Famous Road to Hana Waterfalls & Lunch by Mercedes Van

Badge of ExcellenceLahaina, United States

From $229.99

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 10 hours (approx.)
  • Hotel pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


The Hana Highway weaves along the northeast coast of Maui, and it’s well known on the island for the postcard-perfect waterfalls that punctuate it. Spend your day exploring these dramatic natural highlights and swimming in their pools on this fully-chauffeured tour. Instead of hiring your own expensive rental car and trying to drive this winding and unfamiliar road yourself, navigate the winding scenic roads of the Hana Highway with your guide at the wheel.
  • Learn about the mythology and stories of the area from your guide
  • Don’t go hungry on the road: drinks and snacks, including fresh fruit, on offer
  • Transport includes early morning pick-up from your Maui accommodation

What's Included

  • Lunch
  • Driver/guide
  • Live commentary on board
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off (if option selected)
  • No pickups available in Napili, Honokowai and Kapalua
  • No special diet available (raw, vegan, food allergies). You must bring your own food.
  • No pickups in Kihei, Wailea. You must meet us at the Maalaea Park and ride
  • Driver's Gratuity (15-20% of Ticket price recommended)

Meeting And Pickup

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

Start time

05:45 AM

Pickup details

Pick-up & drop-off on west side at major resorts, or at the Kahului or Maalaea Park and ride

