Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"

Colosseum Underground Semi-Private Tour with Roman Forum & Gladiator Arena

Roma, Italy
Likely to Sell Out

From $113.49

Select Date and Travelers

Non-refundable
You will not receive a refund if you cancel.
  • 2 hours 30 minutes (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

On this semi-private tour of 10 people or fewer, you can experience this historic Rome icon to the fullest with access to areas that are typically closed to the public—the underground chambers. After skipping the main entrance line, explore the Colosseum with an informative guide, who shares stories about life in Ancient Rome. Get the rare chance to walk through the tunnels, stand where gladiators stood and enjoy a panoramic view. Then visit the Roman Forum and Palatine Hill to complete your tour of Rome’s top ancient sites.
  • Enjoy access to all areas of the Colosseum, including places normally off-limits
  • Explore the Colosseum's underground chambers and see where wild animals were caged
  • Visit the Roman Forum, walk up Palatine Hill and enjoy views of Nero's Circus Maximus
  • Walk in the Gladiators' footsteps on the Arena floor

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

Secure access to the underground chambers and arena floor

What's Included

  • Professional guide
  • Small groups of 10 people or fewer
  • Skip-the-Line Access to Roman Forum & Palatine Hill
  • Special Skip-the-Line Access to Colosseum Underground and Arena Floor
  • Dedicated audio headsets so you don't miss a thing
  • Guaranteed to skip the long lines
  • Food and drinks
  • Gratuities

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Largo Gaetana Agnesi
    Largo Gaetana Agnesi, 00184 Roma RM, Italy

    Meet your guide at Largo Gaetana Agnesi, above the 2nd floor of the metro line B (blue line) stop "Colosseo". If arriving by metro: Upon exiting the turnstiles of the metro, take an immediate right down the tiled hall to the escalator/stairs within the metro station.

End point

  • Roman Forum
    Via della Salara Vecchia, 5/6, 00186 Roma RM, Italy

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Please note: All participant names are required at the time of booking in order to enter the Colosseum. Every customer is required to carry a valid ID that matches the name on the ticket, or an entry will be refused. Name changes are not permitted once the booking is confirmed
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Due to the fact that Colosseum Underground entry tickets can only be purchased using the full name of each passenger and cannot be modified or cancelled, no refund will be given for any tour cancellation once the tickets are purchased on the passengers’ behalf.
  • On this tour, some of the venues or parts of the venue may be subject to last-minute, unpredictable closures.
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers

Cancellation Policy

This experience is non-refundable and cannot be changed for any reason. If you cancel or ask for an amendment, the amount you paid will not be refunded.

