Geneva City Tour and Boat Cruise

Geneva, Switzerland

From $16.54

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 3 to 4 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Enjoy an alternative sightseeing experience in Geneva, the city hailed as Switzerland’s cultural capital, on a tour by coach, tram, and boat. See the city’s most spectacular attractions from a variety of vantage points and delve into Geneva’s rich history with commentary from a professional guide. Cruise on a coach and see natural landmarks like Lake Geneva and the Geneva Water Fountain; stroll the Old Town and listen to intriguing commentary as you take a tram tour down winding backstreets.
  • Geneva sightseeing tour and Lake Geneva cruise
  • See the Geneva Water Fountain and the Flower Clock
  • Tramway tour with intriguing commentary about Geneva's past
  • Enjoy a cruise on Lake Geneva

What's Included

  • Transport by coach
  • Mini train or walking tour in the Old town ( depends on weather)
  • Orientation tour of the city of Geneva
  • Admire the beauty of Geneva lake and its famous fountain
  • Relax with a cruise on Lake Geneva
  • Photo stop at the emblem of Geneva: the broken chair and the United nations
  • Hotel pickup and drop off

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Geneva Bus Station
    1201 Geneva, Switzerland

    Place Dorcière

End point

  • Quai du Mont-Blanc
    Quai du Mont-Blanc, 1201 Genève, Switzerland

    The tour finished after the cruise on the lakeside, which is only one block down from the original starting point the bus station

What To Expect

After pickup at a centrally located spot in Geneva, settle into your seat on a coach and gaze at Geneva’s impressive landmarks as you listen to informative commentary from an expert guide. Marvel at the vibrant Geneva Flower Clock, a picturesque dial suspended over beautiful gardens, and capture photographs of the equally impressive Geneva Fountain (Jet d’Eau), a water feature that propels water to a height of 140 meters (459 feet). 

Continue your tour on a tram ride through the ambient tangle of city streets.

Climb aboard a boat for the tour’s dramatic finale, a cruise on the shimmering surface of Lake Geneva, widely considered Europe’s most beautiful lake. Absorb sweeping vistas of the city from your idyllic vantage point and then scour the scenery for the snow-capped perimeter of the Alps. 

Return to dry land and bid your guide and group farewell at a central location.

Keytours SA

Meet your guide & Board the coach

15 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Palais des Nations

See the European headquarters of the United nations on the Nations Square, you will see the flag of all the countries members!

