Ice Cave & Snowmobile Tour from Gullfoss

Badge of ExcellenceBláskógabyggð, Iceland
Likely to Sell Out

From $288.55

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 4 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


The adventure begins long before you reach the ice cave on this tour of the Langjokull Glacierglacier, a great choice for thrill seekers. Traveling by off-road vehicle allows you to conquer the otherwise impassable roads of the glacial highlands, while a snowmobile ride reveals other-worldly terrain at the mouth of the ice cave.
  • Snowmobile across the Langjokull Glacier and tour an ice cave
  • Off-road vehicles allow you to access otherwise impassable roads
  • Gear is provided to keep you warm and safe on the snowmobile excursion
  • Guides share information about your surroundings throughout the trip

What's Included

  • Pick up from Gullfoss
  • Snowmobile ride
  • Snowsuit Overalls, Helmets, Gloves, Balaclavas and Shoe-Covers.
  • Access to the Ice Cave
  • Drop-off at Gullfoss
  • Food and drinks

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Mountaineers Meeting Point
    Gullfoss, 846 Bláskógabyggð, Iceland

    We start the tour from the upper Gullfoss parking lot, around there area where Gullfoss cafe and the shops are located. The drive to Gullfoss from Reykjavík is about 115km/ 71miles estimated time of 95 minutes without any stops on the way.

