Boat Excursion Capri Island: Small Group from Positano

Badge of ExcellencePositano, Italy

From $163.80

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 10 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Set off to explore the coastline of Capri by sea far from the crowds with this small-group boat tour. Skip the hassle of the ferry and depart directly from the mainland, skirting the coastline of the Sorrentine Peninsula before circling Capri. Take in top sights like the Faraglioni and Natural Arch, stop to swim in quiet sea grottoes, and dock on the island for free time to sightsee and shop on your own.
  • A scenic minicruise around the island of Capri with departure from Positano
  • Swimming breaks plus a stop on land visit the island independently
  • Music, Wi-Fi, beverages and snacks, and a packed sandwich lunch on board
  • Round-trip transportation from Positano to the Massa Lubrense departure port

What's Included

  • Transfer from meeting point in Positano by land (by minivan) to the port of departure in Sorrento area
  • Professional English speaking Skipper
  • Snacks
  • Wi-fi on board
  • Soda/Pop
  • Swimming stop
  • Return to Positano in the late afternoon by minivan
  • Stop & entrance to the Blue Grotto
  • Destination fee € 5.00 cash person as an extra cost

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Parking Garage Mandara
    Viale Pasitea, 82, 84017 Positano SA, Italy

    PLEASE NOTE: the exact pick-up time will be assigned upon confirmation via e-mail or Whatsapp, it could be at 8:15 a.m or 9:15 a.m depending on availability ( you cannot choose it!)

Start time

Confirm time with the local provider in advance of your experience.

