Recent Searches
Clear

Cinque Terre Pesto Making Class, Boat Tour and Lunch

star-4.544 Reviews
|
Manarola, Italy
Cinque Terre Pesto Making Class, Boat Tour and Lunch

From $184.10

Price varies by group size

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon4 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Get a taste of Cinque Terre on this 4-hour tour from Manarola, Cinque Terre, that combines a pesto demonstration, a boat cruise along the coast, and lunch. Travel to Cinque Terre via train with your group, then end the tour in Vernazza with a Cinque Terre trail pass to explore further if you wish.
  • Lunch included
  • Vegetarian meal option available
  • Travel by boat and see the sights from the water
  • Family friendly
Saved to wishlist!
Private Boat Tour
Lunch
Wine tasting
Hotel drop-off and pickup
  • Manarola , 19017 Manarola, SP, Italy

    The meeting point in Manarola is in the station at 10.10 am , exit the platform via the stairs, at the top of the stairs there is a Cinque Terre Information Office . We meet outside here under the TV screen which displays the train departure times.Our guide will have a cherry red backpack.

  • La Spezia Centrale , Piazzale Medaglie d'Oro, 19122 La Spezia SP, Italy

    Meeting point For guests who have opted for the tour version included the Cinque Terre card 9.30 am  in front of the main ticket office next to the roundabout with red statue , outside the glass building with an elevator inside, Guide has a small red backpack .

  • Vernazza , 19018 Vernazza, SP, Italy

    The tour ends in Vernazza harbour where guests can independently explore the other villages of the Cinque Terre or walking trails etc.

    • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
    • Children must be accompanied by an adult
    • Vegetarian option is available, please advise at time of booking if required
    • In the event of rough seas the boat part of the tour will be substituted by train
    • Stroller accessible
    • Service animals allowed
    • Near public transportation
    • Infant seats available
    • Most travelers can participate
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers
    • OPERATED BY Cinque Terre Tours snc
    You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

    Learn more about cancellations.

    The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
    Q:
    What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Cinque Terre Pesto Making Class, Boat Tour and Lunch?
    A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

    • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
    • Face masks required for guides in public areas
    See all safety measures taken by Cinque Terre Pesto Making Class, Boat Tour and Lunch.
    Q:
    What is the policy on sanitization during Cinque Terre Pesto Making Class, Boat Tour and Lunch?
    A:The policies on sanitization are:

    • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
    • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
    See all safety measures taken by Cinque Terre Pesto Making Class, Boat Tour and Lunch.
    Q:
    What is the social distancing policy during Cinque Terre Pesto Making Class, Boat Tour and Lunch?
    A:The policy on social distancing is:

    • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
    See all safety measures taken by Cinque Terre Pesto Making Class, Boat Tour and Lunch.
    Q:
    What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Cinque Terre Pesto Making Class, Boat Tour and Lunch?
    A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

    • Guides required to regularly wash hands
    • Regular temperature checks for staff
    See all safety measures taken by Cinque Terre Pesto Making Class, Boat Tour and Lunch.

    Traveler Photos

    See More
    See More

    Traveler Tips


    • "If you can't do the boat trip, just do the pesto class because that was the main highlight!" See review
    • "The walk was completely up hill, which was fine for me but a little harder for others." See review
    • "There are too many people in these “classes” The restaurant owner imparts a lot of knowledge and experience into his lecture, but too much time is spent with his back to you and he doesn’t seem to care." See review

    Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

    Reviews

    4.5
    star-4.5
    44 Reviews

    Reviews by Viator travelers

    We perform checks on reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 44 reviews
    star-5
    Amaying tour with nice people
    Peter_M
    , Jul 2022
    Our guide was Gary John Lloyd. He is a very knowledgable and kind person. We enjoyed every minutes of this tour. The pesto making class in Nessun Dorma was just amazing. This is a “must go” tour! Thank You, Gary!
    star-2
    There are better ways to get this same experience
    brett_a
    , Jul 2022
    Recommendation: book the pesto class and boat tour separately. There is no value in booking this as a package. The pesto making class at Nessus Dorma was great but rough seas caused the boat tour to be cancelled. We were given a bottle of wine as compensation for the boat ride… meaning we paid 4x what the pesto class actually cost.
    icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
    You were given the option to cancel the tour but declined. We don’t risk safety when there are are dangerous sea conditions . With this tour you are accompanied by a guide licensed by the Cinque Terre. There is a reason why we have so many five star reviews On this tour don’t have to queue ,and get to skip the line where you usually wait for up to an hour at the location to get in also the queue to get a the travel card! We do have another version of the boat tour but it costs three times more than you would pay by booking the combined tour. The two parts of this tour are not available to book separately . There is the possibility to book the pesto course without boat trip here: https://www.viator.com/tours/Cinque-Terre/Cinque-Terre-Pesto-Course-with-lunch-and-wine-tasting/d22149-22888P19 This is a review from the same day from a different guest ……. Jul 1, 2022 Harold_B Excellent Viator review: Cinque Terre Pesto Making Class, Boat Tour and Lunch Beautiful n excellent experience with the pesto and the class. The guide is very good and he did an excellent job
    star-5
    Excellent
    Harold_B
    , Jul 2022
    Beautiful n excellent experience with the pesto and the class. The guide is very good and he did an excellent job
    icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
    Thanks a lot : ) Really appreciated !
    star-5
    One of my favorite memories!
    Roseann C
    , Nov 2019
    Absolutely fantastic! Loved the pesto class so much, our lunch, the views, and the boat ride! My kids still talk about it.
    star-3
    Beautiful view, and fun experience, not really a class
    Dan_M
    , Sep 2019
    There are too many people in these “classes” The restaurant owner imparts a lot of knowledge and experience into his lecture, but too much time is spent with his back to you and he doesn’t seem to care.
    icon Response from Host , Sep 2019
    Sorry if you found the class busy, but we had to cancel 2 classes in the days before due to weather, so we tried to let some of the guests that missed a class come back. It can make it a lot fun when there are a lot of people of diifferent nationalities together .If there is anything you dont undersatnd then our guide or the tutor are always more than happy to explain any points you missed . In the end we make sure everyone makes a delicous pesto sauce to enjoy ! We are pleased you enjoyed overall and yes the view is very special. Enjoy the rest of your trip Fiamma
    star-5
    Beautiful morning to start your Cinque Terre visit
    Rolando_C
    , Sep 2019
    Beautiful morning to start your Cinque Terre visit Great atmosphere and class was fun and informative. I would recommend this highly
    star-5
    Pesto Education 101
    sarah_a
    , Aug 2019
    I was doing research on Cinque Terra and learned this region is known for its white wine, anchovies, and pesto. I hopped on Viator and was able to find this special experience. We were a group of 3 families totaling around 13 people. It was no problem having us all in the same group. It also worked out perfect because we were all staying in La Spezia. The guide met us at the train station, led us to our train and handed us our train pass, a map, and a time table. It was a bit of a walk to the restaurant where the class took place. Along the way were plenty of scenic opportunities to take pictures. The walk was completely up hill, which was fine for me but a little harder for others. We arrived at the restaurant. In total there were 45 people there. The owner of the restaurant led us through the class and did a great job explaining the ingredients, why they matter, what makes them different, and how to best use them to get the flavor. You pair off to make the pesto, which was a LOT of fun. After the pesto is done, they give you some CInque Terra white wine (super good and wish I bought a bottle). Then they give you a GENEROUS portion of meats, breads, and cheese to eat. Very few of us finished the whole plate. Once lunch is done you walk back down to get on the boat(s). It's not 1 boat. It's multiple different boats. I went on the "young" boat, which was a speed boat. I loved it but it was NOT for the "grown ups" in the group lol. Overall, one of the best tours I booked for this trip, very special and different!
    star-5
    Amazing!
    Kelli_B
    , Oct 2018
    Everything about tour from start to finish was perfect. Meeting and the train station pick-up, train ride and walk to the restaurant, pesto and food were amazing! Simone is extremely knowledgeable, everyone had a great (and delicious) time. I will suggest this tour to everyone.
    star-5
    Excellent experience, excellent food, and excellent people
    anthonyvanicek
    , Sep 2018
    Chiara was an excellent guide. The Pesto making class was wonderful. The food they gave us was plentiful and terrific!
    star-5
    Highlight of trip
    Kristine_P
    , Sep 2018
    This tour was excellent. The pesto class covered all the tricks to make tasty pesto. Very instructive was the comparison with pesto made in the blender. Also loved the boat tour. It was great to be on a small private boat. The driver was excellent at pointing out the beaches and towns. Highly recommend!!!
    star-5
    Great Experience
    Adam D
    , Aug 2018
