Glacier Hike and South Coast Waterfalls in a Small Group

Badge of ExcellenceReykjavik, Iceland

From $165.00

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 11 hours (approx.)
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Discover the glaciers and waterfalls of Iceland during a full-day, small-group excursion from Reykjavik. Get picked up at your hotel and travel by air-conditioned vehicle to the south coast of Iceland. Go for a guided walk along the Sólheimajökull Glacier and learn about its history. All glacier equipment is provided. Complete the experience with seeing two waterfalls, Seljalandsfoss and Skogafoss, plus a black sand beach, Reynisfjara.
  • Explore the south coast of Iceland
  • Stroll over a glacier during a guided glacier walk
  • See two mighty waterfalls and a black sand beach
  • Round-trip transportation from Reykjavik provided

What's Included

  • All equipment needed for glacier hike
  • WiFi on board
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Dinner

Meeting And Pickup

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

Start time

08:00 AM

What To Expect


30 minutesAdmission Ticket Included


30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Reynisfjara Beach

1 hour Admission Ticket Free

Solheimajokull Glacier

3 hours Admission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers
Operated by Glaciers and Waterfalls

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more


340 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 340 reviews
Great experience
Debra_J, May 2023
Beautiful scenery around every corner. Peter the guide was very knowledgeable and funny, and looked after us on the glacier. It was nice to be in a small group as there was a lot to fit in to the day.
Great day….enjoyed by all
Joanna_W, May 2023
Great trip. Easy pick up in Reykavik. Excellent guide - friendly and very knowledgeable. Would 100% recommend this trip
Horrible Experience
Anwer_M, May 2023
The trip was rescheduled twice than cancelled. First it was rescheduled because they did not had enough people than it was cancelled on new dates, I am still waiting for refund
Response from Host, May 2023
Dear reviewer, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We understand your frustration regarding the rescheduling and eventual cancellation of your trip due to weather. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Regarding your statement that we contacted you in plenty of time beforehand, we do our best to notify all of our customers as soon as possible if any changes occur in their scheduled trips. However, we acknowledge that in your case, the trip was rescheduled once before being cancelled due to heavy rain on the glacier. We apologize for any confusion or inconvenience this may have caused you. As for the refund, we assure you that we are processing it as quickly as possible. Refunds typically take 5-10 business days to be processed, depending on the bank or credit card company. If you have not received your refund within this timeframe, please do not hesitate to contact our customer service team for assistance. Once again, we apologize for any inconvenience caused and thank you for your understanding.
Amazing tour with beautiful views !
Ashlyn_T, May 2023
Einar was an incredible guide! He was very interactive, safe and knowledgeable on everywhere we went and made the entire trip so much fun! The layout of the trip was amazing too and we had good timing in avoiding tons of tourists. He was good with the glacier hike too and made everyone feel safe and was sure to work with different levels of capabilities!
Entire day was amazing...
Debby_N, Mar 2023
Entire day was amazing loved the glacier hike would recommend to all. The frozen water falls where so beautiful
Best Day Trip Iceland has to Offer
Kyle_L, Feb 2023
AMAZING! Our tour guide Mala was very knowledgeable, had a great experience and would recommend!!!!!
Glacier hike in the rain.
Una_T, Jan 2023
Despite heavy rain & wind our South Coast trip including glacier hike went ahead. I was worried it might be cancelled due to the weather but our guide Kalman assessed the situation & thankfully we decided to proceed with the hike. The hike was the highlight of my trip to Reykjavik. I felt very safe at all times. The views were amazing. The crampons were very easy to use, no problem at all walking on sheer ice. Once we got going, we didn’t mind the rain. Overall a great trip with a great guide. Our trip was with Glaciers & Waterfalls.
Great trip
Amanda_W, Jan 2023
Great trip. Picked up ahead of schedule at bus stop 12 which was right outside of our hotel. More than 12 people but we expected this due to all the cancellations due to snow. As it happened this didn’t actually affect us at all (think there were 18!) Einar was our guide and he was great. The road was impassible at the glacier so we couldn’t hike the glacier as planned but we dumped the bus and walked to the glacier. In places the snow was up to our knees and we were certainly grateful to be able to even walk and see the glacier when so many trips had been cancelled in the previous days. The waterfall stops were gorgeous and the black beach was absolutely unbelievable. You see pictures of these places when booking and looking at reviews and they just don’t prepare you for what your eyes actually see! On the way back einar added an extra stop as the northern lights were out! We didn’t book a northern lights trip this time so this saved us a night of racing around in a bus at midnight! Tips for this trip - LAYERS if it’s cold, poncho for behind the waterfall (we couldn’t do this because of the snow and ice), don’t pay for the toilets at the black beach, there are free ones inside, take lunch (we bought a subway the night before), there are USB ports on the bus to charge your phone so take a charger lead and the best one.., sit at the front!!! The front seats are like the front seats of a plane! Great views when driving around and a feeling of space! I would absolutely book this trip again, despite the changes to the schedule it was excellent. Thank you.
Beautiful views
Jackie_M, Dec 2022
Great tour with amazing views, you defo get your money’s worth with this tour and it was nice to be in a small group. Einar was very knowledgeable! Bus and transport was smooth and comfortable. Hike was super easy and safe. Might be better going in the Summer but it was still magical with all of the snow. The cafe next to the Black sand beach did a really good fish and chip dish. Fyi not a challenging hike for those who are hard core hikers
Hiking a glacier, a memorable experience.
Gita_p, Jul 2022
We were so excited to hike on a glacier and this trip did not disappoint. The glacier was amazing and for anyone who is interested in glaciation we were able to see everything we had only previously only read about. We were even given the chance to look into a moulin. Our guide Einar was very knowledgeable and skilled, and also kind he looked after everyone on the trip. Would definitely recommend this trip for a great memory of Iceland.
A core memory for my kids
Allison_S, Jun 2022
We had a fantastic day on this tour. Our guide, a local native, was perfect — he gave us insight into the history of the area and we felt safe and informed and had plenty of time everywhere we went. Core memory for me and my 9 and 14 yos!
Being seniors, it was the...
Eleanor_F, Apr 2022
Being seniors, it was the once in a lifetime experience for us. Einar was such a good and experience guide.
Beste Tour auf Island die wir je hatten!!!
Christiane_D, Apr 2023
Unser Guide war genial! Witzig, informativ, gewissenhaft und verantwortungsvoll. MIT ABSTAND DIE BESTE TOUR DIE WIR JE GEBUCHT HABEN :-) Einfach ein super schöner Tag und ein geniales Gesamtpaket, würden es jederzeit wieder buchen. DER BURNER!
Increíble la cueva
JoseIgnacio_L, Nov 2022
La excursión ha estado espectacular. Las cuevas de hielo lo mejor del viaje. La única pega es el conductor que era a la vez el guía, apenas a explicado nada, no era nada simpático y si le preguntabas algo apenas te contestaba.

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
Glacier Hike and South Coast Waterfalls in a Small Group


11 hours
Free Cancellation
No Photo
South Coast Adventure with Glacier Hike Full-Day Tour


12 hours
Free Cancellation