Luxembourg City

Luxembourg: Nature & Castle Day Trip

Luxembourg, Luxembourg

From $119.97

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 8 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Get out of the city for a day and explore Luxembourg’s countryside on a small-group bus tour. Visit the beautiful Mullerthal area, the Castle of Beaufort, the medieval village of Vianden, the abbey town in Echternach, and more. Wear comfortable shoes as you’ll be walking around Mullerthal, known as Little Switzerland. This is a handy way of seeing and doing a lot in a single day.
  • Receive personalized attention on a small-group tour (max. 10)
  • Entry tickets to the castles at Beaufort and Vianden are included
  • Get around in a comfortable air-conditioned vehicle
  • Best suited to active travelers as walking is required

What's Included

  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • WiFi on board
  • Entry to the castle of Beaufort
  • Entry to the castle of Vianden
  • Visit of Schiessentümpel and Echternach
  • Gratuities
  • Lunch

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Luxembourg, Spuerkeess
    2330, Luxembourg

    Meeting point: Boulevard de la Pétrusse; on the level of the Banque et Caisse d'Epargne de l'Etat (Spuerkees).

Start time

09:30 AM

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Schiessentumpel Waterfall

45 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Beaufort Castles

5 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • No Dogs allowed
  • Most travelers can participate
  • only Foldable stroller
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 19 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more

