The Accademia Gallery and Michelangelos David

Skip the Line: Florence Accademia Gallery and Michelangelo's David Ticket

Florence, Italy
  • 1 hour 30 minutes


Visitors often have to join long lines at Florence’s Accademia Gallery, spending more time outside than admiring its art treasures. This ticket lets you bypass the main entrance lines, so you can head inside and explore independently without any long wait. View paintings by artists including Lippi and del Sarto, see unfinished works by Michelangelo, and marvel at the star attraction, Michelangelo’s sublime 'David.'
  • Florence Accademia Gallery (Galleria dell’Accademia) ticket with skip-the-line entrance
  • Avoid the main entrance lines and explore at leisure
  • Admire the original sculpture of 'David' by Michelangelo
  • See unfinished sculptures by Michelangelo including ‘Prisoners’ (Prigioni) and more
  • View works by other Renaissance greats such as Giambologna, Lippi, and del Sarto

What's Included

  • Guaranteed to skip the long lines
  • This is not a guided tour
  • Food and drinks
  • Hotel pickup
  • Transportation to/from attractions
  • It's not a flexible ticket
  • No meeting point

What To Expect

Travel independently to Florence’s Accademia Gallery and use your direct-access ticket to bypass the main entrance lines. Then, explore the art treasures in your own way, at your own pace.

Founded in 1784, the Accademia museum was originally part of an art school, showcasing art to inspire the students of the neighboring Accademia di Belle Arti.

Now open to the public, it today houses some of the Renaissance’s greatest masterpieces, including Michelangelo’s sculpture 'David.' Enter the Hall of the Colossus (Sala dell'Anticolosso), and admire the centerpiece; 'The Rape of the Sabines,' a 1582 sculpture by Giambologna, together with works by Filippo Lippi and del Sarto.

Then, roam around the two floors, seeing the rich wood paintings in the Florentine Gothic room, or the musical instruments exhibition. Visit the Gallery of the Prisoners (Galleria dei Prigioni) to view its unfinished sculptures by Michelangelo, including the Prisoners (Prigioni); four incomplete marble statues each depicting a struggling captive.

At the end of the gallery, stop to take in the star attraction: Michelangelo’s 17-foot (5.17-meter) 'David.' Admire the contours of the marble figure’s muscles and veins, completed, almost unbelievably, when Michelangelo was in his twenties.

Leave the Accademia when you wish, bringing your experience to a close.

Galleria dell'Accademia

Admission Ticket Included

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • You must print and present Weekend in Italy confirmation voucher in order to redeem your tickets at the moment of the visit
  • Service fees (pre-sale and online booking fees), as well as fees for temporary exhibitions happening during your visit are due for any kind of ticket
  • When picking up a reduced or free ticket, you will be asked for a document proving your right to the price reduction. Entrance will be denied without it
  • Near public transportation
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • The use of the mask is mandatory for visitors and museum staff during the whole time spent inside the museum.
  • The museum has adopted a variety of rules in order to limit the possibility of contagions: - Limitation of entrances and exit - Social distancing in places like restourants, shops, and public places inside the museum - Use of signs to enforce the physical distance of at least 1 meter - Dispenser are available in several areas of the museums for hand sanitization - Daily cleaning of rooms, work stations and public places inside the museum are ensured - The staff at the museum could measure you body heat by the use of a thermometer

Cancellation Policy

This experience is non-refundable and cannot be changed for any reason. If you cancel or ask for an amendment, the amount you paid will not be refunded.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

    Frequently Asked Questions

    The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.

    Q:Where is my ticket?

    A:We will send you an email with your voucher attached; you will need to print the voucher to redeem your tickets.

    Jul 2019

    Traveler Photos

    See more

    Traveler Tips

    People with no reservation had to wait in a long line.
    Be aware of people putting some invaluable pictures on the road in front of the Accademia entrance and trying to ask you for money if you do accidentally walk over or (just) beside those pictures.
    This is a quick way to skip the long lines and get into the museum.