    Great views, great wine.. and oh yeah and we learned how to make great Pesto. If you are staying in one of the Cinque Terra Villages, reach out to the organizer to see if you can just meet at the restaurant in Manarola instead of meeting at La Spezia train station.
    star-5
    This was one of the highlights of...
    Kathleen B
    , Aug 2018
    This was one of the highlights of our trip. The pesto was amazing and the lunch spread with wine was very generous. If you can't do the boat trip, just do the pesto class because that was the main highlight!
    star-1
    To Much Money and Too Little Information
    FULLER_B
    , Jul 2018
    I went on line to purchase 2 tickets and put in names of me and my wife and the vouchers came and each was for 2 adults I noticed when I checked in at LaSpezia. The even cost me over $300 each fr me and my wife. The pesta making was good, guides provided no information about the towns visited, the boat ride was okay, but not particularly scenic. So, a disappointing and expensive outing. I do not recomend this tour, but do recommend that you pay attention for over-charging if you book for two people who have different last names.
    icon Response from Host , May 2019
    Dear Fuller, If you had told staff on the day of the tour that you booked for 4 people by mistake instead of 2 it would have helped . Unfortunately you did not , instead our guide waited an extra half hour for 2 mystery guests who never materialized. You were refunded in full a week later when the matter came to our attention .Even if this was not our fault and had already we had already paid for an extra boat. You also point out that you feel that the boat trip is 'not particularly scenic', I dont know what to say except the Cinque Terre , a UNESCO world heritage site is one of the most spectacular landscapes in Europe!
    star-5
    This was truly amazing!!!! We spent...
    Michelle_B
    , Apr 2018
    This was truly amazing!!!! We spent 2 weeks in Italy and had booked 5 tours and this was by far the best!! Highly recommend!
    star-5
    A wonderful experience. Had a great...
    helen.aisbett
    , Nov 2017
    A wonderful experience. Had a great view when making pesto. Lunch was good. The boat ride was a good way to see a different view of the Cinque Trre. Lunch was lovely. A good day out.
    star-5
    A lovely way to spend the morning...
    will
    , Nov 2017
    A lovely way to spend the morning! This was a nice, gentle way to spend our time in amongst the walking activities. The view from the lunch spot is phenomenal! And the pesto was delicious and easy to replicate when we got home.
    star-5
    This excursion was outstanding! The...
    donald g
    , Oct 2017
    This excursion was outstanding! The excursion includes train tickets, a boat ride and a pesto cooking class with the owner/chef of a seaside restaurant with magnificent views. We had a little hiccup in at the start due to the schedule of the owner/chef which reversed the order of the day's activities. Our tour coordinator and guide, Gary, was very friendly, helpful and considerate. He explained the change in itinerary and gave us directions with a new meeting place after we explored the Cinque Terre's quaint towns. The train rides between towns were just a few minutes each. Corneglia was especially charming with one of a kind shops, cafes and expansive seaside views. The boat ride to the restaurant allowed you wonderful views of the coastline and towns perched on the cliffside locations with a different perspective of the Cinque Terre. Simone, the owner/chef, was an excellent teacher and historian of pesto's origins. The resulting pesto and lunch was delicious. I strongly recommend this unique excursion to anyone visiting the region.
    star-5
    If you are visiting Cinque Terre...
    Darlene G
    , Oct 2017
    If you are visiting Cinque Terre, this class is a must! Gary, our tour guide was great. We were able to meet him at Cinque Terre office at Manarola station instead of La Spezia since it was closer to our hotel. Once he greeted us, he told us about the town as we walked to where the class was going to take place. The actual class was amazing. The instructor gave up step by step directions on how to make a great Pesto class. He was very knowledgeable and very informative. After the hard work of making Pesto, everyone was awarded with wine and lunch. Lunch included various meats, breads and cheeses, and of course, your homemade pesto. The tour also includes a boat tour but Gary contacted us two days before the tour to let us know the seas would be rough. Instead of taking a boat tour, he gave us two bottles of delicious Cinque Terre wine! Gary even took pictures for us and sent them to us a few days later!
    star-5
    BEST EXCURSION!!! 100 would...
    Natalie E
    , Oct 2017
    BEST EXCURSION!!! 100 would recommend this tour. We were in Europe for 3 weeks and my entire family would agree that this was our favorite day. The staff was incredibly knowledgable and so friendly. But the pesto course was what made this trip so amazing. Absolutely stunning view on the cliff overlooking Cinque Terre with the most phenomenal view. The winds were too rough, so we were unable to go on a boat ride, so the staff bought us all bottles of wine which was so great. And the food some of the best I have ever had in my life. Book this and you won't regret it!
    star-5
    This tour was the highlight of our...
    Christine R
    , Sep 2017
    This tour was the highlight of our trip, would absolutely recommend! We were a group of 6 ranging from 23-85 years old and we all loved it. Gary was a great host and it was so much fun! We got some history, amazing sights, learned the intricacies of making pesto, ate fabulous food, drank lots of Cinque Terre wine, went on a lovely boat ride with breathtaking views and then we were able to explore all the towns. The tour was over at 1ish but we enjoyed Cinque Terre until 9:30, including a swim in the Mediterranean Sea. If you want to stay for dinner you should make a reservation, we weren't able to eat at a sea side restaurant but had a lovely meal in town. Gary was taking photos and he sent them to us along with the recipe, an added nice touch. Really can't say enough good things about this tour.

    Why you are seeing these recommendations

    Explore Similar Things to Do

    Why you are seeing these recommendations