Surf Lesson in Sunny Po'ipu

Badge of ExcellenceKoloa, United States
Surf Lessons in Sunny Poipu

From $83.77

Price varies by group size

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 1 hour 30 minutes
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Kauai is famous for its surf beaches, so get in on the action with a surf lesson in Poipu. Practice basic skills on land and learn how to stand up, before heading out into the warm Pacific Ocean to catch your first waves. All gear is provided, and it's a great beginner’s experience with a surf company that's been serving Kauai for more than 30 years.
  • Learn how to surf in a low-pressure, fun environment
  • Get tips on standing up, paddling, and ocean safety from pro instructors
  • Includes surf board rental and wetsuit
  • Great activity for families with kids over the age of 8

What's Included

  • Soft surfboard, booties and rash guard (surf shirt) are included.
  • Snacks
  • Gratuities

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Koʻa Kea Resort on Poipu Beach
    2251 Poipu Rd, Koloa, HI 96756, USA

    Turn into the Ko'a Kea Resort entrance off of Po'ipu Rd. Follow the Ko'a Kea signs on your right all the way into the Valet area at the Ko'a Kea Resort (Red Salt Restaurant). Tell them you are there for a surf lesson. We are located poolside next to the Pool Bar at our Hoku Water Sports kiosk.

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • Weight limit is 230 lbs.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 8 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more
Featured review
Our teacher Dave was so patient and very good at explaining everything. I felt very comfortable going out to try something I’ve always wanted to do. We are going to rent our own boards today after only one lesson yesterday. As first timers I feel very knowledgeable about the basics. I’m 44 and tried surfing for the first time. It was amazing. If I can do it so can you.


