Four Winds II Molokini Snorkeling Tour from Maalaea Harbor

Badge of ExcellenceWailuku, United States

From $178.47

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 5 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Snorkeling in Molokini Crater is undeniably one of the best parts about visiting Maui. Here in this crescent, submerged volcano off Maui’s southern coastline, over 250 species of fish inhabit a world-class reef. Experience water so exceptionally clear you can see down 75 feet, and swim with schools of tropical fish while cruising the vibrant reef. You can also just sit and suntan on the deck, with sweeping views of Haleakala set just off the back of the boat.
  • View the underwater sights from the glass bottom viewing room
  • Four Winds Catamaran Features: • 2 Restrooms • Glass Bottom Viewing Room • 2 Spacious Decks • Plenty of Shade • 3 Boarding Ladders • Fresh Water Showers • Waterslide • Sport Fishing Equipment (Seasonal)
  • What to Expect • Abundant of Marine Life • Turtle Watching • Whale Watching (Seasonal) • Stunning views of Maui’s Coastline • Fun Music • Tattoos for Kids

What's Included

  • Tropical Breakfast
  • Grilled BBQ Lunch
  • Beverages: Water, Soda, Beer, Wine and Juice
  • Snorkeling Gear and Flotation
  • Sea Boards (large flotations with clear bottoms) & Boogie Boards
  • Optical Masks
  • Instructional Guide
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Gratuities
  • Towels
  • Wetsuit rental - $10

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • 101 Maalaea Rd
    101 Maalaea Rd, Wailuku, HI 96793, USA

    Maalaea Harbor, Slip #80 (on the "Ocean Side" or the Jetty) *Harbor offers metered parking and is only payable by credit card. Please scan QR code at the harbor to pay.

Start time

07:00 AM

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

From Maalaea Harbor, board a 55-foot, glass bottom catamaran for a Molokini snorkeling tour, where you’ll enjoy a breakfast of bagels and fruit served with juice and Kona coffee. On the hour long cruise to Molokini Crater, take in the views of Haleakala volcano, and try to identify the four other islands that are scattered across the horizon. You’ll also hear commentary from an onboard naturalist who serves as your guide.

Upon arrival at Molokini Crater, splash into the waters teeming with thousands of fish, and cruise over one of Hawaii’s healthiest coral reefs. With its deep sand channels, shallows sections of reef, and wealth of colorful marine life, Molokini Crater is an exceptional outing for experts and first-timers alike. You can also take a turn on the waterslide.

If you'd like to see the marine life without getting wet, peer through glass on the bottom of the boat, where children and families can watch schools of fish.

Once you've finished snorkeling in Molokini Crater, enjoy a freshly cooked BBQ lunch of chicken breasts, pulled pork, or hot dogs, with a garden burger option for vegetarians. Lunch is accompanied by chips and dessert, and an open bar of beer and wine is served on the cruise back home.

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • Sailing subject to favorable weather conditions.
  • Snorkeling at Molokini crater is "weather permitting". We can never guarantee a snorkel location. Safety is our top priority.
  • All Passengers Must Sign Waiver Prior to Tour.
  • Please bring reef-safe sunscreen, a hat, a change of clothing, swimsuit and sandals
  • For an additional fee, you can select the following:
  • SNUBA guided experience is available for purchase onboard (limited availability) - $69+tax
  • Photography & Video - Prices Vary
  • Underwater digital camera (pictures are downloaded onto a USB drive) - Prices Vary
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Wetsuit rental - $10
  • Maalaea Harbor offers metered parking. Guest must scan QR code at the harbor and pay by credit card.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 100 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more

