Famous Road to Hana Mercedes van with Waterfalls, Black Sand Beach & Lunch

Badge of ExcellenceKahului, United States
Likely to Sell Out

From $219.99

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 10 hours (approx.)
  • Hotel pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Discover the best of Maui on a Road to Hana road trip alongside a small group. Climb aboard your Mercedes van and stop at several points of interest including black sand beaches, refreshing waterfalls, and old lava flows. Your tour is also inclusive of a delicious homemade breakfast as well as a catered lunch in the beautiful Wainapanapa State Park.
  • Travel along one of the most famous roads in the US
  • A small group means more attention from your guide
  • Hassle-free transfers from several Maui locations
  • Let someone else navigate the winding road

What's Included

  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Live commentary on board
  • Pick-up/drop-off at majority of resorts in Lahaina or pick-up at the Kahului or Kihei Park’n ride
  • Lunch
  • Driver's Gratuity (15-20% of Ticket price recommended)
  • No pickups in Napili, Kapalua, Honokowai, Kahana. You must meet us at Cannery mall.
  • No special diet available (raw, vegan, food allergies). You must bring your own food.
  • No pickups in Kihei, Wailea. You must meet us at the Maalaea Park and ride

Meeting And Pickup

You can head directly to your preferred meeting point, or request pickup.

Meeting points

Select a meeting point
Type to search

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

Start time

Confirm time with the local provider in advance of your experience.

