Rio de Janeiro
Viator Exclusive Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Morning Tour to Christ Redeemer Statue, Sugar Loaf Mountain including Barbeque

Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  • 8 hours
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Beat the crowds and visit Christ the Redeemer, on the peak of Corcovado Mountain, in the morning with a local guide. Then hop on the cable car to the top of Sugar Loaf Mountain. Bring your camera to capture the panoramic views from the city's high point as the morning light bathes the city. Opt to add a Brazilian barbecue buffet and/or a city tour of Rio's main key landmarks.
  • Enjoy access to Rio de Janeiro's Christ the Redeemer statue in the morning with an expert guide
  • Spend time in tranquility atop Corcovado Mountain before crowds rush in
  • Ride the cable car up Sugar Loaf Mountain for more amazing photo ops
  • Upgrade to included a barbecue buffet and/or a Rio city tour

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

This morning tour lets you beat the massive crowds at the Christ the Redeemer statue.

What's Included

  • Round transportation from your hotel or meeting point
  • Professional guide
  • Access to Christ the Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain tour
  • Brazilian lunch if the option is selected
  • Gratuities
  • Drinks

Meeting And Pickup

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

Start time

07:00 AM

Pickup details

The pick up service is available pick up from hotels in Leblon, Ipanema, and Copacabana and pick up from meeting points in Botafogo, Flamengo, and Centro. Call us 24 hrs. in advance prior to the starting time to provide you with the pick-up time, if your accommodation is outside the coverage zone, don't worry we will provide you with an alternate meeting point.

What To Expect

Following pickup at your hotel or the nearest meeting point in Rio, climb aboard a minivan in the morning, meet your guide, and get on the road to Corcovado Mountain. Arrive there in ther morning before most everyone else and have the opportunity to experience this famous landmark in peace and (relative) quiet.

When you reach your destination, lace up your shoes and climb the 220 steps or opt for the easier route by riding the elevator. At the 2,300-foot (700-meter) summit, find yourself in the presence of the iconic Christ the Redeemer statue. Listen as your guide explains the history of the statue, constructed in 1931 from concrete and sandstone and named one of the Seven Wonders of the World in 2007. The statue's arm span is 98 feet (30 meter), and it stands 130 feet (39 meters) tall. Spend ample time admiring the statue and taking photos of the panoramic views of Rio.

Then, board a glassed-in cable car to the peak of Sugar Loaf Mountain, stopping once at a scenic viewpoint. Upon reaching the top of Sugar Loaf at 1,299 feet (396 meters) above sea level, admire the views of Niteroi, Copacabana, and Santa Cruz Fortress.

Descend in the cable car and climb back aboard your vehicle for drop-off.

Upgrade to include a delicious barbecue buffet lunch at a traditional Brazilian churrascaria for a chance to sample the local cuisine. A city tour upgrade is also available to visit the main highlights of Rio de Janeiro. Combine all options for a comprehensive tour of Rio.

Corcovado - Christ the Redeemer

1 hour 15 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Sugarloaf Mountain

1 hour Admission Ticket Included

Rio de Janeiro

1 hour 15 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Note: If the road is closed due to poor weather, you will be given the option of an alternative date
  • Important: During High Season, Carnival and December 28th through December 30th, the lines at Christ the Redeemer may be longer than expected. The tour operator will do the best they can to get there as early as possible, but please take in mind, delays may occur
  • The inclusions and duration will depend on the option selected.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more

Traveler Tips

It is definitely worth going early as the crowds build through the morning.
Might want to give the tour guide a portable microphone so that the group can hear better.
Not nearly as crowded because there are two cable cars to get to the top that regulates how many people get to go up.