Traveler Tips

This is a very minor thing so don't let it prevent you from going.
It is not intense at all, so for more experienced snorkelers or those looking for something a little more advanced, then this may not be the best fit.
582 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 582 reviews
Do This Snorkeling Tour
Amanda_C, Mar 2023
Wonderful excursion. 100% recommend! Boat, crew, food, drinks, snorkeling, etc was perfect and my family had an excellent time!
This is the ONE tour you MUST BOOK!
DAVID_G, Mar 2023
5 star experience! Crew, Food, fish and the entire experience was perfect. Thank you for a great memory!
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Thank YOU for joining us! We hope to see you again soon. Aloha, Nikki
The crew was very...
Kenneth_N, Mar 2023
The crew was very personable and attentive. They gave us plenty of time in the water and took their time on the way back so we could get some great looks at the humpback whales.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Whale Season really is the best! Happy to hear you enjoyed our crew and your snorkel experience! Aloha, Nikki
The crew doted on all the...
Thomas_B, Mar 2023
The crew doted on all the adventurers. Wet suits were available, I don't see that with other charters.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Mahalo for your review!
Sail great, snorkel ok
Melanie_S, Mar 2023
We wanted a day on the water but not on a.cattle boat. Weather was great, clear and very sunny, only light winds, so Mother Nature did her part. The sail to Molokini was fine and we did spot several groups of whales while underway. Equipment was passed out so you could fit test masks, and condition of fins mask and snorkel fjne. But the condition of the reef is very poor, the preva lance of fish quite !ow and pretty homogenous. The number of boats going to the spot at the same time means it was quite crowded and lots of parents hau!ing kids on rafts created lots of traffic jams. Food was just ok. Sail back was lovely and whales put on a show. If you really want to see a !ovely reef and !ots of sea life, skip Molokini. Service on boat was friendly, so no comp!aints there. Leaving from Ma alaea Harbor great for Kihei located condos\hotels.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Aloha, Thank you for choosing the Four Winds II. I'm happy to hear you were able to see lots of whales! We're happy to hear you enjoyed our friendly crew! Mahalo, Nikki
Great crew fun time!
Michelle_S, Feb 2023
We saw a lot of whales on our way back in which was so cool! The bathroom situation wasn't the best because you had to throw the toilet paper in the garbage can not the toilet
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Mahalo for mentioning our great crew! Industry standard on every boat has a "no paper" requirement, or the marine heads will not work properly. We hope to see you again! Aloha, Nikki
This is the snorkel tour to book!
Mark_W, Feb 2023
Awesome experience! I researched 9 different snorkel options and I did not regret choosing this one. Good food, good staff, good snorkeling! We even made some stops to see some whales (in February). It can be a matter of luck when it comes to seeing whales but this snorkel tour had a better whale watching experience than a designated whale watching tour I went on a few days later. My wife and I agreed that this snorkeling tour was better than Thailand (Koh Samui) and Mexico (Tulum).
Response from Host, Feb 2023
We are grateful you chose us to snorkel with! Thank you for the review and we are thrilled to hear you had such a great time. Mahalo! Nikki
Fun exciting trip
Debbie_T, Feb 2023
The snorkeling was fun. Crew was great. Food was excellent Wonderful experience saw so many whales it was amazing
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Nothing better than whale watching! So happy you were able to experience Whale Season on Maui. Aloha, Nikki
Boat broke down and we received a full refund with no hassle. Very friendly and easy company to work with!
Joel_C, Feb 2023
We were going to Molokini crater for a snorkeling, excursion, and halfway there after stopping several times to check out the whales and dolphins. One of the motors on the boat broke down so we had to turn around and come back to shore. On our way back the captain explained to all of us that we would get a full refund and they would continue to cook lunch and breakfast for us even though we weren’t going to be out there for lunchtime, when we got back, the captain made sure that we all were fed and gave us the number to call to get our refunds. They were very easy to work with and gave us a full refund and tried to schedule us on another boat for another day as they did not know how long they’re boat the four winds II would be down. We would definitely recommend the Four Winds II to everyone.
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Mahalo for the review and for your understanding! We greatly appreciate the positive feedback and appreciate your review and the recommendation! Aloha, Nikki
Worthwhile excursion
Elizabeth_M, Feb 2023
Saw 'tons' of whales and some dolphins. Food was good and crew entertaining and helpful. Would suggest a red wine choice.
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Mahalo for your review! Thank you for the suggestion.The reason we provide beer, white wine, and seltzers is because red wine does not do well on a boat, especially if it gets bumpy (stains and spills). We hope to have you on board again! Aloha, Nikki
Awesome Snorkling Experience!
Lydia_D, Dec 2022
