Full Day: Wine experience in San Gimignano, Siena & Monteriggioni

Badge of ExcellenceFI, Italy
Full Day Tuscan Countryside Tour from Florence

From $37.38

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 11 hours 15 minutes
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Enjoy a full-day tour into the heart of the beautiful Tuscan countryside. Visit the town of San Gimignano, the wine territory of Chianti, the medieval town of Siena, and the Monteriggioni fortress. If you choose the option with lunch, you'll have the chance to spend your lunchtime in Piazza del Campo, where every year the Palio Horse Race takes place.
  • Full-day tour of the beautiful Tuscan countryside from Florence
  • Wander the World Heritage-listed medieval town of San Gimignano
  • Discover the history of Monteriggioni’s impressive fortress
  • Savor a picnic lunch of Tuscan specialties
  • Taste Chianti wines and olive oil at a local winery
  • See Siena's famous cathedral and Piazza del Campo, home of the Palio de Siena horse race

What's Included

  • Expert tour leader
  • Guided Tour of Siena with local guide
  • Free time in San Gimignano
  • Visit of Monteriggioni fortress
  • Lunch
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Gratuities

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Florence (Villa Costanza)
    50018 Scandicci, Metropolitan City of Florence, Italy

    Meet us at Villa Costanza, in front of 'The Florence Gate' Café. Reach the meeting point by T1 Leonardo tramway to Villa Costanza (get off at Villa Costanza stop which is the end of the line). The ride is 20 min from center and you can choose the nearest stop. Our staff will wear a green shirt.

Start time

08:45 AM

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Historic Centre of San Gimignano

2 hours Admission Ticket Free

Porta San Giovanni (Pass By)

Collegiata di Santa Maria Assunta - Duomo di San Gimignano

15 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Palazzo Pubblico e Torre Grossa

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Piazza della Cisterna

15 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Walls of Monteriggioni

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Castello Monteriggioni

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Fortezza Medicea (Pass By)

Centro Storico di Siena

2 hours Admission Ticket Free

Piazza Salimbeni

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Palazzo Tolomei (Pass By)

Via di Citta (Pass By)

Piazza del Campo

15 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Fonte Gaia (Pass By)

Palazzo Pubblico and Museo Civico

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Duomo di Siena

15 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Facciatone (Pass By)

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travelers can participate
  • A moderate amount of walking is involved.
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Entrance to the Siena Cathedral is not included, clients can enter at their own expenses and depending on Cathedral opening times. Please note that will not available on Sundays or Bank Holidays and during special event opening times can change
  • Guided tour in Siena with local guide will be in English only
  • Please note that Chinese and Portuguese option requires a minimum of 4 pax. Otherwise, the tour will be guaranteed in English.
  • A vegetarian menu is available upon request
  • The menu is composed of Tuscan antipasto with cold cuts and cheese, bruschetta, pasta with meat sauce and dessert with wine and water
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 60 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more

Traveler Tips

Tour starts early, so be ready the night before, but it's worth getting up for.
There is a lot of walking so I recommend bringing comfortable shoes.
All in all an absolutely wonderful day and highly recommended for families even with kids.


