Road to Hana, Black Sand Beach, Waterfalls & Turtles Tour from Maui, Hawaii

Kahului, United States

From $159.00

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 6 hours 30 minutes (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Experience the twists, turns, and attractions along the Hana Highway without the stress of navigating on this full-day tour that departs from Kahului. Going with a guide means you can relax and take views en route to each stop on the day’s itinerary, including a rainforest waterfall, black sand beach, and the Haiku lava tubes. Don’t forget your camera: The highway is known for its sweeping views and wildlife.
  • Private tour ensures a personal experience
  • Experience the Hana Highway without the stress of driving
  • Guide brings you to the route’s best landmarks and hidden gems
  • Explore secluded natural landscapes often missed by visitors

What's Included

  • Bottled water
  • Luxury Vehicles, Air Conditioning, USB Charging Spots, Stereophonic Music.
  • All Day Long Beverages, Fresh Cold Water, Juice, Ice Coffee and Chips
  • Entry/Admission - Black Sand Beach
  • Gratuities

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • 70 E Kaahumanu Ave
    70 E Kaahumanu Ave, Kahului, HI 96732, USA

    Whole Foods Supermarket, Located On 70 E Kaahumanu Ave, Kahului, HI 96732, USA

Start time

07:00 AM

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 11 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more

Traveler Tips

I would suggest taking a jacket and umbrella if the weather looks bad, or switch days if possible.
I would definitely recommend this tour for exploring the beauty of Maui.
330 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 330 reviews
Great day in Maui
Joseph_B, Mar 2023
Our tour guide was Oscar, and ge was great. He's very knowledgeable and friendly, taking us along the twisty road to Hana expertly. We would highly recommend this tour.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Hello there, We appreciate a lot your recommendation. It will be very helpful for our future travelers. You were very kind. As you seen road to Hana is not an easy task. Only expert drivers can drive through it. Our well trained drivers and well educated tour guides do their best at anytime. Thank you very much for mentioning Oscar. He is the best. Stay with us.
Great trip!
Shelly_F, Mar 2023
The views were amazing. Driver was fun. So many turtles and great pictures all along the route. Wish they maybe took a couple less people do your bottom wasn’t hanging on the edge, but other than that it was great and would do again.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Hello Shelly, Wanna thank you very much for the review. We think that you were really happy. We always do everything that we can do for our travelers. Because the travelers are our main asset. We collect the all suggestions that our travelers make. We don't think twice to apply it to our business if it is good. Thank you very much again for joining us. See you again in the near future.
Road To Hana
Matthew_M, Mar 2023
The waterfalls and the black sand beach were the most memorable parts of the tour. Would have liked to have a meal included (sandwiches or something) as the drive was quite long. More time at the black sand beach too.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Hi there, Thank you very much for your kind words and honest thoughts. For sure we will take care of your kind thoughts. The black sand beach is one of the memorable places of our travelers. Your suggestions are very valuable for us. Stay with us.
Nice experience
Brant_M, Feb 2023
Enjoyable day. Our tour guide Oscar kept us entertained. Was a rainy day but still got to enjoy the trip.
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Hey Brant, nice to hear from you. Yeah, It was a rainy day. But we are responsible to do what we promised. So we did our best for you and others. We think all were happy at the end. Our tour guides are well prepared for the tours. They do share their knowledge even if it's a rainy day. Thank you very much for your time. Happy to see you again. Aloha!!
Viator constantly mis...
Diana_L, Feb 2023
Viator constantly mis advertises what the actual tour is. Happened again on this tour and was not worth having a guide.
Response from Host, Feb 2023
We have made it clear on our tripadvisor page, our viator page as well as our website that if travel is made difficult due to extreme weather conditions, it is beyond our control and no refunds will be made. It is obvious that you did not read those details clearly before your visit. This is evident when other people who took part in the day trip with you leave positive reviews about the trip. Due to emergency weather conditions, we cannot control the decisions taken by the authorities in the respective places.
Fun but aggressive driver
Lori_L, Feb 2023
