Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik

Reykjavík, Iceland

From $51.00

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 3 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


The Northern Lights are one of the world’s most spectacular natural phenomenon, and Iceland is one of few places in the world where it’s possible to view the elusive Aurora borealis. Maximize your chances of witnessing nature’s lightshow on this tour from Reykjavík, and seek out the best viewing spots around the city.
  • Northern Lights viewing tour from Reykjavík
  • A chance to see the spectacular Aurora Borealis
  • Seasonal tour available from September to mid-April
  • Choice of evening departure times available

What's Included

  • Bus Fare
  • Professional Local Guidance
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Food and drinks
  • Gratuities
  • Pickup from hotels

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Bus Terminal Reykjavík
    Vatnsmýrarvegur 10, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland

    BSI Bus Terminal is the meeting point for the tour.

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Begin your evening adventure with pick-up from central Reykjavík and admire the capital’s illuminated landmarks as you head out of the city. As the glittering skyline fades from view, listen as your guide explains the natural phenomenon of the Northern Lights, caused by the interaction of particles from the sun with the upper atmosphere near the North Pole. Learn how the lights are the result of collisions between gaseous particles in the Earth's atmosphere and charged particles released from the sun's atmosphere, and discover the science behind the variations in color and brightness.

Depending on the weather and ‘Aurora forecast’, your guide takes you to the viewing locations where you are most likely to spot the Northern Lights, so make sure you have your camera ready. If you’re lucky, get a chance to admire the mesmerizing light show, before journeying back to Reykjavík, where your tour ends.

Please note: the Northern Lights in Iceland are visible only during the winter months, from September to April, and sightings are not guaranteed. However, if you don‘t see any Northern Lights during the tour, you are welcome to join the tour again, free of charge, on another night. For this reason, we recommend booking your Northern Lights tour for early-on in your trip, in case it needs to be rescheduled.

Reykjavik Excursions (Pass By)

Meeting point for the tour.

Iceland (Pass By)

Locations on this tour vary from day to day depending on weather conditions.

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • This tour depends on weather and sightings are not guaranteed. The tour may be cancelled on the day if the weather is poor
  • Remember to dress warmly
  • No pickups from hotels
  • Indicated return times can vary.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 99 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more

