Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"

Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Ferry Ticket optional Upgrade

New York City, United States

From $39.99

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 1 to 3 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


The Statue of Liberty is one of the most famous symbols of the US, and one of NYC’s most-visited attractions. Book ferry tickets in advance to avoid long lines at the Battery Park ticket booths. Choose a ticket type that suits you, from great-value flex tickets to fast-track reserve-line tickets. All options include access to Ellis Island too.
  • Save time by prebooking ferry tickets for Liberty and Ellis islands
  • Pick a ticket option to suit your budget and travel style
  • Upgrade for fast-track reserve line ferry access.
  • Choose a departure time that fits in with your schedule
Operated by:

What's Included

  • Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Ferry Ticket
  • Professional NYC Tour guide for the Self Guided and Fully guided tour
  • Audio Guide in 13 Languages
  • Ellis Island Immigrant Museum
  • Statue of Liberty all new Museum located on Liberty Island
  • Reserve Fast Track Access (optional upgrade)

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Frequently Asked Questions

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.

Filter by:

Q:How early should I arrive for my Statue of Liberty Ferry?

A:Please be sure to arrive at least 15 minutes prior to your selected departure time.

Sep 2022

Q:What is the departure location for the Statue of Liberty Ferry?

A:The ferry departs from Castle Clinton in Battery Park, however, you will need to meet your guide at the address on your voucher in order to collect your actual ferry ticket.

Sep 2022

Q:How can I get to the meeting location?

A:The closest subway stations to the meeting location are South Ferry Station (1), White Hall Street Station (N,R,W), and Bowling Green (4,5).

Sep 2022

Q:Is there parking available near the departure point for the Stature of Liberty ferry?

A:The nearest parking is available around the corner on Pearl Street. Parking rates apply and may vary. For convenience, you may wish to take public transportation, a taxi, or a car service, such as Uber or Lyft.

Sep 2022

Q:If I miss my departure time can I take a later ferry?

A:Your ticket is only good for the specific time and date printed on the ticket. If you are unable to make your scheduled departure for any reason, please contact the local operator at the phone number on your ticket.

Sep 2022

Q:Can I bring an infant with me on the Statue of Liberty ferry?

A:Yes - infants 2 years and younger travel complimentary as a lap child on the ferry. If you plan to bring an infant, please notate the child's age in the Special Requirements box at checkout.

Sep 2022

Q:Can I bring food and/or drinks with me on the ferry?

A:Yes, you are allowed to bring your food and beverage for lunch it must be sealed to enter the screening facility (coolers are not allowed). Pedestal Reserve ticket holders should be aware that food or beverages will not be allowed in the screening facility on Liberty Island.

Sep 2022

Q:Can I bring alcohol with me on the ferry?

A:Alcohol is not allowed onboard the ferries and is not allowed in the screening facility.

Sep 2022

Q:Is food/drink available for purchase onboard the ferry?

A:Yes, there is a snack bar located on all of the ferries serving food and souvenirs. All payments (Cash, Visa, Master Card, and American Express) are accepted not including personal checks.

Sep 2022

Q:Are restrooms available onboard the ferry?

A:Yes, bathrooms are located on the ferries; Ellis Island and Liberty Island bathrooms are wheelchair accessible.