A beautiful morning on the ocean turned into an amazing day-sail to Molokini with my friend. Our crew was very attentive, almost doting on everything anyone wanted. They were polite, very informative and they anticipated every need. I felt very safe in the water, but not overly watched. The music was awesome and the breakfast and lunch was yummy with beautiful presentations. On the return trip, our captain went out of his way to locate some whales so we could see them. What an extra treat!! I would highly recommend this trip to anyone I know. I plan to come back with my husband next time.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Mahalo for joining us on the Four Winds! It sounds like you had a great time and we appreciate your review. We can't wait to see you again! Aloha, Nikki
Great Adventure on The Four Winds ll
Brent_B, Nov 2022
We booked this snorkeling adventure at the last minute on a recommendation from som friends and are glad we did. The staff made sure we had the correct snorkeling gear and Sara did a great job making sure everyone who had not snorkeled before or were anxious about doing so understood how everything worked and what to expect so everyone was comfortable going in the water. All the staff was great and very friendly and made sure we were well taken care of. There was plenty of food and drink and the Captain took time for us to see a pod of Spinner Dolphins on the way out to the crater and the first Humpback mother and calf of the season on the way back. He did a great job explaining what we were seeing and included a lot of interesting facts. He was also very funny at times as were other members of the crew which added to the fun. The entire experience was fantastic and we plan on recommending this trip to all of our friends and family traveling to Maui.
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Mahalo for letting us know about your experience with us! We appreciate the recommendations and we hope to get the chance to have you and your family back on board with us! Aloha, Nikki
Absolutely great!
Barbara_L, Oct 2022
What a great experience! Crew was so helpful getting our 84 year-old mother on and off the boat. They went above and beyond making sure we had everything thing we needed. Highly HIGHLY recommend
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Thank you for letting us know about your snorkel tour with us! We appreciate the 5-stars and we hope to see you again!
Awesome snorkel trip!
Cari_C, Oct 2022
Crew was friendly and helpful. They stayed out longer than all other boats. Plenty of time to explore the under water world of the crater. Breakfast and lunch was fair. Note come early for parking. They fill up fast. Worst case you may have to park over by the aquarium public lot and hike around to slip 80. Allow your self some time for that. Over all we'll worth it!
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Thank you for joining us and for the 5-star review!
Great tour. Crew was very...
Dan_F, Oct 2022
Great tour. Crew was very friendly and helpful with any questions. Equipment was good quality. Good amount of fish to see, water was clear and warm. The lunch and breakfast were both good.
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Thank you for your review!
Four Winds Snorkeling - Molokini
Nancy_W, Oct 2022
Captain and crew were great! Everyone was very friendly and helpful, providing tips and hints for snorkeling at Molokini. Even the barbecue lunch was above expectations!
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Mahalo for your review, Nancy_W. Please share with us how we could have made this a 5-star experience for you! Aloha!
Awesome Crew and Best Snorkeling Ever
Kristi_S, Sep 2022
The crew was awesome and very professional. They give great instructions. The food was great! Best burgers. Now, for the snorkeling, totally awesome. It was wonderful. The time in the water was just right. Seeing a sea turtle come up to the surface was the highlight.
Response from Host, Sep 2022
Thank you for your review! We are thrilled to hear you had a great time on board the Four Winds II. We hope that we get the chance to see you for a second time if ever you come back to Maui! Aloha, Nikki
Great snorkeling expirience
Andrea_S, Aug 2022
I'm glad that we choose to take the early trip since the wind picks up in the afternoon. Fortunately, we were able to snorkel at Molikini Island. That spot is spectacular and you can see so many different fish.
Response from Host, Sep 2022
Thank you for joining us on our morning Molokini snorkel tour!
Good trip
Chris_Y, Aug 2022
Great trip with excellent staff on board. Only bad part was we wish that we had clear map of where the boat was and where customers should park.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Thank you for choosing the Four Winds! Maalaea harbor can be sorta tricky... We provide the step by step directions in our confirmation emails and the Google link in our reminder text. I appreciate your suggestion and will look in to this. Aloha, Nikki
Amazing time!
Bridget_R, Aug 2022
Such an amazing time. We weren’t able to go to our original spot due to it being so windy, but they had a plan B. So glad they put our safety first and plan B was lots of fun! Crew were so nice and helpful! Glass bottom boat was a plus for those who don’t want to go in the water. Definitely recommend this tour!
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Thank you for your review! We appreciate your understanding and happy you enjoyed your tour with us. We hope to see you again! Aloha, Nikki