Martha's Vineyard
Two Hour Tour of Marthas Vineyard

Down Island Tour with One Hour in Edgartown

Badge of ExcellenceOak Bluffs, United States
  • 3 hours
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Make the most of your time on Martha’s Vineyard with a 2.5-hour, guided bus tour with a local Vineyard guide that includes transport from the Vineyard Haven ferry terminal.
  • 2-hour guided tour of Martha's Vineyard
  • Choose between two destinations
  • Round-trip transport from the Vineyard Haven ferry
  • Led by a local guide
  • Tour is wheelchair accessible

What's Included

  • Fun and smiles
  • Gratuities

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • 1 Seaview Ave
    1 Seaview Ave, Oak Bluffs, MA 02557, USA

    Directly across the street from the ticket office at the Oak Bluffs Steamship Authority..... To meet the bus via Steamship leaving Woodshole, must be on the 9:30am going to Oak Bluffs.... be advised you CANNOT park in Woodshole, you must park at Palmer Ave in Falmouth

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Meet a local guide at the Vineyard Haven ferry terminal, often called the Steamship Authority, the terminus for the Wood’s Hole to Vineyard Haven ferry. Two tour options are available:

On the Aquinnah tour, leave Vineyard Haven for the town of Aquinnah, once called Gay Head, where a brick red lighthouse looks out towards colorful clay cliffs and the Elizabeth Islands. Aquinnah is an important place for local Wampanoag Indians, and you’ll have time to browse small shops with handicrafts and souvenirs, or read about Wampanoag history.

Opt for the Down Island tour, and you’ll head straight for the picturesque town of Oak Bluffs, one of the first vacation communities on Martha’s Vineyard. See the Wesleyan Grove Methodist ‘campground,’ where bright gingerbread cottages surround an open-air tabernacle, exploring the historic neighborhood on foot.

Throughout each tour, the guide will share stories and insights about Martha’s Vineyard today and historically, offering a glimpse of the island’s distinctive culture. This tour, which is wheelchair accessible, concludes with drop-off at the Vineyard Haven ferry terminal.

Oak Bluffs (Pass By)

Vineyard Haven (Pass By)

West Tisbury (Pass By)


1 hour Admission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking, unless booked within 7 days of travel. In this case confirmation will be received within 48 hours, subject to availability
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • not recommended for children under 10
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 14 travelers
Operated by HomeGrown Tours

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more

Traveler Tips

We learned alot on this tour and found it to be well worth the money.


