Rooftop Guided Tour of Milan's Duomo and Hop on Hop off optional

Milano, Italy
1 Hour Rooftop Tour of Milans Duomo
Likely to Sell Out

From $45.16

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 1 hour
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Enjoy skip-the-line access to the top of the Milan Duomo on this guided evening tour. Ride an elevator most of the way to the rooftop of the cathedral, and then there are only 50 steps to climb to arrive at the very top. Learn about the Duomo’s history and architecture as you take in views across Milan and, on a clear day, well beyond the city. Optional Hop on Hop off 2 days ticket to visit the city on panoramic buses.
  • Gain priority access to the Duomo, Milan’s most notable monument
  • Learn about the cathedral’s fascinating history and architecture from your guide
  • Enjoy wraparound views of Milan from the rooftop
  • Hear stories behind the church’s statues, spires, and buttresses as you admire them up close
  • Optional Hop on Hop off 2 days ticket

What's Included

  • Professional guide
  • Earphones (used if there are more than 6 pax on tour)
  • Spanish, French, German and Italian speaking Guide is available only in Private Group option
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Gratuities

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • del Duomo, 4 del Duomo, 4, 20123 Milano MI, Italy

    Duomo Square n.4 (under the arches next to 12 OZ Coffee Joint). Meet the Guide 15 minutes before the starting time.

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Meet your guide at the dramatic front of the Milan Duomo, the city’s most iconic landmark. Enjoy views of the spires and expanses of white marble as you contemplate the size of the enormous cathedral.

After receiving your headphones, listen to stories about the Duomo—including how it took almost 600 years to complete—and how it fits into the history of Milan. This masterpiece of Gothic architecture is Italy’s largest cathedral, and one of the biggest in the world.

Make your way to the elevator entrance with your guide, avoiding waiting in the line thanks to your pre-booked ticket, and take the lift up to the first terrace of the cathedral roof. From there, walk around to the front of the Duomo—admiring spires up close—and ascend the last steps to reach the highest part of the rooftop. The golden Madonnina statue atop the highest spire is clearly visible from here, and on a clear day you may even see as far as the Italian Alps.

Descend the steps and elevator to return to the pavement below, and your tour ends where it began outside the Duomo.

Upgrade: Hop on Hop off 2 days ticket:

Discover the most iconic and fascinating places in Milan, with the tours on double-decker buses. Be enchanted by the modernity and the efficiency of the city, comfortably seated on our panoramic buses, listening to the stories and anecdotes of our audio guides.

Get off and take your time to visit Cenacolo, Basilica of Sant’Ambrogio, Science and Technology Museum, Navigli and more, and get on again on the bus whenever you want. The ticket allow you to start the tour from all bus stops and don’t forget that you can get on and off whenever you want.

Duomo di Milano

1 hour Admission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Please wear comfortable shoes, preferably with a rubber sole
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • During hot days it is recommended to wear a sun hat
  • The elevator has a maximum capacity of 7 people, so you may encounter a wait to get to the roof
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 25 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more