Opening hours

  • 3/1/2023 - 3/31/2023

    Monday - Sunday : 08:15 AM - 09:15 AM

  • 4/1/2023 - 5/15/2023

    Monday - Sunday : 08:15 AM - 09:15 AM

  • 5/16/2023 - 6/30/2023

    Monday - Sunday : 08:15 AM - 09:15 AM

  • 7/1/2023 - 8/31/2023

    Monday - Sunday : 08:15 AM - 09:15 AM

  • 9/1/2023 - 9/30/2023

    Monday - Sunday : 08:15 AM - 09:15 AM

  • 10/1/2023 - 10/31/2023

    Monday - Sunday : 08:15 AM - 09:15 AM

  • 11/1/2023 - 11/30/2023

    Monday - Sunday : 08:15 AM - 09:15 AM

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Meeting point pick-up is offered for this tour.
  • Small group of max. 12 people on board
  • Dont' forget: beach towels, sun hat
  • The pick-up time varies from 8:15 to 9:15 in the morning based on availability, the exact time will be assigned upon confirmation via e-mail or Whatsapp (the time cannot be chosen).
  • This tour does not include a stop at the Blue Grotto due to long waiting times. All interested guests can independently visit the Blue Grotto during their free time on the island.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 12 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more
151 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 151 reviews
Great change of scenery from Positano for the day.
Brigitte_T, Mar 2023
Ugo gave us just enough history without giving us too much. Our bus guide in town Giovanni was informative and fun too, and still let us have free time.
Perfect Capri Excursion!
AnnaMarie_P, Nov 2022
Liberato and Francesco were excellent at what they do! They showed us the different caves and structures around the island and took pictures of the group as needed. The lunch sandwiches were very tasty!
Response from Host, Jan 2023
Ciao AnnaM, a big thank you for your excellent review for the Boat Excursion Capri Island: Small Group from Positano. We are grateful you considered excellent our guys and very tasty the sandwiches. We will tell your compliments to Liberato and Francesco which will appreciate them for sure. We look forward to seeing you soon to discover more about our land. Kind regards, Michele
Stunning scenery!!!
Paula_S, Oct 2022
The boat excursion to Capri Island was awesome! The views were phenomenal and our guide was a safe driver and very knowledgeable. The time at Capri was a little rushed, but we still had an excellent experience.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Dear Paula_S, thank you for sharing your excellent experience about the Boat Excursion to Capri Island: Small Group from Positano. Even though the time at Capri was a little rushed, we are glad you appreciated the views, the guide and the driver. We hope to see you again soon to discover more about our land. Best regards, Amelia
Captivating Capri!
SarahJane_C, Oct 2022
Our guide, Luisa, was a fun and generous guide who with the boat driver, Giacomo, took us to see all the attractions enroute from the Sorrento coast around the isle of beautiful, magical Capri - including many grottoes, the rocky spires near Marina Piccolo on Capri Is and a swim at Faro beach before docking at Marina Grande where we then spent 5 hrs exploring the towns of Capri and Ana Capri. The public garden near Capri had incredible cliff top views overlooking the glistening waters of the Tyrennian Sea. A memorable trip in a wooden boat that comfortably sat our group of 12.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Dear SarahJ, thank you for sharing your great experience about the Boat Excursion Capri Island: Small Group from Positano. We are really glad you enjoyed the magical Capri, with its grottoes, the swimming stops and the exploring time on the island. We will ensure that your comments will be shared with Luisa and Giacomo as it is always gratifying to receive such a praise. We are happy you will come back home with a beautiful memories of this trip. We look forward to seeing you soon. All the best Amelia
Autumn_B, Sep 2022
We had a GREAT trip. The tour staff were amazing and knowledge. They picked us up on time in Positano and communicated ahead of time. It was a fun environment and the stop in Capri for a few hours was just enough time.
Very worth it
Erik_F, Sep 2022
The boat ride was super fun! Our guide was very enthusiastic and gave us great ideas of things to do on the island. Having time to jump off the boat and swim was an amazing experience and I highly recommend it!
Fun experience!
Erik_F, Sep 2022
The trip was a fun way to experience the views from the water. Highly recommend as something to do. We also got some drinks and a snack!
Memory to last a lifetime
Mary_A, Sep 2022
Was a beautiful day and we traveled by van to Sorrento to board our boat our Capitan Nino was excellent in his maneuvering of the boat to allow us a comfortable ride and get us into the Grotts Luisa was very good with the instructions and history i loved that we got to stop for 4 hrs at Capri and see the sites there i was surprised at how they personalize the trip making it special with champagne and lemoncello toast….a memory to last my lifetime❤️❤️
Lovely day
Charis_T, Aug 2022
We had a lovely day with a small group of people. The boat was comfortable and it was so beautiful cruising round the islands and going for a swim on the way back. We personally would have preferred more time spent on the boat than in Capri but overall it was a fun special day and our host was so friendly & welcoming.
Overall good experience, minor but worth noting negatives
Jenny_T, Aug 2022
The tour guide was very knowledgeable and professional. We stopped at some great places as listed. The boat was clean and spacious for a group of 12. Overall a very memorable and great experience. We would recommend. Some negative points for improvement below: - There was no wifi on board as listed - No lunch sandwiches provided as listed - The recommended restaurant Ristorante Bagni Tiberio by the tour guide wasn't good. The restaurant was slow to serve our food, got our order wrong and charged us 60euros service fee AND asked for tip. Overall, this lunch recommendation soured our day. - The tour guide didn't give us clear instructions to get back onto the boat after walking around Capri.
Great boat trip
Judith_M, Aug 2022
The boat ride, swimming and being on the water in general is a highlight. Our boat crew was awesome and shared lots of information along the way. Taking the chairlift up to the top of Capri is worth it.
Magical excursion with friendly guides!
Blake_G, Jul 2022
Capri was pure magic - our guide was amazing, so friendly and we were the only boat singing That’s Amore as we went under the grotto, it was unforgettable. Highly recommend!
Great Boat Day
Kelly_B, Jul 2022
We had such a great day on the boat trip to Capri!! Hugo and Tony were an amazing crew on the boat, set us up for a tour around the island, gave us sandwiches and beers. The best part of the day was definitely boating around Capri, jumping in the water, swimming around with a Peroni and music playing. Hugo and Tony were friendly, helpful and fun guides! I would absolutely recommend for anyone looking for a fun day out on a boat and seeing the island of Capri.
Terrible experience
Christina_R, Jul 2022
Terrible experience. We paid over $1100.00 and they were 3 hours late which made I'd noon before they had a boat ready. We were supposed to get to swim, but had 15 min to do so. They dropped us off in Capri for 5 hours and basically told us to grab a sandwich on our way off the boat. We were very disappointed and ended up taking the ferry back to almafi. It was unorganized and I will never book through Viator again.
