South Iceland, Glacier & Black Sand Beach Small Group Tour from Reykjavik

Badge of ExcellenceReykjavik, Iceland

From $113.00

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 10 hours (approx.)
  • Hotel pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


See some of southern Iceland’s most famous natural monuments on this guided tour from Reykjavik. Gain an overview of the region as you travel alongside a knowledgeable guide and a small group of 15 people or fewer to must-see sites like the Seljalandsfoss Waterfall and Sólheimajökull Glacier.
  • Full-day tour of southern Iceland from Reykjavik
  • Explore natural attractions such as waterfalls, a glacier, and a black-sand beach alongside a guide
  • Efficient transportation from Reykjavik to the countryside
  • Ideal overview of southern Iceland for first-time visitors
  • Small-group tour limited to 15 people or fewer
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off included

What's Included

  • Professional guide
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off (selected hotels and official bus stops in central Reykjavik only)
  • Food and drinks

Meeting And Pickup

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

Start time

09:00 AM

Pickup details

Our pickup can take up to 30 minutes so please wait at your pickup location from the time written on your ticket. More locations we do offer pickup service from: - Subway at the former Oddsson Ho(s)tel, Hringbraut 119 - Burgerjoint (Hamborgarabullan), Geirsgata 1 - Gamli Gardur, Hringbraut 29 - BSI Bus Terminal, Vatnsmyrarvegur 10 (front / taxi side) Many accommodations in central Reykjavik are redirected to official "Tour Bus Stops" from which we also offer pickup: - Tour Bus Stop 1, Ráðhúsið - City Hall, Vonarstraeti (64.146316,-21.941491) - Tour Bus Stop 2, Tjörnin - The Pond, Maedragardur on Laekjargata (64.145763,-21.938547) - Tour Bus Stop 3, Lækjargata, Laekjargata 4 (64.14678,-21.937296) - Tour Bus Stop 5, Harpa, Austurbakki 2 (64.14678,-21.937296) - Tour Bus Stop 6, Safnahúsið - The Culture House, Hverfisgata 15 by Arnarholl (64.147454,-21.932894) - Tour Bus Stop 7, Traðarkot, Hverfisgata 20 (64.146706,-21.930425) - Tour Bus Stop 8, Hallgrímskirkja, by Eiriksgata (64.141548,-21.927973) - Tour Bus Stop 9, Snorrabraut, Snorrabraut 24 (64.143497,-21.916289) - Tour Bus Stop 10, Hlemmur, Laugavegur 105 (64.143155,-21.915414) - Tour Bus Stop 11, Austurbær, Snorrabraut 37 (64.142364,-21.917228) - Tour Bus Stop 12, Höfðatorg, Þórunnartún 6 (64.144389,-21.910327) - Tour Bus Stop 13, Rauðarárstígur, Laugavegur 120 (64.142658,-21.913866)

What To Expect

Your tour begins with hotel pickup from your lodging in Reykjavik. Meet your guide and your small group of 15 people or fewer, and begin your drive through the grasslands dividing the glacial peaks of Eyjafjallajökull volcano and the Atlantic Ocean.

Arrive at Seljalandsfoss Waterfall, a nearly 200-foot (60-meter) cascade that allows visitors behind the falls, followed by a trip to one of the largest falls in Iceland at Skógafoss Waterfall. Spend time taking views of the dramatic highland landscape before heading to the well-known Sólheimajökull Glacier.

Then, continue to the basalt stacks at Reyinsfjara and enjoy free time on the black-sand beaches. Finally, conclude your tour in the quaint village of Vik before returning to your hotel in Reykjavik.


