Napa & Sonoma

Half-Day Wine Country Tour

California, United States
Half Day Sonoma Wine Tour

From $125.99

Select Date and Travelers

You will not receive a refund if you cancel.
  • 5 hours
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Let a professional driver chauffeur you on this wine tour from San Francisco, allowing you to worry about nothing but enjoying yourself while visiting area wineries. Cross the Golden Gate Bridge on your way into the rolling hills of California wine country, where you’ll stop at two or three vineyards in Sonoma or Napa Carneros region.
  • Wine tour from San Francisco
  • Drive across the Golden Gate Bridge and through Marin County
  • Enjoy wine tastings at 2 wineries (all tasting fees included)
  • Take in the vineyard scenery out the window while you've driven from place to place
  • Knowledgeable and helpful tour guides on board the bus

What's Included

  • Guided tour in a luxury coach bus
  • Wine tasting fees at 2 wineries
  • Knowledgable and experienced guide
  • Tips and gratuities (recommended)
  • Food and beverages
  • Additional tasting fees for individual tastings

Meeting And Pickup

Pickup point

  • Fisherman's Wharf
    Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco, CA, USA

    (exact departure point will be provided upon online check-in)

Start time

12:30 PM

What To Expect

Golden Gate Bridge (Pass By)

Sausalito (Pass By)

Napa Valley

2 hours Admission Ticket Free

Sonoma Valley

2 hours Admission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • Winery locations may vary by day and availability
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travelers can participate
  • The tour route and some stops may vary due to the weather and traffic conditions
  • Guest must reconfirm their tour by checking-in online
  • Children are allowed on wine tasting tours, but you must be 21 or older to sample and drink wine
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 38 travelers

Cancellation Policy

This experience is non-refundable and cannot be changed for any reason. If you cancel or ask for an amendment, the amount you paid will not be refunded.

  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

    Traveler Photos

    See more

    Traveler Tips

    We were supposed to get back close to 5pm but didn't get dropped off until 545 and we were the first to get dropped so I'm sure it was later for the others.


