Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"

Pompeii, Herculaneum And Vesuvius - Group Tour

Badge of ExcellenceNapoli, Italy
Likely to Sell Out

From $93.86

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 8 hours (approx.)
  • Pickup from select hotels
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Pompeii, Herculaneum, and Mt. Vesuvius are the three headliners near Naples, but slow trains and tricky roads make it impossible to visit all three in one day. With this tour, save hours with pickup in Naples and private transportation to at the archaeological sites in Pompeii and Herculaneum, with a visit to a traditional coral workshop in between. End your day by taking in the volcanic crater on top of Mt. Vesuvius.
  • Round-trip transportation from Naples to see three top sights in one day
  • Free time in Pompeii, Herculaneum, and Mt. Vesuvius to explore
  • An exclusive visit to one of the oldest coral workshops on the coast
  • Commentary about the sights from your driver while on board
Operated by:

What's Included

  • Pick up and drop off service
  • Live commentary on board
  • English speaking driver
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • All Fees and Taxes
  • Entrance ticket to Pompeii €16 pp, Herculaneum €13 pp, Vesuvius €12 pp
  • Certificate multilingual guide available on request
  • Additional costs for optional activities

Meeting And Pickup

You can head directly to your preferred meeting point, or request pickup.

Meeting points

Select a meeting point
Type to search

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

Pickup details

- Stazione Marittima (docking point of Cruise Ships. Picture in the gallery) - Hotel Ramada

