Mexico City

Small Group: Discover Xochimilco, Coyoacán, Frida Kahlo Museum and House

Ciudad de México, Mexico
Xochimilco Coyoacan and Frida Khalo Museum

From $112.95

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 9 hours
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Visit three of Mexico City's most interesting attractions with this three-in-one tour of the city. You'll spend time in the Xochimilco area, where you'll take a ride on a traditional trajinera boat before continuing to the artsy Coyoacan neighborhood. Here you'll visit the Blue House, the former residence of Frida Kahlo that now houses a museum dedicated to her life and works.
  • Round-trip transfers from a convenient meeting point are included
  • Ride in a traditional trajinera boat
  • A professional guide will lead the way
  • Group sizes capped at nine participants for an intimate experience

What's Included

  • Pickup and drop-off from/to the nearest safe, convinient and central located meeting point
  • Ride in a colorful 'trajinera'
  • Professional guide
  • Food
  • Beverages
  • Gratuities

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting points

Select a meeting point
Type to search

Start time

08:30 AM

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

UNAM Biblioteca central

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Floating Gardens of Xochimilco

1 hour Admission Ticket Included


1 hour 15 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Museo Frida Kahlo

1 hour Admission Ticket Included

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Infant seats available
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more

Traveler Tips

There were incredible lines to buy tickets to enter the museum, but since tickets were included in this tour we went to the head of the line.
Xochimilco was a 1 hour or so ride and had overpriced, just ok food and drinks (micheladas cost 100 pesos and food 200 pesos).


