Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"

Mt. Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples all inclusive

Napoli, Italy

From $110.43

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 7 hours (approx.)
  • Hotel pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Discover the wonder of one of Europe’s active volcanoes on this Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii day trip from Naples. Follow your local guide through the ancient ruins of this UNESCO World Heritage-listed city. Enjoy a traditional Italian pizza lunch with your small group and then hike to the top of the notorious volcano, where you’ll find stunning views of the Bay of Naples and the surrounding landscapes.
  • Explore the fascinating ancient ruins of Pompeii with a guide
  • See the destruction of Mt Vesuvius' massive eruption thousands of years ago
  • Enjoy a pizza lunch with your fellow travelers
  • Hike to the summit of Mt Vesuvius and peer into the crater

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

This tour explores Pompeii and Vesuvius and gives visitors to Naples what they crave—pizza for lunch.

What's Included

  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Transport by shared air-conditioned minibus
  • Professional guide in Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius
  • Pizza with drink
  • Entrance Ticket to Pompeii Archaeological Site (16 euros)
  • Access to Mt. Vesuvius National Park (11 euros per person)
  • Gratuities

Meeting And Pickup

You can head directly to your preferred meeting point, or request pickup.

Meeting points

Select a meeting point
Type to search

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

Pickup details

Please insert your accommodation address in Naples (hotel, b&b, airbnb) in the "Special Requirements" section when booking, then call the local supplier the evening before your tour after 7PM to know your pick up time and if your pick up will be at your accommodation, nearby, or at our starting point.

What To Expect

Your guide will collect you from your hotel or train station to kick off this Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii day trip from Naples. Venture into the ancient Roman city of Pompeii on a half-hour coach ride and learn the history behind the area that was infamously covered by ash nearly 2000 years ago. 

Follow your guide on a walking tour of this UNESCO World Heritage-listed site and learn about Europe’s largest archeological grounds. Stop at the Forum, Thermal Baths, Vetti’s House and the Lupanare brothel. Your guide will offer historical context and insight into local life here back in 79 AD. Once you’ve explored the grounds, savor an Italian pizza lunch with your group before enjoying time to wander the shops.

Afterward, travel by air-conditioned coach to Mt Vesuvius and journey on a moderate hike to the top of the active volcano with your guide. At the summit, some 3,900 feet (1,200 meters) above sea level, take in panoramic views of the Bay of Naples. Roam around the volcano's mammoth crater and keep an eye out for plumes of escaping steam. If you prefer to skip the hike, you'll enjoy free time while waiting for the group, but the trip to the top is definitely worth the effort.

After successfully climbing the top of Mt Vesuvius, relax with a ride back to your Naples hotel or back to the port in your comfortable coach.

Pompeii Archaeological Park

After pickup from your hotel or the Naples train station, take a 30-minute drive to Pompeii, an ancient Roman city that was entirely destroyed by the sudden eruption of Mt Vesuvius in 79 AD. The largest archaeological site in Europe, today Pompeii is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. When you arrive, your guide will pick up your group’s pre-ordered tickets and lead you on a 2-hour walking tour of the fascinating grounds. Witness the destruction first-hand as you visit Pompeii’s most famous sites, including the Forum, the Thermal Baths, Vetti's House and the Lupanare brothel, giving you a glimpse into daily life during the Pax Romana. Today you can see shapes of objects — even bodies — that were buried beneath the volcanic ash and pumice.

2 hours Admission Ticket Included

Vesuvius National Park

After your tour, enjoy a pizza lunch with your group followed by some free time to browse the shops. Then board the coach and drive 40 minutes to legendary Mt Vesuvius. Embark on a moderate hike up the volcano with your guide. When you reach the summit at 3,900 feet (1,200 meters), you’ll be rewarded with panoramic views of the picturesque Bay of Naples from east to west. Peer down into the crater and see plumes of steam issuing from the sleeping, but still active, volcano! There is a rest point where you can choose to wait for your group if you do not wish to climb all the way to the top, but the hike is worth the effort. After your Mt Vesuvius hike, relax on the drive back to Naples in the early evening.