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Please note: Vesuvius tickets sell out quickly. Is recommended to buy them on "vivaticket" once booked the tour. Is recommended the ticket entrance time at 12:00pm to avoid errors of choice of entrance at an inconsistent time with travel time.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 100 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more
Reviews
4.5
166 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 166 reviews
Fun time
John_C, Jan 2023
We had a great time on this trip. Our driver was excellent, was very communicative/always answered his phone. The bus was nice and we had a really fun group. Keep in mind this is essentially transportation only (ie. we still had to buy tickets at Pompeii and Herculaneum) as well as hire a tour guide at the sites (you don’t have to hire a tour guide but it’s not included in this package). But all in all it was still really nice having a local driver who knew his way around and was also a very pleasant person. I’d recommend this tour.
Response from Host, Jan 2023
Dear John, thank you so much for your feedback! Come back to visit us again to spend another great day together. Warm greetings, Di Sarno Car Service Staff
Deceptive
Smita_S, Jan 2023
We used Viator for the Colosseum and felt it was good. We went ahead to book the Pompeii trip. The information online was very deceptive which said tickets, lunch, hotel pick up, drop, etc was included in the package. On the day we were told that the fare was only for the coach and nothing else. Disappointing. Saying that the gentleman who drove the cab was very good and highly knowledgeable.
Response from Host, Jan 2023
Dear Smita, we are very sorry to tell you that you posted the review to the wrong business. We don't know you, you NEVER experienced our business, we don't have ANY tour that includes lunch and ticket but is not correct to write something so bad without check who are you reviewing. We have already pointed out the understanding but in the meantime that the right measures are taken, we want to clarify the matter so that those who read can realize that what is written does not concern our agency. We wish you all the best and we invite you to try our tour once in Napoli again so you can understand the difference between us and the company you experiences. Regards, Di Sarno Car Service Staff
Pick this one!
Joyce_B, Oct 2022
Tour was awesome! Anna the host was incredibly knowledgeable and a joy to be around! Our driver Genaro was a gem as well! My mom and I had a blast!
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Dear Joyce, thank you very much for your feedback! We are very happy to read your words. Until next time, Di Sarno Car Service Staff
Exactly what we expected
Aaron_G, Oct 2022
As we read the description carefully, we knew what we bought and what we didn't. We were on a cruise, and wanted to visit Pompeii and Herculaneum in one day. We couldn't find this anywhere. This option allowed us to do this - AND climb Mt. Vesuvius - granted we were willing to buy our own tickets, and either be our own guide, or hire one at Pompeii. We are mid-40's, planners, DIYers, and reasonably well-traveled, so we knew we could do it. This option also provided a tour assistant, who between stops, explained what was happening, the history, and things to look for. We were picked up on time, and where instructed. We started with six others, though they didn't understand what they bought and opted to abandon the trip in Pompeii (???) We had 2:30 in Pompeii, 1:15 at Vesuvius, and 1:30 in Herculaneum. Very doable if fit and not restricted mobility-wise in any way. They brought us back right to our ship, which was in an odd area, and we'll in advance of the required time. Excellent driver and friendly, English-speaking assistant. Also, we followed instructions to buy Vesuvius Tix in advance and at the noted entry time. This is a great option for those who are able!
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Dear Aaron, thank you for your feedback. Your satisfaction is our happiness. Come back to visit us again. Best regards, Di Sarno Car Service Staff
Not as good as you think.
Cheryl_M, Oct 2022
Lack of information provided regarding the purchase of tickets ahead of time. We were unable to access Mt. Vesuvius. You simply pay for transportation to and from. There was no tour guide provided, it was a self tour in Pompeii. They recommended we pay extra for a separate tour guide in the Ruins. It was in multiple languages (explaining on the ride to and from each site) Overall, I would not recommend.
Highly recommended
Annette_R, Oct 2022
Francesca was amazing and the tour was an incredible day! Would highly recommend, Herculaneum was a highlight of our whole trip!
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your feedback. Until next time, All the best, Di Sarno Car Service staff
Present on past civilization
Mita_P, Sep 2022
Pompeii and Herculaneum are worth visiting, Wish the guide could come with us. Herculaneum is smaller than Pompeii but organised and maintained.
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Until next time, Di Sarno Car Service staff
Anna was a great and...
Nina_T, Sep 2022
Anna was a great and enthusiastic guide - and the driver very trustworthy🍀 we enjoyed it very much !
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Best Regards, Di Sarno Car Service staff
No one should miss this!!!
THEODOROS_M, Aug 2022
Our tour assistant Francesca and our driver made a great effort to enjoy the tour. We had 2 hours for Pompeii (it needs more time), 2 hours to Vesuvius (more than enough) and almost 90’ minutes to Herculaneum (exactly what it is needed). We were informed for the basic information & enjoyed the tour 100%!!!
Response from Host, Sep 2022
Dear Theodoros, thank you for your feedback! We are very happy to read your words and we take the opportunity to invite you to come to visit us again! All the best, Di Sarno Car Service Staff
Great trip
Anvesh_P, Aug 2022