58 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 58 reviews
Xochimilcho was great...
james_d, Apr 2023
Xochimilcho was great fun. Excellent guide. There was too much wait time between events, possibly holiday related.
Response from Host, Apr 2023
Dear Customer. I am glad to hear you enjoy the tour. Unfortunatelly, as you said, holiday season is high and that makes some waiting between the events, as you wrote. Nevertheless, we hope you had experience part of the Mexican culture and you come home with a piece of Mexico in your heart. We wish you a safe trip home and we hope to see you back soon. Warm Regards, Kim Alva Managing Director Interliv Travel Mexico
Do Not Book This Tour
ElizabethA, Nov 2022
I would not recommend this tour. First of all trip advisor booked this tour for seven of us knowing that the Frida Kahlo Museum and House was sold out. So now I’m waiting for a refund of part of this tour. Our tour guide was nice but his English was not the best and it was hard to understand him at times. All we did was walk through a market real fast and walked in Coyoacan real fast. Most of our time was spent driving in a bus. The highlight was Xochimilco however we could have done this by ourselves without spending money for a tour. I would highly recommend doing any tours in Mexico as a private tour. We took a private tour the day before this one and it was excellent. Spend a little more and go private. It will be just your group with a tour guide and driver. Also this tour was done in both English and Spanish. Our private tour was done only in English
Wasted Day
Maggie_M, Jul 2022
Very disorganized tour. NO COMMUNICATION. They took us to spots that were not mentioned on what was purchased. Wasted so much time. So frustrated that the day was ruined. Rushed through all of the expected places to visit. Will not recommend to anyone. To top it off the driver yelled at me for asking why we were rushed through everything. All of the vendors knew them and you can tell they were working with them. It was all a set up. Do not hire this tour.
Extremely disorganized tour
Vera_F, Dec 2021
I've been traveling for over 20 years. This was one of the worst tours I've been to. The guide picked us up 1 hour late. After we were picked up, we circled for almost 45 minutes trying to pick up 2 missing passengers. The company was not able to purchase tickets to the Frida Khalo Museum and offered us to visit the Diego Rivera Museum instead. Very little information was provided about it. We agreed to proceed with the substitution being under the impression that we will be visiting the artist's house and studio. We were taken to a very different location. According to the itinerary, we were supposed to tour the center of Coyoacan. We ended up spending about 5 minutes there. It was extremely disappointing. We booked the tour in English. However, most of the information was provided in Spanish. Overall, our guide Claudia was professional and courteous. The boat ride in Xochimilco was fun.
Response from Host, Jan 2022
Dear Customer, We value your comments and I appreciate the time you spent to let us know your point of view that I respect but I consider them unfair. The van arrived 10 minutes late due to heavy traffic, we apologize for this. I have been told that you also arrived too early to the meeting point. The result is a long waiting for you and I do sincerely apologize for it. The tour you purchased was s shared service. This means that is not private. We needed to pick up other customers on the way. Once on the tour, the majority of the customers were English speaking, so I do not understand how come you mention that the tour was in Spanish. We told you on time that due to the pandemic, there was no posible to get the entrance tickets to Frida Kahlo and in our effort to still try to provide you with a service we offer you an alternative that you decided to take. I am sorry for the misunderstanding in the expectations of the other museum you would see but I was told the Customer Service Team were clear in telling you what museum and what you would see. I understand however that your expectations where high and we did not met them. Again, thank you for your comments and your point of view that I do not share but I respect. Warm Regards, Kim Alva Managing Director Interliv Travel Mexico
Very disappointing. Thought Viator Tours more reliable
Chris_M, Nov 2021
Experience didn’t happen. The day before the all day tour, we were awaiting instructions of where to meet the group the next day. I contacted Viator and at 8pm the night before was ultimately contacted by the tour leader who said the tour was going to be cancelled because he couldn’t arrange tickets. He offered a second tour, a different tour than we originally wanted and that we agreed to take. At 9;45 that evening he advised he was canceling that tour for the same reason. We had a confirmed tour three days before. Still haven’t received a refund. Very disappointing
Frida Khalo House & Museum tour
Nia_J, Jul 2021
We had a great time at the Frida Khalo House and Museum except for the constant reminder that we had to wear our masks while taking a picture when other people were not following the rules, but we didn’t make that ruin our day. The Xochimilco was a beautiful experience.
Find another company
Randall_R, May 2021
Overall it had its highlights! What started off on the wrong foot was the 1-2 hour stop at a silver jeweler. They had nice stuff but that was not part of the tour so we felt hijacked. In addition they did not have the tickets for the Blue House confirmed. So we spent time driving in circles to kill time until they confirmed. This was very unprofessional. We finally got a 12 noon entrance and had to rush over. It seemed very disorganized. The tour went longer than expected. We had to walk to a spot to meet the driver yet the other 3 were picked up at their hotel. When asked I was told that just the way it is. I would never use this company again. I will be sure others know the terrible service with Viator local operator.
Response from Host, Jun 2021