1 hour Admission Ticket Included

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking, unless booked within 1 day of travel. In this case confirmation will be received as soon as possible, subject to availability
  • Comfortable walking shoes are recommended for climbing Mt. Vesuvius
  • We require a minimum of 2 participants in total every day to operate this tour. There is a possibility of cancellation after confirmation if there are not at least 2 participants for this tour. In the event of this occurring, you will be offered an alternative or full refund
  • Transport is by coach: group sizes of up to 50 people
  • Please note that for the Mt Vesuvius part of the tour, among the 4 languages available, only the English language is always guaranteed
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • In case Mt. Vesuvius National Park is closed due to bad weather conditions and/or other circumstances beyond our control, you will be refunded the entrance tickets to the National Park
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • On the path of the volcano guide is provided by the national park on request
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Lead Traveler's document ID picture required (tour purpose only)
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 35 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more

Traveler Tips


There is hardly any shade so wear a hat and plenty of suncream.
Vesuvius is sgeep and takes 30 mins to reach the top and 20 to get back down, do not wear sandals or good shoes they will get wrecked.
Reviews
4.0
2,423 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 2,423 reviews
Great tour - you will not be disappointed
Lavanya_N, Nov 2022
Would highly recommend this tour. We had 2 separate guides for the different portions of the trip and everything was smooth.
Magnifico!
Raul_G, Nov 2022
Amazing experience, we went during the off season and it payed off. Francesca was our tour guide and she’s good! Very good. Very knowledgeable, great sense of humor and kept us all involved and interested. Pompi is huge the walked us around the main areas and the most well preserved areas just plain amazing that it’s till there 2k years later. Great tour all around they were punctual and well worth the time and experience.
Pompeii was great but can't say the same with Mt Vesuvius
Dougal_M, Nov 2022
The experience at Pompeii with Elisa, our local guide, was fantastic. She was very good with her explanation, she was very knowledgeable, she was friendly and funny. Not only she gave us a good learning experience to the immense history of this magnificent site, but she made it easy to understand and made the couple of hours with her very enjoyable. However, I can.t say the same to our experience at Mt Vesuvius. The nature park was closed due to maintenance to the recent landslide. Communications from the tour group was good - we were informed the day before and was offered to change to a later date but we couldn't due to our timing and schedule in Naples. The trip to the summit did not happen. We were told that we will get refunded for that "missing" portion of the trip. We were driven in a bus to have lunch at the restaurant mid way up the mountain (the pizza for lunch was delicious!) with some pic opportunity. Then after lunch were driven to the entrance of the national park (we couldn't go further then the entrance) to take photos, and then we came back down and returned to our pick up point. We expected some sort of narration from our guide in the bus about the mighty Mt Vesuvius and the locality but he did not. It would have been better if he would. So this part of the tour was a let down.
Ruins were amazing....
John_T, Nov 2022
Ruins were amazing. Definitely a must see. Your guide was excellent. It was a rainy day so we did not go up Vesuvius.
Lovely day trip
Gemma_W, Nov 2022
It was a fantastic day but we felt like it was a little bit rushed and would have liked to see a little bit more of Pompeii. The pizza at the stop of point was FANTASTIC.. Mt Vesuvius was lovely to see and the company was fantastic keeping us up to date with the day and where we were getting picked up ect but overall it was a lovely experience and would recommend
Great tour but bummed about vesuvius
Kelly_M, Nov 2022
Pompei tour with Angela was fantastic! I was disappointed to not be able to get all the way up to Vesuvius but the lunch and ride up were cool! We did get a refund for not being able to see the top at least
A great trip - worthwhile doing !
Juliet_b, Nov 2022
The communication was good and we were picked up at our hotel ! The guide Helga was lovely ! Warm bubbly enthusiastic! We had a little limoncello tasting and although we couldn’t get to the summit of Vesuvius due to a severe wind warning - the drive up was stunning and views on every corner amamzing . Although it didn’t feel very windy - we had no choice to think they were looking after our health and safety! Then we were taken for a pizza ! I expected to get a slice along the way - but NO ! It was a lovely whole pizza and a drink in a restaurant in a breathtaking position . Then we drove to Pompeii! And very sadly we had to swap guides - to Francesca - who spoke very unclearly - seemed uninterested in the job and the group - and although we followed around we didn’t use the ear phone device much as she was pretty unengaging . One of the young women on the tour had been before and told us lots of interesting facts as we trailed our guide . Pompeii was very interesting and the whole trip was definitely worth while doing despite our guide of the second half !
One great guide- one terrible guide
mjbass55, Nov 2022