280 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 280 reviews
Beautiful views of Milan
Paul_K, Sep 2023
A great tour, fantastic views of the city! We had an excellent guide, very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. She was really entertaining and did an excellent job looking after the group and ensuring that we got to see everything in spite of the crowds that day. The crowds that day were the only downside to the experience. It might be better if the Duomo organization did a bit more to control the number of people who can access the roof during particularly busy periods.
Don’t waste your money!
Rosetta_S, Jul 2023
Don’t waste your money. Just buy tickets for 15 Eur at the ticket office and do your own tour. They left early and without us as we couldn’t find them. They could have sent us a message in chat but they didn’t. Then they lied and said someone was waiting with a sign for us, we waited and waited, 45 minutes later she shows up! After I called for the 3rd time! When we finally made contact they told us to do our own tour and that’s what we did so didn’t need them and didn’t need to pay all that extra money!
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Dear Rosetta, the tour started regoularly with all the other participants at the established time. You contaced us after the starting time and we tried to let you join the group. Our coordinator stayed around the meeting place more than 40 minutes only to meet you. We tried to contact you at the provided phone number but was not reachable as the other phone number you wrote us through Viator message system. Finally you met our coordinator that gave you your entrance tickets...obviously after 45 minutes was no more possible to reach the group. Next time if you are late we suggest you to contact us in time. We are contactable by phone call, Whats App message and call, email and Viator message system. Thanks for let us demonstrate the legitimacy of our work. Best Regards Elena
Closer to Heaven on the Duomo
Dirk_I, Jun 2023
Ciara, our guide, was insightful and funny! She made us all feel her passion. The Duomo is breathtakingly beautiful; a definite must-see.
Cindy_G, Jun 2023
What a beautiful place. The tour was ok, it was hard to hear her, and she went to fast when there were big crowds to go through. The place was a 10, the tour was a 5.
Response from Host, Jun 2023
Dear Cindy, if you had problem with your headsets you could easily ask to the tour guide or to the tour coordinator to replace it. Thanks for sharing your point of view. Best Regards Davide
MUST Do in Milan
Brianna_G, Jun 2023
We recently did this tour while in Milan. We meet the guide in the plaza then he walked us over to meet the official guide with tickets and audio earpiece. This was a small group tour only 8/9 of us. We took an elevator for 3/4 of the height then we toured the top and walked around, then we walk a narrow hike to the top of the top. The views were EPIC! We ended the tour at the top then we’re allowed to walk down on our own. This tour took about an hour and 15 minutes. Please beware the tour doesn’t include church access. Overall, I would highly recommend this tour while in Milan.
Milan rooftop tour
Ailen_F, Jun 2023
Straightforward tour of the rooftop. Our was knowledgeable and explained what we see from the rooftop as well.
Subpar experience with tour guide.
Navgeet_G, Jun 2023
I did the 330pm tour on a day it was raining in the morning. I tried to call the number provided and there was no answer. VIATOR reached out to the guide by email and there was no response as to if the tour was cancelled or not. I showed up and we were given our radios by 12oz coffee shop and then taken infront of the duomo to meet our guide. The guide was last as she was finishing up the previous tour. Once we started, the radio sound was muffled and the sound quality poor and hard to hear and the guide didnt even do a proper intro she took us to the duomo and just said the elevator is having problems and to be patient. She could have filled this time with some history or intros but we just stood there until we went up in the elevator. From there she rushed us through the tour telling us the lines were really bad etc. She was going well ahead of the tour group and the voice would cut out because she was far ahead. At one point one of the tour group memebers radios stopped working and the guide made half an effort to try to help and then said "sorry theres nothing i can do". They should have multiple extrs radios on hand in my opinion because radios stop working often in my experience with tours like these. The rest of the group tried to help more than the tour guide did. Overall the duomo is beautiful and a must see but the experience with the tour guide was subpar.
Response from Host, Jun 2023
Dear Gill, we have received your reqeusted by email from Viator (not the phone call) "The customer would like to know if the bus tour is canceled due to bad weather today" then we answered "Customer has no bus tour, she has only the Duomo rooftop tour that will be regularly done." Did you check your spam folder? At the beginning of the tour the guide and the coordinator make a sound check, if something was wrong you could easily ask to replace your headset, but you didn't. Anyway thanks for sharing your point of view about the tour guide work. Best Regards Davide
Stunning views.
Kathy_W, Jun 2023