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Please Note: There must be 1 adult per child or teenager in order to be able to join our tour.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 40 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more
65 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 65 reviews
My wife’s 50 birthday holiday
Colin_C, Mar 2023
The whole experience was great from the ride up, the clothing, the snow mobiles and the staff and guides. We highly recommend the whole package
Response from Host, Mar 2023
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the whole package, including the ride-up, clothing, snowmobiles, and our staff and guides. We strive to provide our customers with the best possible experience, and we are glad that we were able to meet your expectations. Thank you for recommending us, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another adventure in the future!
Fine trip
Amanda_F, Mar 2023
A lot of money for not much time. The wind was so strong it hurt to drive so we rushed to the cave and back and spent about 10 min in there. No chance to take pictures or videos on the snowmobiles and the ice cave is very dark. It was cool and I am glad I did it once but never again, and it cost way more than it was worth.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are sorry to hear that you did not feel that the tour was worth the price and that you did not have enough time to fully enjoy the experience. We understand that the weather conditions in Iceland can be unpredictable and that strong winds can make it difficult to fully enjoy the tour. However, we strive to ensure that our guests have a safe and enjoyable experience, even in challenging conditions. This winter has been colder than usual which can take a little from the overall experience.
Great 1st time experience
Bradley_R, Jan 2023
Great experience, great instructors, just a shame it wasn't abit longer on the snowmobile. Overall a great day out and worth the money for the 1st time experience.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Hello Bradley Thank you so much for this positive review! We are thrilled you had such a great time We do have an option for longer tours in smaller groups. Next time you visit Iceland you should try that one :)
This excursion Made our Iceland trip
Tara_M, Oct 2022
Wow what an experience! We were very lucky and no one on our bus had selected to go to the ice cave as well. So we had a personal snowmobiling and ice cave tour all to ourselves! Once in a lifetime experience with amazing views and friendly tour guides. Highly recommend.
Great trip but no ice cave.
Erica_W, Aug 2022
The scenery and snowmobiling was fantastic. There was not an ice cave tour. The company should be upfront about that...which is the only reason I did not give this 5 stars.
December Snowmobile Experience
Lisa_T, Jan 2022
Fun experience, snow mobiling on what felt like the top of the world. Meet in parking lot, bus ride up glacier, then suited up like astronauts - all well worth it!
Response from Host, Jan 2022
Thank you for your review. We're happy that you enjoyed the day with us!
Poor communication
Dirk_V, Jan 2022
The trip was cancelled but Viator didn’t inform us at all. Arrived at the pickup site (1,5 hour drive with only 4 hours of daylight in wintertime) but no one was there. Had to call the tour company, who informed everyone by e-mail, the trip was cancelled due to bad weather. Viator didnt forward that e-mail to us, one vacation day ruined. Still waiting for our refund!
Response from Host, Jan 2022
We're sorry for your experience during that day. There have sometimes been issues with Viator bookings delivering to our system. As I understand this is a temporary issue. We do notify all parties (at least the ones we're aware of) when we cancel due to the weather or other conditions. When the weather conditions are unfavorable we're forced to cancel tours for safety reasons. The rest of your review is more directed straight to Viator.
Not what you expect, but still very cool.
Meghan_S, Jul 2021
The off-roading bus, snowmobiles, and cave were all really neat. The cave was very small but still very neat to see. The guides were not the most friendly but it was still worth it and fun overall.
Response from Host, Jan 2022
Thank you for your review! We're glad that you enjoyed your day with us!
Snowmobiling over glacier and ice cave
Indiana, Jun 2021
Absolutely gorgeous! Worth the trip, can’t say enough great things from beginning to end!!!! Beautiful views, Ice cave was really neat to see. Talk about Gods beauty and solitude. Do not hesitate to book this excursion!
Response from Host, Jan 2022
Thank you for your review! We're glad that you enjoyed your day with us!
Getting to drive the snowmobiles each
Charis_S, Mar 2020
Me and my boyfriend done this experience, we absolutely loved it! It’s worth the money, our guides were very pleasant and had lots of info! They always made sure we were all safe and together which was reassuring as I had never driven one of these before nor have I driven in a car on snow! The weather was bright but snowing so it made it a little difficult to see but still, the ice cave is pretty incredible! what a experience I’ll never forget Thankyou to sniper!!
Response from Host, Mar 2020
Sniper is one of a kind type of guy and we love him as well. So nice to hear you had such a great time and that you loved the Ice Cave. Welcome back anytime.
Breathtaking view of the cold side of mother nature
Jean_L, Feb 2020
We never had any experience riding a snowmobile let alone driving one. Our guide, Sniper was very thorough with the instructions and we all did make it to the ice cave and back to base camp safely. The ice cave was astonishing and the expanse of snow-covered mountains was breathtaking.
Response from Host, Mar 2020
Thank you for an amazing review and recommendation, so good you had such an amazing time. Sniper is one of a kind guy, unfortunately. So glad you liked the Ice Cave.
Exhilarting Experience!!!
Anita_K, Jul 2019
This is a must do! The tour is very well organised and the skilled driver of the monster truck who also doubles as your instructor was very patient. The only downside I found was the tour we booked did not have a pick up in Reykjavik. So I had to pre book a cab for the whole day to take us to Gulfoss and bring us back. Luckile, the cab driver was an excellent driver and very friendly. At Gulfoss the Monster truck takes you to base camo where you change into your snow clothing and over shoes and head for the Glacier. Once there, you are given a lesson in how to operate your snowmobiles. You can easily give the Iave a miss (Atleast I was not too taken up) and drive your snowmobile for the fun experience. An unforgettable trip!!
Response from Host, Aug 2019
Dear Traveller, Thank you so much for your nice review and for making all the effort to get to the meeting place. We are so glad you had such a great time with us and would love to welcome you again. We do offer a Super 4x4 snowmobile and ice cave tour with pick-up in Reykjavik in case travellers do not have a rental car to meet us on location.
Top en famille
COUTURIER_n, Oct 2022
Super même si nous n'avons pas pu faire la grotte car nous étions au début de l'hiver et l'accès n'était pas sécurisé. Mais top les enfants étaient fan.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Thank you for your review. We're glad that you and your kids liked the tour.
Stefania_M, Aug 2021
Bello il giro sulla motoslitta, però non abbiamo visitato la grotta di ghiaccio. Abbiamo pagato il tour per fare il giro sulla Motoslitta e per visitare La grotta di ghiaccio, ma non l’abbiamo visitata.