Majestic Haleakala Sunrise Tour with Pick-up

Badge of ExcellenceWailea, United States
Likely to Sell Out

From $249.99

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 8 hours (approx.)
  • Hotel pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Seeing the sunrise from the top of Haleakala Mountain is one of Maui’s most coveted travel experiences—and this tour takes all the hassle out of experiencing the natural show for yourself. Following nighttime pickup from your area hotel, make your way to Haleakala National Park and enjoy a light continental breakfast. Then, ride to the summit. You should arrive in time to admire the sunrise. Afterward, tour other highlights of the national park before a hearty buffet meal.
  • Leave the logistics to someone else on this seamless sunrise tour
  • Head to the top of Haleakala Mountain for a memorable sunrise outing
  • Round-trip transit from your hotel is included, plus two meals
  • See Haleakala National Park's highlights, and learn more from your guide

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Bottled water

    Meeting And Pickup

    Pickup points

    Select a pickup point

    Start time

    02:00 AM

    Pickup details

    We pick up at all South and West side hotels. Hotel pickup times will vary as some hotels are much further away than others. If you are staying at a location, we do not pick up from we do offer meeting locations with free parking. Please contact our office for exact pickup locations and times for your hotel and tour. Due to the ever changing weather conditions at the Summit, please note, we may operate our Sunrise Tour in various weather conditions, with the exception of any Haleakala National Park closures

    What To Expect

    Haleakala National Park

    2 hours Admission Ticket Included

    Haleakala Crater

    2 hours Admission Ticket Included

    Additional Info

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Wheelchair accessible
    • Stroller accessible
    • Infants must sit on laps
    • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
    • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
    • Most travelers can participate
    • Because of the elevation gain, anyone suffering from breathing issues should consult with a doctor. We do have an oxygen generator on-board.
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 23 travelers