30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free


30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Please wear appropriate clothing against wind and rain as well as good shoes
  • This is a small group tour with a maximum of 18 people
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 22 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more
Featured review
Linda A
We loved this tour! I would absolutely do the small group tour! Our tour guide whose nickname is Motherduck was wonderful! He was kind and patient and funny and informative! He took us to a small farm where we sat and had coffee and treats, to two beautiful waterfalls and gorgeous glaciers! The bus was comfortable and clean and everything was perfect.
59 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 59 reviews
A long day, but the sights are worth it.
Rob_g, Feb 2023
The guide Karol was very knowledgeable,both about Iceland in general and the sights themselves. (Even able to offer tips on photography and things to do in Reykjavik) friendly and had excellent taste in music. 😉 It's a loooong day with lots of driving but worth the trip. The stop in Vik for lunch was busy, but the food was good- a canteen to buy hot food but there is a market to get sandwiches/snacks. The 'black beach' and the glacier are definitely a must see. Pick up was a bit of a faff (having to change busses) but didn't really impact our enjoyment of the trip.
Excellent tour
Nilpa_C, Jan 2023
The tour was excellent. Your guide was excellent. The only reason I give it a 4 is that they should let you know that you can not always go behind the waterfall due to snow and ice.
Great experience
RAVI_R, Dec 2022
Great experience. Friendly driver. Luckily the co passengers were good too. All in all it was a memorable trip
Hower you are the best...
Ioanna_K, Oct 2022
Hower you are the best Guide we ever had! thank you for the experience! You are a person with amazing knowledge, passion for what you are doing and we were glad to have you on our last tour in Iceland! Thank you Hower!
Wonderful waterfalls...
Francesca_A, Jul 2022
Wonderful waterfalls our guide tour Simon made some extra stops to see beaches near Vik that were really nice
Decent, but not as advertised
Richard_G, Jun 2022
Our guide, "Howser," was knowledgeable and friendly. However, we registered for a tour advertised as having no more than 15 people and masks required. In fact, our tour had approximately 30 participants with no mention of masks. Overall, it was a decent tour, but we probably would not repeat the experience.
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Hi Richard :) Thank you for the review. Our customer's experience is very important to us. There are currently no Covid-19 restrictions in Iceland so we don't require masks. It is not advertised anywhere on our website that masks are required. On this day we had some operational issues so we had to cancel the small group tour and move everyone to a large group. We sent a very thorough email to all passengers explaining the difference in group size and offered a partial refund for the tour. You confirmed the change in tour. It would be great if you could send us an email to so we can help you further. Have a nice day!
Fantastic day
Deanna_M, Mar 2022
We chose this minibus tour for a smaller more personal experience. Our guide Jacob was fantastic and humorous and made the long bus journey to south of the island more bearable. The stops along the way were fantastic. The waterfalls, beach and glacier were all breathtaking and we would highly recommend this tour and paying extra for a more personal experience.
No small group tourist trap
Susanne_D, Feb 2022
Tourist trap. You book and pay small group, what you get us an old bus, fully packed with 65 people, half of them without face ask. Friends, did you hear about making tourism and covid. I refused the tour!
Response from Host, Feb 2022
Dear Susanne, Thank you for your feedback. Our small group tours are not operate on a large coach but on a sprinter. 65 people is our big bus for the big group tour. Face masks are currently still required in most indoor places in Iceland and we strictly follow the government rules to avoid the spread of the COVID-19 virus. Thank you very much and we hope you are enjoying your trip in Iceland!
Trip was canceled twice,...
janet_j, Oct 2021
Trip was canceled twice, we went on a longer trip and saw less than this trip. Had great weather that day
Response from Host, Oct 2021
Dear Janet, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. We are very sorry that we had to cancel your trip. Unfortunately sometimes the weather just does not allow us to operate a tour safely. In cases like that we offer our guests to join other tours instead, like you who got a free upgrade to a more expensive and longer tour. I´m sorry that you did not enjoy that tour as much and we understand of course that the original tour is the one you were most interested in. Feel free to contact us via email and we can see that we can also additionally take you on your original tour! Have a wonderful day and we hope you are enjoying your time in Iceland!
Well paced trip and great guide
Marilyn L, Aug 2019
Great itinerary, plenty of photo opportunities, bathroom and food breaks. Our guide and driver, Greta Jonsdottir, was very pleasant and informative, and shared her own story of growing up in the Westmann Islands.
We loved this tour! I would...
Linda A, May 2018
We loved this tour! I would absolutely do the small group tour! Our tour guide whose nickname is Motherduck was wonderful! He was kind and patient and funny and informative! He took us to a small farm where we sat and had coffee and treats, to two beautiful waterfalls and gorgeous glaciers! The bus was comfortable and clean and everything was perfect.
This was a great tour - our tour...
Kevin P, Mar 2018
This was a great tour - our tour guide Peter was great and the scenery was spectacular. A great way to see a beautiful part of Iceland!
Great trip. Our guide,Greta...
reniehaas1, Dec 2017
Great trip. Our guide,Greta, provided loads of information about all the sights we were viewing as well as insights in living in Iceland. She conducted the tour in such a way as to make the most of our limited daylight.
A fantastic journey. The black...
Helen H, Dec 2017
A fantastic journey. The black sand beaches and waterfalls a must see. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable about the terrain and surrounding volcanic areas and we also learned a lot about the Icelandic volcanoes and stopped on the way back to Reykjavik at the new volcano museum.. The small group is the way to go.