.5 Hour Chocolate Making Class and Chocolate Workshop in Brussels

Bruxelles, Belgium

From $48.79

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 1 hour 30 minutes (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Belgium is known for its world-class chocolate, and this hands-on experience allows you to both taste it and learn how to make it. Avoid the tourist traps, and visit an authentic chocolate factory in Brussels for a chocolate-making tutorial with an expert. During the workshop, find out fun facts about the history of Belgian chocolate, watch demonstrations, and make a selection of chocolates which you can take home with you.
  • Learn to make Belgian chocolates at a chocolate factory in Brussels
  • Watch special techniques, such as tempering on a marble table
  • Lots of variety—make delicious truffles, lollipops, and mediants
  • Find out the secrets of how ruby pink chocolate is made

What's Included

  • Enjoy a hot chocolate or a refreshing water with agrumes during hot summer times.
  • Apron

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • The Belgian Chocolate Makers
    Rue de Namur 6, 1000 Bruxelles, Belgium

    Please indicate a mobile phone with Whatsapp in the booking form. We will confirm you all details a few hours before the starting time. From 13/02, our location Rue Lebeau will be closed for refurbishing. For approx. 1 month, all workshops will take place at Rue de Namur 6.

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 35 travelers
Operated by The Belgian Chocolate Makers SRL