    502 reviews
    Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
    Reviews by Viator travelers.
    Showing 1-10 of 502 reviews
    Although finding the...
    georgia_m, Aug 2023
    Although finding the right person to get the ticket from was a bit tricky, the museum people were helpful and we didn’t have to wait for too long in the queue.
    Change of entry time without any notice
    Wilma_G, Aug 2023
    The gallery itself was great but our experience with Viator was less so. We booked for 2.30 and turned up to be told to join two different queues, to then be told our entry time had been changed without notice to 4.45!! Luckily we spoke to a fantastic employee of the gallery who helped us out and let us in at 2.30!
    Response from Host, Aug 2023
    We kindly invite you to check the site where you made your reservation and you will find the following notice several times "IMPORTANT NOTE: The time you select on the order form is your preferred time. The museum or attraction will automatically confirm the closest available time, which can be ANY TIME during opening hours on the selected date, if your preferred time is no longer available." We are sorry but the service was rendered according to the conditions of sale
    Horrible Viator,! You should be ashamed of yourselves!
    Deepak_D, Aug 2023
    Absolutely worthless company to book with. Will never book this stuff with Viator again. There’s too much stuff in the fine print. Be clear. Tell us exactly what time does Tour going to start. (please don’t insult my intelligence and tell me you had it in the fine print ) I didn’t get a voucher emailed to me from the company and there are 100 steps that need to be followed. I supposed to do a 230 pm bookings that got me in at 4:45 PM. The people there are rude and don’t understand. The third party you book through is also rude and unyielding. Especially during the tourist season you need to help us much more than you did. Very disappointed in Viator and their bookings.
    Response from Host, Aug 2023
    We kindly invite you to check the site where you made your reservation and you will find the following notice several times (NOT SMALL PRINT) "IMPORTANT NOTE: The time you select on the order form is your preferred time. The museum or attraction will automatically confirm the closest available time, which can be ANY TIME during opening hours on the selected date, if your preferred time is no longer available." We are sorry but the service was rendered according to the terms of sale, which are not printed in small print
    Not at all a “skip-the-line” experience. Overcharged tickets for nothing
    ORLA_B, Aug 2023
    This is a must-see activity in Florence, but this particular way of doing it is a complete waste of money. We stood in line for over 2 hours
    Disorganized Entrance
    Elisa_N, Jul 2023
    David is a masterpiece! A must see. That said the museum admission process is a nightmare. Paid for skip the line with 11:00am entry with an understanding that time not set in stone. Once at the museum an assigned time of 6:15pm was given. That seemed senseless to have paid to skip the line when museum closes at 7:00 pm. Needs to be a better system in order not to ruin the experience of seeing this brilliant masterpiece.
    David Skip Line
    BENJAMIN_B, Jul 2023
    Worth it. Tickets couldn’t be bought for days. Great option when travelling with a family. Only downside was the fine print. Went at 9.00am, but tickets weren’t for 18.15pm.
    Worked out well
    Cindy_F, Jun 2023
    Worked out fine, I received an email that my booking was going to be cancelled 3 days before but then they found more tickets and it wasn’t cancelled in the end. We didn’t have to wait in line long.
    michael_l, Jun 2023
    Our prepaid tour was for 3:00 o’clock. We later received an email that our tour was cancelled. Two days later we received another email that our tour was reinstated. When we arrived at 3:00 the Viator ticket was scheduled for 7:15. The ticket office was closed. Luckily an agent got us in. This entire ordeal was unacceptable. No more Viator for us!
    Ruined a day in Florence
    Wendy_F, Jun 2023
    Bought skip the line tickets months in advance on to be told a few days before that they were sold out. I tried to send the tour operator a message, requesting to switch the days… No response. Their cancellation note to me told me that I could wait in line for tickets the same day and to enjoy. There is a massive problem with us the line wrapped around the whole building and they were only letting in 45 people every 15 minutes which meant we were not going to get in for the whole day. Do not buy these tickets. You will be disappointed.
    Watch out for the times you selected.
    Kim_B, Jun 2023
    The times that are offered do not match the ticket you receive when you get there. We were scheduled for 9:30am and were given a 1:30 time slot on site. We already had another tour booked at that time.