Weather was a challenge but I commend the driver getting us to the top of Vesuvius and down to Pompeii after. The reason for 3 stars is the same as many other reviews- Elga the first guide was terrible right from the start. No welcome to anyone until we were well onto the freeway. She seemed uninterested in the group and after the park closed for rain we were left w zero information from her for about 45 minutes. Lunch was good but zero explanation of what was included and never a question of did we enjoy. Zero customer skill. What a difference the guide in Pompeii who was amazing from the minute we started w her. Pick up was on time at 9.25am but maybe due to the weather tge drop off was past 6 which for some in our group was a challenge for connections so if you think it’s go to end at 5 it very well might not. Since we never entered Vesuvius park it will be Interesting to see if we get a refund of the admission fees.
Pompeii
YALINGCHEN_L, Nov 2022
Our guide Maria is absolutely wonderful! She is very knowledgeable and she gets everyone involved in learning how a day in Pompeii would like in 79 AD. I did not go to Vesuvius because of the tight cruise schedule but I will strongly recommend people to take this tour! Maria is the best!
Pompeii and Vesuvius
Kathryn_A, Oct 2022
Pompeii with guide was excellent, as was lunch with choices. Vesuvius did not have any guide or information provided. There were ranger guides at the top, however due to time constraints, we were unable to join a group.
Great trip, thoroughly...
DENNIS_N, Oct 2022
Great trip, thoroughly enjoyed it. Francesca was our tour guide and she was very knowledgeable. Great day!
Worst tour guides of my life! Stay away at all costs
Jaime_B, Oct 2022
The entire trip was a total embarrassment. All of the people we were in contact with were unfriendly, rude and totally uncaring. The driver was driving at 100km per hour whilst on his phone (see photo attached)the first guide ‘Maria’ didn’t talk to us the whole of the way to Pompei: at Pompei we were told to meet up after 10 minutes. We were all there and waited for the guide Francesca who arrived 4O minutes late! No one approached us to explain what was happening. We were treated like invisible numbers. The last guide that took us to Vesuvius, Angela, was the worst. On the way back she ignored us all completely. Spoke the whole time with the driver about private business. Phoned her family! Spoke badly about the tourists on board but didn’t even pretend to care or even remotely ask if we had a good time. I understood everything the driver and guide were saying but they didn’t realise. The French group were all dropped far away together because the driver said to the guide I quote: nun ci parlare con sti qua senno’ non ti levi di dosso’ which means ‘don’t talk to them otherwise you won’t be able to get rid of them’ I was furious!!! Don’t they realise that is tourists pay their wages?!?!? What arrogant group of people. The driver on his phone had 15 people in his responsibility. What he was doing was illegal. Also the second guide Francesca said I should get a refund for my young daughter but I said I had to pay full for her. I wrote to the company my concerns but have received not one word back! Stay away!!!!!
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Dear Sirs you forgot to say that in the town there was a special event, a marathon and all the city center was closed to the traffic. Our staff did all the best to go on with the tour despite the hard situation and that was the reason of the unusual waiting. Maybe some guide was a little bit stressed for it and not so friendly as they use to be but in the end we succeeded to provide the service to everybody. Regards
Got only one of the three parts of the tour we signed up and paid for
Rita_O, Oct 2022
We signed up for- and paid for- an all day excursion that included Pompeii, a pizza lunch and then a climb up Mt. Vesuvius. Imagine our surprise when after our walk through Pompeii we were informed that we would be taken back to the ship because there was not time to do the rest of the tour before our ship departed. Our ship's itinerary had not changed one iota since we had booked the tour long before we arrived in Italy. It was lunch time and so we asked about the pizza lunch. No, we would not get lunch either because lunch was only for those on the full tour. But we paid for the full tour. Then we were made to wait nearly an hour while arrangements were made to get us back to the ship. We arrived back at the ship just before 3 p.m., hungry and mad. We overheard a tour guide from another company state that this tour does this all the time- sell all day tours to people when they know they cannot deliver because of the ship's departure time. Even if (and it is a big if, since we have not seen any refund) they have to refund half the tour, they still got you to book with them. Viator needs to drop this tour! The guide for the morning Pompeii part of the tour kept loosing more than half her group because she was very short and carried her little umbrella at her face level instead of a flag on a stick held high so people could see her. Pompeii was, of course, very,very crowded and it was already very difficult to follow any one group. Our group was quite large - about 25 people- and the guide never waited long enough for the back half of the group to move up and see what she was talking about before she left and was on to the next new view. In addition she was soft spoken and had a heavy accent making it hard to hear/understand. All in all the tour was stressful as we seldom had time to actually see what she was stopping to point out, were always anxious to not loose her and couldn't understand much of her talk. Not the best tour in our 30 years of cruising and taking excursions. Pompeii is certainly historical and very interesting but be prepared for absolutely crushing numbers of crowds. Viator we want our refund for the lunch and Volcano part of the tour that was denied us!!!!