Traveler Tips

The northern lights are a must to anyone travelling to Iceland!
The wait for the magic was long and freezing cold but it was all worthwhile at the end of the day.
Luckily saw some activity second time so was worth it.
634 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 634 reviews
Awesome lights 3...
Douglas_H, Mar 2023
Awesome lights 3 consecutive nights. Also very COLD!!! Highly recommend this experience. Company very helpful at return to hotels at 1am.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Thanks for the review! We´re glad to read our team offered a pleasant experience and you´ve enjoyed the tour. We thank you for joining us and will be looking for seeing you again. Have a wonderful day! Adam
Carol_S, Feb 2023
I know the Northern Lights are unpredictable and we did get the chance to rebook. However a friend went on the same night but with different company. They were taken to a couple of different places and good a great sighting. Our tour went to one place with about 10 coaches stayed about 1.5 hours and saw nothing. Why can't companies communicate if they have good sightings and then move.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Hello Carol, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We´re sorry to read about this. As the tour is not refundable if operated, we also try our best to operate it if we´re sure we´ll be able to see the lights. Each tour operator is free to estimate whether or not the lights will be visible. Feel free to email us at with your booking reference and our team will be happy to help you out if there´s anything you need. Have a wonderful day. Ayline
Don’t do it. Honestly a nightmare.
Laura_S, Jan 2023
The worst tour we went on during our two weeks in Europe. There was no clarity or fun at all. It’s not listed anywhere but you have to go to their office for physical tickets even though you have a viator ticket. Parking, nobody would say if we could park at BSI or not so that was fun. Then the tour was literally just driving out to a little spot with 6 other buses and getting off the bus and standing there. Our guide was useless at explaining anything about the northern lights and was not kind or fun or interactive at all. We had no idea what was happening. We didn’t see the lights which was not their fault but we literally stood in freezing cold for 3 hours with no “guidance” or kindness or info at all. If you have a car go to the lighthouse and see more than you will on this tour or go to the boat northern lights hunt (way more fun, a guide that actually talked, and some guidance but still confusing on meeting points). Avoid this honestly at all costs. A total joke and waste of time.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We´re sorry to read about what happened and would love to hear more about it. Feel free to email us at with your booking reference and our team will be happy to help you out. Have a wonderful day. Ayline
Northern lights night trip
Sophia_B, Jan 2023
Great night trip to the Northern Lights. Tour guide was very fun and friendly. Well organised trip with the pick up and drop off points. The northern lights were present on my visit but it’s important to remember that photos may show the lights more than what can be seen with the eye in real life
Not really
Khem_t, Dec 2022
Not really seen the northern lights what we accept still enjoy Maybe not a good time for us on the night
Valentina_F, Dec 2022
Wonderful esperience! It has been fantastic see the northern lights. It was so cold! People and guide were very Kinder. I enjoy a lot the trip!
Would not recommend
Eleanor_H, Dec 2022
Quite unhappy with this tour. It was most disappointing that were were left in the cold and dark trying to sort transport back to our accommodation. In the end we could not book a taxi because the operator was too busy so ended up walking 40 minutes home in the early hours of the morning! Not a very positive experience. We would have appreciated it if our bus guide had been more helpful in ensuring we got back to our accommodation ok.
Good lights, more info on stop needed
Bethan_P, Nov 2022
Pick up and drop off very smooth. Useful information on coach. We also got to see the northern lights. Reason for only 3 stars was guide said multiple stops and didn't tell us how long first stop was. Consequently we kept coming back to bus and rushed experience to check. Turned out we were at the one stop all night. This would have been useful to know rather than every time we asked we were told the Northern lights come and go, which was not helpful.
Cecilia_E, Mar 2022
It was a powerful, meaningful, philosophical, scientific, spiritual and unique experience. It is so powerful, that i could not contain my tears , could feel it was -19 C I just felt peace, excitement, reconciliation with the two worlds, and I was able to enjoy it because I was not taking pictures, my husband did, so I got the best of the experience. Gratitude is something that I should tell you, is a moment when you realize how special you are, and how magnificent life is. Shelma
Best night of our life
Shameeka_G, Mar 2022
It was the most amazing experience in my life. The meter was at 2/3 all day but the skies were clear and the weather was good for a majority of the day. As soon as we got off the bus Aurora appeared as a huge rainbow arch in the sky. The last hour of the tour she started dancing and that’s when we got an amazing show of all the colors. Even our tour guide was amazed and fascinated by what we saw. She said it was one of the best northern lights she’s seen because every color was present and Aurora was dancing of course. We took bus #6 and our guide was AMAZING. She really was very friendly, helpful and FUNNY. Please thank all of the staff for us because the night was unforgettable and please give our your guide for bus #6 on 3/4 9pm tour a BIG FAT RAISE!
Host was nice…
Lucia_K, Feb 2022
Host was great (Cecillia?).. the tour was meh. I know you can’t control the lights and it’s not always possible to see them but we drove only 15 minutes out of the city to a car park to try and ‘hunt’ them. This is the only glimpse I got.. they can’t be seen with the naked eye and so you have to have a camera with you that’s capable of night mode. It was freezing, much much colder then I could ever have expected and we saw nothing.. just stared at a black sky for 3 hours.. Bonus, the tour dropped us back near our hotel..
yvonne_d, Jan 2022
Amazing to see the lights. What an unbelievable experience. Professional tour guide who knew a lot about the lights and how we could best photograph them.
Really Enjoyable
Noah_B, Jan 2022
Tour guide was super nice and made it her mission to get to a good spot to see the lights. Got to see as many lights as were available at the time.
Very cold
Sara_P, Dec 2021
We didn’t get to see the northern lights but it was a nice night with some stars. There is obviously no guarantee that you will see them but if you go in December/winter time make sure to dress extra warm. You stand outside on a peninsula for close to two hours. if you get cold you are allowed to go back into the bus but the busses are shut off with no heat on because it needs to be dark to see the lights. So make sure to dress very very warm. You will be cold.
See nothing tour
Amine_B, Nov 2021
Guide on drugs and bad light polluted area to see Northern lights. Wast of money. Do it yourself is better in this case
Aurora sighting
Raul_L, Oct 2021
Love it will do it again. A memorable experience. Our guide is an expert! Everyone is happy and satisfied how it turns out to be.
Great company to choose
Megan_P, Oct 2021
Good that the operator lets you go back as many times as you wish if you don’t get to see the lights well enough but we didn’t get to see them properly even with 2 nights out in the cold. Each time was a different location based on the forecast that predicts where is best.
Great driver and operator
Mark_F, Feb 2020
Unfortunately we didn't get to see the lights however driver was great and the tour operator was too couldn't fault either and would recommend but hopefully see the lights.
No lights for us.
Kim_S, Feb 2020
Sadly, we did not see any activity, the night of our tour. Tour was rescheduled two previous nights, due to rain. The 3rd night, although cloudy, we were taken out. Not much the tour operator can do about nature.
Not worth your money
Kamila_C, Feb 2020
Not a professional way to treat people. It's very commercial and you don't feel good in hunderds of people squeezed into 6 buses. Lady in our bus sounds bored talking about northen lights. We have our trip in rainy day and there was no way for aurora but they didn't return busses and people were getting cold in the rain. Don't waste your money fot this company, they don't care about you but about money.