736 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 736 reviews
Beautiful views touching the best Tuscany has to offer
Christie_F, Aug 2023
Wonderful day. Siena tour guide was pleasant. I would suggest skipping the pre fixed lunch, food was just ok and took too much time from the visit. Also Lorenzo winery was beautiful with stunning views but the tasting was just ok.
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Happy to know that you had a good experience and liked the tour. We will take note of your suggestion, thank you for that. Hope to see you again in our tours in the future, to show you our service improvements, hoping we will get a full star rate by making our customers happy. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Very good day tour
Helen_E, Aug 2023
Some other reviews mentioned there was a lot of walking, but I didnt think it was too bad - it isnt always possible to be dropped at the door, and then you walk around the town anyway, so the walking is ok. We spent the right amount of time at each location. It would have been nice to be able to take a pic of Monteriggioni from the outside where it is possible to see all of the towers. The tour guide was excellent, running the tour in English and Spanish. A full day but the bus ride between locations, and the ice cream, gives you a chance to rest and recharge.
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for taking your time and sharing your feedback. We appreciate all the good words,and the explanation of your experience; very happy to know that our customers enjoy the tour. Hope to have you again in our upcoming tours in the future, in order to give you more experiences like this. Our customers are our priority and it is our pleasure to make them happy, and give them an exellent experience. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
No flexibility, high risk for covid
Leila_E, Aug 2023
The night before the trip, I started to feel sick, I called Viator to try to cancel this activity and get a refund. They kept repeating the 24 hour cancellation policy over and over again. They didn’t really care if a person with Covid goes to that activity and make 50 people sick. I did not get a refund and on top of that they offered to cancel the trip without a refund for us to be able probably to book others ! I had also booked another activity through Viator that I couldn’t go due to a storm and no ferry availability. Same thing repeating the 24 hour policy and no accommodation. It is very disappointing. I won’t use Viator for my tours again.
Disappointing Day Trip to Tuscany
Marie_A, Jul 2023
We enjoyed our time in Siena and Gimignano. The tour guide in Siena was knowledgeable. The Monteriggioni Castle was a waste of time. It was late in the afternoon when we arrived there and it was really hot. There was not much to see or do there at all. The wine tour was good. We saw the cellar, learned how to properly sample wine, and we sampled three out of seven their wines. Our tour guide was not good at all. She acted like a facilitator who just accompanied us from place to place. She did not make an effort to engage with the tour guests at all. She spent more time chatting with the bus driver and the lady she was training to be a tour guide. She expressed no passion in being a tour guide nor in the places we visited. She did the bare minimum and it felt like she was just going through the motions with no excitement at all. We finished our day feeling disappointed in this tour company.
Excellent lunch and bus narrative
Don_C, Jul 2023
Although this tour was cancelled, we were offered a “like” tour. All needed transfer communication was proper and supportive, to make this tour equivalent. The rendezvous point would have been clearer if you would have published the bus would be parked behind the T1 tram ending point and that there was a restaurant and rest rooms available, both being important for an early morning tour. The winery was an excellent highlight for this new tour, both tasting and lunch. Cutting people loose was inconceivable without knowing how to return to the rendezvous point. The tour guide in Siena disappointingly limited the converging historical forces to feuding families and horse racing. The bus air conditioning was inadequate.
Response from Host, Jul 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry to hear that you were not as much satisfied from this trip. Sorry for the innconvience, but since this tour was cancelled, we wanted to give you another option to take part in " Siena, San Gimignano & Monteriggioni Wine Tour ". We do not publish where the bus is parked, as our customers have to meet up with the guide first at the meeting point and then , the guide wil lead them to the bus. Happy to hear that you have liked the winery and the lunch. Winery is the result of searching for the best place, for our customers, in order so they can have an enjoyable time there. As per the part that you have said we cutted people loose, that was just the free time that we give our customers to have to each destination, in order so they can have a self-guided tour there. After that the customers always meet up with the guide in the same meeting point as before. We are sorry for the air conditioning on the bus, but that day we had proble,s with that and that's why all this occured. We assure to our customers improving our service, in order so we can give them a better experience for the next time. Thank you for your understanding. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Fabulous trip, highly recommend. Well organised and some really great places to see and enjoy.
Vanessa_J, Jul 2023
This trip was one of the best things/most memorable we did, it was so enjoyable. We were only a small group of 8 which was lovely. Very well organised with the meeting point/arrival etc. Jonny, our driver was fairly new at the job but he was great and really friendly. First stop at Monteriggioni was lovely, so picturesque and quaint. We had a chance to grab a coffee and wander. Siena was gorgeous and our favourite stop. We had plenty of time to ourselves to explore, have some lunch and an aperol sprtitz or two, and we opted (of our own accord) to go up the main tower in the piazza for the most amazing views!! It was a challenge to get up there but was so worth it. Onto the Chianti wine tasting after. Another picture postcard location. The tour was really informative and it was fab to see and learn all the various wine making stages. Wine was lovely and we bought a couple of bottles (under no pressure or obligation at all). Then our last stop was San Gimignano. Sadly it had started to rain, heavily, and we had to dash between shops to keep dry. But it was another beautiful part of Tuscany to see and explore. A shame it was so wet as we would have loved to explore more like we did in Siena, but we chose to not stay for too long here as it was hammering down. Some people on our minibus weren't happy we didn't stay longer but we had almost an hour there and the weather wasn't improving so we voted to give in and head back. There was no real benefit to staying as you couldn't even sit and relax with a coffee or ice-cream outdoors with the heavy rain. No one's fault at all. But overall, a really great trip, with lots of photo opportunities to capture memories of a fabulous day!