    Cancellation Policy

    You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

    Traveler Photos

    See more
    217 reviews
    Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
    Reviews by Viator travelers.
    Showing 1-10 of 217 reviews
    This should be a bucket...
    Graciella_L, Mar 2023
    This should be a bucket list for everyone. Unbelievable experience. Extremely cold and windy, dark to begin with (chance to stargaze)until you slowly see some light coming out from the horizon. As the sun slowly rises, then you hear the chant of the Hawaiian priests thats when you start feeling that how lucky are you to witness this event. Never seen the sun like this until i came to Haleakala. And our your guides, Kaika and Alex are the friendliest and knowledgeable pair. The breakfast place….fantastic location. No words to describe this trip except….go !!!!
    Wonderful experience!
    Sanna_H, Feb 2023
    Our tour guide was really nice and accommodating. The sunrise was unbelievable and breathtaking. A must experience in Maui!
    A must do !!
    Adam_Y, Feb 2023
    Life changing experience!! Truly a must do in Hawaii. It was very cold so make sure to layer up & wear comfortable shoes bc you will be standing holding your spot waiting for sunrise for a few hours! But totally worth it
    Overall disappointing
    Pete_S, Jan 2023
    Drivers were great. Helpful and very knowledgeable. And funny. Made ride enjoyable. Spectacular viewing. Breakfast was awful. Served cold and not as good as expected. We didn’t receive what I thought I ordered. Server told me to take what she served; it was on a sheet. Bus heater wasn’t very effective. Warning about cold should have been stronger and more up front.
    Response from Host, Jan 2023
    Aloha, We are disappointed to hear your sunrise tour was not satisfactory. We strive for all of our guests to have an exceptional experience. I see you ordered one cold breakfast, and one hot breakfast. If your hot breakfast was cold, I apologize, and we shall follow up with the restaurant. We do our best to inform our guests of the cold temperatures on our Haleakala Sunrise tour. We send an email, which you will see a portion of below. In your case, having booked through Viator, we are limited to only messaging through the Viator site. It appears the message below was sent twice, but unfortunately not viewed by you. "Dress warm and in layers! Temperatures up at Haleakala are between 20-40 degrees. With the windchill factor it can seem colder. You are more than welcome to bring blankets from your hotel room if permitted." We also show that your tour was confirmed by phone, and we also confirm these details over the phone during any confirmation with our guests. All that being said, I am truly pleased you were blessed with experiencing a beautiful sunrise and that our tour guides made for an enjoyable tour. Thank you so much for your feedback, and again, my apologies for this tour not living up to your expectations.
    Stunning, Magical, Perfection
    Charles_M, Jan 2023
    G, the driver/guide, was wonderful! The morning couldn’t be better! The most magical sunrise I have experienced! The sound of the locals singing as the sun crested the horizon was straight out of a fairytale!
    A must see while in Maui
    Sherry_H, Dec 2022
    This tour was amazing. The bus picked us up at 3:25 AM and drove us up the volcano. Abe, our driver was awesome! He gave us a lot facts about the volcano, as well as Hawaii. The view were better than we could have imagined. This was a great start to our trip.
    Great trip and great view
    Shixuan_Z, Dec 2022
    The pickup ride was not long (maybe because it was a smaller group) the parka provided by the guide was very helpful at the windy and cold summit and he helped us found the great photo spot. Breakfast was good too.
    Alika is the best
    Alejandro_C, Dec 2022
    It was incredibly beautiful If you can’t get a sunrise reservayion your self this is a must do. Alika was very knowledgeable and told us a lot about the island and the volcano. Breakfast was delicious in a beautiful place
    Trip to Maui needs to be done anything but winter months if you want to spend a lot of money.
    Brian_H, Nov 2022
    It's all about the money. Road to Hana. Very treacherous. Sunrise excursion on the volcano fogged out. Did not see sunrise at all. And no refund. Sunset on the volcano in Maui also was a dud and no refund. Stargazing tour also was a bust but Jan refunded most of our money which was very nice of her.
    Billy was spectacular. Entertaining and informative. Great driver.
    Susan_R, Nov 2022
    The amazing colors of the sunrise, of course. The whole spectrum of the rainbow. Magical. Something I will remember for a long time.
    Abe as a great tour...
    sdelgreco0517, Oct 2022
    Abe as a great tour guide! Beautiful sun rise but very cold. Enjoyed Abe’s humor. Breakfast was great.
    Conditions were perfect...
    Nilo_E, Sep 2022
    Conditions were perfect to view the sunrise. Our driver Billy was very courteous and gave interesting historical info on Haleahkala. Definitely recommend this tour.
    Early morning but absolutely worth it for the views
    Sally_D, Sep 2022
    Early morning but absolutely worth it to get up the crater before the crowds. Billy (and his sidekick in training John) were amazing and made everyone feel welcome. They ensured everyone was safe throughout and gave expert commentary on the nature and history of the crater. Breakfast at Kumu Farms was fantastic, only one recommendation is for the company to include a tip for the servers at the restaurant! Would've been good to have an extra 15 mins there to be able to check out the shop and gardens.
    Great Experience
    Sandra_G, Sep 2022
    Our guide Abe, was very helpful & knowledgeable. He made the tour interesting & fun. The views were spectacular!
    What a great excursion!...
    Gerry_M, Aug 2022
    What a great excursion! Our family loved it! It was cold and them thermal blankets provided were great! Our tour guide Abe was fantastic! Aloha
    Don’t miss it
    Christopher_S, Aug 2022
    Abe was an awesome tour guide. This trip is worth it. Dress warm and bring a good camera. They will also give you a warm poncho to battle the cold.
    Do not go with Valley Isle Excursions, they forget people in the field.
    Ellen_D, Jul 2022
    Our guide Abe almost left the same couple twice at 2 different locations and actually had an elderly couple on the wrong shuttle home. Although he and the shuttle driver had a list as to whom they were supposed to take back to their hotels, neither took attendance to make sure they had the correct number of people. Because of this, our shuttle driver pulled into a parking lot, without any explanation, and had us sit in a hot, smelly shuttle for an hour waiting for Abe to bring the elderly couple to our shuttle. Abe laughed as he pulled up like it was funny that we had to sit there for an hour because of his incompetence! There were approximately 10 people on our shuttle, who had prior engagements that were ruined because of this. This is not how you want to spend your vacation! Valley Isle Excisions lied/made excuses for this incident. I was sitting behind the shuttle driver and heard everything that was said. Valley Isle Excursions was trying to say that they didn't know we were on the shuttle but that is a lie. Our driver made it known he had a full shuttle. Viator was great with other excursions, but have them find another sunrise company to go with so your vacation is not ruined.
    Response from Host, Jul 2022
    Aloha Ellen, We deeply apologize for the miscommunication between our shuttle and tour guide on the return schedule after sunrise. Our office staff as well, did not handle the situation properly. We did not receive any feedback from other passengers that the return time was an issue, however we do understand the idle wait time, and your return time to your hotel was an issue that we take responsibility for, as we offered a partial refund to you for the tour. Aside from this isolated incident, we hope you enjoyed the rest of your tour, and enjoyed a beautiful Haleakala Sunrise.
    Jennifer_V, Jul 2022
    I've done Haleakala twice... once on my own and once with this tour. I highly recommend using a tour. Pick up at the hotel was very convenient and allowed for extra rest on the way up. Even though we dressed in layers with sweat shirts and jackets our guide gave us thermal ponchos which were a life saver on the summit. Sunrise was spectacular! And breakfast at the Plantation was better than expected....delicious and on beautiful grounds.
    Anniversary Delight
    Lucy_G, Jul 2022
    Beautiful memories for our 36th anniversary. Enjoyed the tour and guide and an experience of Haleakala we will never forget.
    Amazing experience!
    Nicole_W, Jun 2022
    Abe was a good tour guide. This is an early morning. The bus ride from Kaanapali is a long one and it would be nice to have more room on the bus. The seats recline and if you are tall, it’s very cramped when seats in front if you are reclined. The breakfast at the end is nice, but people are tired and want to go home. The tour provides ponchos, but mine didn’t zip, so it was a challenge to keep on with the wind. Dress warmly. I brought gloves and head cover, so that helped. The experience is amazing. I’m glad we went.