We very much enjoyed this tour however our driver was on the aggressive side. Drove too fast in some areas and because we were in a bigger van felt he had the right of way in several spots in the road. He did a lot of honking, some of which was for the corners but some of it wasn’t.
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Thank you very much for your review. Hana road is quite challenging to drive due to its difficulty. However, our tour guides are always concerned about the safety of our tourists. We are very happy that you enjoyed our tour. Thank you again..
You do you.
Tena_C, Feb 2023
Our guide Tony did a great job of telling us a bit about Hawaiian history. He did an excellent job throughout the day! 5 stars for him and the company. I would like to add that this is hours of driving on winding roads which I know is a bucket list item for some people- but not for me. Worth considering if you’re trying to decide to do this. Lovely black sand beach and turtles. For me, not worth the drive but you do you!!🌈
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Hello, Thank you very much for sharing your honest experience with us. Yeah, you're right. For some people, hours of driving on winding roads is a real adventure. That's why we specially mention about the road. I need to thank you again for mentioning about our tour guide. He is well educated and experienced person. We are happy to see you again.
Beautiful experience!
Guadalupe_M, Jan 2023
Great experience! Our tour guide Oscar was very knowledgeable and friendly! We were able to take plenty of pictures and explore a bit at each of our stops. The road to Hana excursion is such a beautiful experience! Thank you Oscar for making our excursion memorable.
Response from Host, Jan 2023
Thank you for sharing your experience with the Road to Hana tour. Yes, you will get to see many of Maui's hidden attractions on this tour, and the tour will be a lot of fun. Thank you again for your positive review..
Some great sights
Erika_F, Dec 2022
Black beach was amazing! And stopping to see some surfers was fun. Our tour guide had some interesting information about the history of the island but was hard to understand. Overall it was a cool tour and I’d still recommend
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Hello Erika, Thank you very much for the great review and your honest thoughts. As you said before we are trying to share everything that we know about the island. All of our tour guides are well educated and experienced. That's why our travelers love to travel with us.Thank you very much again for joining us.
Breathtaking views while gaining a history of Maui.
Cynthia_W, Dec 2022
Most memorable parts were the crashing waves along the black sand beach and the "hidden cave" right next door.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Hi Cinthia,We are really happy to see your lovely words. Actually your honest thoughts full fill our hopes. Our company vision is 'adventures that fill your soul".If we can full fill it yeah, we are the best in Maui. Thank you very much.
Julber_N, Nov 2022
Was nice experience seeing the black beach and turtle? Tony was so nice friendly all time wi so happy tony was driver tour.
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Hi, Thank you very much for mentioning our driver Tony. He is one of the best drivers with years of experience. We are very glad that we have great staff members like Tony. Honest reviews like this will help our future travelers. Thank you very much.
Lynn_W, Oct 2022
HORRIBLE tour…….do NOT book with this company. Driver was late arriving (no call)skipped half the stops, never offered any drinks/snacks until lunch, & was texting while driving. When I sent an email to Viator, he responded by texting me & called me a liar!!!
Response from Host, Oct 2022
99% of our customers are very friendly and help us build our business by writing positive reviews about our quality service and driver's courtesy after enjoying the tour. The more than 290 positive reviews we've received testify to that. However, some very few customers ask for money back after enjoying the tour, and the reasons they give for that are completely incompatible with the service we provide. Hana is a very difficult road where even a small child can understand that a driver cannot drive using a mobile phone. Please avoid such unrelated reasons to get your money back. We have a highly disciplined and experienced team of employees and other travelers who participated in the day tour testify that the above facts are not true. We have already sent your untrue reasons with evidence to the viator team and after reviewing it, they have already declined your refund request.
The driver, Oscar was professional and very entertaining.
Paul_K, Oct 2022
Black Beach, the bamboo, the scenic stops to see the waves, surfers, turtles. Lunch was great, the views were fantastic and I did not want to drive it!