Great trip, covers the transportation only so you will need to purchase the 3 entry tickets separately. Herculaneum was the most impressive in our view in terms of how well it captured the events.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Dear Anvesh, thank you for your feedback! Come to visit us again. Best regards, Di Sarno Car Service Staff
I must say this is the...
Annabel_J, Jul 2022
I must say this is the best tour to have.You see so many historical things and visiting those cities you really start to think how did those people lived back then and try to imagine what must they have gone through.For me it is hard to choose just one because I liked all of them,experience that you get will always be memorable.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Dearest Annabelle, thank you so much for choosing our company. We really appreciate your satisfaction, this is our happiness. Come back to visit us again, Warm greetings, Di Sarno Car Service Staff
Excellent tour!
Mitch_A, Jul 2022
Excellent tour! Ideally we would have been able to do a full day at Pompeii and another day split between Hurculaneum and Vesuvius. We didn’t have the time in our trip to do that, so we packed them all into one day. Overall exhausting day with the heat and walking, but wonderful experience. Highly recommend!
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Dearest Mitch, thank you for your review! We are very glad to read your words and we invite you to come back to visit us again! All the best, Di Sarno Car Service Staff
Haphazardly put together
Wan_A, Jul 2022
Yes, you'll feel like you get a lot done in a short period of time but it's not pleasant. - Spent the same amount of time in Herculaneum vs. Pompeii. Why? Clearly more time should be allocated at Pompeii - No set allocated time for lunch, which means you'll have to carve time out from your already short Pompeii visit for lunch - Unclear expectation that you need to buy your own Vesuvius crater ticket beforehand - The guide completely missed that not everyone already bought their tickets. 13 people didn't have tickets and somehow the guide thought everyone got tickets. For what you get, this is a very expensive tour. It's basically a driver and a junior guide driving you from point A to B to C. Not a lot of thought put into the actual experience.
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Dear guest, First of all thank you for spending time to leave us your feedback. I just want to clarify that the duration of the tour is 8 hours and we do not like to give less than 2 hours to Herculaneum because it means that you do not see anything. The minimum hours recommended in Pompeii are 2 hours to see the highlights. More than 2 hours means that the tour has become 9-10 hours, considering the time travel, the waiting and everything else. We write CLEARLY that the entrance ticket to the archaeological sites are not included in the price, as you would have read by spending the same time you spent writing the review. A lack of attention or reading cannot be our fault. So, we thank you and invite you to spend 2 minutes of your time reading the details before proceeding to purchase. I would certainly spare you the five minutes of publishing an unfounded complaint. All the best Di Sarno Car Service Staff
Highly Recommend
VALERIE_A, Jun 2022
This was a great tour…a lot to accomplish in just one day. Our guide and driver were very friendly and accommodating. The responsiveness of the company to my questions ahead of time was excellent. We would definitely recommend this company.
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Dear Valerie, thank you so much for your amazing feedback! We are so glad to read your satisfaction and we look forward to see you again. All the best, Di Sarno Car Service Staff
Fantastic tour
Wendy_W, Jun 2022
It was all memorable because the guide, Anna, made it highly entertaining. She was awesome. We were looked after brilliantly and learned a lot about the background of these cultural sights
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Dear Wendy, thank you for your feedback! Your satisfaction is our happiness. Come back to visit us soon, All the best, Di Sarno Car Service Staff
Great experience and highly recommend
Milton_P, Jun 2022
Great tour and Anna was fantastic guide. Each spot was unique and we learned a lot. Great company we ended up booking another private tour with them later.
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Dear Milton, thank you very much for your feedback! Come to visit us soon. All the best, Di Sarno Car Service Staff
Wonderful
ghidak123, Jun 2022
Wonderful day to see three locations in few hours. Anna was very helpful and knowledgeable. Thank you
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. Until next time, Di Sarno Car Service Staff
Great service
Maribel_M, Jun 2022
My family and I decides to book this service foe the last day of our 2 weeks traveling thru Europe. It was wonderful not to worry about anything. David was great! Made our last day leas stressful and the experience of visiting the sites more enjoyable.
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Dearest Maribel, thank you very much for your amazing feedback! We are very happy to feel your satisfaction and we really look forward to see you in the future!§ All the best, Di Sarno Car Service Staff
Great tour
Michelle_B, Jun 2022
Overall great way to see all three sites in one day. Pick up was very easy and stopped for a lunch in the middle which was much needed after doing Vesuvius! One thing to note about Vesuvius is the entire path is gravel and small stones. So recommend good hiking shoes. Our guide was very friendly and shared some interesting info for all three sites along the way. Would recommend it for anyone looking to pack all three sites into a day!
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Dear Michelle, thank you for your feedback! We are glad to read your words and we hope to see you again. Warm greetings, Di Sarno Car Service Staff
Great service!
troymccurry, May 2022
Great way to see these sites without the stress of travel. Everything about the day was easy and enjoyable. Luka was great!
Response from Host, May 2022
Dear Troy, thank you very much for your feedback! Looking forward to see you again, All the best, Di Sarno Car Service Staff