    36 reviews
    Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
    Reviews by Viator travelers.
    Showing 1-10 of 36 reviews
    Enjoyable trip
    Shaun_A, Sep 2023
    The scenery on the way there and back was fantastic. The two vineyards were different experiences. The first one had more wines to taste (6) than the second (3). The second one was a more personable visit and gave out more information. Overall very good experience. Coach was disappointing , air conditioning didn’t work and quite tired decor. Marco was a great host/driver.
    Enjoyable trip
    Antoinette_C, Jul 2023
    The guy was pleasant and knowledgeable. I really enjoyed the wineries especially the second one. Very calming and relaxing trip despite the traffic. It seemed we spent most of our time on the bus, so wondered if wineries could be closer together so maybe adding one more would be nice.
    Wonderful wine day
    David_R, Jul 2023
    I was hoping for a smaller group based on the photo. That being said we still had a great time. The first stop at Madonna Estates was very educational with great wine tastings. The second stop at Muscardini Cellars was very relaxing. Makes sure to get the charcuterie.
    Half Day Wine Good Time!
    Rick_B, Apr 2023
    Amazing tour guide along with amazing Wineries and Phenomenal Wine! Half Day was perfect for us! I definitely Recommend!
    Great guide great trip
    Paul_L, Nov 2022
    Seeing the towns along the way and hearing George’s great description of California history and advice on enjoying wine. The 100 character minimum is nonsense
    David_K, Oct 2022
    Like a number of other reviewers I had a NO SHOW at pick-up point from this business. No tour, no contact from them and (so far) no refund! As I'm not the only one this has happened to you need to be VERY CAREFUL booking this tour - still don't know if I'll even get my money back!!!
    In the valley
    TERRANCE_H, Sep 2022
    Lovely tour. But it was hot ASL!! The heat was unbearable and our tour bus A/C was not properly working.
    Response from Host, Oct 2022
    Hi - we're sorry about the AC situation - sometimes, during a heatwave, its really difficult to get the vehicle temperature down. We're delighted that you still had a great time. Christian
    Excellent Half Day Wine Tour
    Ryan_v, May 2022
    I planned this wine tour with a group of friends and we had a blast! The bus ride was air conditioned and included a restroom. The bus driver had excellent knowledge and narration as we travelled from San Francisco to wine country pointing out famous landmarks and places. The two winery stops were some of the oldest in Napa Valley and Sonoma with great tasting wines.
    Lackluster for the money
    Austin G, Oct 2019
    Our tour started at 12 but we had to meet at 1130 so everyone could be picked up. Sonoma was recently out of power because of the potential for wildfires caused by down power lines. So instead of being able to get lunch in Sonoma, we picked up food at a Whole Foods before we left town. Fast forward to 1:30/1:45 and we finally made it to our first winery, Jacuzzi. After the first wine tasting, we were able to take 30 minutes or so to walk around the vineyard which was nice. Afterwards, we went to Homewood Winery which is VERY small. We were able to eat our lunch during the wine tasting but there wasn't much to do there so we got back in the van for the ride home. On the way back, we stopped to get pictures with the Golden Gate bridge. We were supposed to get back close to 5pm but didn't get dropped off until 545 and we were the first to get dropped so I'm sure it was later for the others. Overall, I'd say the trip was a little expensive for what we got. We were only actually at wineries for 2.5-3 hours and the whole trip was over 6 hours.
    Response from Host, Oct 2019
    We are sorry to hear you weren't fully satisfied with your Wine Country tour. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.
    Fun with wine
    Harry_H, Jun 2019
    Jerry our driver, was a most efficient guide to everything wine. The weather was great. The wine tasted of heavenly perfection. Make sure you ask for Jerry as your guide.
    Steven knows Sonoma!
    Kim_C, Aug 2018
    We had a great time on our half day wine tour yesterday. Steve picked up us at our hotel and made us feel at home. He is very knowledgeable about the wines and the incredible history of San Francisco. Our group was an amazing mixture of people from around the world. Steven also took us to an incredible lookout over the bay. We had the best time and recommend this trip.
    Never showed up and was not notified...
    Andrew J, Mar 2018
    Never showed up and was not notified at all. We contacted the company and turns out they sub it out from some other company.
    Quite enjoyable. The driver/tour...
    Edna R, Dec 2017
    Quite enjoyable. The driver/tour guide was great, pointing out all kinds of things buildings, historical sites, etc on the way from my San Francisco hotel throughout Sonoma on the tour. I was fortunate enough as a single traveler to also be part of a very friendly group on the tour.
    This tour was a problem as soon as I...
    Lawrence_P, Oct 2017
    This tour was a problem as soon as I booked it. I was notified in August that the tour was going to start at 6PM. I questioned the time because the winery's would be closed and they said it was correct. Finally it must have sunk in and they corrected the start back to 12 Noon. They told me we would be picked up at the Sheraton even tho we would be arriving by cruise ship. We went to the Sheraton and 2 other couples were there too. The van came and we were the last ones picked up. One couple split between the front passenger seat and a 2nd row seat. The other couple and us had to SQUEEZE into the last row. Everyone in row had to get out for last person to get out. WHAT A SAFETY AND FIRE TRAP. We learned on the tour that 2 girls from our cruise booked this tour that morning and were picked up at the cruise ship, so they had nice roomy seats. The tour went to 2 wineries but really only 1 was a winery. The 2nd was a farm and had 1 room with 1 person operating it and he kept moving to new groups as they arrived, so we were treated as 2nd class. Tasting fee was not included at the farm stand. For 85 a person, not worth it. This isn't the first time that we have had problems with VIATOR, so it will be our LAST.
    Not overly impressed. First winery...
    AmyJ_K, Sep 2017
    Not overly impressed. First winery we stopped wasn't great - had to ask for wine samples, didn't explain wines, and seemed like they were only interested in customers willing to buy a membership into their wine club. Second winery was great.
    We have used Viator all over the...
    Eva R, Aug 2017
    We have used Viator all over the world and we have been so pleased. This was by far the worst experience we have ever had: The tour guide was not interested in his tourist but talked at us the entire time. He took us to two wineries one that was pleasant but with bad tasting wine and the second one was a wine tour zoo with kids and dogs and no teaching about anything. We sat outside in the hot sun and we did not know what we were drinking because we had no guidance whats so ever. My husband and I love good wine and we had the best Viator in Portland , Oregon last summer with a boxed lunch and we went to 3 lovely wineries. We even had to pay extra for our first winery in Sonoma because it was not included. We were very disappointed with this tour.
    The tour was really nice. Bill our...
    matthewsjanet3, Jul 2017
    The tour was really nice. Bill our guide and driver was excellent. Our group of 8 were the only ones schedule for the tour that day, so Bill spent extra time giving us stops at various sites, he even gave us a scenic tour through Sausalito which was beautiful.
    I was booked to go on the half day...
    Dylan_S, Apr 2017
    I was booked to go on the half day Sonoma wine tour from San Francisco on Saturday at 12pm. I was at the location fishermans wharf at this time and waited for 1 hour. No bus showed up and I was not given any number to contact with regards to additional information. I tried to call many different numbers via Viator and was just being put on hold only to be cut off several times by rude and unmannerly representatives. I spent 80 on this tour and was not given any information or contact numbers. DO NOT RECOMMEND.
    Our Driver Bill was great and...
    Sophia_A, Mar 2017
    Our Driver Bill was great and informative. The tour was all in all great but we were looking to go on this tour more for the wine tasting and it felt more like a tourist attractive then being there for the wine. We didn't get much time at the two wineries only 1 hour I would recommend spending the extra money and going to spend the Day in Napa Valley. Eat lunch ect.
    We had an excellent guide Jeremy...
    Mark H, Mar 2017
    We had an excellent guide Jeremy ? Very knowledgable about the history of the area and wine. Our group was small- just 3 couples and we got along fabulously! Ended up having dinner together after the tour. I'd recommend the tour to everyone. Both wineries were small and very intimate. Quality wines we ended up bringing home.

    Compare Similar Experiences

    1 / 3
    No Photo
    Half-Day Wine Country Tour


    5 hours
    Free Cancellation
    No Photo
    Half-Day Napa Valley E-Bike Tour


    3 hours 30 minutes
    Free Cancellation
    No Photo
    Half Day Tour


    3 to 7 hours
    Free Cancellation

    Explore Similar Things to Do