Response from Host, Jul 2023
Dear customer, Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback with us. We are glad to know that you are appreciating the time you had during the tour. and the guide's hardworking. Our customer's satisfaction is our goal and priority and we look forward to having you back on our tours everywhere in Italy so we can have the possibility to leave another good impression on you. We are sorry for the weather condition, as you said that was something we could not predict. Thank you for your understanding. Best regards, My Tour In Italy team.
Great Day Out
Robert_K, Jun 2023
The well informed and happy staff. "Manni" was a great help at all times for all questions. The tour was not drawn out and we had enough free time to look around.
A day in Tuscany.
Ken_R, Jun 2023
Extremely well organised and enjoyed it all. The tour leader was great as was the destinations. Wine tasting was great and seeing the sights was excellent.
Response from Host, Jun 2023
Dear customer, Thank you for your feedback. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed the tour. It's one of our priorities to make customers happy. As for the wine tasting, we always try the best in choosing the wineries, in order that our customers can have a good wine tasting. We see forward to looking you in another tour of ours. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Great trip with too much crammed into a day
Maribel_R, Jun 2023
We loved Siena and enjoyed our guide’s superb description of the different communities in Siena. The stop at Monteriggione was too short to enjoy much (45 min.). The visit to San Gimignano was an on-your-own stop not involving our guide. Likewise was the stop at the winery. Our guide was excellent as far as it went but she really wasn’t called upon to do much more than herd cats, with the exception of Siena, where she was an excellent tour guide.
A dream come true!
Alessandra_K, Jun 2023
The countryside is beautiful, as well as the cities that we wisited. The guides provided good information and were very kind and helpful.
History and Panorama were excellent
Kathleen_H, Jun 2023
The day was long but the guide and driver gave excellent service. The hostess at the winery spoke so fast that you couldn’t understand her. More time at San Gimignano would of been welcomed
Outstanding Trip
Ann_O, Jun 2023
What an outstanding day out, the coach trip was very comfortable, the scenery was amazing and every location we visited was packed with interesting and historic features. We especially loved San Gimignano. Gloria was our guide and I couldn't recommend her highly enough. Thank you for making our day out one of the highlights of our trip to Europe.
Last minute sightseeing to Tuscany
Denise_K, Jun 2023
It was fun to meet new people and enjoy lunch together. Our guide, Julia/Ulia was informative, told interesting stories & kept us on schedule. Unfortunately by the time we reached San Gemignano it was starting to rain and at the end of a long day. The wine tasting was good & informative but more than 3 samples would have been preferred.
Badly timed tour
Sherid_C, Jun 2023
This tour had the potential to be amazing however it comes down to poor timing at each village. We spent hours & hours at Siena. The lunch break was way too long & as a result there was too little time available at the big namers. San G & Mont. We were literally running around to see everything. Very poorly timed & spaced tour. The wine tasting was also a waste of time. Suggestion. Switch the tour around. Start with: 1.5hrs San G 1.5 hrs Mont. With lunch 1.5 hours at Siena. We felt robbed from valuable time wasted & taken away from San G especially. Very disappointing 😞.
Great way to experience Tuscany!
Steph_J, Jun 2023
Despite a bit of confusion with the start of the event, we had the best time! San Gimignano was gorgeous! Despite the weather the food and views were stunning!! The Wine tasting was also fantastic and super worth it, staff at the venue were amazing. Our guide the whole day was incredible!!
We throughly enjoyed our...
Natalie_M, Jun 2023
We throughly enjoyed our experience :) it was a big day so we were very exhausted at the end but we’ll worth it :)
Amazing time with Gloria!
Jill_H, May 2023
Gloria was our amazing guide! She is so knowledgeable and helpful and was so kind with my older mother. She was a gem. Sienna is gorgeous and a must see! We had a wonderful time! Just be prepared for lots of walking including up, down, stairs and twists and turns. Enjoy!
Amazing experience! You have to go! Don’t include the lunch on the selection and try to find another place!
Fani_T, May 2023
Great experience! We loved all the places! Great wine tasting and tour of the villages! Highly recommended. The only thing that we didn’t like it was the lunch! It would be much better if you try and find a place on your own. The service and the food on this restaurant was hideous, they treated us very differently, because we are a group of people!
Excellent trip
Dermot_O, May 2023
Fantastic trip and great value for money. From start to finish the trip was excellent, I would highly recommend it
Response from Host, May 2023
Dear Dermot, Thank you sharing your experience with us. We're very happy to know that you consider our tour worth it! Our stops and wineries are the result of our accurately studied itinerary, which we hope can offer travellers the highlights of our beloved Tuscany. We would be really glad to see you again also in the future and to take you to other beautiful places. Best regards, myTour in Italy
Excellent tour
Lourdes_M, May 2023
Líhla and Julia was excellent guide They have so much knowledge of the places we went . I will recommend this tour to all

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
Full Day: Wine experience in San Gimignano, Siena & Monteriggioni


11 hours 15 minutes
Free Cancellation
No Photo
From Florence San Gimignano and Siena Full-Day Tour


7 to 9 hours
Free Cancellation

Explore Similar Things to Do