Molokini and Turtle Arches Snorkeling Trip from Ma'alaea Harbor

Badge of ExcellenceWailuku, United States
Likely to Sell Out

From $199.95

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 5 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Get off the beaten path to explore the wild side of Molokini on this half-day adventure from Maui. The small, crescent-shaped island of Molokini is an extinct volcanic crater with a thriving coral reef, home to more than 250 species of fish and 38 species of coral. Hop aboard a 54-foot, single-deck catamaran and jump in the water for a snorkel at the Turtle Arches reef. Then, cruise around Molokini's rugged, red rock back wall, home to a variety of seabirds. Snorkeling equipment plus a continental breakfast, buffet lunch, and refreshments are included.
  • Enjoy a snorkeling adventure from Maui
  • See more than 250 species of fish
  • Get up close with wildlife in their natural environment
  • Snorkeling equipment included
  • Continental breakfast and buffet lunch provided

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

This trip takes you to quiet Molokini on a catamaran with a waterslide. 

What's Included

  • Professionally-fitted snorkel gear, including optical masks for eyeglass wearers, flotation device, learn-to-snorkel class, fish ID class, guided reef tour
  • Continental breakfast: banana bread, assorted pastries and fresh island fruit.
  • BBQ Lunch: teriyaki marinated chicken breasts, hot dogs, garden burgers, potato salad, corn and bean salad, and chocolate chip cookies for dessert.
  • Refreshments: sodas, tropical juices and filtered water.
  • One free child age 4 and under per paying adult. Children ages 5-12 charged child rate.
  • Gratuities
  • Souvenir photos (available to purchase)
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off are not available.

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • 192 Maalaea Rd
    192 Maalaea Rd, Wailuku, HI 96793, USA

    PWF retail store in Ma'alaea Harbor Shops next to Maui Ocean Center Aquarium shared parking Check-in 45 minutes prior to departure time

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • For each paying adult, 1 child ages 4 and under goes free. All children must be on the order/voucher as they account for a seat.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • To protect the reef environment and in support of the statewide ban on sunscreens, we will no longer allow the use of any non-reef safe sunscreen on board any snorkel eco tours. 4oz Reef safe sunscreen will be available on board for $13
  • Most travelers can participate
  • You will need to bring your own towels and credit cards for any onboard purchases as the vessels are cashless except for gratuities
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 70 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more