15 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Tour runs all year round, however please note that the visit by mini-train is possible only if the weather allow it
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • please note the cruise depends on the boat company, sometimes there is one hour waiting between the city tour and the cruise
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 45 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more
269 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 269 reviews
Great tour, great tour company
TimothyT_G, Oct 2022
Can't say enough about this tour--the perfect length and amount of detail. Loved that we were on a bus, then a tram, and then the boat. The city has so much to offer and we hit the highlights. Also, we loved the tour guide, Gabriel, who is full of energy and affection for Geneva. Additionally, the tram operator found one of my shopping treasures I had left behind and turned it in to the tour office where the staff gladly saved it for me until I could pick it up. Such good people! Thank you for a great tour and for being so good to us!
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Good morning, Thank you so much for your review. We will pass your message to gabriel! We are glad you could enjoy the different way to visit the city as the cruise. Best regards
Great way to get an overview of Geneva!
Fran, Oct 2022
Overall it was a great experience. There was a combination of tour bus, mini train and boat. It was a great way to get an overview of Geneva and find your way around. There could be a few improvements though. The meeting point was not signed and a little confused and the boat trip had no tour guide commentary which would have been nice. There was quite a bit of walking - this could have been made clearer on the site.
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Hello Fran, Thanks for your good rate. You took the most complete package to visit Geneva, you had a complete and comprehensive view of Geneva :) see you next time
Unhappy Customers
Stephen_R, Sep 2022
I'm very upset; my wife and I were at the Geneva bus station at 1:40 PM waiting for the 2:15 bus. The bus never showed up. I asked multiple times of the people in the bus station and other bus drivers whether I was in the right place at the Geneva bus station and they told me I was. I called the 800 number and was put on hold for quite some time and then the gentleman got back on the line saying that the bus driver would call me since she said that we were not there. This is completely BS! I absolutely intend to call TripAdvisor and give a terrible review for the amount of money we paid and for how long I had pre-planned this city and Lake Geneva boat tour for the driver not to show up. It's just amazing! Of course the bus driver never called me at all and luckily my wife and I were able to hop on a city tour which was only two hours but at least it was something since this is our only day in Geneva. I have already booked a tour in Zürich on the last day in Switzerland which is October 6 and I certainly hope that this does not happen there. Again I am totally disgusted and I don't understand how the bus driver could say that she was there when we were there the entire time and saw many buses come in and out and we actually went up to each and every bus to ask it was the Viator bus and of course it was not. I would absolutely like to talk to someone. You have been emailing me and texting me almost every day since I booked a trip to remind me that I was going to go on the trip at 2:15 ,yet you did not have the decency or courtesy to email or text me saying there was some problem with the bus arriving on time!
Response from Host, Sep 2022
Hello Stephen. We are very surprised and we don't undersand your feedback and your comment. You are certainly mistaken since our tour started at 2:15 and was not late at all. The driver arrived at 1:45 and the guide made sure to come to the bus station and the parking lot to look for our clients (who all found the bus). The number you dialed does not correspond at all to the number of our company. Moreover we are not going to Zurich... so it must be another company than ours. Moreover we did not send you any message at all, which is why we really do not understand your criticism. We are sorry for your bad experience but we are not responsible for it. If you come back to Geneva one day, do not hesitate to book with our company, our buses are always on time and we never cancel at the last minute.
Excellent Tour with a missed photo stop.
Michele_B, Sep 2022
This was a perfect tour for my tastes. An hour on a coach bus, an hour on a mini train and an hour on a small boat with wine free flowing. The only piece that was missing was a photo stop at the flower clock. The starting location was very convenient.
Response from Host, Sep 2022
Hello Michèle, thanks for your 5 stars. We are verry happy that you appreciate your tour and your visit in Geneva :) see you
Get to know Geneva
Kathleen_A, Sep 2022
Guide was knowledgeable and friendly, a fun way to learn the history of Geneva as well as what to see and where to go, definitely a must for first-time visitors
Response from Host, Sep 2022
Good morning, thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoy Geneva, we try to show you m ost of the city in 2 hours. Best regards
The provider should reach out to our phone number
Qumar_A, Sep 2022
This trip was very confusing out of all the trips we booked during our this Europe trip. The mini train driver we met who scanned our ticket and mislead us to get on his train instead of directing us to the right location where we supposed to start. I don't know he did this is because of his luck of english or intentionally to get his share. We were not contacted to our phone number despite sharing the phone number during the trip purchase.
Response from Host, Sep 2022
Good morning, thank you for your review. However it is very dishonest. You booked a guided city tour by bus, and you went to another company and took their trip. Then after riding them, you came to us, but it was 30 minutes later. You were not on the right place, we cannot call every customer who book a city tour. We recommand you next time to come on time.
Worth the money
Mogan_P, Sep 2022
It was a great experience sightseeing, especially with a qualified tour guide, Mr. Gabriel. He was very informative and friendly.
Response from Host, Sep 2022
Good morning, thank you very much for your review. We will pass you rmessage to Gabriel. We are happy you enjoyed our city Geneva, the lake and its highlights.
Tour the beautiful city of Geneva!
Harry_M, Aug 2022
Great overview of the beautiful city both on land and on the lake. Amazing to see so many organizations helping the world headquartered in Geneva. Relaxing boat ride on lake Geneva was topped off the tour. Glad that they stopped off at the smallest hotel in Geneva that has only 7 rooms and beautiful clay court tennis courts in the back where Roger Federer practices sometimes. Informative and kind tour guide leader. Overall, a great quick 3.5 hrs tour to get familiar with the city.
Response from Host, Sep 2022
Good morning, thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the tour. We try to show the most of it in a short time. We are happy you liked your time and Geneva. Best regards
Beautiful to see the UN .broken chair red train . LAKE GENEVA cruise .great lunch beautiful flower clock
Irma_A, Aug 2022
Amazing Geneva Sightseeing tour N cruise.i highly recommend. Nice weather .relaxing .great lunch. I highly recommend it .
Response from Host, Sep 2022
Good morning, thank you very much for your comment. We are glad you enjoyed the city and the main attractions of our city :) Best regards
