Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"

Sorrento and Amalfi Coast Independent Day Trip from Naples

Badge of ExcellenceNapoli, Italy

From $101.48

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 8 hours (approx.)
  • Hotel pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Discover Sorrento and the UNESCO-listed Amalfi Coast on this independent day trip from Naples. Led by your own driver, take a relaxed ride to the town of Sorrento to wander its charming streets at your leisure. Afterward, travel along the scenic Amalfi Coast to Positano, Ravello and Amalfi, with time to purchase lunch, sightsee or souvenir shop at your own expense. After a day of independent exploration, enjoy a smooth ride back to your original departure point.
  • Full-day independent trip to Sorrento and the Amalfi Coast from Naples
  • Travel to the clifftop resort of Sorrento, gateway to the UNESCO-listed Amalfi Coast
  • Enjoy free time to explore Sorrento’s pretty piazzas, lanes and cathedral independently
  • Drive along the stunning Amalfi coastal and stop to visit Positano, Amalfi and Ravello
  • Enjoy free time in each town to sightsee, shop and enjoy lunch
  • Perfect for travelers keen to explore these scenic towns at their leisure

What's Included

  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Driver
  • Transport by shared air-conditioned minivan
  • Villages access taxes
  • Guide
  • Gratuities
  • Food and drinks
  • Entrance fees to attractions

Meeting And Pickup

You can head directly to your preferred meeting point, or request pickup.

Meeting points

Select a meeting point
Type to search

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

Pickup details

Please insert your accommodation address in Naples (hotel, b&b, airbnb) in the "Special Requirements" section when booking, then call the local supplier the evening before your tour after 7PM to know your pick up time and if your pick up will be at your accommodation, nearby, or at our starting point.

What To Expect

Begin your day trip at your central hotel in Naples or at the city's train station. Meet your driver and hop aboard your minivan toward Sorrento, the clifftop resort just west of the Amalfi Coast, a 40-mile (64-km) shoreline renowned for its brightly-hued villages and dramatic cliffs.

After a relaxing journey, arrive in Sorrento and enjoy free time to roam at your own pace. Check out the town's central Piazza Tasso, the 15th-century cathedral or peruse the local shops and cafes.

Reunite with your group and continue along the Amalfi Coast, with views of the glimmering Mediterranean and the region's famous lemon groves.

Arrive in Positano, a town of confetti-colored buildings spread between the cliffs. Admire the Church of St Maria Assunta, relax with coffee and a pastry or pick up a souvenir at the chic boutiques and galleries.

Next stop in Amalfi, where you can savor some southern Italian fare for lunch (own expense) or visit the impressive 9th-century cathedral.

Your final stop takes you higher into the cliffs, to the town of Ravello. Consider using your time here to see the 13th-century Villa Rufolo (own expense), with gardens showcasing spectacular views of the coast.

Afterward, drive back to Naples, where your trip ends at your original departure point or any city center location of your choosing.

Sorrento

Meet your driver at your central Naples hotel or at Naples’ central train station. Then, board your air-conditioned minivan and head south to Sorrento, the clifftop resort just west of the UNESCO-listed Amalfi Coast, a 40-mile (64-km) chunk of shore famed for its steep cliffs and confetti-colored villages. On arrival in Sorrento, enjoy an hour of free time to explore this charming town as you wish. Perhaps stroll the winding lanes, enjoy the bars and shops in the central square, Piazza Tasso, or check out the majestic 15th-century cathedral — it’s entirely up to you.

1 hour Admission Ticket Free

Positano

Then, rejoin your minibus and keep your camera ready as you drive along the Amalfi Coast, tracing its winding cliffside road between lemon groves and the sparkling Mediterranean on route to Positano. Wedged between cliffs, Positano’s pastel houses fall steeply down to the sea, forming one of the Amalfi Coast's scenic highpoints. Arrive in the town and use an hour of free time here to perhaps shop at the chic boutiques and galleries, relax over coffee, or admire the Church of St Maria Assunta, famous for its tiled dome.