    Cancelled last minute
    Maria_H, Jun 2023
    Booked weeks ago and 24 hours before assigned “skip the line” it was cancelled secondary to lack of availability. Certainly this could have been clarified or cancelled weeks ago so so would have time to find alternative means of skipping line.
    Tour was cancelled 2 days before - sucks
    Andre_F, May 2023
    I booked these tickets with Viator two months ago only to be told two days before the tour that it was "sold out". At that point it was too late to make other arrangements, so we ended up waiting 2 hours on line and got to see the statue and gallery. I recommend going to the Accademia after 5:30 when there is almost no line and pay 12€. You'll have plenty of time to see the exhibit. Avoid Viator at all costs and their flaky tour partners.
    Do not miss, but buy tickets direct from gallery
    Gary_J, May 2023
    The gallery and David are spectacular and not to be missed. Make sure to buy your tickets directly from the gallery to ensure your entry time. We bought ours throu go h "Weekend in Florence" 6 weeks early. They didn't get the actual tickets to us until 2 days prior to our visit and by then our requested time was full. That added a bit of stress and wasted time.
    Not worth it. Trip organizers aren’t organized and you don’t get to skip and line.
    Rachel_H, May 2023
    Go through a different program to get your tickets. You pay a premium then they send you a voucher that isn’t your actual ticket. The only directions they give you to get your ticket is “go to the ticket office.” There’s no signage or anything beyond that. Then when we messaged the trip organizer, they didn’t provide any directions. You also don’t get to skip any line. We stood in line for at least 30 minutes despite “having a reservations.” Go through somewhere else. The museum itself is cool, especially if you are an art officianado. David is obviously the big draw. The man taking our tickets was caught picking his nose right before he took our tickets and gave them back to us. Not my favorite part of the trip, but again, if art is your thing, it’s worth seeing.
    Not worth the money or time.
    Larry_P, May 2023
    Pretty much chaos if there are too many people showing up going to the same place. You are told to show up, but not specific where and who to contact...if you don't allow yourself enough time, then you're pretty much out of luck.
    Response from Host, May 2023
    hello, please notice the address and the gate to show your voucher are stated on the voucher itself and it allows you to access skipping the line
    Ticket not for time selected
    Alyssa_D, May 2023
    Do not book your skip the line tour with this company. We booked our skip the line pass for 11am to give us time to see the museum before our train to Rome. They contacted us the day before with our real ticket and it was for 1:15. The same time as our train.. they do not provide refunds and we had to stand in the line anyway! Luckily the nice workers at the Accademia allowed us to use the tickets we bought as the entry fee but did not allow us to enter the skip the line queue before the 1:15 time that our tickets said. If you are working on a tight schedule, like we were, this company is not for you
    Acadmia and David Tickets Are A Scam
    ajconley44, May 2023
    We were unable to visit the Acadamia and David. The group selling this tour was impossible to get information about the tickets until it was too late anyway. A couple of phone calls gave us different methods to get the tickets but we were unable to spend all day in front of the Acadamia trying to locate when and where we could meet someone. It is a scam in my opinion.
    Response from Host, May 2023
    as explained on the phone, you have not bought a tour, but an independent visit, for which you have been sent a voucher to show at the entrance to enter without queuing. This is explained on VIATOR and on the voucher itself.
    Screwup on the tickets but wonderful experience.
    Robert_S, May 2023
    When the agency printed the tickets they were for 1:30, even though we reserved 11:00. We were lucky that the lady checking tickets let us go early after I explained that we were going to Uffizi gallery at 14:00. The gallery was amazing and I believe exceeded the Vatican museum.
    Visiting David
    Clint_S, May 2023
    David was great, in all his glory… but I nearly missed the experience (and the non refundable experience) when the reservation I had for 9:30am, was changed without notice to 1:00pm. When the customer service number was called I was informed ‘that clearly in the instructions the time reserved is a request, and not a guaranteed time.’ Just wait in line and buy a ticket if you want more control of your experience.
    What skip the line...
    Camilla_C, May 2023
    When we picked up the tickets prior to our booked time the tickets were for 45 minutes later than our booking and they wouldn't change them.