Rome to Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius by High-Speed Train (max 18 people)

Napoli, Italy

From $363.18

Select Date and Travelers

You will not receive a refund if you cancel.
  • 10 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Discover historic landmarks beyond Rome with a full-day small-group tour to Pompeii by high-speed train. Travel from Rome to Naples and get picked up by an English-speaking guide. Explore the archaeological ruins at Pompeii and learn about the eruption of nearby Mount Vesuvius. Drive up to Mount Vesuvius and visit the volcano’s crater with a guide.
  • Travel to Naples from Rome via high-speed train
  • Skip the line with premium access tickets to Pompeii
  • Walk around the crater of Mount Vesuvius
  • Lunch with views of Mount Vesuvius is included

What's Included

  • Pick up and Drop off at Naples Train Station (you will join the group at the Hotel Terminus)
  • Transport by air-conditioned minivan
  • Guaranteed to skip the long lines
  • Guide/Audioguide (If the group doesn't reach 6 people, the guide will be replaced by an audioguide)
  • Lunch
  • High-speed Train Ticket, round-trip (from Rome to Naples and return)
  • Entrance Tickets
  • Pick up / Drop off at your Hotel or Apartment in Rome (possibility to book a transfer on request)
  • Gratuities

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Starhotels Terminus Giuseppe Garibaldi, 91, 80142 Napoli NA, Italy

    You will be picked up in front of Hotel Terminus in Naples, right in front of the Train Station of Napoli Centrale (you will get there by high-speed train from Rome)

Start time

07:00 AM

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 18 travelers
Operated by Driver In Italy

Cancellation Policy

This experience is non-refundable and cannot be changed for any reason. If you cancel or ask for an amendment, the amount you paid will not be refunded.

      Traveler Photos

      4 reviews
      Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
      Reviews by Viator travelers.
      Showing 1-2 of 4 reviews
      Great day trip from Roma to Pompeii and Mt Vecevius
      Dean_M, Jul 2022
      We took high speed train from Rome to Naples for the day trip. Pompeii was amazing! We than went to Mt Vecevius which was great. 25 min hike to the crater. Not bad at all. I will say there are NO toilets at Mt Vecevius so better do your business before arriving there. Our driver Fernando and Guide Greta were both great. Made the trip a fun one!
      Response from Host, Sep 2022
      Hi Dean, thanks a lot for your amazing review!!! You're right, sometimes the operators of the travel industry forget to mentions that in places like the Vesuvius there are no toilets or, also, in Pompeii ruins you can't find a bottle of water or a fountain in the streets :-))) Well, even with these little surprises it seems that both places are really worth a visit... Thank you from all the staff!
      Great to see but use a different company.
      Andrea_L, May 2022
      Pompeii was a great tour. The assigned assistant had a plan and did not adjust. We were on time yet treated as if we were late. The air conditioned bus broke and others without AC were substituted. People were added to our group throughout. The “tour” of Vesuvius isn’t a tour - guide walked off. The facilitator sent us into gate to find a guide and then return.
      Response from Host, Jun 2022
      Dear Andrea, first of all let me thank you for having shared your feedback with us. The important thing is that you had the chance to experience two amazing sites as Pompeii and the Vesuvius. Regarding this latter, unfortunately the guiding service on the Vesuvius doesn't depend on us: the guides are Vesuvius National Park employees and the service they offer is not that good (as you mentioned, it happens that they simply walk off and don't care about the visitors they should escort!). Any company you use, this part of the visit will work the same way. The issue with the bus... what to say: we are REALLY sorry. Unfortunately things happen. We did the possible and impossible to provide a new bus the fastest we can, and thanks to that the tour could go on with almost no more hussle (well, the air conditioned may look like a big isse, but in mid May generally noone uses it yet :-)))) ) Thank you again!