1 hour Admission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking, unless booked within 1 day of travel. In this case confirmation will be received as soon as possible, subject to availability
  • Please respect the time scale of the tour, and ensure you meet with your driver promptly after each stop
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Collapsible wheelchairs with removable wheels can be accommodated ONLY providing the passenger is accompanied by someone who can assist them board and disembark
  • Please note that in Ravello and Amalfi, due to the structure of the villages, a lot of stair climbing is involved
  • Comfortable walking shoes are recommended
  • We require a minimum of 2 participants in total every day to operate this tour. There is a possibility of cancellation after confirmation if there are not at least 2 participants for this tour. In the event of this occurring, you will be offered an alternative or full refund
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Lead Traveler's document ID picture required (tour purpose only)
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 11 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more

Traveler Tips


It's a lot to squeeze in but worth seeing all the different towns
Good timing if you are coming from Rome can catch the 7.35 train from Rome which will make you in time for the tour.
This day trip is great if you have a short time and want to see the highlights of the coast.
Reviews
4.5
437 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 437 reviews
The driver Giovanni was...
Louisa_C, Jan 2023
The driver Giovanni was very kind and helpful, a very skillful driver and is very knowlegable about the locations visited. Highly recommend, beautiful views and great atmosphere
Must see UNESCO coastline.
Stephen_A, Jan 2023
Punctuality, informative, relaxed, comfortable. Reasonable time allocated to each town. Bit of walking involved downhill to beach at Positano, so allow time to return. The terrazza / gardens at Ravallo are simply not sign posted; there are signs for everything else. You can end up doing a lot of uphill walking and U turns and feel like going around mulberry bush. People we asked gave us different directions, nobody really knew. So best Google map / screenshot in advance as it is supposed to be a highlight. All in good value. Thanks to Giovanni.
Perfect day!
CSOGIN2, Dec 2022
Wonderful, knowledgeable guide/driver. Very friendly and helpful. The coast must be seen and this is the perfect way to do it!
Amazing everything, the...
Fabian_A, Nov 2022
Amazing everything, the driver was very kind and the places, the view beautiful, the time was exactly that we need it
Beauty of the Amalie Coast
Diane_C, Nov 2022
The scenery was incredible. Glad I wasn’t driving Took lots of pictures. Our group of six were put with 2 French ladies who didn’t speak English. Would rather it was the six of us as I thought it would be when booked.
Pick up at the hotel was...
Petra_O, Nov 2022
Pick up at the hotel was perfect, good minibus, good driver. There was no restaurant stop, and it was not indicated that its skipped. So we ended up eating very late take away food in order not to lose time in Amalfi
Stunning Amalfi Coast
Julian_T, Nov 2022
Small Group (7 persons) Comfortable van Excellent Driver who was also very nice and helpful The Amalfi Coast is stunning and a great way to see so much in just one day.
Great trip all the way around.
Ronald_S, Nov 2022
Great trip all the way around. Our God was on time and stuck with our guidelines for getting back on the ship. We’re very happy with the trip.
Beautiful Trip to Rugged Amalfi Coast
JillAnne_M, Nov 2022
Excellent driver who took us to the Amalfi Coast. Free time stops in Sorrento, Positano, and Amalfi with a stop for a cliff side lunch over the ocean, and a lemoncello factory shopping stop. A full day and back to the ship on time! Very nice driver.
Breath Taking......
Kenneth_S, Nov 2022
An excellent tour with Gio! The drive was breath taking...we were given incredible insight throughout the entire trip. Stopped at 4 location and had time to spend in each city...this is experience we will never forget! Well worth it!!
Amazing day trip on the Amalfi Coast!
Tommy_F, Oct 2022
This day trip was awesome. Our guide Giovanni was funny & knowledgeable—and an expert at driving along those narrow and winding mountain roads. Driving through the mountains really allowed us to see some amazing sights along the way. We initially didn't think an hour in each town would be enough but it was the right amount of time to see the key sights. Our van opted not to stop for lunch, but we had time to grab lunch in Amalfi on our own and then we were back at our hotel by 5:30pm.
Wonderful tour
Rebecca_R, Oct 2022