365 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 365 reviews
Don’t use Amigo Travel for your Rio Tour
IainFergusson, Feb 2020
Amigo tours has to be the WORST tour operator in Rio. They cancelled the City sightseeing part of our tour, and changed the schedule of the early morning Cocovada experience, without an explanation, apart from some pathetic excuse about the Rio Carnival. When I requested a refund... they say they cannot refund me, but they were operating the tour. PEOPLE Do NOT ever use Amigo Tours... not only inefficient but management is stupid as well.
Response from Host, Mar 2020
Hello Iain. We are sorry you didn´t enjoy the experience with us. Some of the activities have to be modified o cancelled during carnival season so if you have any refund request please contact your agency. We will be ready to follow up the case. Regards, Amigo Group
Avoid the company Amigo Tours
Rodrigo_G, Feb 2020
The tour guide and driver were awesome the company handling this not so much. They changed start time 12 hours before which we rolled with but they refused to offer a refund after we paid extra for early access and then being moved into a regular tour. Additionally, when we contacted them about time change you don’t talk to local operator it’s a center or office in Mexico City. Highly recommend avoiding and booking upon arrival with local company direct. I’ve been Viator user for long time, this has given me pause.
Response from Host, Mar 2020
Hello amigo. Thank you for your comments. The time change was produced due the carnival season. We are unable to identify your booking from here, for further information please contact your agency. Regards, Amigo Group
Cristo Redentor & Sugar Loaf Mt
Edwin_L, Feb 2020
Knowledgeable and friendly guide, ample timing at the 2 attractions. Might want to give the tour guide a portable microphone so that the group can hear better.
Response from Host, Mar 2020
Hello Edwin. We reaaly appreciate your comments. We will consider your suggestions to improve our service. Please comeback soon. Regards, Amigo Group
Very good tour
Rodrigo R, Jan 2019
We went on this tour on Dec 30th, one of the busiest days of the year and yet we were ahead of everybody else. We were finished by 1 pm and everybody felt pretty comfortable with the guide. Thank you so much.
The right way to do it!
Justin_K, Dec 2018
This was a very well-organized tour. We were picked up from the Porto Bay hotel right around 7am as indicated. Our guide for the day was Guilherme, and he was fantastic. He spoke English and Spanish (and even a bit of French), and he kept everything informative, straight to the point, and concise. We arrived at Christ the Redeemer a bit before 8, and our group of 10 was one of the first people to reach the top and enjoy the view. Within minutes the entire place became crowded, so we appreciated being super early. Guilherme even got on the ground to get us some nice photos which was very kind. We had about 45 minutes there and then moved on to the Sugarloaf Mountain. Not nearly as crowded because there are two cable cars to get to the top that regulates how many people get to go up. The view was incredible.It is definitely possible for you to do the two places on your own like other reviewers say. However for my husband and myself, we liked the fact that we were able to hit two must-sees of Rio within 5 hours with minimal planning and queueing.Guilherme, merci beaucoup :)
too long waiting time before you arrive
singer007007, Nov 2018
I dont recommend this tour: firstly you are hardly early at the Christ Redeemer Statue since it takes already 2 hours from 6:30 until they pick up all thepeople from the several hotels with which you are not really earlire than just taking the train at 8:30 a.m. The tour guide was also poor, she hardly spoke English and mixed up with Spanish. At the Christ Redeemer we had to rush and take pictures. You are best by taking a taxi and going by yourself.
Utterly amazing!
Jason_U, Oct 2018
What can I say about this adventure. The tour guide was Simon and was amazing, detailed and punctual which allowed us to be the first group at Cristo Rey! Thank you for everything, amazing trio recommend this tour for breathtaking views with limited people
Exceeds expectations, a must for a Rio trip
rebecca_h, Oct 2018
Our tour guide Solomon got us in first and helped us get to spots where he could take photos for us before the crowds and without the cost of the professional shots which were just in front of a backdrop. He had all the inside knowledge and made the trip so much fun. Real value for money.
We were picked up at our hotel at 7 am...
Kunaal G, Aug 2018
We were picked up at our hotel at 7 am sharp, loaded on the van and driven through the city at up to the top of Corcovado Mountain. All the while our guide Paulo told us about the historytrue and tall tales of the the sights we were seeing. We arrived at the Christ the Redeemer statue by 8, before all of the crowds and had a good half hour of peace and quiet to get photos and just wander around the statue. After about an hour, we got back on the van for the 30 minute trip to Pao de Acucar Sugar loaf Mountain. Again Paulo regaled with tall tales and jokes on the ride. He arranged all of the ticket for the park and the cable car to the top. Once at the top, the view of the city below was incredible and we spent a few hours marveling at the sights, taking photos and just walking around the summit. This was a good place to have lunch delicious vegetable and meat stuffed pastries and ice cream and shop for souvenirs. We were back at the hotel by 2 pm, giving us the rest of the day stroll along Copacabana beach. Thank you Paulo for a wonderful tour!
Guides Santos & Marcus make it fun!
Misty_B, Aug 2018
I was expecting a mid-sized coach when I booked my trip for 5 but we got picked up in a 3 row small SUV with no company identification on it. I didn’t particularly feel comfortable, but Santos(guide) and driver (Marcos) were sweet and welcoming. Two of my children were sick from the early morning windy ride and Santos was great in dealing with our getting off to a slow start. Attractions were beautiful must sees and Santos definitely knew the ins and outs and had a few special touches. He was everything you’d want a guide to be. They were a nice pair with whom to spend the day!