Traveler Tips

Weather plays a huuge factor here, proceed only if you’re okay not seeing what you want.
Go on the early trip to beat the other boats.
The water is very clear and there are fish to see, however unless you swim close to the rocks, this is very difficult in the rough conditions, you don't see as much.
662 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 662 reviews
It was ok
Joel_H, Mar 2023
It was ok, food wasn’t much. Equipment ok. We were only able to go to Molokini due to the weather. It was good snorkeling, but not a lot of fish to see. The staff was pleasant and helpful. I don’t know, maybe Hawaii isn’ta great place to snorkel to begin with.
Amazing experience snorkelling
Shirley_M, Jan 2023
This was by far one of the best excursions we did in Hawaii. The snorkelling was amazing and the boat ride was a lot of fun. The food was very good for lunch and we all had seconds! The staff is very knowledgeable and friendly and made sure we felt safe and had fun. This crater snorkelling is not to be missed!
They don’t take...
Chiedza_N, Nov 2022
They don’t take underwater pictures whereas other companies do so wish this was made clear at booking. We were not able to go to Molokini because of the weather but the area they had is snorkel had very little fish unlike previous trips so that was disappointing. The crew was pleasant and professional.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Thank you for coming out with us and taking the time to provide your feedback about your disappointing experience. Although we do not offer underwater pictures or market such options, we have built our reputation over the last 45 years by providing outstanding eco-tour experiences and service. Obviously Mother Nature can make that difficult at times and it sounds as if the conditions at Molokini may have been unsafe for guests. We're sorry to hear that the marine life at the other location was lacking. We always want our guests to have an enjoyable experience and try to make it right when that doesn't happen. I welcome you to contact me directly at to discuss a partial refund if you were not offered one. Mahalo for your time and Happy Holidays to you.
The whole package
esther_b, Nov 2022
This is the third time I travel with the Pacific Whale Foundation. The crew is always excellent, the knowledge shared very pertinent and enhances greatly the whole trip. Beyond the fact that this trip is supporting a great cause, I have been able to compare and recommend this company!
Fun Day!
Michael_H, Nov 2022
The boat ride was amazing. We saw spinner dolphins from the boat, but turtles were scarce even though the crew tried a couple spots. The Captain took us to Molokini Crater second which allowed our boat to have the place almost to ourselves. The food was ok. It satisfied our hunger after a couple hours in the water. Was happy to support the Pacific Whale Foundation with part of our tour fee. The crew was attentive and knowledgeable.
Mariela_T, Oct 2022
Super fun trip , the staff was super friendly and helpful. I don’t know how to swim but the flotation devices they have helped a lot. I enjoyed my time and seen ALOT of fishies
Kimberly_F, Oct 2022
Captain Chris and team were great! We had one of the best snorkeling experiences we’ve ever had. The locations were beautiful and had amazing fish and turtles. We learned so much too about preserving the oceans and the life in them. We were very inspired!
Felt like I got cheated
NileNopaklao_G, Sep 2022
Food and drinks were not great. Spots for snorkeling were not beautiful. I could have done those in front of my hotel.
Response from Host, Sep 2022
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback about your disappointing experience with us on your snorkel experience. I'm sorry to hear that the snorkeling spots her in Maui didn't meet your expectations, nor did the food. Although these are the normal snorkel spots that every operator visits on the island, and we can only go to where there are boat moorings in Maui, it may not have lived up to what you've experienced elsewhere. But we always want all of our customers to enjoy their experience with us and make it right when expectations aren't met. Please feel free to reach out to me directly at so that we we may discuss a refund. Mahalo for your time and sorry to hear we missed the mark.
Great for all ages- great staff
Ben_D, Sep 2022
Great with kids. Staff was very attentive and kind. Would definitely recommend. 2 snorkeling spots and a slide, jump platform and water mat. Lots of fun things. Great good and drink. I definitely recommend renting the $10 wetsuits!
Friendly staff. Awesome experience.
Philip_P, Aug 2022
Friendly staff. Awesome experience. Would definitely go again when I'm in Maui for other experiences such as whale watching and snorkeling elsewhere too.
Honeymoon spectacular
Jason_G, Aug 2022
Great way to spend a honeymoon , the staff is helpful for beginners and first timers like we were. So many awesome things to see.
10/10 would definitely do again
Katie_J, Aug 2022
Captain and his crew did a great job. When we first started out the water was too choppy and winds to high to stay at molokini, so we went to the turtle arches and we actually saw a turtle! Captain Chris even took us back to Molokini after to see how the wind was and it was perfect. Saw so many cool fish. Food was good not great, but when you’re feeding almost 100 people it’s not going to be 5 star restaurant quality and that’s just fine by me. All in all, great experience, great time. 10/10 would definitely do again.
Great trip
Becky_C, Aug 2022
Our family had a great time on this trip. Friendly and knowledgeable guides, enjoyable lunch after the snorkeling was done, incredible blue water. All our photos looked like we used filters! We would choose this operator again.
Good experience
Lori_M, Aug 2022
Our trip was interrupted by the needed care of an ill passenger on the excursion which required a trip back to dock so unfortunately there was an hour between snorkeling locations and the second location was lacking fish and turtles (not sure if it was because of the delay or not but it is generally better to snorkel earlier in the morning and we didn’t get there until noon). First snorkeling area was pretty crowded and they definitely try to keep you close to the boat. Food was just okay; especially considering we have had very good food on other boat excursions in Hawaii. The organization is a conservation non profit so there was a tiny bit of “join us” conversation, but not too bad. Overall experience was very good. Also, parking is pay by hour…with our delay we were concerned we might have been ticketed, but we’re not.
BeAutiful experience
Lisa_P, Aug 2022
We had a wonderful time! Staff very friendly and knowledgeable! Beautiful experience! Breakfast and lunch were also delicious!
The first place we were...
James_W, Aug 2022
The first place we were going to snorkel at had too strong of a current and so we went to plan B which was ok. We did get to see one turtle there. The snorkeling at Molokini was amazing, however. I’d definitely recommend this to others.
Experience was well...
Amy_M, Aug 2022
Experience was well thought out. Attention to detail from staff excellent. Top of my list on excursions
Turtle Town is AWESOME
Thomas_C, Aug 2022
We were most wanting to snorkel the crater but Turtle Town was even better! Saw a green sea turtle, white tip reef shark and various other fishes.
Wonderful tour!!
Jin_K, Aug 2022
Everything was so wonderful. The crew were so kind and our family really enjoyed the food and service. Thank you!!
Great Experience
Raghu_V, Jul 2022
The crew on the boat was excellent and took great care of us. They were also watched out for everyone to make sure that they had a safe and fun time. Great job!