Pompeii Skip the Line Admission Ticket and Audioguide

Pompeii, Italy

From $38.58

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 3 hours (approx.)
  • Offered in: English


Visit the ruins of Pompeii at your own pace during this self-guided audio tour, which includes an audioguide service with headset rental and skip-the-line admission tickets. Skip the rush of a group visit, exploring the UNESCO-listed attraction on your own. See bakeries, villas, theaters, and baths, and learn about everyday life under the Roman Empire.
  • A self-guided, skip-the-line audioguide tour of Pompeii
  • See how volanic ash preserved the ancient city for millennia
  • Beat the usual wait times with pre-booked, direct entry admission tickets
  • Choose your own pace, exploring the site at your own rhythm

What's Included

  • audioguide service
  • entrance tickets
  • It is necessary to leave an identity card for the rental of the audio guide
  • Passport are required to check the children age
  • You can use the free parking of the Osteria Nonna Cherubina, located in Via Andolfi 46, 80045 Pompei
  • guided tour
  • extra fees
  • food and beverages
  • hotel pick up

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Via Villa dei Misteri, 1
    Via Villa dei Misteri, 1, 80045 Pompei NA, Italy

    TEMPIO TRAVEL AGENCY, 1st floor of Pompei Scavi villa dei Misteri Circumvesuviana train station.