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • In the event the back side of the road is closed, we reserve the right to return the same way back.
  • Pick-up & drop-off at major resorts in Lahaina and Kaanapali or pick-up at the Maalaea or Kahului Park n'ride
  • Light breakfast, Lunch, snacks, nonalcoholic beverages
  • Pastries. Freshly made sandwiches from a local deli. Fresh locally grown pineapple. Snacks (granola bars, chips). Bottled water & Hawaiian juice
  • Travel aboard our luxury Mercedes S-Class sedan or luxury Mercedes Van
  • Bring swimsuit & towel for swimming at Hana waterfalls or famous Black Sand Beach (optional & weather permitting)
  • We DON'T offer any food alternatives. If you are on a special diet (raw, vegan, or have food allergies), you must bring your own food.
  • Preorder your sandwich - ham or turkey or veggie
  • This tour is not confirmed until the operator calls you to confirm it and setup a pickup.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 14 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more
365 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 365 reviews
The waterfalls were...
SusanElaine_H, Mar 2023
The waterfalls were beautiful. The ride was very relaxing. The guide was very knowledgeable and fun to ride with.
Must do trip
Joanne_L, Mar 2023
Quinn our driver was excellent . He made sure we were all comfortable by checking in on us. He was knowledgeable and very friendly. He made the road to Hana a wonderful and safe experience.
Unforgettable Road to Hana Waterfalls
Elmer_F, Mar 2023
I loved this Road to Hana trip. Quinn, the tour guide, came on time and early before the traffic hits, gave us a lot of information about Maui’s geographical location, volcanoes that surround the island, historical and cultural background, and almost everything that will interest you to visit this island again. Quinn is very polite, hospitable and knowledgeable as a tour guide. The price is little bit more than I expected, but I would recommend this experience to everyone especially those who are first timer. Thank you so much Quinn.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Aloha Elmer, we’re so glad you had a great experience. Next time you’re here, try the Authentic Taste of Maui food tour. It’s one of our newer offerings. A hui hou
Excellent experience with Eric
Eula_H, Mar 2023
The sandwich was good but our tour guide was exceptionally excellent! This guy is all in. He possesses a wealth of knowledge about the island and Hawaii. He is an absolute jewel for the state of Hawaii. He promotes Hana, Maui, Hawaii and even “adopt a dog programs in the state. It was all Eric that made this an excellent trip.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Mahalo Eula. We’re thrilled that you were satisfied with our services. Your feedback is appreciated, and we hope to be of help again soon. A hui hou
Amazing trip!!
Johnnie_C, Mar 2023
I had such a wonderful time. Our guide and driver was an amazing person. He was really knowledgeable about everything Hawaii. Very interesting. He really promotes the island and should be awarded handsomely. A very enjoyable trip. He needs a raise!!
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Dear Johnie, we are so happy that you enjoyed your experience with us! We appreciate the great review and look forward to having you again soon. Aloha
Best tour guide!
Chris_D, Mar 2023
Do this tour early in your trip, you’re gonna gain so much knowledge about the area that you’ll be well informed going into the second part of your trip. What an awesome day! Our tour guide, Eric, was great! We saw a lot of cool landscapes and Eric’s commentary brought those landscapes to life with history and his expansive knowledge of the area! Would definitely recommend this tour!
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Aloha Chris, mahalo nui for taking the time to share your experience at Stardust Hawaii. We take pride in knowing our visitors are happy with their tour experience.
Fantastic trip to Hana
Malcolm_W, Mar 2023
Every part of the journey to Hana was great but it wouldn’t have been that way without our guide Eric. He was entertaining and very knowledgeable. Wish we could have had him take us all over the entire island.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Aloha Malcolm, big mahalo for this kind review! It absolutely makes our day to hear that you had such a good experience with us. We take pride in driving our guests carefully through the whole road and always keeping them happy, entertained and comfortable.
Incredible experience
Kenneth_W, Mar 2023
Absolutely amazing scenery! Our driver Quinn was very knowledgeable and nice. He arrived right on time and handled the very tricky driving well.The van was clean and comfortable.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Aloha Kenneth, mahalo nui loa for your review. We are happy to hear that your enjoyed the ride. We will let Quinn know, he will be thrilled to hear that. A hui hou.
Loved this trip
Kathryn_T, Mar 2023
Enjoyed the trip. Unfortunately we weren't able to complete the last part due to the road under repair, but Eric made it up by giving us more time on the way back being able to have longer visits to some of the most beautiful areas we have ever seen. Eric was kind when my sister got soaked when a high wave came in to soak her at the black sand beach. He let her use his towel to sit on in the van. He gave us so much information about Hawaii that we are going to be reading more about it. I will recommend this trip to anyone who thinking of traveling to Maui.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Aloha Kathryn, big mahalo for your 5-star feedback. We love to hear back from you. It awesome to hear that you had a great time and learned a lot. Hope you can visit again.
Shuttle arrived on time...
Sharon_B, Mar 2023
Shuttle arrived on time and kept on time all day. Reps were very informed and provided flexibility to the group. Good fun and driver was very safe and I felt very comfortable with his ability to navigate the roads.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Aloha Sharon, mahalo for your feedback. We are glad you had fun and felt safe and comfortable. Have a great day!
Spectacular Road to Hana tour
Connie_M, Mar 2023
The scenery on the road to Hana was spectacular, and our guide Eric Wagner made it extra special with his commentary on Hawaiian history and culture.. Eric went above and beyond to make our trip pleasurable. We highly recommend this tour!
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Aloha Connie, mahalo nui loa for your feedback. We love to hear back from you. We appreciate you very much. A hui hou.
Wonderful, soooo glad someone else drove.
Joy_W, Mar 2023
It was a wonderful day. Our Driver Quinn was fun, funny and a wealth of information about the islands. Did not mind that it was raining on and off thru the day.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Aloha Joy, mahalo nui loa for your review. We will share this with the team to let them know how we are doing :-) A hui hou
Road to Hana is AMAZING!
FrancescaMay_A, Mar 2023
Erick was very informative about the back story of Maui and showed us the most beautiful places in maui! ❤️
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Aloha Francesca, mahalo nui loa for your 5-star review! We will share this with Eric to let them know to keep up the amazing work.
Karen_O, Feb 2023
The weather affected our experience but I wish there were more stops. The driver was great with lots of information.
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Aloha Karen, we are sorry that you were disappointed with the weather too – we try to provide always an excellent tour, rain or shine. But sometimes things happen out of our control and there is not much we can do, like control the weather. If there’s anything actually we can do for you, please let us know! If there’s anything else we can do for you, please let us know
Eric was awesome, views were magical!
Chad_W, Feb 2023
Eric our guide was super friendly and attentive. He has a vast amount of knowledge! I am so glad he was driving that narrow, curvy road and it wasn’t us. He was excellent. Van was comfortable. Windows were large and allowed for great photos! Thank you for a great trip Eric!
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Aloha Chad, mahalo nui loa for your review. The entire team in Stardust Hawaii really appreciate it. Have a great day!
Road to Hana
Joe_B, Feb 2023
We had great time on the tour and Eric, (our guide) was top notch. He was on time, provided amount of local and historical insight. Highly recommend!
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Aloha Joe, big mahalo for taking the time to share your experience at Stardust Hawaii on the Road to Hana. We take pride in knowing our customers are happy with their tour experience.
Better to be driven than drive...
Jesse_L, Feb 2023
Definitely worth the money. The road to Hana is long and windy. We saw a couple of cars that drove over the cliff...have someone that is local drive you to see everything. The guided tour started before most other tours so we were ahead of the crowds. The van was clean and we were able to take pictures from inside and afar. My only complaint is I wish we could've spent more time at the Black Sands Beach to explore and eat lunch. Otherwise, the tour was great.
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Aloha Jesse, we are so grateful for your review. Thanks for sharing your rating with us and the travelers.
Road to Hana
PATRICK_H, Feb 2023
It was an awesome experience. Guide Edic was great. He really knew the Hawaiian history. Waterfalls were great.
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Aloha Patrick, we are incredibly grateful that you took the time out to leave us a 5-Star review. Have a wonderful day!
You can pass on this tour
DaShawn_B, Feb 2023
The driver was good but other than that I think the tour is overpriced plus they didn’t even tell us the last few stops were cancelled. It would have been nice to know ahead of time that they don’t do hotel pickup especially since there were only 3 groups on the tour
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Aloha Dashawn, mahalo for your feedback. We cannot control the weather and the road conditions. Due to the rain, the county closed the backside road on the day of your tour due to hazardous conditions. There was nothing we could do about it. However you didn't miss any stops, the backside road goes around the coastline, and it's mostly the scenic. Regarding your pickup, we picked you up exactly as scheduled based on your location and how is listed. We believe our price is very compatible and this tour is well priced. If you felt that our tour was overpriced why did you book it in the first place? Have an awesome day!
Great tour with focus on waterfalls & Black Sand Beach
Hayley_B, Feb 2023
This trip was great. We stayed on the west side in Lahaina. Seeing the other side of the island was great! We loved the waterfalls & Black Sand Beach is beautiful. It was exactly what we were looking for & not having to drive it ourselves so we could take a good look at everything was perfect. Our driver Tom did a great job of letting us know what look at when & where to be sure we didn’t miss anything. Thank you so much.
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Aloha Hayley, mahalo nui for taking the time to leave us feedback. We couldn't do it without you. We look forward to seeing you again soon.