Our tour guide Paulo was fantastic and treated us like kings and queens, each stop was very enjoyable and he made sure to point out all the great attractions along the way to each stop. Lunch was a spectacular highlight eating under the lemon trees looking out amongst the ocean was beautiful. Unfortunately we had to end our tour short due to our flight schedule but Paulo was very receptive to our needs and got us back to our original starting point without fail. I will highly recommend this tour to all my friends working at United airlines we have lots of people looking for great tours and this one is well worth the time and cost.
Excellent trip
Lynaia_R, Oct 2022
Our weather was perfect. Our guide was exceptional knew the area and history. We would definitely use Viator again to do this trip.
Fantastic trip
Paul_K, Oct 2022
Driver was friendly, informative. Gave us extra time for lunch. Plenty of time to sightsee. Made sure that everyone was comfortable. The views are extraordinary
Not great for a solo traveller.
kwiebe34, Oct 2022
The big positive of this trip was the tour guide, he was great. Unfortunately, the minivan seats 8 (2 in the front, 3 in the middle, 3 in the back) so single guy is stuck in the middle. Everyone is from the equator so no one wanted the air conditioning on. The guide did his best (not his fault) but the winding road, starting and stopping, the tour guide (and others) smoking and no air conditioning when it is 32 degrees out (and all the windows rolled out because everyone is apparently freezing) means that I got out of the van back in Naples and promptly vomited in the alley from car sickness. I would STRONGLY advise if you are as solo traveler to just get a private tour - because you are not sitting near an open window!
Fabulous day out with Gianfranco, our excellent tour guide. Good value for money.
SuzanneHoldbrook, Oct 2022
Our tour guide, Gianfranco, was fabulous, a very safe driver and stopped at various places. For photo opportunities. He was knowledgeable and helpful. Pick up times and stops worked like clockwork and we were back at our cruise ship in plenty of time. Excellent value for money and communication was great.
Driver Mauro is...
Rosa_C, Oct 2022
Driver Mauro is knowledgeable and gentil. Trip was on time. The food of the restaurant was expensive
Good trip, and good value for what you paid for
Arash_M, Oct 2022
In general we enjoyed the trip, however there are too many places to visit in this trip and you are not able to spend more time in each place For each of the above place you have an hour of your own to walk and visit the area and the rest of your time will be spend on the car in the road The only negative highlight in this trip was the restaurant The tour guide will take you to specific restaurant in the middle of the road which you will not have any other option to choose The restaurant food quality is poor and it is very expensive and the restaurant service is very bad I recommend you talk to tour leader to take you somewhere else which you can have many choices and would be able to choose your own restaurant . Or bring your own lunch with you. If you do so you will gain one more hour to spend where you like to spend your time to. Also, there are many scenic location in the road for example in positano but due to conjusted traffic we were not able to stop and take photos
Very disappointed - misleading description of tour
jefrosh, Oct 2022
We did not go on this tour because we arrived at the meeting point and first learned that it was not as advertised by Viator. This was supposed to be an independent tour with our own driver in a minivan. We were met by a tour guide who told us there were 21 people in an extended full size van. We requested a refund due to the deceptive advertising and our concerns over COVID. We never would have booked this had we known the arrangements. The tour guide told us that we would need to request a refund from Viator. We would like to be contacted to get our refund.
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Dear Sirs I'm sorry but you were expecting something different from our activity. That tour does not consists of a personal driver with a minivan but it is a daily tour in group with more people and we choose the appropriate vehicle depending on participant's number. On your date we also offered a guide for free that was not included in the price you paid. Anyway you abandoned the tour on your own will and refund is not due in this case because you engaged seats on board and did not allow us to sell those places to other potential customers. Best regards
Great guide
Tao_F, Oct 2022
Gianfranco is a great guide and driver. He's very professional and pleasant. Tried very hard to stick to the schedule through crazy traffic. Thanks, Tao
...