Dear Customer, Thank you for your comments. I am trully sorry about not fullfilling your expectations. In our experience, as you also noted, all started with the wrong foot, and when it does, it is very difficult to correct the course of action. It is not something we would like it, but it happen and all Tour Operators arround the world know this well. I have to clarify some things for the sake of truth: - Our staff have to make a delay due to a client that was comming late. Our mistake was not to inform you and we apologize for that. - We have tours that have pick up included and tours that have meeting points. The difference is in the price and you purchased the tour without pick up at your hotel, which cost less than the other people who paid for the pick up. Our mistake was not to tell you this in a very polite matter, again I do apologize for my staff. - The tickets for the Frida's museum are always confirmed. You cannot purchase tiquets without a time. The driving around is part of the tour and we were not making time to confirm, this is part of the tour, as I said, to let you know more about the surrounding of Mexico City. I understand your frustration. As a traveler, I would like to have the best experience ever when I visit a place. This did not happened with you this time and I am trully sad to read your review. Please accept my appoligizes. I would like to compensate you for this situation. You can write me at so we can discuss further, but make sure your comments were very helpful and we will make sure we take action to provide a better service to our customers. Warm Regards, Kim Alva Managing Director Interliv Travel Mexico
Xochimilco a Place to Relax.
Patricia_C, Apr 2021
The most memorable part of the trip was Xochimilco and being able to experience the true folklore of Mexico, with the good and the music.
Response from Host, Apr 2021
Dear Customer, We thank you for being such a great traveler and to take you the time to give us your feedback. We always try that our customers take a bt of Mexico back home and I believe you did it. We hope to see you back in Mexico soon, in the mean while, please be safe and take care. Warm Regards,
Mayra_H, Feb 2020
What an AMAZING tour with the fun, friendly and knowledgeable guide, Ana and the professional driver, Carretero. I enjoyed everything about this last minute tour. We were a group of 17 and I couldn’t have asked for a better group to have experienced this tour with. Ana was great! She made sure to engage with each and every single one of us even though there were several of us and she did it all with ease. Ana, your English was great and keep being your awesome self! It makes the tour even better when the guide is also enjoying themselves. Thank you again for everything!!
Response from Host, Feb 2020
Dear Customer, This is by far the best review we have received from a very happy customer. Thank you for taking the time in writing these comments, be sure they will be shared with all the staff involved in your tour. Your review has inspired us to keep working hard to generate memorable and unique experiences to our great customers. Best Regards, Kim Alva Interliv Travel Mexico
kuhlde23, Feb 2020
Nice trip , good guide but we had to pay too many tips to everyone involved, and not enough time at Frida Kalo museum
Response from Host, Feb 2020
Dear Customer, Thank you very much for your review and your comments. I would like to hear more about the tips you gave. If you have time, it would be helpful to write us a message to and elaborate more about your comment. This is only to improve our Quality Service. Best Regards, Kim Alva Interliv Travel Mexico
Some colorful sights off the beaten track in Mexico City
Ganesh_M, Dec 2019
Our driver and tour guide were rolled into one person - Fernando - who did an admirable job the whole day with his exuberance and sense of humor. The tour started with a visit to a bull fighting ring which was unexpected. It was closed, but Fernando used his "charm" to get us in. This was followed by a visit to the Coyoacan neighborhood - a quaint section of Mexico City. We walked the neighborhoods and through a labyrinth of markets until we got to the Frida Kahlo museum. There were incredible lines to buy tickets to enter the museum, but since tickets were included in this tour we went to the head of the line. The Frida Kahlo museum itself was underwhelming (personal view), although given the crowds who wait 2 - 3 hours to get in, we must be missing something. Finally it was off to Xochimilco and a boat ride on a colorful boat along a set of canals - the "Venice of Mexico" as it was marketed :-). The boat ride was nice, although at times it felt like we were in a floating bazaar with all sorts of vendors selling things on and off our boat as they jumped on and off from other boats. Nothing aggressive and certainly entertaining. Two suggested improvements: 1) It was probably too big a tour group for one guide to handle and that in two languages 2) A little free time at the Coyoacan market would have been nice to have so that we could browse on our own, The tour itself was a fast walk through the market's maze of corridors
Response from Host, Dec 2019
Dear Customer, Very few times we have the opportunity to get such a complete review as you have done it, and for that, I thank you so much for your time. Your comments will certainly help us to improve our service, however, I am particularly interested in the tour you took, that is why I hope we can abuse a little bit more of your time and ask you kindly to send me an e-mail to and tell me which day you took the tour, so I can look better into it. Best Regards and we hope to see you soon back in Mexico. Kim Alva Interliv Travel Mexico
Liliana_C, Nov 2019
The tour was not bad. Our guide monse was great. I could tell she cares about what she does. The places we went to however were not worth the huge crowds. Xochimilco was a 1 hour or so ride and had overpriced, just ok food and drinks (micheladas cost 100 pesos and food 200 pesos). The Frida museum was way too crowded. Only plus was being able to get in front of the long lines. We didn’t go to UNAM like I thought we would. We went to this other craft place for them to try to sell us their merchandise. Finally, in coyoacan, we only got to see the church and that’s it. Monse was very considerate, informative and nice though which is what made this your good for me.
Response from Host, Dec 2019
Dear customer, thank you for your feedback, it always help us to increase our quality service. We take note of your comments, however, very little we can do in terms of the crowds, we try to make it better by our skip the line service. Xochimilco has always have mixed feelings, either you like it or you don´t, but what is sure is that you got a better understanding about the mexican culture now. Best Regards, Kim Alva Interliv Travel
Great Tour Guide!
Nancy P, Oct 2019
Very please with communication regarding pick up, and driver and tour guide were polite and professional. Great way to hit some of the highlights of CDMX. Although advertised as a six-hour tour, it ended up being 10 hours, so luckily we didn't make plans for the evening. I enjoyed it nonetheless and I'm glad I didn't realize it would be that long because I never would have booked a 10-hour tour.
Response from Host, Oct 2019
