Shaka Guide Maui "Classic" Road to Hana Audio Driving Tour

Badge of ExcellenceKahului, United States

From $19.99

per group (up to 15)

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 10 to 12 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Discover one of Maui’s most scenic drives with an audio tour linked to the road to Hana. Explore the roadway at your own pace with this audio tour featuring GPS to give you turn-by-turn directions along the Hana Highway. Check out waterfalls, scenic viewpoints, and nature hikes while listening to interesting stories along the way. See top Maui landmarks including Twin Falls.
  • Explore the Hana Highway with an audio tour
  • Utilize GPS and turn-by-turn instructions
  • See landmarks like waterfalls and scenic lookouts
  • Stop for hikes to see Maui’s epic nature

What's Included

  • Interesting stories and history with turn-by-turn audio navigation
  • Offline map of the entire island and the freedom to explore at your own pace
  • Purchase never expires
  • Tour highlights in the app with restaurant and activity recommendations
  • Parking fees
  • Attraction entrance fees
  • Car rental
  • Crowded tour bus

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Kahului
    Kahului, HI, USA

    Departure Point: Start the tour in Kahului (near airport) Dates: See Availability

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Kahului Harbor

15 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Paia Town Public Parking

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
Operated by Shaka Guide Tour Apps

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Traveler Photos

See more
Featured review
Great instructions and wonderful stories about the area and culture. Would definitely use again. Very funny at some points.
88 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 88 reviews
Great option
Lisa_T, Mar 2023
Very informative without being boring. The app knows exactly where you are at all times even skips ahead if you decide not to stop.
Pleasant trip
Sharon_H, Mar 2023
Enjoyed the history along the way. The snippets of Hawaiian music made the stretches between stops very pleasant. The bits of advice were appreciated.
Great purchase
Janice_H, Feb 2023
Great instructions and wonderful stories about the area and culture. Would definitely use again. Very funny at some points.
Enjoyed the self guided...
DebbieMorton, Nov 2022
Enjoyed the self guided tour as it let us skip stops we didn't want, spend time over a leisurely lunch and ample time to explore the stops we chose.
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Mahalo for your awesome review and recommendation. We've recently launched tours on the mainland you may want to check out. Hope to see you and your family again on more Shaka Guide adventures! 🤙😍🤙
Great Road to Hana experience
Janet_A, Nov 2022
The pre-planning tips were spot on. Also, the music was surprisingly pleasant. The app was easy to use, the narrator struck just the right tone. We listened for hours and never tired of the interesting points. It was just a terrific accompaniment for the Hana Road!
Road to Hana did not disappoint 🌴
sharon_d, Nov 2022
We loved all the beautiful scenery and the black beaches. The waterfalls were beautiful and all the plants were so lush and green
Road to Hana
Jonathan_A, Oct 2022
The app took some getting used to especially if you stopped at one of the attractions outlined in the app. Make sure if you plan on going to attractions that they don’t require reservations. A few of the stops we wanted to make required reservations and we were unable to go 😭.
Dolan_K, Oct 2022
Things you will remember, The curves, the one-way bridges, The tight corners. This is the real Hawaii, beautiful landscaping beautiful views, waterfalls. Beautiful beaches just passed Hana, (don’t miss them only a mile or so out of Hana) beautiful people friendly, giving, taking care of the beautiful setting they have. The Classic road to Hana audio driving tour made it so much better, we felt in control all the time. You could tell some people didn’t have a clue what they were doing or what they were looking for. Be sure you’re leaving Hana couple hours before dark so you don’t have to drive the road back down in the dark. Thanks Viator and Aloha
Fred_T, Sep 2022
The whole trip was amazing. The guide on the app was so much fun and informative. Our favorite part of the trip was everything! A Must!
Beauty on the road
Terry_D, Aug 2022
The waterfalls were amazing, as was the botanical garden! So much beauty in one drive was a little overwhelming. Leaving early by 6:00 am was the best part as there were no other people at our stops (or very few). Some stands are not open until after 10, though. Would really have liked more information not the falls we could swim in...and REALLY would have appreciated knowing about the black sands beach needing reservations before the day we left...that is not cool!
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Mahalo for your review! Please recommend Shaka Guide to all of your friends, and don’t hesitate to shoot us a note at if you have any questions or suggestions.🤙😍🤙
Definitely worth it! Happy we did the road to Hana this way instead of a tour bus.
Megan_L, Aug 2022