Traveler Tips

But, the biggest downfall was that if you hopped off the bus to visit a town, the next bus may not come for another 3 hours.
28 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 28 reviews
The places were...
Pamela_S, Mar 2023
The places were beautiful. But there was only a guide at the hike. There was only a driver for the tour, no guide overall. The driver only spoke French and used cars for instructions in English.The directions we confusing and not service oriented. Not a great value for the money.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Dear Pamela, thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your advice, despite that, as a small team we do the best we can to propose an interesting and fun tour to our customers. Nevertheless, we hope you had a good time. Best regards,
Wouldn’t go back
Debbie_M, Mar 2023
How the driver spoke no English but was very nice. and one of the local guides called in sick. the audio didn’t match where you were driving but the upside is the countryside was very pretty.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Dear Debbie, thank you very much for your review. The drivers are indeed French-speaking, and the English language is not a requirement for us. The guide is the one who is directly in contact with customers, and therefore English-speaker. Regarding the audio guide, this is not something that happens usually. So our team will investigate what happened. We hope that you had a nice time visiting the northern region of Luxembourg. Best regards, Katia
English speaking tour with no English speaking driver.
Tricia_C, Feb 2023
Good opportunity to see the country of Luxembourg, as opposed to the city. However the passengers booked an English speaking tour, but the driver spoke no English. We had very occasional on board audio information, which was very inadequate. One of the English speaking local guides at a town we visited had to inform the driver that passengers needed to visit the toilet. We could not ask the driver anything as she couldn't understand.
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Hello dear Tricia, thanks for your review. The passengers can book one of the 3 languages they want because it is an audio guide. It is not mentioned anywhere that the tour will be in one specific language, English in this case, as it is not a guided tour. Then, the driver is not the tour's guide, their mission is to drive the passengers to the places. However, we hope you had a pleasant journey. Best regards,
Good tour
Teresa_D, Dec 2022
it was disappointing that the bus dropped us off so far from the entrance to the Vianden castle and the chair lifts were not working so it's quite a hike to get up there. We weren't able to do it. The walking tour of Echternach was wonderful and overall we're happy we joined the tour. It was a great way to see some highlights of Luxembourg in one day.
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Dear Teresa, thank you so much for your kind review. Indeed, you can be dropped near the castle. But it's a nice thing to walk around the town of Vianden, it is a very beautiful place. As for the chairlifts, it's a pity they weren't working - they usually do. Nevertheless, we are glad you had a nice time and we hope that you will come to Luxembourg again. Best regards,
Wouldn’t recommend
Beth_C, Oct 2022
I want to start by saying, the sites that we visited were beautiful, and Mark and Gaby our guides for the day were great! Onto the not so good things: - the driver was non-English speaking. Not her fault obviously, but it made things difficult not getting an introduction or information on the days agenda etc - we were handed headphones with no explanation, turns out they were for an audio tour which you could listen to along the way - except mine didn’t work, so I had to get my info from Google! - constant stopping along the roadside, and very fast driving, especially around corners, made the time in the vehicle unpleasant. - we drove past Vianden castle, and were dropped a fair way away with no explanation as to how to get back there or which direction to head. No recommendations on lunch as the driver couldn’t speak any English! - due to the distance parked, and the limited time, you could either fit in both a very very rushed lunch and a short castle visit, or a longer time in one or the other. - no indication of cash only for water on the bus, or at the first couple of stops, so I wasn’t able to get a drink of water until nearly 1pm, after starting at 9:30am. Would not recommend this tour. Hire a car and go yourself, no need to pay €80 for a seat on a minibus for a day.
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Dear Beth, thank you for taking the time to give us your review. We are very concerned and sorry to hear that you didn't have a good time during the tour. However, it is important to emphasize the fact that the bus tour is not with a live guide, but indeed with an audio guide that gives you the explanations - in 3 languages. The technical aspect of the headphones is not something we can control, it can happen that some fail which shows that there is a production defect. In these cases, we recommend the clients to ask for a new pair of headphones. Then, we apologize for the fact that the driver is not an English-speaker, we are already taking actions concerning that matter. Thank you for your feedback, it is a great help in the improvement of our products. Best regards,
Worth it but there is some van time between sights
Leslie_B, Oct 2022
Loved every stop. Each was unique in its own way. Nice way to spend the day out of the busy city and learn some Luxembourg history. Everyone on our bus spoke English except the driver - which at times was complicated.
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Dear Leslie, thank you very much for your kind review. We are very happy to read that you had a great time during the Nature & Castle trip. We are aware that the driver is not English-speaking, we thank you for your feedback and hope to see you soon. Kind regards,
Day well spent in mid of Nature
Nagashree_S, Jul 2022
Very beautiful natural scenic beauty. Well organized trip with guidance from experienced and dedicated professionals. In Vianden it's a bit of a rush other than this overall trip is awesome.
Response from Host, Sep 2022
Dear customer, thank you so much for taking the time to give us your review. It is a real pleasure to read how much you enjoyed the Nature & Castle Tour. In the future, we hope to see you again on another of our greats tours. See you soon and best regards,
Nice location.
Rose_G, Jul 2022
Pros: Nice variety of activities. Loved the guides for the two locations that had them. Cons: Driver/audio narration was not very informative. Transport up to Vianden castle was sporadic (wasted much of our limited time). Hot day, bus was stifling. Rear air conditioner was only on part of the time. At least provide more access to water.
AlejandraNoemi_A, May 2022
A very good trip. I love to see the little waterfall in Murthall... beautifull borh castles too... a very nice driver too. He takes us and give us options. Very nice with us.
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Dear Alejandro-a, many thanks for your kind review. Our team is very happy to read the great time you had on the Nature & Castle Tour. Our country is very beautiful and still has many places to be discovered. Come visit us soon. Best regards,
Beautiful scenery but limited in scope-
Debbie_A, Aug 2019
Great way to see the countryside but their were limitations. Limited in explanation of the sites visited. But, the biggest downfall was that if you hopped off the bus to visit a town, the next bus may not come for another 3 hours. We stayed on the bus the entire trip and enjoyed the magnificent scenery. Would have loved to hop off, visit town for an hour, and then have another bus to pick up. Hopefully, they will work this out -
Response from Host, Aug 2019
Thank you very much for your feedback, we are always trying to improve and have taken note of your comment, thanks for riding with us.
Loved it
Eleanor_Z, Jul 2019
We loved the tour. The driver was really nice and we loved seeing the nature and the castle to escape the metropolitan city. It felt like going to the past. Totally recommend it!
Belle escapade hors de la ville
Francois_D, Feb 2023
Très agréable spécialement pour ceux qui parlent français qui ont réellement un avantage afin d’avoir des conseils du chauffeur. Un peu dommage qu’en basse saison certains guides sur place ne soit pas disponible. Il serait bien d’offrir une version « self guided » lors de l’arrêt à la dernière ville.
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Bonjour, un grand merci pour votre avis qui est très important pour nous. Les guides ne sont pas inclus dans ces excursions d'un jour. Il s'agit juste d'un extra qui peut éventuellement être mis à disposition. Nous espérons vous revoir une prochaine fois au Luxembourg. Cordialement, Katia
Visite express luxembourg
Julie_M, Sep 2021
cela permet de visiter 4 sites ce qui est super. Un bemol pour le temps d arrêt vraiment insuffisant au château de Vianden, étant donné que c est le créneau du déjeuner en même temps