Dracula's Castle, Peles Castle and Brasov Day Trip from Bucharest

București, Romania
Likely to Sell Out

From $38.16

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 12 to 13 hours (approx.)
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Venture deep into the heart of Transylvania to visit two of Romania’s most magnificent castles and the medieval town of Brasov on this day trip. Step into the life of Romanian royalty at sumptuous Peles Castle, a fairytale-like summer retreat surrounded by forest and still adorned with immaculate period decor. Then, connect with the country's notorious vampiric lore at Bran Castle, also known as ‘Dracula’s Castle,’ thanks to its chilling Gothic chambers and turrets that seem to be plucked straight from a horror movie.
  • Visit two of Romania's most famous castles in one day
  • Admire historic artwork, armor, and tapestries at beautiful Peles castle, a former royal retreat
  • Get spooked at Gothic Bran Castle, nicknamed 'Dracula's Castle'
  • Take a walking tour around the old town of medieval Brasov

What's Included

  • Professional driver / tour guide
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off from central selected hotels
  • Transport by air-conditioned vehicle
  • Tips for the tour guide and driver
  • Entrance fees (50 RON Peles Castle, 55 RON Bran Castle)

Meeting And Pickup

You can head directly to your preferred meeting point, or request pickup.

Meeting points

Select a meeting point
Type to search

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

Start time

07:30 AM

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

Pickup details

The local partner will email you the day before your tour around 5PM with the pickup time and the closest pick-up point to your location. Wait at the pick-up point 5 minutes before your scheduled pickup time. Drivers will wait no longer than 2 minutes after the scheduled pickup time. • If your hotel is not listed in the pick-up list we can provide an axtra pick-up and drop-off from any address in Bucharest and there will be a extra fee of 10 euro/person and can be payed only in cash in euro or Lei. • Please let us know in advance if you need the extra pick-up/drop-off.

What To Expect

Piaka Unirii

1 minuteAdmission Ticket Free

Peles Castle

2 hours Admission Ticket Not Included

Bran Castle (Dracula's Castle)

2 hours Admission Ticket Not Included

Brasov Historical Center

40 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Black Church (Biserica Neagra) (Pass By)

Piaka Unirii

5 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Children under 7-year-old cannot attend shared tours. Please contact the local partner for a private tour offer
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • May be operated by a multi-lingual guide
  • The duration of transfers are approximate, the exact duration will depend on the time of day and traffic conditions
  • Peles Castle is closed on Mondays all the year and on Tuesdays from 30th October, 2023 - April 17, 2024. If your tour is booked within this time period when is closed you will see Peles Castle from the outside.ril.
  • Near public transportation
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • • If your hotel is not listed in the pick-up list we can provide an axtra pick-up and drop-off from any address in Bucharest and there will be a extra fee of 10 euro/person and can be payed only in cash in euro or Lei. • Please let us know in advance if you need the extra pick-up/drop-off.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Not recommended for travelers with walking problems
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more

Traveler Tips

It's a nice tour, the italian guide is very good.
I think for an adult to stay in a stiff position for 2 hours or more isn't a good idea.
We were in a 7 people small van, it was really comfortable in a small group.