102 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 102 reviews
Gone Silent. Waiting for refund.
Laura_H, Jul 2023
Unfortunately we didn’t get to take this tour because it was cancelled by the tour operator. Someone called us the day before to let us know it was cancelled and did offer some alternate tours for us. I’m still waiting for my refund. I’ve called and texted to ask about the refund but have received no response.
Response from Host, Aug 2023
I wish trip advisor would do better or at least speak up on my behalf when it comes to the refunds.... I DO NOT GET ANY MONIES UNTIL THE FOLLOWING MONTH ... your grievance is with them, NOT ME.... If i had your money, you would already have it.... Enjoy the rest of your summer.... :) you had a full 24 hours to explore more options, there are many here.... we are a resort, you would not have been left without... we do not do that to folks.... :)
Unprofessional, canceled by tour company
FeliceA_J, Jul 2023
Tour company called at the last minute (the night before) to cancel the tour. I was upset because I had confirmed with them the day before and was assured that everything was set for my tour. I had to scramble to make new arrangements for the next day with a different tour company. I wasted valuable vacation time researching and finding a new tour company when I should have been enjoying my family vacation!Tour company should not book if they can not offer services requested!
Tour summary
Richard_M, Jul 2023
Driver hit a parked car trying to park. Because of this, we did not spend any time in Edgartown, except driving.
Josephine_B, Jun 2023
We were told the night before that the bus was out of commission but not to worry, Home Grown Tours would make arrangements for us with another tour operator. We were to show up early the next morning for a tour. After meeting as we were instructed, they were unable to accommodate us. Promised we would get a refund. Still no refund!! Shame on you!!
Response from Host, Jun 2023
We made arrangements for you like we do for all others in cases like this.... BUT YOU MUST SHOW UP ON TIME..... you gave the other tour company a hard time, which is so unfair... they tried to accommodate you but you were so unruly they had to ask you to leave.... why would they want you on tour?? Im glad i didnt have to deal with that.... TRIP ADVISOR HAS YOUR MONEY HONEY.... i dont get paid until the following month.... so shame on you for arguing with those that try to help.... you were unruly on the phone when we tried to help.... i shouldve guessed.... THE CUSTOMER IS NOT ALWAYS RIGHT... BIGGEST LIE THEY EVER TOLD.
Martha's Vineyard and Me
David_J, Jun 2023
eye popping views, very informational, enjoyable experience......JAWS info, Orange Peel Bakery, Sea Cliffs beautiful....Homegrown Tours just FanTasTic ! ! !
refund request
AnneMarie_S, May 2023
the original start time for the tour was 10:30. When I heard from the local tour provider, Homegrown, it had been switched to a 12:30, However the woman met us, she said there had been mechanical and personnel problems, and a bus would be there at 1:00 and to wait up the street. One o'clock came and went without the bus arriving, and the representative did not provide updates to the group as whole. At 1:30, i asked about getting a refund, the representative assured me that I could get one, if we chose not to wait any longer, My confirmation number is 137080639 My booking reference is 982383283 Party of 2 Cost $120 to American Express
Response from Host, May 2023
i put you on another bus tour and paid for it.... this is called stealing.... i dont appreciate this at all... i refunded one ticket for the hassle.... please, be honest, i work very hard at trying to please everyone and things happen but its not fair when you lie..... thank you .....
Great tour with a guide...
Joseph_R, May 2023
Great tour with a guide that lived his entire life on the island. Definitely recommend it if you are going to MV..
Jack_S, May 2023
The highlights of the tour were the stops at Orange Peel Bakery and looking out over the cliffs at the tides hitting the shore (though it was a bit foggy.) the narration and information sharing during the bus ride left much to be desired. Maybe there’s just not many interesting or historical things about MV, but I doubt that. Bit disappointed.
Response from Host, May 2023
Sry.... Devin is the most outstanding tour guide on Marthas Vineyard, as you can see in all the other reviews..... i was told that you were on your phone most of the tour.... maybe you would have heard something.... points for your next tour: stay off the phone... its disturbing to the other customers... enjoy the rest of your summer 'off' your phone... :)
Very informative!
PatG, May 2023
Devan was a really good tour guide. Being a local he knew a lot more than a typical tour guide. Even though we had bad weather, he kept everything on time and detailed. Very enjoyable tour!
Great Tour once we got through confusing communications
Marcie_W, May 2023
Communication with the tour operator on MV was terrible. Our 10:30 reservation was changed to 9:30 days before then directions for pick up were confusing (told us to walk several blocks from pier after initial told to look for van near pier!). But the young man who drove and narrated saved the day and was stellar.
Our guide Devon was...
Padma_G, Apr 2023
Our guide Devon was extremely informative about the history and culture of the Vineyard and provided recommendations about local food. Would recommend.
More details on the...
Lesa_B, Oct 2022
More details on the process of getting to destination. We were not told we would need to buy ferry tickets before going on tour. I though it was included. I was panicky about getting to destination, then van was late on arrival
Response from Host, Oct 2022
There is no place anywhere that mentions the tickets for the ferry are included... We were not late, we notified all customers that we were starting 15 minutes later than the norm... we notified everyone.... all info for pickups are noted on the site... we are easy to find as we are right at the end of the ramp of the ferry..... im glad you found us right there....
Lived the tour! Lots of...
Joyce_P, Oct 2022
Lived the tour! Lots of local info. Beautiful island. Nice ferry ride over. Crazy all the rock fences.
Knowledgeable guide.
Andrew_B, Oct 2022
Our guide was very friendly, informative and knowledgeable. He was also helpful to people who were not on the tour.
Must do to see most of the island in a few hours
Jessica_G, Aug 2022
We loved the tour. Very friendly guide - lots of history and local insights. So glad we booked this!
An excellent introduction to Martha’s Vineyard.
James_S, Jul 2022
Our guide was excellent. A young native of Martha’s Vineyard, we loved his stories about growing up there. Also, after the tour we asked him for a restaurant recommendation. My grandson and I were hungry. He recommended Nancy’s and it was excellent!
Awesome Tour!
Karyn_M, Jun 2022
Great experience! Very interesting and informative about the history of Martha's Vineyard. Dee was an excellent tour guide!! We loved it!
Tour good. Booking through Viator not.
Susan_A, May 2022
The problem was not the tour, it was good, and we had excellent communication from the tour company. The issue is the Viator site. This same tour is advertised as 3 different tours on Viator site, leading to much confusion as to which tour you have actually signed up for! Phone calls to viator help center did not clear this up. I would not book a tour through Viator again.
Response from Host, May 2022
hi there... sorry for any confusion.... i believe this is set up for more options and multiple times... im not sure.... my website on the otherhand is great and very accommodating.... thanks for touring with us.... :)
Small Group Tour and covers the whole island
W4143GSmichaelm, Oct 2019
The group is small and in the three hours you cover the entire island, The guide is very knowledgeable and seems to have a true love for the island. We learned alot on this tour and found it to be well worth the money.