Sep 2022

Traveler Photos

See more
100 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 100 reviews
Not worth it
Mary_M, Jan 2023
The lines were extremely LONG. Purchasing the tour didn't seem to shorten the lines AT ALL. The so-called tour was a 10-minute talk across the street from the ferry. Then, we were on our own. We never saw the tour guide again. It would have been a lot less expensive to do this on our own. I definitely do NOT recommend this tour to anyone!!
Response from Host, Jan 2023
You purchased tickets only. You entered on the group line which is long but 1/3 of the wait as individual tickets. The Statue of Liberty was sold out and we offered a service not available elsewhere.
Excellent tour
CitraAnnisa_A, Jan 2023
meeting point easily to find, the start time of the trip was just right, the information is very clear, not binding must follow, given free time, recomended tour.
Arvind_S, Jan 2023
LeAnn was an excellent guide very knowledgeable and energetic with stories of the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. Logistics: Easy to find the meeting spot and transfers across 3 separate ferries were smooth.
Our guide was a French...
kim_m, Dec 2022
Our guide was a French lady I don't quite remember her name but when we got off the bus it was basically a foot race through the neighborhood of dyker heights She did not pause to look at the houses did not stop at any of the hot chocolate pl Vendors on the way It was a very cold night below 0 I tried to cancel and rearrange for a more warmer day as I made my reservations a month in advance from Florida They told me if I canceled they would keep my money So I was stuck going on the day that I did which would have been fine if it would have been a guided tour and stopped to take pictures of the beautiful homes instead of basically holding up a lighted stick and said follow me. At the end of the tour we got lost had to call and have them come back to pick us up. The tour guide moved so fast I mentioned to her several times that I have back problems and could we just move at a normal pace no reply just ignored me. Would not recommend this diker heights tour unless your an Olympic athlete, Merry Christmas
Awesome and educational
Vernisha_F, Dec 2022
Our tour guide was very friendly and knowledgeable, I learnt a lot during the tour. Only issue was that sometimes we couldn’t hear her when she was at the front.
Something all families...
Cami_R, Dec 2022
Something all families should expense in New York. We had a great time even in the freezing temps! We brought the entire family
Land of the FREE!!!
Paul_M, Dec 2022
It was bitter cold and our tour guide did awesome under the conditions. She was knowledgeable and very informative.
Don’t use this company
Michael_C, Nov 2022
I would never recommend using this company ever again over 45 minutes waiting on the street by a Starbucks looking for somebody with a yellow flag and they never showed up. I have to buy new tickets from another company.
Danielle_S, Nov 2022
We had an amazing guide who was very informative the boat ride was amazing it definitely is a must do if you have family in town or in the country
James_B, Nov 2022
Loretta was nice. From the onset, she communicated that her boss did not pay her and that she was working for tips only. She repeated this severely times. Loretta’s dates and information were not accurate and she did not know basic information about the monuments. She also told us she we soils stay with her or not it was up to us…I’m not really sure what we paid for. I will NEVER recommend this tour to anyone else and the operator should be embarrassed.
Inaudible tour guide.
KathleenStreem_S, Nov 2022
The guide should have a mic. Impossible to follow ANYTHING he was saying, so paying all the extra fees was a complete waste of money. I do not have a hearing deficit. The rest of the group agreed. It’s not the guides fault.
Great and thoroughly enjoyed
Randall_S, Sep 2022
Loretta Thomas, my guide, was outstanding! She knew ALL the intricate information regarding the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. Your company is fortunate to have her as a guide. She was EXCELLENT !
Great experience,
Tara_P, Aug 2022
Our group guide was very very very nice. I was not feeling good and she did really good take care of me.
Unforgettable experience
Cristian_E, Aug 2022
It was a great experience, the guide was very knowledgeable and funny which made the trip all that more fun.
Gracious lady Liberty of New York
Ingrid_A, Aug 2022
The tour at the statue of liberty and seeing her upclose. The view from Ellis Idland of the Manhattan buildings. The Museum was very enlightening on our Nation's history. The Tour Guide. Dean was very informative. We plan to visit in a few weeks again
Most Frustrating Booking Experience
Larry_G, Jul 2022
Most frustrating experience I’ve had with a company in a long time. Booked a Statue of Liberty with Ellis Island tour. Descriptions of tours on your website are very vague and conflicting as to as to what options are included. When I contacted Viator by phone the experience got much worse. Your call center agents knew nothing about the tours. They were just reading back to me the same descriptions that were on the website. One thing I wanted, and was more than happy to pay for, was a FastLane ticket for the ferry trip to the Statue of Liberty since the regular ferry line can be very long. I’d ask the agent if a FastLane ticket was part of a specific tour and they would always say “yes, can I book it for you now”. I’d then ask the agent why the FastLane option was not listed on the website for that tour package. The agent would put me on hold for 10min, come back and say “No the FastLane is not included, can I book it for you now”. Other times they said they needed to call the tour operator and would call me back. I never got a call back. After being told by a Viator agent that a particular tour did include the FastLane ticket I purchased the tour. My confirmation receipt didn’t mention the FastLane so I called back only to be told that it wasn’t included, there was an upgrade option. I was frustrated that something thing so simple as booking a ferry to the Statue of Liberty had become so time consuming. That said, I was fine at that point to pay for the upgrade. But rather than Viator simply fixing the issue by letting me pay the additional $25 per ticket, the agent told me to call the local tour operator myself. I could tell he wanted me off the phone to get on his next call, as I’d already bought a tour so I was of no value towards his meeting his new bookings quota. The local operator was helpful and I paid them directly for the upgrade for the FastLane ticket. They said that Viator would receive that info and provide me the upgraded tickets. But Viator never had any record of upgrade. After 1hr on the phone with a Viator agent they still couldn’t confirm my upgrade. The agent promised to call me back and never did. Overall I spoke to at least 3-4 different agents and had the similar experiences to the above with each one. What is obvious is how much pressure they were under to book a tour and move onto the next call. I paid Viator $259 and the local operator $100.
Poorly done.
George_W, Jul 2022
We also had a 1:45 pm start time. They called and asked us to come early at 1:00. We did not get to have lunch. Which was planned in that window. When we arrived the guide gave us 40 minutes to meet back. Not enough time to go the the museum and tour the statue. Then when we returned where and when she told us too, she did not show up. We never saw her again. It was a total rip off. Very disappointed!
Response from Host, Jul 2022
You just purchased a 30 min orientation and a self guided tour. Self guided means you get the audio guide and go on your own. That is why you wound not see the guide
Don’t book a tour guide! It’s not worth it!
Shernita_P, Jul 2022
First of all, we only had the tour guide from outside Starbucks to the entrance of the dock. After that, we were basically on our own through the entire experience! And to make it worse, the $60 that I paid per person did not even include a tour of the Statue of Liberty! What a waste of money! I could have bought my tickets to tour the Statue of Liberty on my own without paying for a tour guide! Tickets to tour the Statue of Liberty is only $24.99! What a rip off!!!
Was great and a wonderful...
John_B, Jul 2022
Was great and a wonderful tour guide. Went with wife and we had a great time wish you were there. Thanks
Hated it!
Esther_P, Jul 2022
Don’t waste your money on this grossly overpriced tour. Total rip off! From beginning to end it felt like a scam. Very unprofessional, unappealing and boring. Waste of money and time!