574 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 574 reviews
Great Castle Tour with Serban
Roshni_P, May 2023
Serban was an amazing guide and very knowledgeable about Romanian history. He was lively and always answered our questions. We had a very enjoyable tour!!
Yavuz_A, May 2023
The route we traveled had very beautiful views. Peles Castle, Sinai city, Braşov city center and Dracula castle were very beautiful. Local dishes. I preferred gulash soup, I loved it. The guide is very important, our guide Vlad is very professional and knowledgeable and our driver drove very safely.
Nice day trip
David_H, May 2023
This is a group of 45 people in a big bus. Our guide, Vlad, is very experienced and well planed. He is very informative and organized. We enjoyed our trip.
A rich day
dace, May 2023
Both castles were impressive, enjoyable bus trip in picturesque surroundings. The guide kept precisely to the time table, that's positive
Fantastic tour, comfortable, guide Serban A+++
Venkat_I, May 2023
The tour was really well organized. We were able to see everything with plenty of free time as well. Serban was a fantastic guide and he shared a lot of information about each attraction. He gave us helpful tips and guidance so that we could enjoy the most important things. Definitely recommend this to anyone visiting Bucharest.
MauricioJorge_C, May 2023
Was a nice day, the places beautiful and the guide very kind and explained to us in detail during the entire excursion. I really enjoyed all the details.
Viator's tour “Ticket” pick-up location caused us to MISS this tour
evelina_w, May 2023
We received an email from Viator with our tour “ticket”. The ticket information showed our pick-up location as: PICKUP POINT Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel , the hotel we were staying at. The tour operator's email arrived shortly after Viator's email and showed the pick-up point as: Grand Hotel Bucharest. We did not realize there were multiple hotels with similar names but different addresses. We were waiting with our bell captain at one location but missed the tour pick-up due to the confusion of conflicting information we received. Disappointing. Trip2 RO did not answer any of the phone numbers they provided as contacts as we had our bell captain try both numbers. Later the same day we did receive communication from Trip2RO offering us the tour for the next day but unfortunately we were departing the area. This was our first Viator experience. If Viator is not involved in deciding the pick-up location could they NOT provide inaccurate locations. We did NOT get to take this tour
Never showed up to pick up spot and will not refund the money - Used another tour company!!
Teri_B, Apr 2023
Never showed up to pick up spot and will not refund the money - Used another tour company!! Left to find another way to visit the sites.
Response from Host, Apr 2023
Hello, We would like to reply also here as we have already indicate during the email exchange that we had in the last days that you were waiting in a different place for the pick-up. We've sent you the pick-up details with the name of the hotel: Grand Hotel Bucharest, with the address and also with the google map link. Instead of being to the pick-up point indicated by us the Bolt driver took you to Grand Hotel Continental as we noticed the wrong address from the Bold receipt that you hae sent to us. The tour guide called you and offered informations on how to meet him in the right place (Grand Hotel Bucharest) but you didn't wanted to come and insisted to be picked up from Grand Hotel Continental. In the same day we had also other 20 travelers that were picked up from the same place ( Grand Hotel Bucharest). We are sorry but we can't make a refund for Bolt driver's fault for getting you to a different address and for not willing to meet the tour guide after he called you and explained how to meet the group. We can provide the photo of the bus with the time and date at the correct location and also your bolt receipt. Best wishes Karen! George
Amazing Experince at Deacula Castle
Sucharu_R, Apr 2023
A great experience. The guide Riga was a really good and made the experience really worth it. Truly recommended for those having some free time while visiting Bucharest
Almost perfect!
Vicky_K, Apr 2023
The trip was awesome, the guide was very friendly and helpful. Everything was absolutely great but i wish the tour in Peles Castle was longer since it was such an incredible building .I definitely wouldn't recommend going inside Dracula's castle, it's a beautiful building but the whole tourist experience inside wasn't nice. Overall me and my dad had a wonderful time.
An interesting and enjoyable day
Catherine_B, Apr 2023
The tour guide, Riga, was very informative and explained so much about the history of the country and the area in which we were travelling through. The bus was extremely comfortable and pick up was on time. The experience was interesting and fun and we were able to relax and enjoy the day.
Very good
Alex_K, Mar 2023
Excellent trip and we covered many things during one day. The guide and the driver were exceptionally good
Supper tour
Emre_D, Mar 2023
Great exprience , i was happy this tour , everything is very excellent , tour operator is good person and kind person
Great guide/locations awful bus.
James_B, Mar 2023
The guide was great and the locations visited were superb however the tour was let down by a really shabby bus. It was old and my seat was locked in the recline position so not a great experience with a lot of driving time and a full bus. Also we received notification that the bus would be there at 0720 and to be outside the hotel at 0715. We skipped breakfast which started at 0700 and they didn’t turn up until 0740.
Oh yes take the tour!!!
Brianna_G, Mar 2023
Great experience with Serbian. He is a true Romanian with amazing energy, funny, sarcastic, real, and everything I know a Romanian to be. He was very straightforward about time management which I appreciated and also shared much knowledge and was never bored throughout the trip!! Great tour and thank you for everything :) NOROC