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Hello Paul, We are really happy about your honest thoughts. We stop every single view points as we promised. What we want is our traveler's happiness. We do everything that we can to achieve it. Thank you very much.
Excellent Tour
Ashley_B, Oct 2022
Beautiful scenery.. enjoyed the tour guide. He was very knowledgeable and friendly. Recommend this tour service to anyone visiting the area.
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Hello there, We're happy to see your great review. We really appreciate it. Our travelers know that we're the best in Maui. All our tour guides are well prepared and knowledgeable. In the future we do our best more and more. Stay with us. Thanks
After going to the wrong...
Marisol_R, Oct 2022
After going to the wrong Safeway, and waiting for our ride, only to be told we were at the wrong place, they would not reschedule for another day, said too bad it's our fault...Aloha.... never again with this tour company!!!
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Before starting a tour, our company informs the customer several times about the meeting place and time, to avoid unnecessary confusion. It is mainly stated on our website and on our tripadvisor page, and after you have made the booking, you have been informed about the meeting point in the form of a FAQ document, a summary and 3 reminders through the viator inbox. We have sent all the above notifications to your phone as a text, and the total number of notifications we have made to you from the time of booking to the date of travel is 10. We have proofs for all that. If you went to the wrong place after being notified 10 times, is it not your fault? Our tour is a shared tour consisting of 11 people and if a person / group does not turn up at the last minute, we do not have time to replace them with a new group. Also, because the distance of this trip is high, anyone can understand the cost for it. Reservations we have made for you at places like Black Sand Beach will not be refunded if you do not arrive. We have made it clear on our tripadvisor page that no refunds will be given to travelers who do not show up at the last minute due to the above reasons. However, we have given you a 50% refund due to human consideration. Even so, you wrote this bad review and showed your lack of respect. We will report this review and your misbehavior to viator and tripadvisor along with proof and hope to take appropriate action against this.
Great experience
Patricia_G, Sep 2022
Road to Hana and black sand beach were the best. The whole trip was great. We would recommend this to everyone.
Response from Host, Sep 2022
Hello, Thank you very much for recommending us and for this great review. We appreciate your honest thoughts. We saw your group were enjoying the whole tour. That's what we want also. Stay with us in the future.
Lousy Company
Susan_F, Sep 2022
I picked this company because of their 24 hr cancellation policy. When my husband fell and broke his arm and pelvis on 9/6, I started emailing and calling. No answered or responded. At 6:58 am, someone called to see if we were comings c I told him we had tried many times to reach the company. Very rudely, he responded”no show, no refund”. This was to be one of the highlights of our trip. Every chance I get. I will spread the word that this is a lousy company and not to book with them.
Response from Host, Sep 2022
We have mentioned a clear description on how to cancel a booking in our company on our website, tripadvisor listing as well as viator page and our office members have rejected your refund request according to our cancellation policy. However, why did you fail to send medical proofs even though we asked you to send medical proofs on a humanitarian level? Our company always thinks from the customer's side, but some customers try to cancel the booking and request a refund for other reasons. You will understand that it is reasonable to ask for medical proofs to avoid such situations. Everyone at our company is an experienced customer-friendly team and more than 290 positive reviews on our tripadvisor page prove that. Maui Fantastic, Adventures that fill your Soul!
Would not do again
Melissa_M, Aug 2022
All in all, this tour was okay, but would not do it again. Biggest disappointment was the “entry/admission” into the bamboo rainforest. This was very misleading. We pulled over randomly from the main highway and walked 30 ft into the forest. It was not a protected park. Our tour guide Oscar had good energy and tried to be entertaining, but he had latin music blaring super loud at 7am. His English was very difficult to understand so we missed a lot of what you would experience with a tour guide. We had to ask various times to put the AC on. The tour is advertised as an air conditioned van. We sat in the very back of the van with no air for the last 3 hrs of the trip, which was the hottest part of the day. Drinks (water and juice) were not offered at any point only at lunch time. No soda, iced coffee etc as advertised. Lastly, the van was decorated with Mardi Gras masks with bells on the back of the seats. The bells are VERY annoying on an 8-10 hour bumpy car ride. The black sand beach was super cool. The turtle tour is not a tour. You can explore for 15 min on our own. All in all, I don’t think this tour was worth the price. I’d recommend another tour company to a friend.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