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

Ticket redemption point

Via Villa dei Misteri, 1, 80045 Pompei NA, Italy

What To Expect

Pompeii Archaeological Park

Admission Ticket Included

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Traveler Photos

See more
26 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 26 reviews
Fantastic tour of Pompeii
Kate_H, Mar 2023
We had a great guide who was knowledgeable about Pompeii and it’s surroundings. He took time to explain the city’s history as well as painted a clear picture of what liked in the bustling city was like. I also enjoyed how he worked in time for us to explore on our own and take pictures.
pompeii phones guide
Glen_H, Nov 2022
this review is not aimed at Viator direct but the service provider in Pompeii. Nothing was memorable about our experience with this company in Pompeii. no earpieces a phone that had a mind of its own confusing to use with the map that was provided as map if way out of proportion. numbers don't relate would not recommend using this service to anybody
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Dear Glen, we are really sorry to read your feedback. We don't provide headphones due to the pandemic situation but this is clearly written on the site and it's also communicated by the front office staff. Obviously, touring such a big site with a map and a phone without GPS can be hard, that's why we always suggest to exchange with a guided tour but the customers often don't believe to us. Best regards
Mediocre at best.
Louise_K, Nov 2022
Pompeii was special. Amazing sights and fantastic to visit but I wouldn’t recommend booking this tour. The check in point was difficult to find, with no signage. The audio guide did not come with headphones and it was disrespectful to play it using the speakers and disturb everyone else so we didn’t use it at all. Pointless really. There a literally a dozen places to purchase tour tickets, go somewhere else.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Dear Louise, I'm really sad to read these words. Just to clarify, when you book our services, we send you a voucher with the meeting point address and once here there are a lot of posts with our logo. We don't provide the headphones due to pandemic situation, but it's clearly explained both on the site and by the front office staff. I'm sorry that you recommend other agencies since you haven't tried them, so you can't give your opinion. Best regards.
Blown Away at Pompeii!!
Angela_W, Nov 2022
I thought Pompeii would be cool because I'm really into history but I expected a few outlines of buildings on the ground and the famous bodies. I was blown away at how much of the city is there. Also it's way larger than I expected. I loved Rome but think Pompeii was even cooler.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Hi Angela, thanks for your kind words, we are happy you loved Pompeii. We hope to see you soon. Best regards
Super smooth process to make to most of Pompeii
Marion_D, Oct 2022
Super easy to come up pick up our tickets and audio guides, very nice and organised staff. Tickets means you won’t have to queue and can go straight in. It’s nice to explore Pompei at your own pace so audio guides worked well for us. Tip: don’t forget to bring your own headphones (mini jack plug) as it’s not provided with the audio guides.
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Dear Marion, thanks a lot for your kind words. we really appreciate! hoping to see you soon. Best regards
Pompeii is awesome - the audio and skip the line was not needed
Nick_D, Oct 2022
Pompeii was brilliant, but a few tips: 1. It’s not always busy so you may not need to skip the line 2. The audio tour is great if you have more than 3 hours, but if you don’t it is too slow to use 3. We went for 2.5 hours and that was barely enough. Plan what you want to see inside to make the most use of your time
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Dear Nick, thanks a lot for your note! Maybe you has been lucky, and for sure this is a more soft periode, but during the full season the skip the line service is very recommended. We hope to see you again for other tour. See you soon
This product is worse...
Vicki_A, Oct 2022
This product is worse than a waste of money. The audio guide is hard to use and the site references are different to the references marked on the sites themselves. Skip this product and get the real thing at the gate
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Dear Vicki, the opinion of our clients is important, but please speak the truth. With our audioguides, we always give a map with all the points written on, and we always advise clients to follow the points on that map, not the one indicated inside the ruins. I am sorry about your bad experience, and I understand you cannot like our service, but we always say the things as they actually are. Best regards
Volcano Hot
Wesley_K, Aug 2022
Great history. It was extremely hot. Nice to do the place on our own time and not have to follow guide around to areas that were not of interest. When we tried to pick up our audio guides they asked for a deposit or our passports as collateral. We didn’t have those with us. Staff said I could use the ATM and put $200 down as a deposit; I didn’t want to put the ATM fees so said no. We used Rick Steves instead which was more than appropriate. The place is huge; but worth a visit.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Dear Wesley, thanks for your note. Just one thing: when you booked online for your audioguides, it was clearly written that it is mandatory to leave an ID or document for the device (and if you don't have you must pay a deposit, that we return once you gave us back the device). By the way I'm happy you enjoyed Pompeii with your Rick Steves book where we are also recommended :)
Pompeii in the heat
Mimika_C, Aug 2022
Pompeii was hot hot hot! Our group of 3 had to wait over an hour for the English tour, but once started we enjoyed it. The two hours in the heat of the day made it very tiring so I would advise starting early or later in the day. Not recommend for kids under 13 yrs as there is lots of walking without shade, and a lot of the gruesome history is not kid friendly.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Ciao Mimika, Pompeii is an open museum, 2000 years aged. For sure it's hard to do with the summer heat and for this reason we always suggest people comfortable shoes and a lot of water. for the waiting, we have scheduled tour. By the way we wait for you next time, maybe in another season :)
Pompeii skip the line - good
Richard_L, Aug 2022
We avoided any line with the purchase ahead tickets. Rocks are smooth and can be slippery, which makes it difficult to walk. Signs within the site could be better in terms of showing locations and exits. I took a wrong turn and walked much more than I needed. Rick Steve’s audio guide was more informative than the audio guide we were given. A site with interesting history
Just ok
Bethany_R, Jul 2022
The audio guide was informative once we got the hang of it, but the collection process was chaotic and no earpieces provided (had to listen to the guide out loud to the annoyance of other visitors).
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Dear Bethany, it's clearly written everywhere that we don't provide earpieces (cause of Covid). Addional, Pompeii is huge, a lot of people talking and screming, I really don't think you should have bothered someone with a mobile speaking in your ear. See you soon
Great adventure
Raul_C, Jul 2022
It was a fun adventure. had a great time. Great history, take bottle water, pace yourself. Go early, much cooler.
Go guided not audio
Peggy_D, Jun 2022
The location was a little difficult to find (could be me) but the line at the tour office was longer here than the standard ticket offices. I would highly recommend a guided tour through Pompei vs an audio.
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Dear Peggy, there was a line, maybe because you arrived with the train, so a lot of people at the same time, but our guys at the front are really quick! By the way we always suggest our clients to change audio with a guided tour, a little bit more expensive, but obviuously a better service. They don't always trust us" Kind regards
Don’t do it
Heather_S, Jun 2022
Do t do this tour! I used aviator for many tours in Italy. This was by far the worst. It’s impossible to follow the map and the audio on your own. It’s better to get directly through Pompeii if you want a self guided tour.
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Dear Heather, with audioguide we always give a map with all the point written on, and according to the point you can hear the information. Obviously a real guide in person is better, infact we always suggest it, but it's your own decision. I'm sorry you did not enjoyed the tour, we hope for the next time. Kind regards
Don’t do this one…
Suzie_R, Oct 2021
Don’t buy this - it was a complete rip off. We paid $80 for something that we could have walked up and bought on our own for less than $60. I have used Viator for many excursions and this was the most disappointing one for sure.
Axelle_B, Jul 2022
Très belle balade. Une cité belle et riche en histoire. Le guide audio permettait de se plonger dans l'histoire.
Aldilà della storia
Roberta_C, Aug 2021
Gita emozionante munirsi di scarpe comode panini Per l acqua ci sono anche le fontanelle lungo il percorso. Gli audioguida sono un po limitati consiglio una guida