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more
80 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 80 reviews
Poor customer service
Hilary_D, Mar 2023
Couldn't make it as my flight was cancelled. Tried to contact the company but received a poor response literally "see terms" when I asked if it could be refunded or even moved to another date. Understand that terms apply but it's nice when companies can make exceptions for exceptional circumstances. Even a sorry or hello would have helped make the customer service slightly better than terrible.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
If you did not make the activity why do you rate us 1 star? It is your responsibility to be on time and to respect the terms of sale. Same as we do. Don't blame the others for your own ignorance as you even never spoke to us directly but you spoke with messaging robots or Viator service. We accept every day to reschedule the activity but when it is asked nicely and politely. Not your case at all. Insulting the people you request a favor is probably not the best way to accomplish what you wish.
Fun experience!
Ethel_B, Mar 2023
My dad and I learned so much about the chocolate making process. Our chocolatier was very knowledgeable and her chocolate was delicious!
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Many thanks!
Abdullah_A, Mar 2023
Big crowd and could not see the demonstration. Also, the guide was not sufficient for the group. I would recommend increasing support.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Hello, you were 23 participants on that day for a maximum capacity of 35, I would not describe that as a "big crowd"... The chocolate maker and her assistant always makes sure that everybody can see the demos and as well participate during the workshop. Netherless, we thank you a lot for your comment which is helping us to improve how we organize our daily chocolate workshops.
Fantastic, entertaining
Stephanie_K, Mar 2023
This was a fantastic experience! Patricia was phenomenal and very knowledgeable about the chocolate and the chocolate making process. She also made the process very entertaining!
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Many thanks !
Better than chocolate tasting - you make your own
Dan_M, Feb 2023
We wanted to do a chocolate tour while in Belgium and this was way better than just walking and tasting. The host is a real chocolatier and teaches you about how chocolate is made from the bean to the cooking and cooking process. And it’s hands on - and they ensure everyone is successful in making their own chocolate. Oh and the end result is you get to taste chocolate and bring some home too. Nice experience
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Thanks a lot Dan!
Fun time in Belgium!
Ginny_H, Feb 2023
Of course learning to make chocolates in Belgium is the perfect choice! It was an enjoyable hour+ learning about chocolate, trying chocolate and making chocolate. The teacher was clear, precise, and funny. Best class ever! From a rookie chocolatier!❤️
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Many thanks!
You should try this
Sharlene_M, Feb 2023
This was a perfect end to our vacation. Great experience, wonderful humor. Took great care to make sure we completed a good sample. Strongly recommend!
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Thanks a lot!
Belgian Chocolate Dreams
Robyn_W, Feb 2023
Making chocolates with my sweet was awesome! The event was so well-organized, informative, fun and tasty!
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Many thanks!
Over crowded
Hannah_P, Dec 2022
I found this to be very over crowed, ( we had a group of 3) One small table had 9 people on it and we all had to share table, with was very hard, I also booked (what I thought was an English speaking tour) so alot of time was spent waiting for the instructions being told on different languages.
Response from Host, Jan 2023
The "small tables" that you refering to in your comment are 2 meters / 80 centimeters and are therefore made for 10 people. If you are not sociable enough to enjoy a public workshop - even on a New Eve event - then we also propose some private events for people who prefer not to share their space with others. The capacity of 35 participants is indicated in the description of the activity. This is not a surprise that during festive weeks our workshops are very popular and therefore very busy inside. In addition, the fact that we do the workshops in both languages, french and english, is also indicated in the description of the activity... Sad to read that you have even no interest at all in the language spoken by others, especially in the language we do speak in Brussels: French. Travelling is also learning about other languages, other cultures, other people, no?... Sharing a moment with others is what we are proposing but apparently this is a concept that you seem to ignore.
Not great -
tiffany_c, Dec 2022
Way too many people, packed people in like sardines and took 20 mins just to get people through the door and ready for the class. Very impersonal. Then they spent 15 minutes talking about cacao. People came to make chocolate, not learn about the cacao process. We were bored waiting to start the class - literally not until 30 minutes after the start time. I’ve booked a lot of Viator tours - this one was a huge miss.
Response from Host, Jan 2023
I can see that you are impatient. The explanation about cacao is included in the activity and many people enjoy it. They are even waiting for it. It is not true that the participants only come to make some chocolates. Most of them are also very interested by learning about the cacao process. We don't design the activity to please you but to please the majority of the participants. We noted as well that you even complained about the fact that we prepared the hot chocolate... But how do you want to drink the hot chocolate if we don't prepare it in front of you? Weird, no?
Vincent_R, Dec 2022
Very entertaining and educational. Great demonstration with the opportunity to make your own tasty creations. Truffles, slab chocolate and other goodies all made to take away.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Thanks a lot Yum! it was a pleasure to make belgian chocolates with you and your family.
Fun family experience
Dawn_D, Dec 2022
We had a great time. Me and my son. My husband stayed with our baby next door at their shop, while we took our class. The chocolates were so good! My favorites were the truffles we made.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Thanks a lot Dawn for your kind words! It was so much fun to make chocolates with your family!
Fun times
leticiah73, Dec 2022
The organizers at Belgian Chocolate Makers were welcoming, and provided so much information on the art of chocolate making. It was definitely a fun and informative evening. We met some nice women at our table and made some delicious treats to eat. I recommend this activity for visitors to Brussels.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Many thanks! We are so glad that you enjoyed this moment with us and we feel blessed by your nice words.
A fun group or couples activity
Raquel_R, Dec 2022
My fiancé and I thoroughly enjoyed this class. We highly recommend this to couples and families alike.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Many thnaks Raquel! It was so good to share this moment with you both! Enjoy Brussels and your chocolates! Take care,
Fantastic. Great...
Jacalyn_R, Dec 2022
Fantastic. Great instructions, fun, delicious. Should be an inside waiting area. Had to stand in cold. But overall great experience.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Thanks a lot for your nice words. We wanted to install some heating lights out for the people queuing but it is against the town regulations. We try to limit at the maximum the queue during the cold days.
Mom and daughters trip
Stephanie_R, Dec 2022
It was a fun experience! Enjoyed the chocolate bars & truffles that we made. I would highly recommend to learn about Belgium chocolate and how it's made.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Thanks a lot! We are so glad that you enjoyed this moment with us!
Idaia_J, Dec 2022
These people are disgustingly rude and racist! Denied entry and a refund for being denied due to the color of our skin. Was called racial slurs and leaving the shop! Never again!! And i want a refund i did not get to even experience the service i PAID for
Response from Host, Jan 2023
Madam, we have now lodged a police complaint against you. What you claim online is not the truth. Our cameras have the whole scene on record and it clearly describes a completely different scene. The only racist girl was you who shouted and was perfectly horrible with one of our staff named Cannelle. As you know, Cannelle has a color of skin that is not white... Your comment about racism is completely absurd. We have a clear anti racism and discrimation policy in our company and we are very proud of it. We love working with many staff from all around the planet. The truth is that you arrived with 30 mns late. You entered in the workshop area shouting like a mad girl because we did not wait for you. The chocolate maker had to put you out and asked you first to go to the booking desk. You did, you spoke with Cannelle and you refused to accept that you was denied the right to enter the workshop for being so late. You started to be very horrible with her so she had to call the manager on duty. He explained you again the same thing and had to remind you the terms of sale. You started to say some lies about your booking, your ticket and the reason of your late arrival. Then you made a big drama inside the store until the manager had to call the police to push you out. You simply cannot behave like that and the police procedure initiated against you will teach you a few things about life.
Chocolate Workshop
Richard_A, Nov 2022
Excellent experience for all ages! My 8 & 10 year olds loved it! The chocolate was amazing! Highly recommend this event.
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Many thanks Richard! It was really nice to meet you and the kids and make some chocolates together!
Awesome experience
Kerrie_G, Nov 2022
The whole experience was great but the highlight was getting to make our own chocolates. Learning about the process of how chocolate is made.
Great experience
Jane_E, Oct 2022
Really enjoyed the experience. Patricia was a brilliant host - very knowledgeable, amusing and happy to share her expertise. The session ran really smoothly and loved the chocolates we made!
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Thanks a lot Jane! It was a pleasure to share this moment with you!