  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

    Traveler Photos

    See more

    Traveler Tips


    There is a lot of walking on uneven ground and climbing of stairs so wear comfy shoes for sure.
    Take water and ensure you go to toilet before you start as it's quite a way into the tour before a toilet break.
    Take a water bottle and aome snacks as you will not get a chance to stop and get these.
    Reviews
    4.5
    3,821 reviews
    Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    Reviews by Viator travelers.
    Showing 1-10 of 3,821 reviews
    Informative and enjoyable tour.
    Mike_F, Feb 2023
    Our guide was very friendly and knowledgeable. She was very detailed in her descriptions of the tour stops and gave us a great understanding of what we were looking at, the pat and current status of the restoration projects and what it was like to live in the time when the. Coliseum was operable. Wonderful tour.
    Awesome tour!!
    Tara_M, Feb 2023
    Excellent tour! Loved the underground part of the tour and touring the Roman Forum was amazing! Great history through the whole tour. Our tour guide, Amanuela, was great!
    You should get what you pay for
    Carole_G, Feb 2023
    The tour after we came up from the underground arena. That was the forum. The part that was indeed semi private
    Too much detail
    Brian_C, Jan 2023
    A very knowledgeable guide, but not enough general information and wayyyy too much detail. Accent and speed of speech made it difficult to follow. He never paused talking for 3 hours.
    You don't want miss this.
    Sheree_V, Jan 2023
    Our tour guide was knowlegable and engaging. The Colosseum and forum is a must see. It was a beautiful day.
    A Tour Well Worth Doing
    Scott_W, Jan 2023
    Our Semi-private tour turned into a private tour. Guiliano was very friendly, attentive and knowledgeable. The tour itself was a great way to experience the Colosseum from a different perspective (we had been on an Arena Floor tour 3 years ago) and learn about how it operated.
    The guide (Maria) is very...
    Tatiana_M, Jan 2023
    The guide (Maria) is very knowledgeable and didactic, which made our experience in Colosseum complete e amazing.
    Colosseum Underground Family Tour
    Christy_B, Jan 2023
    Our guide, Emanuela, was fantastic!! Informative and interesting, she even kept my 18 year old entertained. It was an amazing morning spent in this amazing place. Definitely a highlight of our recent 2 week European vacation!
    Great tour and guide
    Maddeline_J, Dec 2022
    Our tour guide Nic was incredibly knowledgeable and gave us a good picture of the Colosseum and what it would have been like in ancient times. Nic was engaging, often asking and answering questions and telling jokes which made the experience memorable.
    Learning History About the Colosseum
    Dawn_M, Dec 2022
    As with any site in Rome, tour guide is worth it. I didn’t want to miss a thing and I wanted to understand what we were looking at. Great job all the way around!
    Nothing Short of Amazing!
    Jorge_B, Dec 2022
    WOW! That's pretty much what comes to mind every time I think of this tour. This tour was easy to book and very convenient. The group met above the Colosseum train station and then walked over to the group entrance, which is different than every day tickets. Our group was very small so it felt like a private tour. Our tour guide, Vasco, was phenomenal! He took care of everything and shared with us every single detail you could expect about this monumental structure. Walking through the underground halls was an experience of its own! I cannot begin to imagine how intimidating and terrifying the underground must have really been. Overall, the set up of the Colosseum is really mind-blowing. I cannot believe how quickly, and perfectly, this was built. As far as pictures, you will get the best shots on your way to the Roman Forum. Patience, the view of the Colosseum only gets better. The Roman Forum was magnificent and I cannot say how much I enjoyed strolling around the ruins. The views of Rome from the top was literally the cherry on top. This tour was truly out of this world. I highly recommend it!
    Great!
    Dan_M, Dec 2022
    Elizabeth was great! Very knowledgeable and interesting. Great to see parts of the colosseum that you wouldn’t normally get to see.
    Colosseum Facts and info beyond compare!
    hjsimonetta, Dec 2022
    The underground with explanations from Giuliano. It started slow but as the tour progressed it became increasingly interesting. The extreme detail in which he describe what used to occur in the colosseum was impactful. We recommend you take the CityWonders tour and hope you get Giuliano as your guide.
    We had a great time...
    HeowMeng_W, Dec 2022
    We had a great time guided by Nicholas for our visit to Colosseum. He is a knowledable guide, most importantly he is very patient in answering our questions.
    Loved it all
    Andreea_I, Nov 2022
    We loved our tour guide! She was amazing, fun, friendly, and gave us great information about the location. We travel with our kids ages 6-16 and she did a wonderful job of keeping their interest.
    Response from Host, Dec 2022
    Hey, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us an amazing review! Everyone at City Wonders is delighted to hear that you loved your tour with us. It was our pleasure having you for this memorable experience. We hope to see you again on some of our other unique tours in the future. On behalf of our entire team, thank you for choosing City Wonders. Kind regards, Edgar J. City Wonders
    Best tour we’ve ever had. Anywhere.
    Joann_A, Nov 2022
    Our guide was amazing. Unfortunately I don’t remember his name but he was a tall gentleman originally from Portugal. Most knowledgeable person I’ve ever spoken with on Roman history and very entertaining to boot. Never a dull moment.
    Response from Host, Dec 2022
    Hey there! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us an amazing review. Everyone at City Wonders is delighted to hear that you loved your tour with us. It was our pleasure having you for this memorable experience. We hope to see you again on some of our other unique tours in the future. On behalf of our entire team, thank you for choosing City Wonders. Kind regards, Edgar J. City Wonders
    THE REAL STORY BEHIND THE HISTORY OF THE COLOSSEUM
    Dale_R, Nov 2022
    We had visited the Colosseum once before years ago and had no idea how much of the history we missed by not going beneath the floor. The real story of the gladiators, slaves, Christians and wild animals all happened below and out of sight. Tremendous tour.
    Response from Host, Dec 2022
    Hello! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us an amazing review. Everyone at City Wonders is delighted to hear that you loved your tour with us. It was our pleasure having you for this memorable experience. We hope to see you again on some of our other unique tours in the future. On behalf of our entire team, thank you for choosing City Wonders. Feel free to follow us on our social media pages such as Instagram, Twitter, or Facebook to keep up with our exclusive content. Instagram: citywonderstours Twitter: @City_Wonders Facebook: City Wonders Kind regards, Edgar J. City Wonders
    Disappointing!!
    Mary_K, Nov 2022
    Coliseum /underground was amazing, but we paid for a semiprivate tour and had 19 people in our group!! We left late and finished early. We were dropped off at Palatine and Forum on our own!! Had to wait 20 min for woman shopping in the gift shop, guide had to finally retrieve her! Shouldn’t be allowed!!!!
    Response from Host, Nov 2022
    Hello Mary_K, Thank you for taking the time to leave us an honest review of your tour at the Colosseum with us. We would like to apologize for your group having more guests than what was expected. While this seldom happens, we were forced to combine 2 semi-private groups in your case due to a guide cancellation. You will receive a refund for the downgrade. We must also apologize for the other inconveniences that occurred with your tour group. Thank you for bringing all these points to our attention so that we may take the necessary action. All the best, Edgar J. from City Wonders
    Very disappointed
    rp8q6zsc79, Nov 2022
    Tour size was larger than advertised, guide started late, ended early. Stopped for shopping 20 minutes in the middle of the tour, so we ran out of time. meaning the guide took us to the forum and said go this way to Palatine hill or this way to forum. Other than that, guide was very knowledgeable about what we did see.
    Response from Host, Nov 2022
    Hello rp8q6zsc79, Thank you for taking the time to leave us an honest review of your tour at the Colosseum Underground with us. We would like to apologize for your group having more guests than what was expected. While this seldom happens, we were forced to combine 2 semi-private groups in your case due to a guide cancellation. You will receive a refund for the downgrade. We must also apologize for the other inconveniences that occurred with your tour group. Thank you for bringing all these points to our attention so that we may take the necessary action. All the best, Edgar J. from City Wonders
    Disappointing
    Dorrita_R, Nov 2022
    Missed our excursion due to delay getting off ship and to hotel. Called to try to reschedule for later in the day. Employee said he had no space and did not seem to care. We were not able to reschedule for the next day as we had two excursions already booked through Viator. We had to book and pay for another tour of just the top of the colosseum. What a disappointment. We were not able to see the floor and underground of the colosseum. 😞
    Response from Host, Nov 2022
    Hey Dorrita_R, We are very saddened to hear that you were unable to make our tour with us at the Colosseum. We apologize if it sounded like one of our customer service representatives did not seem to care about your situation. This is far from true as we are not satisfied until our guests have receive perfect and memorable experiences with us. It's unfortunate that we were unable to reschedule your tour to a different time or date. We are glad to hear that you were still able to enter the Colosseum, however not to the maximum ability you would have been able to see it with us. Wishing you the best, Edgar J. City Wonders
    ...