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Dear Sirs we didn't deny you a part of the tour, that was you who were unable to join the second part because you had not time enough for it. If we would have taken you to Vesuvius you should have missed your ship but our staff was so careful to realize it and aware you. Regards
Good tour
Janet_H, Oct 2022
Great guide however we had to wait for other tourist who were late for bus. Guide should have compensated at lunch by taking time off at lunch so we were not rushed.
Pompeii/Vesuvius day
Sonya_H, Oct 2022
The view from the top was amazing. The hike was a little more involved then led on to be, but we took our time and it was fine. Looking into the crater was interesting, thought I’d see more but seeing I was at the top of the volcano so I’m glad I didn’t see lava. We stopped to have lunch on Vesuvius but that took longer than expected so we ended up being pressed for time for the hike. The tour company arranged to take us back to our private transport. That was very nice seeing we were almost an hour past our original meeting time. The tour of Pompeii was best due to Francesca, she was so knowledgeable with the right amount of humor to keep us interested. This tour is a definite must do. My only criticism would be a lot of hurry up and wait before the tours started.
Great Adventure
Ralph_D, Oct 2022
My wife & I picked up at hotel as scheduled. Driven Pompeii and met our guide Matteo. He led us on a 3 hour tour of Pompeii that was great. His love of Pompeii was evident in the first 5 minutes of the tour . Was knowledgeable, informative and held everyone’s interest. Lunch was included and afterwards bused to Mt. Vesuvius where we climbed to the highest point. Takes about 35 minutes each way. Views were spectacular and worth the climb. Afterwards excellent coordination to get everyone to appropriate buses to get you back to your original point of departure. Very well coordinated and highly recommend doing the trip. Well worth the money.
This tour company made a mess of this tour
joycerhartley, Oct 2022
First, let me say we enjoyed what we saw of Pompeii, and climbing to the top of Mt Vesuvius was one of the highlights of our trip. But none of that was thanks to the company that organized the tour. They were 40 minutes late picking us up; we were standing at the pickup point deciding which one we were going to try to do on our own. (I tried calling them, but just got a short recording in Italian and no chance to leave a message.) Also tried messaging them, with no response. So we headed to Pompeii, where we met up with a bunch of other people who were already there. Apparently this company advertises several different variations of this activity and throughout the day they have to divide the group, reorganize who is on what bus, etc. Too much "housekeeping" time. Our guide in Pompeii was pretty lame. She spoke soooo verrrryyyyyy sllloooooowwwwwlllllyyyyyyy - I suspect in part because somehow our group was no longer just in English, we had a few non-English speakers in the group (for whom I felt very sorry). She also seemed to be more into providing entertainment rather than actually providing us with historical accurate information. Much of what she told us seemed totally made up. Lunch was a disaster. We had until 2:30 to eat and go to the meeting point, but the pizzas didn't arrive until 2:40. We'd had a pasta option as well - hubby and I got one of each - but the pasta wasn't edible. We got to the meeting point, and there were a zillion other people there. Now we were two giant tour buses full (did I mention, that when we signed up this was advertised as "small group"? there was NOTHING small group about it at all). So they had to read off names to assign us to which bus - I think one was going somewhere else. Then drive up to Vesuvius. These kinds of busses should NOT be allowed on those roads. I won't even get into that whole rant. At Vesuvius, we were put off the bus and told what time we needed to be back. There wasn't a guide in Vesuvius like the description says, but there's also not a need for one. What makes the hike hard is the small lose gravel on the path (just a warning for other visitors). But getting to the top - worth it! Halfway down the mountain, we had to pull over so they could divide us up AGAIN. They read off names to go to this (smaller) bus or that bus to be returned to our original dropoff point. In general, this tour company sucks. I would avoid them totally. But do Pompeii (with a guide with a background in archeology!) and Vesuvius, for sure!
Terrific - just not long enough at Pompeii
Alan_W, Oct 2022
We had a really good tour. The sites and views were/are fabulous. We had no idea that Pompeii was so big. One small issue, was that our initial guide met us and got us on the bus. She then said very little on the way to Vesuvius and were pointed in the direction to walk. On the way to Pompeii we were told very little again, before arriving for lunch. After lunch we were then passed on to another Guide who was fantastic and brought Pompeii to life in the limited time we had there. It was him who directed us to our bus home and it was only the driver who took us home without the first guide. If I’m being honest, I question the purpose of the original guide. Ideally, I would like the first guide to be more informative throughout the day and tell us the days itinerary.
Great experience
Robert_N, Oct 2022
Had a fantastic day with guidance in Pompei, lunch and then a moderate hike on Vesuvio. Everything was as advertised and it was well worth the money, instead of going on your own.
The tour of Pompei was...
Joe_B, Oct 2022
The tour of Pompei was very interesting! Would definitely recommend! Spent about 2 hours walking through the town. Bus picked us up right at hotel.
...