I've been to Milan and it's seen the duomo a few times but never experienced the top of the Duomo. It was absolutely stunning to see the gargoyles and the view from the top. The elevator ride to the top was much appreciated and the walk down wasn't as bad as I thought it ould be. We had a great tour guide thank you for this great experience.
Milan rooftop funtastico!!!
Madeline_T, Jun 2023
Kiara was hysterical but very knowledgeable!! The views were fantastic! You see much more than the duomo but the surrounding buildings and landscapes!!
Very knowledgeable tour guide
Leanne_L, May 2023
Excellent !!! Guide was knowledgeable, friendly, punctual and very responsive to questions .. we thoroughly enjoyed our tour with him,
Terrible don't waste your money
Rocco_S, May 2023
Not worth it at all..... sorry but no Nice friendly people but an English tour and she kept speaking Italian The ear buds were terrible and kept coming out.... had to wait 15 minutes to get in and then at the end there was a 20 minute line to get out but our tour guide cut the line and left on her own..... while the 8 of us were left on the roof in the rain to wait behind everyone else getting out.... overall not worth it at all
Response from Host, May 2023
Dear Rocco, tour was regularly done in English as everybody were English speaking, you are the only one that is reporting this, we really don't know why.. If the ear buds were not fitting well you could ask at the beginning of the tour to change it, but you didn't. At the end of the tour you have the possibility to stay on the rooftops how long as you want, this is clearly written in the description. Unfortunately the guide can't do the same as she has to give back all the headsets to the person in charge that is waiting downstairs, but you probably didn't get this point. Anyway thanks for your feedback. Best Regards Davide
Tour guide was a no show
MichaelPhilippe_G, May 2023
I made a special stop over to Milano to do this tour . It said to meet at the 12 oz coffee shop in the square under the arches 15 min prior to the tour at 315 I arrived at 305p and waited til 350p no one sjowed up from the tour company 4 other people where waiting as well No notice from tour company or guide stay away from this site they are not trustworthy of your time and money.
Response from Host, May 2023
Dear Michael Giovanni, the tour guide was at the meeting point waiting for you from 3:20pm till 3:35pm and you didn't showed up. We tried to call you several times but you were not reachable, furthermore you didn't call us in order to receive assistance, we are easily reachable by phone, whatsapp, email and Viator message system. The other 4 people that you mentioned had a private tour that regularly started at 4:00pm, you were the only one missing from the group tour. We thank you for let us demonstrate the legitimacy of our work. Best Regards Davide
Best tour we were ever on because of the guide
Thomas_B, May 2023
We toured the top of the Milan Duomo today with our guide, our expert guide Chara. Out of all the trips, and all the tours we have ever taken, we had the most fun with her, and it was the best tour ever. From her friends, Florida.
A Whole New Perspective
Bruce_M, Apr 2023
What a fantastic way to see the Duomo. Seeing the architecture up close puts a whole new perspective on experiencing the Duomo. The views of Milan are wonderful and having the input from the guide really adds to the experience. An excellent tour!
Quick access to the rooftop.
Hugh_H, Apr 2023
What you're paying for is to skip the massive line to get in as well as access to the rooftop. The actual tour guide is a joke which you can just tune out as you don't have to wear the headset they give you.
Response from Host, Apr 2023
Dear Hugh, we are sorry to read this from you as our tour guides are all passionate and professionals, as you can read from the 98% of the reviews that we receive everyday. Thanks for sharing your personal thinking. Best Regards Davide
Nice views
Bree_S, Mar 2023
Nice views of Milan. The tour size is rather large and the space is crowded, it can be hard to hear a bit (the guides mic picks up a lot of background noise). Provides a nice orientation of the city, but does not include access to the Cathedral itself.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Dear Bree, you bought the Rooftops tour that obviously doens't include the Cathedral access, but you could buy the Combo Supersaver tour with both visit of the Cathedral and Rooftops. Group maximum size is 25 people, as written in the tour description.. Best Regards Davide
Rooftop Guided Tour of Milan's Duomo
Crizaldy_J, Mar 2023
This was the highlight of our trip to Milan, besides the shopping and dining experience. Milan is very Metropolitan and more diverse than other Italian cities.
Tour guide not worth the price
Joanna_D, Mar 2023
Rooftops are worth going but without a guide tour. Didn’t find out much additional information from the guide to what was already provided on the inside tour.
Good short tour.
Laura_G, Jan 2023
Tour was well organized and guide seemed knowledgeable. Not many things to say because It was a short tour bit we enjoyed it.
Absolute Must in Milan!
Tim_R, Dec 2022
Wonderful tour guide and breathtaking views! Perfect amount of time and exposure to one of the largest cathedrals in Europe. Beautiful architecture and unique views of Milan’s downtown business skyrises.

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
Likely to Sell Out
No Photo
Rooftop Guided Tour of Milan's Duomo and Hop on Hop off optional


1 hour
Free Cancellation

Explore Similar Things to Do