Wonderful trip
John_O, Mar 2023
Our guide was superb . Very informative and very entertaining . Bit of a slog back to Bucharest. Otherwise fab day
Long but great day!
Ramon_O, Feb 2023
Everything I saw was amazing and the tour guide was so informative and funny. Just keep in mind this is very long day tour and can be longer based on the traffic to and from Bucharest.
Rushed and stressful
Tarik_T, Feb 2023
Although the guide at times was funny and gave excellent commentary the trip itself was actually very rushed and caused many a lot of stress due to the horrendous traffic conditions and the fact the guide appeared to become quite stressed due to this fact so much so the guide himself was complaining about how late we were going to be constantly ( at no fault of our own it’s not like we can do anything about the traffic is it but he sure made us feel like we were at fault? ) we were even threatened at one point that we would not be stopping to use toilet facilities for 5 whole hours potentially due to not getting back to Bucharest until so late due to the traffic conditions which was very inconsiderate towards certain female members of our tour who would need facilities!? Surely the use of toilet facilities are a basic human right are they not? The driver themselves could not have had a more hostile demeanour Towards us all if they tried as well. Myself as well as others really did not appreciate the constant complaints on traffic, times and under handed comments on late finishes and actually threatening to leave us behind at times especially as you do this tour daily and must be aware of the traffic conditions beforehand, they even tried to convince us to make our own way home on public transport whilst at a very rushed walk around Transylvania making this sound like it was in our best interests it was absurd so overall really not impressed.
Day tour
Ricco_D, Feb 2023
The tour was overall a decent tour. Very long day.. although it states it is a 12hr tour we were delayed approx 3.5hrs due to the constant heavy traffic on the roads in certain areas. Tour guide was Brangee (if that is correct) who was honest but unprofessional at times. The tour guide stated from the beginning that there were delays and for everyone to stick to times but then would single people put for being slightly late back to the coach after exploring the city. Not a tour to do of you have a weak bladder as long routes and traffic. Overall, lovely experience and enough to see in the cities visited.
A day of great memories
Lachlan_B, Feb 2023
Great day trip to the classic sites of Romania. Bran, Peles and Brasov all looked magical in the snows of winter with a good amount of time in each. Be warned traffic can be awful in Romania outside Bucharest so can be a longer day but well worth it. Guide very good
Great day with Serban
Shaun_M, Feb 2023
Great day to Peles, Bran and Brasov. It is a long day but really worth it. Our guide Serban was very informative about each place and was really funny which kept us all going during the long drives! He was very clear about our meeting points and how long we had in each place during our free time. If you book this trip ask for Serban and you won’t be disappointed
Really well organised...
rachaellimer, Jan 2023
Really well organised day. Our guide Vlad was very friendly and helpful. My tip - take food/breakfast with you or you will get hungry!
Wonderful tour
Nataliia_K, Dec 2022
Our guide Vlad was a spectacular guide! Very positive and organised, the tour was wonderful and Vlad made it even more enjoyable because of his storytelling skills
One trip, two Castles.
Al_M, Dec 2022
The trip was amazing, my wife and I had such a great time. Serban Riga was the best tour guide, he kept us interested throughout the whole experience. The two castles were really spectacular to see. i would recommend this trip to anyone. Thanks again Serban for keeping us so interested!
Me and my friend spent...
Ilaria_C, Nov 2022
Me and my friend spent five days in Bucharest. This trip was the perfect way to explore some of Romania's beautiful attractions outside the city in only one day. It was a little rainy, which added to the mysterious atmosphere of the castles. George was the best guide we could have asked for! Informative, funny and responsive to any of our needs. The song he put on the bus radio on our way to Bran castle was definetely one of the trip's highlights. We really recommend taking this tour with him!
Nice tour with two...
Ivan_L, Nov 2022
Nice tour with two castles (one is usually promoted as Drakula castle) and short stop for Brasov city at the end. Worth the money, nice experience. The tour guide Serban Riga is a nice, funny and professional guy. Could recommend.
The Best Tour Ever
Corazon_B, Nov 2022
I so love the Peles Castle for it’s beautiful and they allowed us to take videos inside. The view is amazing outside in the garden. The Dracula castle is more on historical and a big challenge to climb up. The Brasov is amazing as well especially the council square although we’re waiting for the Christmas tree to be lighted and failed to see it lit due to time constraints. The tour guides are friendly and full of information.
Transylvania day trip
Nikhil_M, Nov 2022
Passionate and knowledgeable tour guide. Great way to experience Transylavnia and see some of the main sights in one day from Bucharest.
Great trip
Sarah_J, Nov 2022
Very fantastic day trip. Guide was friendly, funny and knowledgeable. Saw all the sights in ample time.
Great experience!
Tove_D, Nov 2022
Me and some friends were having a great daytrip to Transylvania. Very beautiful nature. The English speaking guide was very passionated about the history and made a lot of jokes so we liked him a lot. Maybe it was only our guide but he could sometimes ”over” use the microphone without having anything really to say. Apart from that we enjoyed it a lot!

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
Likely to Sell Out
No Photo
Dracula's Castle, Peles Castle and Brasov Day Trip from Bucharest


13 hours
Free Cancellation