Opening hours

  • 6/13/2019 - 4/14/2024

    Monday - Sunday : 05:45 AM - 06:30 AM

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Bring swimsuit & towel for swimming at Hana natural waterfall pools or Black Sand Beach (optional & weather permitting)
  • We DON'T offer any food alternatives. If you are on a special diet (raw, vegan, or have food allergies), you must bring your own food.
  • Preorder your sandwich - ham or turkey or veggie
  • In the event the back side of the road is closed, we reserve the right to return the same way back.
  • This tour is not confirmed until the operator calls you to confirm it and setup a pickup.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more
118 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 118 reviews
Waterfalls and the black...
Sharon_W, Mar 2023
Waterfalls and the black sand beach! The beautiful breathtaking views! Quinn was our driver and so much history and information was great! His knowledge of Maui was incredible!
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Aloha Sharon, we are so thrilled to hear that you had such a smooth experience with us and one of our brilliant drivers! It was an absolute pleasure to assist you and we thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
Worth it!
Patrick_L, Mar 2023
Amazing day with good views and cool spots. Happy Quinn was our driver, mainly because he was awesome but also because we didn’t want to attempt that drive on our own. Quinn was so knowledgeable and was able to answer all of our questions. Definitely worth it!
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Aloha Patrick, we are so grateful for your 5-star review. Big mahalo for sharing your rating with us and the travelers. A hui hou
Hana the easy way!!
stynes10, Feb 2023
What a great day! Eric was an amazing knowledgeable guide and shared his love of Maui and Hawaii with us! The trip was so much easier in the comfort of the Mercedes Sprinter van. Highly recommended🌴🌞
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Aloha, mahalo nui loa for this review. We really appreciate you riding with us. Have a safe trip back and visit again!
An unforgettable experience
Brandy_S, Feb 2023
Tom was a fantastic tour guide and very knowledgeable. Talked alot about the culture and history of the area. Took lots of pictures. Showed us the perfect views of waterfalls and some of the celebrity sightings and property they own. A must do on everyone's list!!!!!
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Aloha Brandy, seeing that you had a 5-Star experience is the best thing we could hope for! Your review means a lot to us. Thank you for choosing Stardust Hawaii. We look forward to having you ride with us again! A hui hou.
Great trip and excellent guide
Goeran_R, Feb 2023
The guide ( Dan ) was very good, extremly knowledgeble in all areas, not only regarding the tour as such. Very beautiful sceneries as well as scary cliffs and roads.
Response from Host, Feb 2023
We really appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review, Goeran. These are the stories that keep us so motivated to continue doing what we’re doing, and we’re so happy to hear that you had a great experience. Let us know if we can do anything else for you. Aloha
Definitely worth it!
Vinay_V, Dec 2022
It was an awesome experience. Our guide was very knowledgeable - made sure we were safe and comfortable and also very entertaining!
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Aloha Vinay, mahalo nui for your review! We love to hear back from your. Have a nice vacation and Happy New Year!
A Must See
Jody_K, Oct 2022
Our driver, Richard, was on-time at our pickup area. He was friendly congenial, informative and funny. The Black Sand Beach, where we had lunch at the park, is incredibly beautiful. Remember your Beach shoes as the Sand is coarse. So worth it...we were going to drive but would have missed alot.
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Aloha Jody, mahalo nui for taking the time to leave an excellent rating. We really appreciate your business. We will let Richard know, he will be thrilled. Please let us know what we can do for you in the future. A hui hou
Daniel_M, Oct 2022
Richard was very knowledgeable and shared many stories along the way, including a few local stops. One of our favorite stops was Black Sands Beach.
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Aloha Daniel, mahalo for your review. We are happy we could make your trip memorable and we thank you for choosing our company. A hui hou
Buyer beware. This...
Christopher_G, Sep 2022
Buyer beware. This company charged $259.99 per person, Mercedes Van, Breakfast & Lunch. What showed up was another company (Hana and Beyond, who charge $210 per person), in a Ford, no breakfast and a sandwich for lunch.. Hana and Beyond is an excellent, Hawaiian-family run, quality tour...highly reccomend them. However, Famous Road to Hanna Mercedes Van with Warerfalls, Black Sand Beach & Lunch is a scam, and they owe me $100.00
Response from Host, Sep 2022
Aloha Christopher, Mahalo you for your review. I'm sorry to hear you had a frustrating experience, but I really appreciate you bringing this issue to my attention. As you know, our driver called in sick the day before the tour. We had two options, either cancel the tour or try to accommodate you with another company on the exactly same tour. We gave you the opportunity to cancel for a full refund but you insisted to go. We informed you about the different transportation they use. You were fine with it. The other company provided the same services as we do with the same stops and the same lunch options. The only difference was the type of transportation. They use Ford transit 14 seater versus our Mercedes sprinter 14 seater. You and I had this conversation prior your tour. You were fine with everything and wanted to go. So truly I don't understand what you are trying to achieve here with your negative comments. You’re welcome to contact our office directly to discuss your concerns. Thank you again and have a wonderful day. Aloha
Quin, our driver, did an...
Danny_B, Sep 2022
Quin, our driver, did an amazing job of driving, narrating and hosting our tour! We will refer our friends to VIATOR excursions.
Response from Host, Sep 2022
Aloha Danny, mahalo for your review! I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed our tour. t’s always great when we can help guests make the most of their time with us. I’ll let Quinn know that you appreciated his knowledge and he will be thrilled. A hui hou