Hi dear customer, Thank you very much for your review and for letting us know a mistake in the description of this tour. It is as you said a tour that last aproximately 9 hours (traffic conditions might vary the lenght of the tour) but defenitly do not last only 6 hours. We appreciate so much your comment and we want to let you know that you will get one free tour next time you book with us in any of our destinations. In the meanwhile, we wish you a lovely day. Best Regards, Kim Alva
Well done tour, alot to see
Noel_D, Aug 2019
In addition to the above, the tour included a visit to the "site of three cultures", a spot at which you can see 1,000+ year old ruins, ~500 year-old-church, and modern apt building together. Then a visit to a silversmith's shop. Lunch is on the boat at Xochimilco, served by folks on other boats floating alongside. Overall the tour was very comprehensive, I appreciate the guide explaining the little things, like grasshopper snacks from a street vendor. The guide was very accommodating, we toured in an A/C modern minivan; she spoke English very well which helped. The tour began at 8:30 and ended at 3:30. (bypassing the block long line at the Khalo house, alone, is worth the tour)
Response from Host, Aug 2019
Hi there, Thank you very much for your kind review. We work very hard to have satisfied customers like you and your words really make us thing that is worth our efforts. We are very glad you had a great tour and we hope to have the oportunity to be your tour operator another time. Best Regards, Kim Alva Interliv Travel Mexico
Not great
LGMorales, Aug 2019
DRIVER HIT SECURITY GUARD WITH TOUR BUS. Seriously. What else can I say about this? Well, the Frida Khalo museum is, dare I say, boring? Really. Only go here if you have some strange interest in this person because, for it being a museum, art is pretty much not existing. Most of the place is filled with Frida's and Diego's personal stuff, which makes sense considering it was their house. While leaving this place the driver hit a security guard/policeman with the bus and kept on driving even though we all acknowledged the event and were mortified. As for the "Trajineras" portion of the tour I can only describe the experience as "Paddle boarding on a very crowded sewer while listening to live mariachi music". The tour guide, Monserrat, was the only redeemable thing about this tour. There are way better tour options beside this one. Do yourself a favor and pick something else.
Response from Host, Aug 2019
Hi. We are deeply sad that you did not enjoy the tour as is always our goal. We always have great comments about this tour and your comment really comes as a surprise for us, but we will take note about what you wrote. I am also very concern about the traffic situation you mention in this review. Would you be kind to send us more information about it (Your name and when did this event occur) so we can start an enquire about that to guarantee this will never happen again? Again, we are very sorry about your experience and we want to make it up to you. Hope you can write us back. Best Regards, Kim Alva General Manager Interliv Travel
Frida Khalo and Xochimilco
Maria S, Jul 2019
Upon getting picked up from our hotel, and after picking more people from their different hotels, we then proceeded to Coyoacán, the town were Frida Khalo’s museum is. Our female guide was knowledgeable of the story. Upon arriving to the museum, there were long lines to enter, lucky for us, we were able to go in ahead of the crowd. The museum is amazing, full of art, history and just good vibe. After the museum, we had some time for ourselves to wonder thru the plaza and church. We then proceeded to Xóchimilco. Once there, we hopped on a trajinera “boat” which took us on an hour ride. Xochimilco was packed with trajineras which were bumping into each other.
Response from Host, Jul 2019
Hi Maria, Thanks again for chosing Interliv Travel and for your poistive review. As you wrote, part of our job is to make sure you skip the line at the Frida Kahlo's Museum, so good to hear that everything was ok there. The only area of opportunity is with Xochimilco... jeps, it can get crowdy specially in high season and weekends, but it is also true that even the "bumpings" are part of the experience as well. Thank you for leting us know, I check on Xochimilco to see if we can bring travelers in another hour that is not so packed. Best Regards and hope you brought a piece of Mexico back home in your heart. We hope to see you soon! Kim Alva Managing Director
Great deal for a great tour!
Nomad09309517215, Jun 2019
So worth it! You get so much more than expected. Ana was awesome and really showed us authentic CDMX.
Response from Host, Jun 2019
Thank you so much for your kind words. We give 110% in everything we do for our customers. Be sure Ana will know how much you enjoyed the tour. It was a pleasure having you in one of our tours :-) Best Regards, Kim Alva Interliv Travel
Brighten your Mexico City adventures!
Marilyn_H, Apr 2019
If you love the history and beauty of Mexico City, try this fabulous day trip to Xochimilco, Coyoacan, the Frida Khalo Museum, and even a stop at the University of Mexico's famous library directly across the highway from the 1968 Olympic Stadium! At Coyoacan, first settled by the Spaniards, visit the magnificent church and then witness the beautiful artwork of Frida and her house/museum. Travel then to the city of flowers and COLOR, Xochimilco! Board your boat ride to discover the beautiful flowers and history of his area and enjoy the Mariachi bands along the way. You won't be disappointed. Check it out with Kim at Interlive Travel. She was great. She arranged my very knowledgeable tour director, Anna!
Response from Host, May 2019
Hi Anna, such a great compliment! Thank you so much, but I am more happy to hear that you had a wonderful time in our Tour. We make extra efforts every day to please our customers and when they write you back as you did it really pay off all our effort. You really did my day :-) We hope to see you back in Mexico City any soon! Best Regards, Kim Alva General Manager Interliv Travel
Nuevos amigos
Manuel_G, Jul 2022
El Guia Marcó Antonio nos hizo sentir en casa definidamente lo recomendare a familia y amigos, la narración que nos fue dando durante el trayecto muy informativa

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
Small Group: Discover Xochimilco, Coyoacán, Frida Kahlo Museum and House


9 hours
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Small Group: Discover Puebla and Cholula from Mexico City


11 hours
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Small Group: Discover the Folkloric Ballet of Mexico


3 hours
Free Cancellation

Explore Similar Things to Do