Perfect city tour
Tanya_B, Aug 2022
Great way to see the city, especially the old town. The cruise on the lake at the end was very much worth it. Note that the tour is longer than advertised because the boat crew takes a lunch break just as the trolley segment ends so you have an hour or so to eat lunch yourselves. Also keep in mind that it is an audio tour so be firm with the guide to use the headsets so you have a choice of language otherwise they pick the language of the majority and play it on the speakers. There is a guide accompanying the tour but he answers questions only.
Response from Host, Sep 2022
Good morning, thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your trip and you likes our City Geneva. Best regards
Tour description did not reflect reality
Kim_H, Aug 2022
According to the description of the tour, I booked three different items: - tour of Geneva by bus. However, it was not clear from the description that this was a mere tour of the international organisations in Geneva (buildings of ILO, Unicef, WHO). It was impossible to take pictures as the bus kept on driving all the time, except for a 5 min break at the UN building and a 5 min break at a park (not really a photo stop) - tour by train through the old town. We had to wait 25 min in between the bus tour and the train tour (waste of time). The description of the tour stated that entry and admission of the cathedral was included. However, we were not allowed to get out of the train at the cathedral. Therefore, no entry into the cathedral and not even the possibility to take a picture of the building. - boat tour. The boat tour was supposed to start after the train. However, the boat broke down (which the organisation already knew at the start of the tour, but deliberately had not mentioned it). Therefore, tickets were given for a boat tour with another company. However, this tour started 75 min after the train tour. No reimbursement of the boat tour was possible. All in all, a waste of time and money.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Good morning, thank you for you review. We are very surprise that you did not like any part of the tour. The bus drives at 30km per hour, and you have a photo stop at the United nations, where you can see the WIPO, ITU, UNHCR, CICR and you can take pictures during the stop. The cathedral has a free entrance. The boat we usually take is electro solar for 0 emission carbon, asit was windy, they cancelled it so you took the boat with engine which is the same price. We hope you will still keep good memories of the city
Don’t waste your time.
Christy_W, Aug 2022
The entire tour was underwhelming, the bus portion consisted of the bus slowly driving past things and the guide giving tidbits about the different sites, some of which were so set back you couldn’t really tell what he was talking about. It was also challenging because he was repeating himself in three languages. Then we got on a little tourist train that had a prerecorded audio tour that showed a little of old town. It was ok but not terribly exciting. After that we got on a large tour boat and had a 45min cruise around the lake shore, pretty but not any guide/interpretation about what we were seeing. After doing other tours this was not comparable. I would not recommend.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Good morning, we are sorry to read your review. As mentionned, you visited the international area which is the new city, the old town and the lakeside which is a complet tour of Geneva. Best regards
Excellent to see Geneva in 3 hours!
yusufp, Aug 2022
Had a very good city tour. Driver Norman and Guide Gabrielle were very friendly. Gabrielle explained in detail about each landmark. He was patient enough to answer all queries.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Good morning, thank you very much for your review! We re glad you enjoyed your trip and our city. We try to show you the most in 3 hours! We will pass your message to Normund and Gabriel! best regards and safe travel
Great brief tour of Geneva and the lake.
James_S, Aug 2022
The tour guide Gabriél was great. He was knowledgeable and affable. He kept us on time so we wouldn’t miss the boat tour of the lake. We loved seeing the official buildings of the WHO, and, of course, the UN.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Good morning, thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoy the tour! We will pass your message to Gabriel! Hope you keep good memories.
I enjoyed the tour just...
Girsie_L, Aug 2022
I enjoyed the tour just didn't understand why they wouldn't transport you back to the spot where you got on the bus
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Good morning, thank you for your review, you stopped the tour one block down because you are in the shopping area and lakeside. The guide is coming back to the bus station if you want to accompagny him, it's a 2 minutes walk
Got ripped off and lied to — took our money and did not provide a tour
Tour guide took off on us lied about looking for us did not even call us just said “meet at bus station “ A family of 7 is hard to miss We arrived 3 minutes before Aviator and Swiss Tours refused to refund
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Good morning, May we remind you that that the tour is at 10 and you arrive at 10h25. You insulted us in the office. and you require a private service on a regular tour. Please that you have been reported to swiss authorities and you are not welcome here again.
3h trip in Geneva
Abas_F, Aug 2022
The Guide was super Nice and friendly ( Gabriel) , you see the international side and old side of Geneva and the wonderful lake
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Good morning, thank you very much for your review, we are glad you enjoy the tour. We will pass your message to Gabriel, have a nice travel!
So unorganized -not the right company to take a tour with
Karisa_D, Jul 2022
We got to the tour company and found out that the start of our tour would be cancelled and we would have to take a hop-on / hop-off bus to start it. Once done we would take a small train around Old Town - no stops just sit and the train was faster than the voice providing us the information for the sites. That wasn't the worst part when we got dropped off at the dock the boat wasn't there and the train conductor left us there. No one from the tour company was there and most of the people from the tour left. The boat finally did arrive and we spent over an hour in the heat circling in the middle of Lake Geneva with no air. It was miserable. I would not recommend this trip to anyone or even recommend this tour company.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Good morning, you booked a guided city tour, as the guide had a problem, we have proposed an alternative tour as the hop on hop off, with a partial refund, which you accepted by the way. The boat is open, so it's not possible to have no air. Your comment is really dishonnest.
Loved it
8k4mpggj9m, Jul 2022
Everything was smooth and well planned. I do really recommend it for first visit of Geneve, you’ll get understanding of everything
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Good morning, thank you for your review, we are happy you liked the tour and you enjoyed our beautiful city, take care
Fun time in Geneva
Shontelle_H, Jul 2022
This was a great tour, even if you are solo, you can make friends. The tour guide was very knowledgeable. The boat was a little late but that gave us time to get something to drink since there were no other stops for food.
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Thanks Shontel for your 5 stars :), we are really happy that you enjoyed your tour !