Chamonix and Mont Blanc Guided Day Trip from Geneva

Badge of ExcellenceGenève, Switzerland

From $175.34

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 8 to 11 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Spend a day in the Chamonix Valley amid the alpine splendor of Mont Blanc, one of Europe’s highest mountains. This day trip from Geneva makes it easy to visit the region with round-trip transport by coach, panoramic bus, cable car, and mountain train. You’ll explore Chamonix, soak up glacier views from Montenvers, and even have chance to visit the Aiguille du Midi Skywalk “Step into the Void,” if open. Just remember to bring your passport.
  • Visit the best viewpoints to see famous peaks and glacier summits
  • Travel with a guide for easy logistics, but have free time at each stop
  • Explore Chamonix and enjoy ample free time for lunch (own expense)
  • Stay in Chamonix longer if you wish, and return to Geneva at a later time

What's Included

  • Live commentary on board
  • Local guide
  • Coach round trip
  • Cable car ticket to Aiguille du Midi (depending option)
  • Mountain train to the glacier (depending option, ice caves never garanteed)
  • Magnificient views on the Alps
  • Bottled water
  • Visit the french mountain village of Chamonix
  • Lunch

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Keytours SA
    Rue François-Bonivard 8, 1201 Genève, Switzerland

    The bus will start from Geneva Bus Station (just in front of our office) Place Dorcière 1201 Geneva. There is a sign for excursion and the bus will say Swisstours with the name of the tour

Start time

08:30 AM

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Child rate applies only when sharing with 2 paying adults
  • Cable car forbidden under 2 years
  • passport is necessary
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Please note that if you take the Aiguille du Midi and Mer de Glace options, you will be provided with a multipass. Multipass which gives access to all the facilities of the Mont Blanc company. If you use this Multipass for a single activity, it will be considered by the Compagnie du Mont-Blanc as used and cannot be refunded if the other activities are closed. The Mont Blanc company offers alternative activities but does not authorize refunds of the multipass.
  • The train tickets includes the ice caves and the gondola ( but these are not garanteed), the train can be open and not the cave, there is no refund is so because it's the same price
  • The operation of the Aiguille du Midi cable car and Mer de Glace train are both subject to local weather conditions on the day. We cannot know if they open before we arrive there, it's a risk to take
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • If one of the activity closes, there will be alternative offers, or partial refunds, but the transports won't be refunded in any case
  • Please note that the official currency of France is the EURO. Swiss francs are unlikely to be accepted in Chamonix
  • Please note: guide will be present with you on the bus and the village. You will have free time in the cable car or train and the guide will meet you after.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Traveler Photos

See more
29 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 29 reviews
Great experience
Adam_R, Jan 2023
Amazing experience seeing the snow on Mont Blanc and the ice cave. Not much time in Chamonix but highly recommended especially for people like us from Perth who never see snow.
Response from Host, Jan 2023
Good morning, thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the trip and the Alps. It's a unique view on eternal snow and we are happy ou keep good memories. best regards
Neera_G, Dec 2022
Disappointed with the tour. Was informed it was a guided tour and that we had skip the line and would receive bottled water. None of this occurred. The tour company just acted as transport. Would have been better to have arranged my own transport and purchase tickets myself, as we still had to queue for over an hour. Disappointed that I did not have enough time to go down to the glaciers. This tour really ruined my mood. Felt disorganised and lack of communication. Also, the step into the void is at least 2hrs long queue.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Good morning, we are sorry to read your review. Every day there is a guide on the bus, if you arrive late, we manage to put you on another bus without guide but without extra charge as well. You have a reservation on the cable car so you skip the queue. You receive a map with all the itinerary, the guide comes up on the cable cr and on the mountain train,. Chamonix mont blanc is the most popular mountain in Europe and the most touristic one, so of course you can expect a crowd. It's a shame you didn't l isten to the instructions in order to have your day organised. Best regards
Christmas trip
Anastasia_T, Dec 2022
Loved the organization of the trip, even so weather conductions didn’t allow us to check all activities , guide did find smart and fun options for us. Enough time for everything, really good and detailed explained what where and how we can use our time , self place is magical . 100% can recommend
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Good morning, thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoy the views on the Alps and the magnicient Mont Blanc. The weather is a lottery in the mountains but we try to make your day. Best regards
The views and the city...
Warka_B, Oct 2022
The views and the city were very nicebut neither the second cable nor the ice cave were available we should have been informed in advance as everything was paid for
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Hello thanks for your review. Chamonix is very small but a very pretty place. As it's a mountain trip unfortunately we don't know in advance if the cable car is open or not it depends on the weather, but we refunded you for the activities you didn't make. Regardind the ices cave it's the same problem except that you didn't pay for this activity because the entrance is free as there is no guarantees of access :)
Nice experience
lina_A, Oct 2022
It is worth it , but you need to make sure to dress warm to go up to mountain! But everything else was nice , I highly recommend it .
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Hello Lina, Thanks for your good rate. Yes it's very cold at the top more in winter than when you went there but we are very happy you enjoyed your trip. Best regar
5* - Amazing!!
Jordan_S, Oct 2022
Tour Guides- Excellent with great knowledge. Traveled on Saturday 1st October, was informed we had a new member of staff, he was great and very funny. Would recommend this trip, definitely worth the money.
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Hello, thanks for your good review. We are happy that you enjoyed your tour with us and with our new guide :)
100% recommend
Beth_S, Sep 2022
What a trip this was absolutely breathtaking 100% enjoyed every part looked after by kris he was great 😊
Spectacular views
Deborah_K, Sep 2022
The view of Mt Blanc was spectacular! Our guide, Neil, provided interesting info especially in regard to hang gliding. The ice cave was amazing and we enjoyed the challenge of running up the 500+ steps in under 10 mins!
Response from Host, Sep 2022
Good morning, thank you very much. We are so glad you enjoy the alps, the views and our beautiful Mont Blanc! You did the exercise of the day :)! Enjoy your holiday!
Wonderful experience
Francine_F, Aug 2022
Wonderful experience The guide Chris was terrific and helpful Recommend this tour 2 thumbs up Well done
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Hello, Thank you for your visit and your kind comment. It is with great pleasure that we see your enthusiasm. See you soon! Keytours
Chamonix day trip
Laura_R, Jul 2019
Amazing experience. Wish I had booked to stay a night in charmonix so I could have spent longer exploring the mountain.
Response from Host, Jul 2019
Good morning, Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed the view of the mountains and Mont Blanc, the view is stunning even if you see it everyday ;) Have a nice holiday! Best regards
poner reclamacion por incumplimiento de visitas en la excursion
jordiv70, Nov 2019
quiero formular una reclamación económica debido a que en la excursion contratada del pasado sabado, no pudimos disfrutar del aiguille du midi, ni del ICE CAVE, estaba cerrada tambien. exijo la devolución economica de estas dos atracciones que no pudimos hacer. solo la primera atracción tiene un precio en la web de: Ida y vuelta adulto: 63 €. quiero una respuesta lo antes posible. mi telefono es 616439820. mi email: gracias
Response from Host, Nov 2019
Buenos dias, muchas gracias por tu comentario. La excursión a Chamonix es una excursión de montaña, implica riesgos. De hecho, estamos sujetos al clima: viento, nieve, hielo como te puedas imaginar. Y antes de llegar a Chamonix, no sabemos si las actividades se abrirán. Si están cerrados, reembolsamos parcialmente las actividades pero no el transporte. El guía realiza todos los reembolsos en el lugar el día del recorrido. Gracias por contactarnos si no envió su hoja de reembolso. Esperamos que le guste el pueblo. Mejores saludos