Whale Watching and Marine Life Tour in Reykjavik

Reykjavík, Iceland
Likely to Sell Out

From $74.00

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 3 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Iceland is known for its rugged landscapes but it’s also home to a number of wildlife species. Embark on a journey to the Bay of Faxafloi and enjoy a whale-watching excursion. Keep your eyes peeled for minke, humpbacks, and even orcas as well as other marine life like porpoises and dolphins. While you sail, enjoy views of Reykjavik’s coast, spotting landmarks like Harpa Concert Hall and the Sun Voyager sculpture.
  • Learn about aquatic wildlife from your captain
  • Upload your live photos with the onboard Wi-Fi
  • If you don’t see wildlife, receive a ticket for another day
  • Upgrade to a private tour for a personalized experience

What's Included

  • Guided language in english
  • Panoramic views
  • Free WiFi
  • Drinks and snacks are available for purchase
  • Professional guides
  • Spacious observation decks
  • Restroom on board

    Meeting And Pickup

    Meeting point

    • Sea Trips Reykjavík
      Ægisgarður 5b, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland

      We are located at the Reykjavík Old Harbour close to the city's center. It is the main port of departure for whale watching and northern lights tours. *Please arrive at the meeting point 30 MINUTES BEFORE DEPARTURE.

    End point

    This activity ends back at the meeting point.

    What To Expect

    Faxaflói (Pass By)

    Harpa Reykjavik Concert Hall and Conference Centre (Pass By)

    Additional Info

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Wheelchair accessible
    • Stroller accessible
    • Service animals allowed
    • Near public transportation
    • Infants must sit on laps
    • Most travelers can participate
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 75 travelers

    Cancellation Policy

    You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.
    6 reviews
    Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
    Reviews by Viator travelers.
    Showing 1-4 of 6 reviews
    Whale watching
    Penelope_O, Mar 2023
    This trip was quite disappointing not because we didn't see any whales but because it also mentioned a marine life tour which involved was a few sentences. We also found it very disappointing from a safety aspect that we were not given life jackets to wear, we were old where they were, luckily we didn't need them.
    Response from Host, Mar 2023
    Hello, I am sorry you didn't find the tour up to scratch. We like to balance information with allowing people time to relax and enjoy the scenery without continuous commentary. We have never had a complaint before about the lack of tourguide interaction on a whale-watching tour before! With regards to the lifejackets, this is a huge 32m yacht, with a 1 metre high railing around it. No one has ever fallen off. During the safety briefing we tell everyone where they are, and all kids 12 or under must wear them at all times. Occasionally we have a nervous adult customer who wants to wear them and if they ask the crew they are given an adult-sized one to wear. It is a shame you didn't ask!
    Caitlan_T, Jan 2023
    Amazing experience got to see a beautiful humpback whale surrounded by snowy mountains couldn't have asked for more.
    Response from Host, Jan 2023
    Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our tour. We're glad that your experience exceeded your expectations and that you couldn't have asked for more. We are happy that we were able to provide you with a memorable experience and we appreciate your positive feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future. All the best,
    Good experience
    Manisha_D, Dec 2021
    Experience was good... However we saw no whale due to snow and bad weather...but the captain and the crew was informative and friendly...
    Response from Host, Apr 2022
    Please come again for free one day!
    Gemütliche Stimmung bei...
    Julia_S, Dec 2021
    Gemütliche Stimmung bei Aufbruch mit Jazz-Pop-Musik. Wir haben zwei Delfinarten und einen Minkwal gesehen. Orcas und Buckelwale haben wir leider nicht gesehen, danach wurde auch nicht speziell geschaut. Die Crew hält mit bloßem Auge in einem bestimmten Gebiet Ausschau. Als sich ein paar Delfine dem Boot näherten, ging der Motor an, was sie erschreckt hat. Vielleicht ein unglücklicher Zufall?! Habe nicht extra nachgefragt. Die angegebene Adresse für den Meetup stimmt nicht ganz, es ist eine Hütte weiter als bei Google Maps angegeben. Die Mädels, die mir das Ticket gegeben haben, waren mittelmäßig freundlich. Im Anschluss läuft man in Eigenregie um einen Häuserblock zur Anlegestelle. An sich kein Problem. Aufgrund einer Baustelle war es aber doch etwas tricky auf Anhieb zu finden, Schilder oder ein Guide, der die Gegend im Blick hat, hätten geholfen. Im Ganzen war die Tour okay. Mindestens so beeindruckend wie die Walsichtungen ist auch die Aussicht. Und im Winter hat man romantischerweise noch die untergehende Sonne mit am Horizont im Bild. Das war schon sehr schön landschaftlich!
    Response from Host, Feb 2022
    Erstens tut mir mein Deutsch leid! Es tut mir leid, dass Sie keine Wale gesehen haben, das sind wilde Tiere und es kann schwierig sein, sie zu finden. Es tut mir leid, dass die Delfine verängstigt waren, aber die Sicherheit des Bootes ist das Wichtigste, und wenn der Kapitän will, dass die Motoren laufen, müssen sie laufen. Vielen Dank für Ihre freundlichen Worte über das Boot und die Mitarbeiter, und ich stimme zu, die Sonnenuntergänge sind erstaunlich! Vielen Dank für Ihre Bewertung.