Full-Day Small Group Tour of Iceland's South Coast from Reykjavik

Badge of ExcellenceReykjavík, Iceland

From $163.40

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 10 hours (approx.)
  • Pickup from select hotels
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Explore the rugged scenery of Iceland's south Coast on this full-day tour from Reykjavik. Stops include Reynisfjara Beach, Skógafoss Waterfall, Sólaheimasandur Glacier, and other photo-worthy locations.
  • Explore Iceland's south coast from Reykjavik
  • Stops include Reynisfjara Beach, Skógafoss Waterfall, and Sólaheimasandur Glacier
  • Stop midday for lunch (own expense)

What's Included

  • Fully Guided Tour
  • Transportation in a minibus
  • Free Reykjavik Hotel Pickup
  • Food and drinks

Meeting And Pickup

You can head directly to the meeting point, or request pickup

Meeting point

  • Bus stop #1 - Ráðhúsið - City Hall
    Vonarstræti 101, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

Start time

09:00 AM

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

Pickup details

We cannot pickup from some Hotels in the City Center due to city restrictions. We pickup from designated pickup busstops. Ask your hotel about the nearest busstop from your hotel. Note: The Hallgrímskirkja pickup point is know as Busstop #8, it is on Eiríksgata street.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Due to weather and/or road conditions we might have to alter the itinerary, have longer journey time or cancel the tour
  • During the tour we break for refreshments at a local restaurant or café
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Subject to favorable weather conditions. If canceled due to poor weather, you will be given the option of an alternative date or full refund.
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 19 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more