This was a great way to do the road to Hana. We did it 20 years ago and we missed a lot of these stops. The history portion of the trip was great also. Would definitely recommend this.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Mahalo for your awesome review and recommendation. Hope to see you and your family again on more Shaka Guide adventures! 🤙😍🤙
Highly recommend
Christina_S, Jul 2022
This self-guide was PERFECT. The guide was so helpful and entertaining. We did the Classic Road to Hana and Sunset tour of Haleakala in Maui. Both were AMAZING!!!
Response from Host, Aug 2022
We're very happy to hear we've helped you and your family enjoy your Hawaii vacation. We've recently launched tours on the mainland - you may want to check those out too and let us partner with you again in exploring more amazing places! Mahalo for your 5 star review! 🤙😍🤙
Good alternative to not having alot of money
Dawn_M, Jun 2022
Was able to stop when ever needed. Shop where ever wanted to. Eat when ever and whereever we wanted to. Was disapoinyed that part was closed with no notice.
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Aloha Dawn! We're sorry to hear you were not fully satisfied with your tour. Can you tell us more about that which you mentioned was closed with no notice? Kindly email us at
Fun trip with Shaka Man
Yolanda_J, May 2022
If you plan to do the Road to Hana and drive on your own, the audio driving tour is a must! It like having a personal tour guide in the car with you. We loved the music too. We called our guide “Shaka man”. The roads are small and there are a lot of sharp turns and “one way”- where you have to stop and let the incoming vehicle pass first. So pick a calm and experienced driver. We’ve also learn a lot about the Hawaiian history. Hope you have fun too!
Tim_G, May 2022
The GPS was extremely faulty in and out and locking up a lot. The first part of Hana Hwy wasn’t bad but before long got really narrow and the further down the road it got worse. After Hana it got dangerous and in most places there wasn’t enough room for 2 cars and in several places I was forced to back up on a very windy narrow road. Near the end it was much better
Response from Host, May 2022
We're sorry to hear you seem to have not enjoyed your tour because of certain driving and road conditions. Yes, there are areas on the road to Hana that are a bit challenging for some drivers. We'd greatly appreciate it if you could provide us with specific feedback about the tour and the Shaka Guide app as it would help us as we continue improving. Email us at if you have other questions or concerns.
Just a C plus, not worthy. Not recommended
Daniel_B, Mar 2022
I thought it was helpful but it’s not. The map did not interact with carplay. The guide was for one way thru Hana, but did not guide us on the way back. we planned to visit some spots when we went back but it did not guide us.
Response from Host, Apr 2022
So sorry to hear there's been some confusion about our Shaka Guide tours and app. Shaka Guide does not work with Apple Car Play because Car Play requires a constant active internet connection while our tours are designed to work 100% offline. We made our tours so because there are a lot of areas on the island that has very poor to zero internet service. We have 3 variations of our Road to Hana option, all with different approaches and directions. For what you described, it sounds like the Classic Road to Hana tour would be the perfect choice but it seems you've chosen one of the other options. Kindly email us at if you'd like to discuss this further or to get a refund. Mahalo!
Great tour!
Regina_W, Mar 2022
Saw lots of whales. Having naturalist on board was a plus. I highly recommend this activity. We thoroughly enjoyed the whole tour.
Enjoying the road to Hana
James_W, Oct 2021
Enjoying the road to Hana. It was very exciting and informative. We loved it and so will you. Lot’s for twists and turns but worth every moment.
Response from Host, Oct 2021
Mahalo for your review! Please recommend Shaka Guide to all of your friends, and don’t hesitate to shoot us a note at if you have any questions or suggestions.
Well worth the $14,99
TARLICE_J, Sep 2021
Downloading the app took a little assistance but the app works great and so detailed along the trip. Please allow yourself enough time and start an hour prior to leaving to connect to the app.
Response from Host, Oct 2021
Mahalo for your review! Don't forget to tell all your friends about it and follow us on social media @shakaguide to share your Shaka Guide experience 🤙😍🤙
Frank_H, Aug 2021
Paid for and got ticket and app. Wouldn’t work because of email password problem. 2 hours later told to start over with a new account. Very poor. If I had my ticket and the app that is all I should need to launch my trip. Wen’t without you.
Response from Host, Sep 2021
Hi Frank! Shaka Guide tours purchased through Viator are assigned a personal download link that you MUST use to correctly download our Shaka Guide app and redeem your tours. As we have discussed previously, first time users of the app are REQUIRED to create an account to log in to the app and use the tours. We talked about how to create an account : by signing up with your email or signing up with Apple or Google. Purchasing from a 3rd party vendor does NOT automatically get you access to the app and tours. You MUST follow the instructions on your booking confirmation to correctly get the app and tours. We're sorry to hear you were not able to enjoy your Shaka Guide tour. Kindly email us at