We did were the first ones!! their...
Gabriela_H, Aug 2018
We did were the first ones!! their was no people in the Christ so we got him for ourselves took nice pictures even do the tour ended very quickly it was very nice gabrielle was our tour guide they everything was on time I highly recommended..
I bought a special promotion to do...
Gisela C, Aug 2018
I bought a special promotion to do this tour plus a Brazilian barbeque, which I was very excited to try. My departing point was the Porto Bay Hotel in Copacabana at 7:00 am. I woke up late and had to skipped breakfast and run all the way to Porto Bay to be in time. Guide arrives at 7:20 am, he was waiting for other customers in the previous departing location. If I had knew they can wait for you, I would had take breakfast. By that time I was hungry and grumpy. Visits to Cristo and Pan de Azucar were okay, we just wandered around taking pictures of the amazing views. The guide mentioned the tour will end up at Centro at about 3:30 pm, after a city tour. I said wait, I got an email from someone from Amigo Tours saying my tour ends at 12:30 pm at the Brazilian restaurant close to the Porto Bay, and I already have another 3:30 pm tour booked. I didn't asked for any city tour, the options were clear in the Viator page. A lady from Singapur told the guide 3:30 pm is too late for her as well, she had a plane to catch and she only paid for the Cristo-Pan de Azucar-Brazilian barbeque just like me. A lady from Argentina said she just paid for the Cristo-Pan de Azucar-city tour, no lunch. The guide dropped me and the lady from Singapur in a cheap by-kilo restaurant near the Porto Bay HoteI, with lousy food. No Brazilian barbeque as promised and purchased. I don't know what hapenned to the lady from Argentina, maybe she had to wait while the rest of the people took their lunch. I send a message to both Viator and Amigo Tours. Apparently my tour was entered into their system incorrectly due to an error on their side. Please receive our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused, we are extending a partial refund of 40. Both apologies and refund are greatly appreciated. This is what I think really happened: there were three options in Viator's page when I got my ticket. Christ Redeemer Statue with optional Sugar Loaf, both attractions plus the Brazilian barbeque, and the whole thing plus the city tour. They didn't get enough customers to each individual choice for that day low season in Rio, and they had to mixed-up the three tours. Ergo, I ended up in this by-kilo restaurant with the lady from Singapur, the lady from Argentina had to sat in a restaurant waiting to the rest of the tour to continue, and who knows who else got trapped on this. Please by any means take this tour when in promotion, because regular price is outstandingly high considering both attractions can be visited by yourself in an easy way. But skip the Brazilian barbeque, do not expose yourself to this by-kilo site.
Great day and Marcos was very...
Peter S, Jul 2018
Great day and Marcos was very knowledgeable and helpful. It is definitely worth going early as the crowds build through the morning. The Christ is quite outstanding and you dont really appreciate the scale of it until youre standing under it. Well worth doing.
Early Access Tour
pbascara, Jul 2018
The beginning of the tour was slow with all the hotel pickup. But when the tour began it was fun and the early access was worth it. Was able to take photos before the crowd arrived.
Great excursion!
Bridget_S, Jul 2018
We got very lucky with a nice private guide and driver for this excursion and an absolutely beautiful day! Being able to see Christ the Redeemer without the crowds made all the difference - and great photos! The initial pick-up spot was a bit confusing but it all worked out and we had a fabulous time.
I wish this tour would do pick ups...
Jena S, Jun 2018
I wish this tour would do pick ups at your hotel instead of meeting at the hotels, but other than that, it was a well organized tour. Our tour guide Alex did a wonderful job making sure everyone was taken care of and accounted for. He also spoke three languages so everyone was well informed and up to speed about what certain things were and what we needed to do. There was the perfect amount of time at each place..not too much time and not too rushed. We ended up getting Christ the Redeemer, Sugarloaf Mountain, and lunch, and it was well worth the price since you didn't have to plan anything yourself. If you only have a weekend in Rio, I would take this tour.
We absolutely loved this tour!! We...
Tanya P, Jun 2018
We absolutely loved this tour!! We got to Christ the Redeemer early and there were only about 15 or so people there with us. As we were leaving, buses and buses were arriving. Really enjoyed Sugarloaf Mountain tour as well. We lucked out with gorgeous weather on our tour. Marcos was an excellent tour guide spoke English as well as Spanish and Portuguese. He took photos of us throughout our tour and even tied my shoe once when it was untied! Our tour was on time and we have no complaints with our experience. Loved it!! Marcos even gave us a great recommendation for a restaurant for later that day by our hotel.
I would not recommend this tour for...
Andre P, May 2018
I would not recommend this tour for several reasons. We arrived at 8:30, there were already several groups there. Thus, the claim of 'first access' was not true. The picture used to advertise the tour was taken at sunset. It is not at all representative of the actual conditions, and not well suited to photography, because the sun is high in the sky. I was the only English person there, so the tour was 90 in Spanish.
Good your but did t really get up there...
Stephen H, Apr 2018
Good your but did t really get up there that early and plenty of crowds there when we did
I enjoyed my tour in Rio. I wish a...
Brooke F, Mar 2018
I enjoyed my tour in Rio. I wish a little more time could have been spent at each place.

Explore Similar Things to Do