173 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 173 reviews
Best experience of our whole Hawaii vacation!
Crystal_F, Sep 2023
From the moment we arrived the staff made us feel super comfortable and welcome. Our instructor Kele was very professional and passionate about teaching us to surf. He made it super simple to understand and was with us in the surf the whole time. He took plenty of time with each guest and made sure we were all able to stand and catch a wave. I never surfed before, and I’m old lol, and he helped me catch my first wave ever!
Catching waves in Po'ipu!
Teresa_O, Sep 2023
We had an awesome time.learning to surf with our instructor, Kele. He was both patient and encouraging to all in our group. We had a lot of fun and would definitely go back. Everyone was super friendly and helpful!
Perfect experience
Jordy_B, Sep 2023
Very nice and chill instructor take the time to explain how its works and give u good tips, perfect was nice learning to surf there 10/10
Incredible instruction!
Chia_L, Sep 2023
I had an amazing time! Kele was my instructor and he was very knowledgeable and made sure that we all got the best waves. His encouraging attitude and cheerfulness made the experience very enjoyable. After, he gave me recommendations for hiking spots. I appreciate how rash guards and shoes are provided, plus the on-land lesson where we learned how to stand up before we got in the water. If you’re looking for a surfing school, this is the best one!
Response from Host, Sep 2023
That is great to hear! We're happy that you enjoyed your time learning to surf with Kele. Thank you for choosing us and sharing your experience.
Surfs Up🤙
Dustin_R, Sep 2023
Absolutely a great time and instructor was amazing and it was clear he loves what he does- getting everyone the opportunity to catch a wave I. Hawaii and have a great time!
Response from Host, Sep 2023
Aloha Dustin. We're so glad you enjoyed your time learning to surf with us. Thank you for sharing your experience.
A great way to learn
Nathan_R, Sep 2023
David was a great teacher! We were staying in Princeville but made the hour drive to Poipu beach and had consistent waves - great for lots of practice. We both stood up on our first lesson!
Response from Host, Sep 2023
Nathan. Thank you for the nice comments about David and your time surfing with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback.
Instructor, David, was...
Rebecca_H, Sep 2023
Instructor, David, was very knowledgeable and made techniques easy to learn! Great spot to learn and a beautiful beach. The waves were big enough to surf but small enough to learn. There were turtles in the water by us and a monk seal on the beach. Would recommend to anyone to learn to surf!
Response from Host, Sep 2023
Aloha Rebecca. Thank you for your kind comments and sharing your experience with us and everyone else. We appreciate your feedback.
Dan_B, Sep 2023
Kelé was awesome! He was super patient, accomodating and prioritized our safety. He even made sure to offer to help carry our belongings and find a comfortable spot to observe from the shore. Overall, he made sure that we had a memorable experience.
Response from Host, Sep 2023
Aloha Dan. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I am glad you had a great surfing experience. thank you for joining us.
First time surfing with kids
Boris_F, Aug 2023
Very good experience!!! The instructor was very good and encouraging but not pushy. We had a great time!!
Response from Host, Sep 2023
Aloha Boris. We are happy that you enjoyed your surfing experience with us. Thank you for sharing your comments and giving a nice review.
Sarai_L, Aug 2023
Our instructor was amazing! 2 people in our group had a little more experience, and 2 people needed more time to learn, and he did an incredible job and being able to help both skill levels simultaneously. He gave great advice so even when he was helping the others, we could practice what we’d learned.
Response from Host, Sep 2023
That is great to hear! Thank you for sharing your thoughts and comments and we are stoked that you had such a good time.
Give it a try
Nina_R, Aug 2023
The instructor was very helpful and polite. I will definitely coming back. He assisted me with carrying my board as I was extremely tired after the lessons.
Response from Host, Sep 2023
Aloha Nina. Thank you for sharing your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed yourself and hopefully you will continue your surfing.
Absolutely must try while in Kauai !
Christine_C, Aug 2023
Greg, the instructor was great with my 3 kids, ages 9-15. He’s so patient! All 3 were surfing by end of the lesson. They had a blast and we had a blast watching them. You won’t be disappointed.
Response from Host, Sep 2023
Aloha & Mahalo for the nice comments. It was a fun time in the water and they did great. Thank you for choosing to surf with us.
William_A, Aug 2023
TERRIBLE, TERRIBLE, TERRIBLE. My nine year old was unable to paddle out to the teacher due to the large waves. The teacher refused to help him. I tried to help him but the rocks were too big and I ended the session. He lasted 5 minutes and was frightened by the large waves.They knew this was his first time on a board and thought he would be okay. We foolishly relied on their expertise. They cancelled his first lesson because of the conditions but advised us after driving for one half hour to get there..I would not use this company.
Response from Host, Aug 2023
I'm sorry your son had a difficult time and did not enjoy the lesson. The conditions can change day to day and sometimes rather quickly. We try our best to accommodate each person's abilities during lessons, sometimes conditions can be a bit much for some, but our instructors will not take people out if they know it is unsafe or hazardous. My apologies.
To the beach
Chris_M, Aug 2023
Riding the wave to the beach with my new son-in-law. Great instruction and the location was perfect for someone who never surfed before.
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Awesome! I'm happy that you enjoyed your surfing experience and thank you for your feedback. Aloha.
Amazing tour! Great crew!...
Rachel_F, Aug 2023
Amazing tour! Great crew! Get ready to get wet and see amazing caves, waterfalls , Delphine’s , and relaxing snorkeling time🐬🌈🐠
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Thanks for the great review, however I believe you reviewed the wrong activity since we don't do boat tours. Aloha
Such a blast!
Natalie_B, Aug 2023
The instructor was amazing! Motivating, patient and friendly. Had a blast and learned to stand up and surf to shore. Would highly recommend.
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Great job Natalie! We're stoked that you had a good time learning to surf with us. Thank you for youe comments. Aloha.
The instructor was...
Anna_B, Aug 2023
The instructor was friendly and a very good teacher. The training on the land before going in to the water was extremely helpful. There are 4 participants in one group which is perfect, I wouldn’t go to a group with more. There were little breaks in between waves but I was positively exhausted afterwards. Great experience!
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Thank you for your comments Anna. We're glad you enjoyed yourself and being exhausted is a good sign that you had plenty of waves. Aloha.
Great experience!
Archana_S, Aug 2023
Dave did a great job! Would highly recommend. Both of my young adults enjoyed the lesson and tried surfing on their own later.
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Thank you for sharing your thoughts and giving a nice review. We appreciate your feedback. I'm glad they enjoyed the lesson.
Learn to surf
Steven_W, Aug 2023
Really enjoyed the lesson. Dave was patient and did not laugh when I consistently fell off the board. I would recommend this for all wanting to learn to surf.
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Great to hear! We're happy that you enjoyed yourself surfing with David. Mahalo.
Didn’t get service. But fully payed
Adelya_L, Jul 2023
Did not get service. No refund. No options to reschedule. Not recommended because - it’s just money making mashine.
Response from Host, Jul 2023
I am sorry that you feel this way. You canceled your scheduled surf lesson just 15 minutes prior to the lesson time. Our cancelation policy is clearly stated when booking and is printed on your voucher. You booked through a third party. I offered our only available time to reschedule two days later and you refused. Our instructor was waiting for you and he gets paid for being there. The 24 hour cancelation policy is standard in the activity business. I'm disappointed that you decided to insult us publicly when we did what we could to try to accommodate you.

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
Surf Lesson in Sunny Po'ipu


1 hour 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Kauai's Ultimate Group Surf Lesson


1 hour 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Kauai's Ultimate Semi-Private Surf Lesson


1 hour 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
No Photo
UNFORGETTABLE Group Surf Lesson on East Side Kauai


2 hours
Free Cancellation

Explore Similar Things to Do