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Hi Christin, thank you for taking time to write a review. We are really disappointed about your terrible feedback. Are you sure to have booked the right excursion based on your request? This Boat Excursion Capri Island: Small Group from Positano is a group excursion with timetable and a good organization about the time and the things to do. Have you read carefully the description of the excursion before booking? If you would like swim stops longer and different time stop on the island you should have booked a private excursion. You didn't even end up your tour, for your choise, so please pay attention next time when you book any other excursions. We hope to see you next time with the right tour for you. Kind regards Michele
Boat ride was the best part
wakejulie, Jul 2022
The boat was the best part of this excursion. We were dropped off on the island of Capri not really knowing where to go. They did offer a van service that cost us an additional 15 euro each. You clearly can't get around the island without this so it should be a given and part of package. The best part was leaving Capri and jumping off the boat. If I had to do it again I'd spring for a boat charter that would take me to lunch on the coast of Capri and then spend the day swimming and driving around the islands by boat. We spent a lot of time waiting. The tour guides could have given us info about Capri and the need for a van service while we were waiting. We didn't receive this information until we were just about getting off of the boat. Very chaotic. The lunch was not good. They didn't have enough waters for us all.
The boat tour is amazing, too much time on land
Anthony_G, Jul 2022
This is a tough one to rate since if only rating the boat experience it would be a 10/10. The time on the island is not very organized and too long. We may have just picked the wrong tour, but would have much preferred to have had the boat experience be twice as long and time on the island cut in half. Hugo and Orlando did an amazing job onboard and would give them 5/5 stars.
Not what we expected!
Nathalie_D, Jun 2022
We were very misled by the description of this tour. As was everyone on the tour. We were told the trip was from 8:00 am-5:00 pm. However we were then told pick up was at 9:15. And we drove an hour back from Positano to Sorrento. We were supposed to leave from Positano. Then we waited another 15 minutes and left at 10:30. We were then told we would not depart Capris u til 6:15. Then go back to Sorrento and again take the bus to Positano. We ended up having to pay to take a ferry back to Positano, which only took 30 minutes, from Capris because we had dinner reservations. The people on the boat were very nice and we did have time to swim. But it was extremely poorly run and disorganized. And there was very little communication. I do not recommend this trip!
Great Boat Ride, Not so Great Drive
Bernadette_T, Jun 2022
Overall, we had an amazing time on the boat. Our captain, Hugo, was awesome and the scenery was magnificent! We had a really weird experience with the driver who took us to the marina. On the way back, he pretty much (out of the blue) told us to get out of the car. We were a 10 minute walk from where we were supposed to be dropped off. Extremely odd and pretty annoying since we paid extra to be picked up and dropped off. I would still recommend this experience since the boat ride made up for our negative encounter with our driver.
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Hi Bernad, thank you for sharing your experience on the Capri Island boat excursion: small group from Positano. We are really disappointed and sorry for what happened with your driver. The opinion of our customers is very important, so thank you for reporting this inconvenience to us. We will report it to ensure that it never happen again. However we are glad that you had an amazing time on the boat with your awesome captain Hugo. We will pass the compliments to him, he will surely appreciate them. We hope to welcome you back very soon in our area. Best regards, Michele
Great crew, long time on Capri
Christina_S, Jun 2022
A bus picked us up from Positano at 9:30 and brought us to the Sorrento departure point where we were assigned our boat with others. We left around 10:45/11 from the departure point and the lovely captain and crew gave us fruit to eat while we took off. We headed towards Capri and the captain pointed out landmarks along our way, stopping to swim for 15 min at a spot in the ocean. We arrived at Capri at 12:45 and were told that we had 6 hours to explore the island. We were shocked at how long we had but found it relatively easy to kill time. We met our captain at 6:45 after the day on the island and headed back to the Sorrento port where we were bused back to Positano. It was a lovely day and the drinks and sandwich on board was great! I just wish we had a bit more time on the boat and less time on the island (it was advertised as 4 hours on the island). But maybe that’s another tour! Thanks for a great day!
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Ciao Christin, thank you for your detailed review. Buyourtour by Amo Italy Travel would like to thank you for choosing us to arrange your Boat Excursion Capri Island: Small Group from Positano. We are glad to read you had a lovely day with drinks, fruit and a great sandwich and you appreciated also the crew and the captain, we will ensure to pass your compliments to them, they will appreciate it. The opinion of our customers is very important. About the tour it is 4 hours on the island, we will report this. We hope to welcome you back for another great tour. Sincerely, Michele
So poorly represented
Ryan_C, Jun 2022
This tour was nothing like advertised. A long taxi from Positano to the Sorento marina where they miscommunicated the pick up location. Then we were late getting on the boat because the crew wasn’t ready (would later limit time swimming). They aggressively pushed a “private” bus as the only way to get around the island. It was anything but private, had massive lines, was a system shared by tons of different tour groups, ran late and was so hot and crowded. The picture attached is the “lunch” that was given. They also limit you to one drink a person… for a 9 hour tour. When we got back to the boat one other couple was late and instead of us moving on and then having the ferry available, we waited and basically lost almost all the remaining swimming time. Horrible tour, marked up about 100% by Viator, book something different and skip Capri
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Thank you for your detailed and untruthful review, I answer point by point below: 1. You were immediately notified of the place and meeting for your tour after received your booking 2. If the crew was not "ready" to leave, as you say, it is because they were carrying out normal safety procedures on board! 3. The bus service on the island is not included in our tour, it is your personal choice whether to take it into consideration to move more easily on the island or not, among other things, no one has ever seen a private service in Capri for only 15 € !!!! How can be a private transfer sorry? 4. We regret not having been ready to carry out a "Restaurant" service by providing you unlimited drinks and a la carte menu, in our description it is clearly written that we provide 1 drink of your choice and 1 "homemade" Caprese sandwich, the excursion it focuses on visiting Capri not on a 4-course menu on board! Just to your knowledge, Capri is an island where there are supermarkets and restaurants and where everyone can buy things in total freedom, have you tried? 5. If you were late, would we have dropped you off on the island to catch the ferry ??? Next time book a private tour, obviously you do not have the adequate respect to stay in a "group". Best Regards Buyourtour Staff and its crew on board!