Traveler Tips

Siggi was a great guide, would highly recommend to anyone with a full day based out of Reykjavik!
231 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 231 reviews
Gorgeous scenery
erik_a, Mar 2023
Enjoy see the difference in landscape on the South Coast compared to the golden circle. We loved our tour guide Leroy! You could tell he loved his job, people and proving a memorable experience. He gave us a lot of information and history about Iceland, he took great care of the group so the day flowed smoothly ( 2 things I really appreciate in an tour) and he exuded positive energy. All made for a wonderful experience.
Simone made this the best day of out trip
Patrick_S, Mar 2023
My family and myself have been talking about this experience constantly. Simone is an amazing tour guide, do knowledgeable about everything we saw, and lots of stories to set the scene of the history of Iceland. If you get the chance do this experience, you will not regret it.
So disappointed. ONLY negative experience on our wonderful trip to Iceland
Ryan_L, Feb 2023
What an awful experience using this company. We had to disembark from the vehicle after hotel pickup. This small group tour was packed to the brim in a small sprinter style van. With winter attire and bags for an 8 hour excursion there wasn’t even enough room to put on our seatbelts. That day was brutal weather and we didn’t feel safe after the driver jumped the curb twice while picking up additional passengers. At this time during the last pickup we made the ex executive decision to bail from our south coast trip that we were so excited for. What a shame. We didn’t make a scene to alarm the other passengers and filed a refund request within the hour and was denied. What a way to rip off your customers out of $325.
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Hi Ryan Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate all feedback on our work. We however feel like we do not deserve your review as you did not partake in the tour. You opted to leave during pickup for the reason you mentioned and then requested a refund on vague terms. The guide did not hear a complain from you or any other passengers during the pickup or the tour. To answer your complaints on our tour: 1. Full vehicle: We had 18x passengers booked on our 19x passenger vehicle. So it was not "packed to the brim". It was almost full, but not full. This is often the case and stated in our material about the tour and should not have come as a surprise. If you are looking for a more spacious tour or vehicle, maybe book a different type of tour, a private tour for example. 2. The weather: We did not have brutal weather that day, at least not on Icelandic standard in middle of January. It was above 0°C (so not freezing) wind about 4-8m/second (breeze) and rain (15.9mm downfall) according to the Iceland Meteorology office. This is consider an ok weather by Icelandic standards. If you consider this brutal weather you should maybe not travel to Iceland in January. 3. The unsafe driving: We have not once received a complain about the driving of Simon, your guide. The jumping the curb is often unavoidable in Reykjavik City Center as the roads are not made for mini bus traffic. That is one of the reason why we try to limit the pickup places in and around the narrow streets of the City Center. Are you not being unjustly and overly sensitive regarding this? The terms on cancellations and refunds are very clear and stated upon booking, which you agreed upon when booking the tour. It states that we fully refund if the tour is cancelled 24h or more before departure. You cancelled 1h after the tour started on vague and unfounded terms. Of course we will not refund such claims. We would very much appreciate if you would delete your review as it is unfounded and unfair. best regards Jón Tómas
Had a great day with this...
Annelyse_A, Jan 2023
Had a great day with this tour. We saw some amazing scenery and our guide Devin was incredibly knowledgeable and extremely funny. Will definitely book again when we come back in September.
My favorite tour while in Iceland
JakiForan, Nov 2022
This was my favorite tour while in Iceland. It was a long day but well worth it. The waterfalls and beach were beautiful. Our guide Hallie was great and everything was timed out well. I wouldn't have minded a little more time at some of the stops but we couldn't have possibly seen everything without a quick pace.
Amazing South Coast tour
sheila_f, Nov 2022
Simon was our driver/tour guide. He is really amazing, good knowledge of Iceland history and told many jokes too. He went an extra mile by changing the itinerary slightly so that it won’t be so crowded. He did an extra stop for us to take pictures of the scenery cos the weather was good. He also mentioned that the weather is good today and chances to see the Northern Lights were good so we booked it on the spot with EastWest. We are actually on the way to see the Northern Lights now. Hope we will be lucky…..
Great Day!
Leah_H, Oct 2022
This excursion alone was worth visiting Iceland! The waterfalls, beach and countryside were absolutely stunning. Luckily we had Alain as our guide, and his extensive knowledge about linguistics and explanation of the meaning of the Icelandic words and names made the experience that much more enjoyable. Also he told us stories from the Sagas that were entertaining. So glad we took this tour!
The drive throw
Ella_M, Oct 2022
Supper friendly we were small group with vip treatment and we got the chance to see lots of things, and stop by restaurants and have a nice meal
Great tour
kcp6h2pnnp, Sep 2022
Went on the 29/09 which was a very wet day! Still a fantastic tour with an extremely knowledgeable tour guide! Highly recommend
South Iceland
Cale_S, Aug 2022
Great trip with Carlos as our guide. Highly recommend. We were able to see all the highlighted sites and Carlos added a few extras.
Jing_Z, Aug 2022
South coast is beautiful, has lots things to do. We came in summer so Glaciers not that much in spring or autumn should can see more. Waterfalls and black sand beach is awesome although due to summer no ice on beach yet. Small group is a good size vs cost.
Wonderful Tour
Jane_G, Jul 2022
We were on a mini bus for 10 hours with about 30 people. It sounds like a long time but Hallie our tour guide made the trip so enjoyable. He was very knowledgeable and interesting to listen to during the drive. We made numerous stops at and saw a lot of the beautiful countryside. The black sand beach was the best. Highly recommend!
Phenomenal experience
Laura_K, Jul 2022
Was on the fence about this trip. Soooo glad I went. It was phenomenal!! We saw and experienced so much and even got to Pet some very friendly Icelandic ponies. I would have bought rubber boots to into the waterfalls
Long ride unique scenery
Maria_W, Jul 2022
The waterfalls were the most rewarding but the glacier was a disappointment .also the weather was really terrible which took away from the experience . Also it is a really very long drive to get to waterfalls not sure they were spectacular enough to be worth that very long drive .Guide was excellent .and he kept us on schedule .
Cool South Coast tour
jabari_d, Jun 2022
This was a great tour. Our guide Gustav was cool; he took us to an extra spot like the Hidden Waterfall and the Lave Cafe food was good.
Epic trip - you must go!
Lydia_D, Jun 2022
A full packed day to see a spectacular range of geological wonders in the south. A great guide gave interesting facts, stories and insights to Icelandic living as we drove from place to place. Highly recommend this tour - you won't be disappointed!
Magnificent scenery
Hamza_T, May 2022
The tour was amazing! Our tour guide Gustaf was very knowledgeable and very friendly. Thw weather was great and the overall experience was wonderful.
Highly recommend!
George_P, May 2022
The guide made this a fantastic excursion! He was extremely knowledgeable and weaved a good narrative. Being able to see (and get sprayed) by the waterfalls as well get up close the a glacier were definitely a highlight.
Wonderful experience
Vivian_G, May 2022
Tomas was a great guide. We saw several impressive waterfalls and an amazing glacier. There were only 6 people on the tour which was nice. Went to a good Cafe forunch with varied choices.
Julian was an awesome...
Judi_M, Apr 2022
Julian was an awesome guide. Very personable and went out of his way to make sure everyone had a great time.