While it might be convenient to trade blames, we would prefer to just state the facts and allow reasonable persons to draw conclusion as too much responsibility falls on our hands.The other customer on the travel day with you enjoy the tour was family of 6 and others 2 give to us a positive feed back review and also they feel uncomfortable with you for your constant complains is too long is too far is too hat AC no works (at beginning on the morning you close the windows on the back because was too cool and dismiss open it again) and they complain with our tour guide against you. Happiness is and art. Hana Road is intense and dangerous road but our tour guides has plenty experience under they belts to drive on this Road. On bamboo forest is so beautiful and nice experience for our guess the path is a natural terrain up down so you’re on the jungle we don’t know what you expect to walk on a marble shiny floor with security on the side watch to you you’re ok? A person with criteria understand. At all our fleet use different decoration and that car use a Venetian Mask from Italy so you don’t can accurate made a description of it show you’re lack of culture. Watch the turtles on the beach is only for 25 minutes that Instead on the platform you booked sometimes are plenty and other times a few obviously we don’t control wild life. Our customers LOVE our Tours as we granted over 285 Positive reviews o this platform not to mention others hundreds on Viator Expedia travelogue FareHarbor only too mention some our Customers not be wrong. Maui Fantastic, Adventures that fill your Soul! Paulina Bartoli Operation Manager
Road to Hana trip- must do
Jessica_H, Aug 2022
Hawaii is so beautiful. I had a great experience. We saw a seal & a turtle! The food truck that we stopped at for lunch had the most amazing poke I’ve ever had, even better than what I’ve had on Oahu. The black sand beach was so amazing! The road itself I had no issues on the way up, I did end up having a panic attack on the way down but that was not the tour guides fault. I have anxiety & it got triggered by the heights. I’m very glad I had this experience with my Aunt. I would suggest everyone do it at least once in your lifetime, just be mindful if you have anxiety that on the way down you may have to put some coping techniques in place lol.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Thank you for this review. We always try to give our best whenever it comes to the way we handle our guests and customers, and that was what we did in your case. We are glad you enjoyed the tour. Thank you again.
Not a great tour
Lisa_D, Jul 2022
Short bamboo forest hike was fun but no guide in the forest was a little unnerving. Could not understand our guide. Saw no turtles. Made no stops at waterfalls. Guide took no pictures for our group. Not worth the time and money.
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Although you are personally unhappy with this trip, it must first be said that all the other travelers who participated in the trip were very happy. Hana is a village near a rainforest. The main purpose of this trip is to explore the beauty of the rainforest and the beach, and it must be understood that traveling in a forest is different from traveling on a Parisian street surrounded by great restaurants. It is not mentioned on our tripadvisor page or website that you can go on the waterfall platforms on this tour. Now the state of Hawaii has restricted parking there and banned parking. We do not break the law by parking there and writing a fine of $240.00. We have clearly mentioned that waterfalls can be seen during the tour and they are minor stops. We have provided a lot of facilities to our tourists which other tour guides do not provide.Despite our generous attitude with you, you write bad review. Our Customers LOVE OUR TOURS we granted Certificate of Excellence from TripAdvisor and award winner State of Hawaii also over 279 Excellent Positive Reviews only on this platform not too mention hundreds on other positive reviews on others platforms as; TripAdvisor, Viator ,Expedia, Travelodge, FareHarbor only too mention some in other words THOSE CUSTOMERS NO CAN BE WRONG. On Maui Fantastic we provide a big wide of fun and good moment because The Satisfaction of our Customers is what pride in. Maui Fantastic Adventures that fill your Soul Penelope Bartoli General Manager