Worth it!
Leah_G, Sep 2022
So much fun and great tour guide! Definitely glad we booked this instead of driving it ourselves. We learned a lot about the island also from the tour guide.
Response from Host, Sep 2022
Aloha Leah, mahalo for joining us and for your feedback. A hui hou
Great overview of the Road to Hana. Use it as a springboard for ideas of places to go back and explore
Sheryl_P, Aug 2022
I really enjoyed the scenery. Although a lot of time was spent driving to the spots where we stopped, there was so much beauty along the way. It was a good overview of places I’d like to go back and spend more time exploring. Eric was a skilled driver, navigating the very narrow, and sometimes unpaved, roads. He was also full of interesting information and stories about Hawaiian and Maui history.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Aloha Sheryl and mahalo for your input. We love to hear back from our travelers. A hui hou.
Bucket List Trip and Tour
yali, Aug 2022
The astonishing waterfalls and all the unique plants, trees, flowers and animals made this experience jaw dropping. Our guide (Rick) was so accommodating,.knowledgeable and friendly. This was a terrific experience and way to see Hana and the surrounding areas. 100% recommend!
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Aloha Yali, it's great to hear that. Mahalo for your feedback. A hui hou
The guide of your, Quinn,...
Mukuy_S, Jul 2022
The guide of your, Quinn, was excellent during whole trip. He explained everything very good, and was very knowledgeable about Hawaiin history
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Aloha Mukuy and mahalo for your feedback. Hope you can visit again. Aloooha
Great experience!
Daniel_B, Jun 2022
Great experience! I'm so happy we decided to go with a guided tour and driver. The roads get pretty rough at times.
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Aloha Daniel and mahalo for your feedback. A hui hou
Not a Luxury tour
Deanise_P, Jun 2022
Tour is advertised as a "luxury Mercedes" tour. What this actually means is a Mercedes van that seats 15 people. Front seat is driver and one other person. Behind driver is 3 rows of three seats and then a back seat with 4 seats. The back row is only a few inches wider than the other three rows so the four in the back are literally packed in! Combine that with the company allowing an infant on a 10 hour tour. So... you are packed in a van with 15 people on a bench seat that is really too small for 4 people and a baby is crying a good portion of the day. Van should not have more than 10 people tops for comfort and no children under five. Stops were beautiful and our guide was wonderful. But way too much money to be crammed in an overcrowded van with a crying child for 10 hours. The word "luxury" is completely inaccurate.
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Aloha and mahalo for your input. We are sorry to hear that you didn't feel it was a luxury van. Comparing to other vans other companies use, like Ford or Chevy, our vans are luxury. Longer version with a high roof allows to travelers stand up and stretch out with extra legroom. Road to Hana is a long day but you are not always sitting in the van. There are swimming stops, where you walk around and explore. A crying baby? Well, that happens. Just like on an airplane. We definitely have no interest in limiting our guests from bringing their children. That's not what we do. It is an adventure meant for all age groups, singles, couples, families and seniors.
Disappointing day
Kristen_C, May 2022
We were very disappointed with this tour. It is not a luxury Mercedes. There were 14 of us packed in on bench seats that looked just like the other Ford vans touring. Amenities were not as described such as soda. The lunch was bare minimum. There was very little commentary and only a few stops. I saw more when I drove it myself. We were back within 8 hours total. We were not shown around at the park like we observed other guides doing. Our tour guide was nice but new so not sure if that contributed. It was definitely the company misleading to make it out to be one of the more luxury experiences. We saw others that had what we expected. Would not recommend.
Response from Host, May 2022
Aloha and mahalo for your feedback. I am sorry to hear we didn't meet your expectations. We don't advertise soda, we serve much better drinks - Hawaiian juice from tropical fruits like passion fruit, lilikoi, pineapple, etc. Mercedes Sprinters are definitely different from a Ford, they are roomier, taller, longer. I suggest you spend a whole day in a Ford and then let us know how was it? (You cannot even stand up in it). You made the lunch choice ahead of time, so not sure where the problem was. Thanks for joining us and have a great day!
Incredible Experience with Breathtaking Scenery
Leatha_F, Apr 2022
This was an incredible tour: beautiful waterfalls, lush vegetation with colorful flowers to name just a couple of highlights! Our guide/driver, Eric, was very knowledgeable about the history of Hawaii and made the tour very interesting. We were so glad we didn’t try to drive this ourselves. It was very relaxing to ride in the comfortable van and let Eric do the driving. We made many stops at beautiful places that we would not have found on our own.
Response from Host, May 2022
Aloha Leatha, mahalo nui for your feedback. It was a pleasure to have you. Save travels and A hui hou....
Beautiful trip!
Christine_T, Apr 2022
We were so glad we did this tour for the road to Hana! It was a long day and we’re glad we didn’t try to do it ourselves. Our guide Eric was amazing! He was fun, knowledgeable, took pictures and videos for us and was an expert in maneuvering the roads! Definitely recommend this tour!
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Aloha Christine, how wonderful to hear that you had a great time. We are happy you could join us on this awesome Hana adventure. Hope you can visit again.
Breathtaking scenery!
STACEY_W, Apr 2022
Great tour! Quinn provided great information about the island and history and was an excellent driver on the crazy narrow roads! Scenery was breathtaking and it was a definite must do in Maui.
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Aloha Stacey, we are happy to hear that you had a great time. Mahalo for your sharing with other travelers :-)